Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

4 Bedroom - 50 Yards from Beach - Barnstable
Barnstable Vacation Rental - ID 10248

4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 2 queens, 4 twins
Beach: 50 Yards to the private beach.
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 11 years, 3 months
Contact details:
  Email Marylouise
Contact Marylouise, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (215) 680-3308 (Cell), (215) 576-0725.
Please mention Property ID# 10248 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Spot!

We came for a long weekend with friends, and the house is in the perfect location. Just a few steps from the ocean, it was almost like it was our own private beach. Definitely recommend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Amherst, NH
Member since Aug 2016
Our Week on the Cape

Since finding this gem, we spend almost our entire trip either on the beach at the end of Harvey Ave. or at the house. It's perfect and has everything you could need in a home away from home. The view of Sandy Neck is spectacular and the sunsets amazing. You won't find a better place on the Cape to spend your time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Nashville, TN
Member since Aug 2016
Great vacation

My husband and I, along with our four grown children, spent a week in this wonderful home. The location was great because we could easily walk to the village or marina. It was very convenient vacationing Mid-Cape because we had many beach options in either direction. The closest beach and best view was right outside the door! The house had plenty of room for the 6 of us and it had everything we needed. Marylouise responded quickly with any questions that I had. The house was neat and the air conditioning was a blessing on the really hot days.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Uxbridge, MA
Member since Jul 2016

We spent the month of September at 104 Harvey Avenue. I think the word "magical" describes it best. 29 days of glorious weather (neighbors told us they'd never experienced a September like it) didn't hurt and a super moon lunar eclipse viewing from the beach put it over the top. Low tide on the eve of the lunar eclipse allowed us to walk out into the harbor all the way to the channel. (Again, neighbors said they had never seen the tide so low.) Barnstable Market is a great little market not to be missed and morning coffee at Nirvana quickly became a daily ritual. The kids LOVED Pirates Cove mini golf, as did the adults. Osterville Too served the best fried scallops we've ever had. But mostly we enjoyed our time spent in this wonderfully cozy home with the amazing views.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Nancy B
Derby, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Wonderful Cape Experience

This will be our 5th year of staying at Marylouise and John's house. What can I say, this house has everything to make a perfect Cape vacation. We love the location, the outside patio and grill, and the beautiful views of the water. My grandchildren love the beach, which is just footsteps away. I love to sit in the front yard under a big tree reading and looking out at the beautiful water. This vacation spot is most enjoyable!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Wellesley Hills, MA
Member since Jan 2016

Awesome week at the Cape! We loved the view and sitting out in the yard at any time of the day to enjoy it. Had many great mornings catching hermit crabs, crabs, shrimp and minnows. Our oldest loved swimming out to the raft at high tide and jumping off. The neighbors were so friendly and our youngest enjoyed getting to know all their dogs. Great house for an active family of 5 with 2 grandparents (beach easy to get to and if too tired to get to the beach easy to take in the view from the adirondack chairs). Great to be back on the Cape!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Jill C
Huntingdon Valley, Pa
(Homeowner Entered)
Best Cape Vacation Ever

This house has everything, view, beach, sea breezes, beach chairs/toys, etc. My family has rented houses on the Cape for the past several years, and this house is by far the best location and house we have rented. John and Marilouise were so nice to deal with and couldn't be more willing to provide all that was necessary. Just bring your bathing suit, and you will be all set. Fabulous!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Winter Haven, FL
Member since Aug 2015

We had a wonderful week. We love your home. This was our second vacation at this house. We were here 3 years ago. The house was as wonderful as we remembered. Hope to come back soon!

Date of Stay: April 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Debbie S
Lakeland, FL
(Homeowner Entered)
Perfect Cape Cod Get Away

This is a lovely, charming, clean Cape Cod home. It is a great location; quiet, private beach access, close to Barnstable village and all the activities the Cape has to offer. But it was very tempting to just chill and relax at the home and beach. We felt like we experienced a week of what living at the Cape was like versus a busy vacation spot. It was like we staying at a friend's home.

Our family really appreciated all the 'extras' that were provided: beach chairs, beach towels, dish soap, paper products such as toilet paper and paper towels, as well as coffee filters and a well equipped kitchen and backyard grill. It made packing and settling in easy and stress free. We also appreciated the notebooks of information and brochures at the home to help in planning activities and restaurant choices.

The home's beach on Barnstable Bay was fascinating with the tidal changes. Lots of crabs and creatures to investigate in the mud flats during low tide. A baby minke whale was in the bay one evening and 35 dolphins another evening. There was plenty of sandy area to build that sand castle as well. Sunsets and sunrise were photo worthy.

