Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Private Beach, Secluded 5 Bedroom 8 Acre Cape Cod Retreat
Barnstable Village Vacation Rental - ID 14997

5 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 13
Beds: 5 BRs: 2 queens, 1 double, 5 twins, king converter, two futons, crib
Beach: 5 minute stroll
Guest Reviews: 39 reviews
Time active: 8 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Cindy
Contact Cindy, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 737-5080 (cell).
Please mention Property ID# 14997 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
39 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Lovely Cape Cod House

We had a great stay at this home Summer 2016. We loved the location close to Barnstable village and Millway Beach. The beach pass was a real bonus so we could visit our favourite local beaches, including Hathaways Pond (great for safe swimming). We liked the short walk to the private beach, the outside shower and the outside deck with a great barbecue.

The house was really clean and well equipped with lots of different places to hang out.

Cindy was great to deal with and very patient when our payment went missing. Although we were panicky, Cindy seemed completely relaxed about it, and we were extremely grateful! When we met the family on our arrival, they were really nice and friendly.

Our flight back to the UK was in the evening on the day of our departure, and Cindy kindly let us spend the day at the property, which meant that we could have a last day on the beach and a nice lunch at Osterville Fish Too.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
United Kingdom
Member since Dec 2011
A Hidden Gem in Barnstable

My family had a truly charming vacation at this property. The house was immaculate when we arrived, and Cindy was incredibly accommodating. We spent most of the vacation cooking in since we didn't want to leave the house! Not to mention, the kitchen was stocked so well we felt as though we were cooking at home. The large dining room table made it so easy to entertain friends for dinner and the grounds were so beautifully landscaped it was lovely to relax on the deck and admire them. The rec room was also a hit during the evening. The town of Barnstable has everything you could want with its quintessential 'Cape charm'. We had a wonderful time watching the July 4th parade on Main Street- a real treat. The location is also a short drive from Hyannis which is convenient for grocery shopping and other needs. I definitely recommend this property and was sad to say goodbye.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Feb 2016
Just right

There are a lot of us! My husband and I, our four adult children, their three spouses and our three little grandkids. So finding a house that fits all our needs and doesn't break the bank is not always easy.
We have been traversing the Cape for the past thirty years, staying in a variety of abodes from dumpy cabins with uncomfortable beds and tiny bathrooms to a modern home with WHITE carpeting. Ugggh.
Finding this house was absolutely,unquestionably the best ever. A fifteen minute walk to town (and the best caramel ice cream sauce on the planet). The walk to the Bay was even shorter, and if the kids were tired we could drive them all the way to the beach. There is a grill, picnic table, swings, toys, even a tub of water shoes in every imaginable size, right at the waters edge!
The house was also pretty darn perfect. Lots of room to spread out, comfortable beds, it is very well stocked, and incredibly clean. PLUS the linens and towels were provided ! I think we found our forever vacation home??

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Chatham, NY
Member since Dec 2014
Quiet Comfortable Vacation

A really nice private location with a Cape Cod style house that has all the amenities you'd expect to find at home and much more. Like you're are on Cape Cod with a private beach and only a 10 minute walk to the center of Barnstable village. The owners live on Cape and were great. They helped with any questions we had from our first call right up until we reluctantly had to leave on our last day. Given the home has five bedrooms and a recreation room with two couches, this was a vacation we hope to repeat with good friends!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Barnstable, MA
Member since Jul 2016

Dear Cindy, we enjoyed the house a lot! The back porch was delightful on the sunny Sept. afternoons; the dining/living combo room allowed for a relaxed flow between activities, and the access to the beach was wonderful. We are thinking about other group events that we would like to convene here. It is such a lovely place. Thank you.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Jane and Steve W
WI
(Homeowner Entered)

