Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Romantic escape near the ocean
Barnstable Vacation Rental - ID 17253

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 king, 1 double
Beach: 1 mile to Millway Beach
Guest Reviews: 38 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Brigitte
Contact Brigitte, by e-mail, or at .
Please mention Property ID# 17253 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
38 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Repeat vacationers - always impressed!

We have stayed at this location multiple times now, and this time was as impressive as ever. One of the things that keeps us coming back to this location is how pleasant the property is. The location is quiet and peaceful, and the cottage itself is modern and very comfortable.

A few minutes drive will get you to the beaches, shopping, restaurants, etc.

If you're looking for a getaway location on the Cape, I highly recommend you check out this place!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Canada
Member since Apr 2012
Just another perfect week.

For the 2nd time in 3 years, we decided to go back to this beautiful cottage. We enjoyed it even more this time, if this is possible. How can you improve on perfection? Well, I don't know, but Dean and Brigitte's efforts certainly pay off. Everything is just perfect -- he facilities, the outdoor shower, the very nice and inspiring decorations -- you name it!

We also enjoyed more then ever the historic village of Barnstable; just a walk away, and the sunset at Millway Beach, wow ! We cannot ask for more.

We usually never go twice to the same place during our vacation. But, in short, we are now looking forward to go back, for a 3rd time, to this place.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Canada
Member since Jan 2014
Fantastic time

Thank you, Brigitte and Dean, for another fantastic time at your wonderful cottage. We were able to enjoy more of what the village of Barnstable offers including music at the Village bandstand. We also spend several mornings at Dowses Beach.with the beach pass. Best beach I have been to on the Cape. Sandwich is so close we found a craft fair there as well as the Hydrangea festival. Again we had an awesome time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Canastota, NY
Member since Dec 2012
Sanctuary on the Cape

This is the 4th time we have rented Brigitte and Dean's charming cottage. What keeps us coming back is the beauty of the property, the special touches the hosts provide, the central location and the tranquility we feel here. The cottage is impeccably maintained, stocked with games, DVDs and CDs, and comfortable in every way, especially the luxurious king side bed in the master bedroom!

Among our other favorite features are the hammock, gas grill, the variety of birds who nest in the trees, the option to "camp out" in the bunk house and the outdoor shower.

Brigitte and Dean are extremely helpful in providing all kinds information from restaurant recommendations to where to see the perfect sunset! We look forward to returning for another amazing summer week in this enchanting haven!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Flushing, NY
Member since Apr 2010
The Reviews Are All True!

As a long-time Cape vacation house renter, I have a healthy sense of skepticism about reviews versus reality. Like online dating, sometimes what you read is not what you get!

In this case, Beachbound cottage lives up to the hype. Peaceful, clean, charming and well-appointed, the cottage and grounds are a delight. I stayed here for two wonderful weeks with some expected (and unexpected) guests. The location can't be beat!

The property owners were also wonderful to work with - they even came out on my non-turnaround Saturday to deliver fresh linens and attend to the grounds.

I will definitely be back next summer for another respite!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Canton, MA
Member since Jan 2014
If you are trying to decide, YOU MUST STAY HERE! Splendid!

This is the perfect place to stay! We did a lot of research before deciding on this beautiful cottage. We wanted privacy but close to the water and easy access to places we wanted to visit. We found all of that here! Brigitte and Dean were wonderful hosts. They were at the cottage to greet us when we arrived. They gave us a tour of the cottage and grounds which were impeccable. The decor was lovely, bright and cheerful. Extremely clean! The outdoor shower and hammock were a dream. We showered outside everyday! The gardens and fire pit were perfect. The sunset at the end of the street in the harbor is gorgeous (you can walk, bike or drive, it's that close) Brigitte and Dean made vacationing in Cape Cod so easy with all of their extra touches! They didn't miss a thing! Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Newark, NY
Member since May 2015
Relaxing getaway

Our third summer holiday here, the first thing we did upon arriving was breathe a sigh of relief and say "Now our vacation can begin!" Year after year, this place never disappoints: beautiful gardens, cool shade, warm sun...you cannot go wrong! Whether spending quiet afternoons in the hammock, using the refreshing outdoor shower, or enjoying a BBQ dinner, it has all that we need to feel like our home away from home. (Of course, the beach and restaurants are also close by so we didn't have far to go when we wanted to wander around the area!)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Canada
Member since Apr 2012
Just as lovely as last year!