Barnstable Village shops and restaurants, whale watching, biking the Cape Cod Rail Trail, beach day at the National Seashore, Cape Cod Potato Chip factory tour and a tasting at the Cape Cod Brewery filled out our week and were easily done from this location.

We could not have been more pleased with this home, interacting with the home owner and our Cape Cod vacation experience.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Morrisville, PA
Member since Aug 2014
Just what we needed

A lovely spot, a cozy house surrounded by the lovely Still extended family in a few nearby homes. Quiet street, convenient to town stores and eateries. Short walk to the beach and a spectacular view to take the stresses of life away.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Hampden, MA
Member since Aug 2014
Fabulous Family Reunion Stay!

This house was absolutely perfect for our annual family reunion with my soon-to-be 90-year old mother, her son, son-in-law and assorted nieces and nephews! In total there were seven of us and the house was the perfect size for all of us. The location can't be beat, especially the 1/4 mile walk to the Hyannis Whale Watch dock, which was an incredible experience, don't miss it. The house was well stocked with everything you could need and we only wish we could plan more trips to the Cape, just to stay here again!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
Miami, FL
Member since Feb 2014
Can't beat this place!

We liked everything about this house. It's comfortable and well-decorated. It's located on a beautiful private beach and within walking distance of a grocery store, shopping, sightseeing, and the whale-watch boat (whale-watching on Cape Cod Bay is spectacular). It's at the end of a quiet and charming lane, and well-located Mid-Cape and within easy access to the rest of the Cape's sights. The house's owners are friendly and helpful. We loved this house and hope to return.

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: June 2012
Austin, TX
Member since Jun 2012

Our family rents a cottage every year in the Barnstable Village area, because it's definitely "the Cape," but also convenient to the South Shore where our relatives live, and whom we must visit while we're there. We've rented several cottages in Barnstable, but now the search is over because this cottage on Harvey Avenue is "IT!" This updated and charming cottage is tucked away on a very nice, quiet street, in an area of the Cape that's beautiful and convenient to everything we like to do. It's clean and neat, and perfectly situated. The cottage is spacious and well decorated so everyone was comfortable and had their own space. It was also well supplied and organized, so we could easily find anything we needed. The location is perfect, just one (beautiful) house away from the beach, with no obstruction of the incredible views! It's also near an amazing marsh, which we walked past every day on our way to the local village and marina, where we got coffee, seafood, etc. Coming "home" after a day out and about, we always felt happy and relaxed, and headed outside a lot to enjoy the peaceful views, great walks, and quiet surroundings. For us, the hunt for the perfect Cape rental is over, and we plan to return to this cottage every year!

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Carol L
(Homeowner Entered)

My daughter & I give it 4 stars. Clean as a whistle & right by the water. Easy access to everything.

Date of Stay: October 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
A K
Medford, Oregon
(Homeowner Entered)

"This was a perfect rental for us (5 adults) - our first time on the Cape. We loved the location, just a few steps to the water; and what a beautiful view from the large bay window in the living/dining area! The house and property are well maintained and look exactly like the photos. The kitchen is well equipped, the furnishings are tasteful, and you do feel like you're staying at your friend's home. They even had a low/high tide indicator on the wall as well as books, games, magazines, and Cape Cod info. On our last night, we picked up lobsters cooked to order by the nearby Osterville Fish market and ate while watching the gorgeous water turn different hues at sunset. It was also a pleasure working with the owner, Marylouise; we hope we can go back there again soon."

Date of Stay: May 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Mariko C
Southern California
(Homeowner Entered)

Great house. My daughter & I loved it. Clean as a whistle & right by the water. Easy access to everything. I would definitely come back. The owner was very responsive to my questions."

Date of Stay: October 2009
Date Submitted: October 2009
Medford, OR
Member since Oct 2009

"This is a great rental. It works well for 2 families as there are 2 bedrooms upstairs as well as a bathroom, as well as 2 bedrooms and a bathroom downstairs. Kitchen is well equipt and nice patio with grill outside. Living room has nice, clean furniture and is comfortable. The location is great, you can see the bay from the LR and kitchen window and is just a few steps from the beach. The road is quiet and had little to no traffic, as the house is the next to last on a dead end. This house is perfect for families with small children as the waters are calm and easy to walk to. We have stayed here 2 years in a row and very much enjoy our time at the Cape. Barnstable is a very nice town, not touristy, but is central to all great things on the cape---Four Seas Ice cream, Hyannis (for a touristy day), great beaches like Craigsville. IN additon, you feel completely "away from it all" at this house but you are literally 5-10 minutes from Super Stop & shop, trader joes, the mall, and most every other store you can imagine."

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: July 2009
Ridgefield, CT
Member since Jan 2007