I just discovered this book! Been too busy enjoying being here I guess! And... because this is our 6th time here, we tend to think of your house as OUR house, so are confused about all these entries! ;) At least the little boys think so! All of the "D" and "H" families love being here, all 12 of us, some (2 of them) have now come every summer of their lives, so for us, it's a huge part of our family life. It means so much to me, Cindy, and you always make it a pleasure with your thoughtfulness. And again we had a perfect week. First drop of rain came on the last morning. Appreciate that, too! THANK YOU!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Marty D
SC
(Homeowner Entered)

I don't have much time to write as it's the last day and we have been busy having so much fun! Thank you for your wonderful home and your thoughtful service. We do this vacation every year with our entire family (13 in total with kids) and we have never actually stayed in a home that accommodated us so well. Thanks again.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Cheryl G
NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great time Cindy. I just loved the house! You had every convenience. The weather could not have been better. A little hot for the Cape in the first two days, but coming from Florida, it didn't bother us too much. Would love to come back. We'll see. - The whole "C" family all 12 of us. Thank you. P.S. I appreciate your graciousness and help. Thanks again.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Roberta C
FL
(Homeowner Entered)

This setting made our family vacation spectacular. Your home perfectly met our needs. We have never been in such a serene and beautiful location. We loved walking down to the beach, what a sliver of paradise. The kids enjoyed the swing set and roamed the property everyday at dusk looking for bunnies. We went fishing on a charter boat out of East Dennis and enjoyed our day's catch for dinner. When we found Hathaway's Pond we felt like we hit the jackpot- perfect for us and our little ones! We recommend everyone have the Afternoon Tea at Borsari Gallery in Dennis; and the clam chowder at Captain Parker's Pub in West Yarmouth is as good- GREAT- as they say! This compound provided the perfect home base for us to explore Cape Cod from and retire to comfortably each evening. Thank you so much- we will definitely be back!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
Pat S
Long Island, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for sharing your charming & gracious home with us this week! It was very peaceful here and we enjoyed the quiet location that was convenient to so many of our favorite Cape Cod activities. We enjoyed "discovering" the Nirvana Coffee Shop, Smitty's Ice Cream and Mattakeese Wharf with our family! Best wishes for a wonderful summer's end!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
Heather S
OH
(Homeowner Entered)

We spent a beautiful week. A great place for family reunion. We would have stayed here for months!! We will certainly come back.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
Louise L
Canada
(Homeowner Entered)
Great for family fun

We really enjoyed our week on the Cape. The location of the home was absolutely ideal for us. The layout of the home allowed both the children and adults to have their own spaces, which was really nice. From the fully equipped kitchen, to the yard toys and games, the home had everything we needed to relax and have a great time. To top it all off, the owner was just absolutely fantastic to work with and checked in to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. She even notified us that we had left something behind and promptly shipped it to us!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Waxhaw, NC
Member since Mar 2014

We had a great week in spite of the lack of sunshine (although we did get a couple swims in at Hathaway's Pond which was lovely). The house is amazing and super well equipped- just the barware alone! Everyone was comfortable and would love to come back in future years. Thanks so much!!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Alina M
NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks to my sister for this wonderful week. We had an absolutely great time. Your house worked great and is beautiful. Great time had by all!!!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Jamie M
CA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a fabulous family vacation in your home. It was just perfect for all of us. I hope you have a wonderful balance of the summer. Our weather was great. Thank you.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Pat D
NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Well well well-
This week was a significant family reunion for us- travelers from Oregon, Washington, NH & MA to convene for the first time in a decade.
We clammed, we ate, we played, we sang, we danced, we loved. This house held 15 of us, ages 5 to 78 with 3 teenagers beautifully. Thank you hardly seems enough for our delightful holiday. We will be back! Thank you!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Moe C
Oregon
(Homeowner Entered)

3rd year in this house and we love it! It's always clean and well stocked. The weather was particularly nice this summer and very, very hot. We loved:
-Fire and sunset at Sandy Neck Beach.
-Evening dips at Hathaways Pond.
-All the great seafood and fish at Osterville (Too).
-The whale watch trip was awesome.
-Mattakeese Wharf for lunch is great.
-Corporation Beach is our favorite especially at low tide when we have a huge playground for soccer and frisbee.
The wildlife around this property is amazing. Every year we see new animals and birds. I love waking up to the birds and watching the bunny and it's babies. I saw the smallest one so far, very cute. We just love Cape Cod and the privacy of this property makes it magical. Thank you.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
France J
Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for a wonderful visit.The weather was rain first three days. Then hot hot! The a/c units saved us. Appreciated that the house has everything and was clean.
Loved the 4th of July parade, our daily jog to Millway Beach, and swims at Craigville Beach. The grandchildren liked the penny candy at the Barnstable Market. Mom says that the 6a.m. shower outside is a "spiritual experience". Loved the peace and quiet of the 8 acres. One night, we heard the coyotes (unfortunately killing something). Great location and privacy! Thanks!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Linda P
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The Rug Hookers are reluctantly leaving your wonderful retreat. The weather was wonderful and the grounds absolutely beautiful! We are all so glad we found you. We are looking forward to our next visit in October. Thanks!!

Date of Stay: April 2013
Date Submitted: April 2013
Rug Hookers /
SE, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The S family had a great time at the beach house. Your home is so welcoming; it was easy to make ourselves at home. The location is perfect with the walking path to the beach and the nice walk to Barnstable village, we were well occupied. Thank you again for opening your home to our family. Sincerely, the S family

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
S /
Sandwich, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We all had a perfectly wonderful stay at your lovely home. We swam, kayaked, walked, read, explored, walked again and loved being with our family, including 9 month old T. Thanks for fixing the internet so quickly when lightning struck! And thanks for thinking of so many details. Best wishes, S, T, F and R families.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
S,T,F, R
MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Wonderful setting and home for family fun

Our extended family of three generations enjoyed our second family vacation in this home. The location is ideal -- walk the short grassy path to the small, private beach with picnic tables, swings, and a great place to put in the kayaks. Or walk to town for dinner, ice cream, lattes, or groceries. The kids love the ping pong table and the large yard. The owner, Cindy, is very accommodating and responded quickly to our needs. A great home and very well maintained.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Wellesley, MA
Member since Dec 2006

Thank you so much. We had lots of fun! We toasted a lot of toast. The ping pong table was amazing. We played every day. Love, the T family

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
T /
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

There are no words to say how much we appreciated your wonderful "Home" and your loving care in making sure we had everything we could possibly need.
Our family gathered and sang until the wee hours and we made memories to last a lifetime.
We enjoyed this land and the beach more than you can imagine. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
Yes- there is one word I can say, "PERFECT".

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Janine S
CA
(Homeowner Entered)

This idyllic setting was perfect for a relaxing week's vacation with our extended family. The children spent many hours playing on the beach, swimming, and hunting for crabs. And kayaking directly from the beach was a real treat. In this busy, hectic world, the Crocker Beach House is a welcome haven.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Joan T
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We all enjoyed Cape Cod so much. Our 5 daughters were crying about leaving. One month here was awesome and the weather was on our side. 10 years of renting houses on the internet we have had our share of bad experiences. How nice to meet nice people and a CLEAN house.
We followed your suggestions which were all great:
Train ride in Hyannis
Captain Frosty's in Dennis
Campfire at Sandy Neck Beach (on Saturday there are many folks who do fireworks)
Bike ride on the canal
Historical gardens in Sandwich
My daughter asked me, "Mama, I don't know how I will get used to sleeping without the sea breeze..."
The house has a great layout for a large family and the sunset from the master's bedroom is a bonus to getting a lot of sleep on vacation, going to bed early to catch it.
We loved all the wildlife and the birds!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Fran J
Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks so much for sharing this beautiful house with us! We had a great time kayaking, having fires and playing board games! The yard is lovely- so many bunnies! The waves at Craigville Beach were amazing. Dinner at Mattakeese Wharf was great (casual, but still great food!) Thanks so much for a GREAT week. PS Jumping off the dock was fantastic!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Barb H
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

What a wonderful house- even though it rained for four days straight- all 11 of us had a wonderful time- ping pong was constantly going- we even had a family tournament- our grandson who plays piano loved the organ- the spaciousness of this house allowed everyone together time and quiet time. We loved the fully equipped kitchen and the cleanliness of all rooms. This house has a great feel to it- very homey. Everything we needed! Thanks so much for your caring and concern- your instant purchase and delivery of the highchair was greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Doreen D
NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"More beautiful than the pictures and immaculately clean."

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Caroline F
VT
(Homeowner Entered)

I loved the house! It was great. The colors were great. And I loved the path, it had bunnies! On the first day we came we saw 3 bunnies. Love the house, Thanks!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Olivia and Elijah F
Vt
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for 2 wonderful weeks! Cape Cod is a very special place with so much to see and do. And your house had everything to make our stay even better- you thought of everything, even beach chairs! The wildlife is phenomenal. We saw bunnies, all kinds of different birds, a woodchuck, and even a coyote. This was a vacation we will talk about for many years. Thank you!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Chris B
Germany
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for a wonderful vacation- the Cape is such a special place and Crocker Lane in Barnstable is a special place within it. We enjoyed the walk to the beach (laden with bunnies!), the beach and picnicing and the swing, the backyard, deck, all 3 living areas and the town as well. A great trip- with lots of family time and extended family time.

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Carolyn & Peter C
NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much- the house was lovely! What a fantastic week it was. Thank you for all your help.

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Libby and David H
NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Our company retreat is over and we will all be gone by tomorrow at 10am. However, each and every one of us are taking a small piece of this serene environment with us...Your home was not only a haven of rest, it also helped us expand and deepen our commitment as a company...Thank you for this wonderful time to enjoy Cape Cod and have a beautiful beach and home to regenerate in.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: July 2009
Marsha G
Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you, thank you!! This has been an absolutely wonderful week. The house was perfect in every respect. And the grounds are just gorgeous. We all have considered this to have been one of our very best vacations.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: July 2009
Pat and Bill C
Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

All of us (11) want to thank you for allowing us to use your own "special paradise". From 28 years to 80, this house offered something for everyone. There was never a moment when anyone thought, "Umm, too bad they don't have this", you covered it all, and made this home welcoming to everyone! The wildlife is great to sit and watch & we think there were 8 rabbits when we got here, but probably now about 50! They were everywhere, & were our escorts whenever someone was outside. We will definitely look forward to staying here again.

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: November 2010
Linda S
CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"We recently stayed in this home in Barnstable, and it had every amenity we could think of. The home was spotless, very well maintained, and had enough room for all of us. We had a large group of people, ranging in age from 28 to 80, no one was left out because of home limitations. The beauty and serenity of the home and property offer relaxation at it's finest! We would definitely come back to recharge. Our experience with the homeowner was great, she was generous, helpful, and took time to answer our questions. Linda and Mike AAAAA+++++"

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: June 2009
Scotland, CT
Member since Jun 2009

We had a wonderful time. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Because of its great central location we were busy everyday either at the beach or Hyannis. We rented a tandem kayak at EMS for three days and explored much of Barnstable Harbor and its tidal areas. The kids loved it. Thanks.

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: July 2009
Amy and Scott C
New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time at your home- thank you! The yard was perfect for games (& bunny watching!) and we came to enjoy the little waterfront more as the week went on. We discovered a great walk around the harbor, some went on the whale watch & we held our 2nd annual tennis tournament. The house had everything we needed...& we had a blast! Thanks again! Love the driveway & path...& little lights. Everything we needed-was here :>) Ping pong table was so much fun! There were constant battles to see who was the best. :>) Thanks.

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: September 2009
Claudia M
CA , NH & MA
(Homeowner Entered)