This is the second time I have stayed at this cottage and, once again, it was a wonderful experience. The cottage is spotlessly clean, very well appointed, and the gardens are just gorgeous. We love the privacy and location (15 minutes from my family's home) and the outdoor shower is so relaxing after a long day at the beach. Brigitte & Dean are great hosts and provide just about everything you could possibly need for a week-long vacation. Definitely coming back next year!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Clay, NY
Member since Mar 2014
Awesome time

We just spent our 2nd vacation at the cottage. The hydrangeas were in full bloom this time. We still have not yet been able to enjoy all the outdoors at the cottage had to offer. One is so close to Hyannis and Centerville. Yet you are in your own world in Barnstable. So love the short walk into Barnstable for coffee or groceries. The new larger deck was wonderful to sit on in the evening. Can't wait to go back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Canastota, NY
Member since Dec 2012
BeachBound Cottage

This property is just perfect. The interior and exterior decoration is well thought through and tasteful. The cottage had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, the linens clean and of good quality. The land surrounding the cottage was well tended and added to our enjoyment.

The residents beach pass was an added bonus and enabled us to park at the local beaches and nearby lake.

We were a party of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenagers and we all loved the cottage and surrounding area.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Uk
Member since Oct 2013
Another excellent stay!! (Second time around, and it's still a "charm"!)

We had spent a week at this same cottage a couple of years ago and fell in love with the property. This year, we booked two weeks just to give us time to really enjoy the hammock, the swing, the outdoor shower, the gardens...oh! ya! and the Cape as well!!

We have already decided to return next year as this has now become one of our favourite haunts.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Canada
Member since Apr 2012
Absolutely Lovely and Well Appointed!!

I stayed here for a week with my twin 5-yr olds. It was one of the cleanest and most organized cottages I have ever stayed in. My kids loved the grounds, and we had so much fun playing outside, especially the outdoor shower! Brigitte was amazingly responsive all week to my questions. They really do try to anticipate everything you will need. I am coming back next year for certain!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Clay, NY
Member since Mar 2014
Five stars and more!

The problem with Brigitte and Dean's cottage is that you will feel so good that you could stay there the whole week! Inside, we felt at home after 5 minutes. Our only regret is not having booked it for 2 weeks!

And the backyard! We had family visiting us....and they took photos!

We were a couple with a teenager. The second bedroom, even if a little small, was more than ok. With the great outdoor shower, a couple with 2 kids will have a great stay.

With the parking pass, we had free access to many beaches in the area. Brigitte and Dean set up everything you need to make your vacation unforgettable. You can travel very light -- they have all you need: boards, chairs, towels for the beach, etc. You forgot your toothbrush? No problem. It's raining? They have books, DVD, games, you name it!

In short, we look forward for a second stay in their cottage. Our only fear: the availability will continue to shrink, since ALL the reviews are so positive.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Canada
Member since Jan 2014
Beachbound Cottage

Diane and I spent two very enjoyable weeks.at your charming cottage with the bright and relaxing Cape Cod decor. The house was immaculate and had every thing one would need. The spacious yard was a delight with beautiful flowers, bird houses, little white shell paths, shell-filled window boxes, and various sitting areas including a hammock. Brigitte and Dean have created a fantastic get-away! It was a pleasure to be there. We also loved using the front deck. I highly recommend Beachbound Cottage.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Lakeville, MA
Member since Jan 2014
Sweet little cottage and lovely yard

We stayed a week with two kids including a baby. We were able to fit tightly a playpen in living room and could have done so in bedroom if needed. This place has the best yard! Such a wonderful place to spend time. I really enjoyed the nature there and the peaceful setting, and it's really close to the beach. We made good use of the swing and hammock. Second bedroom is very small but functional. Loved all the views of the yard from inside the home. Owners obviously care and it shows! I would stay here again! We had a couple of questions and landlords got right back to us.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Member since Jun 2014
Slice of Paradise

This charming cottage is the perfect retreat for a summer holiday. Our third time, we keep returning because of the natural beauty of the garden and grounds and all the personal touches by the owners which make the cottage such a special place. For example, seashells in the flower boxes, a library of DVD's and beach reads, cheerful and relaxing decor, a newly expanded kitchen, a luxurious king size bed, an outdoor shower, and a separate bunk house for the kids. It is centrally located with access to many of the local beaches included, as well as nearby restaurants and shops. The owners go out of their way to offer great dining suggestions and are the perfect hosts. We will definitely be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Flushing, NY
Member since Apr 2010
Pure Cape Cod

What a wonderful, warm cottage that feels really comfortable and what the Cape is all about. So convenient to the ocean, shopping on 6A , as well as the restaurants nearby, including Barnstable.. Even though the flowers were not in full bloom, the landscaping is beautiful. Will miss the early morning coffee there. Been coming to the Cape for many years. One the best times we have had, thanks to Brigitte and Dean

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
Canastota, NY
Member since Dec 2012
A Lovely Well Cared For Gem

We spent a month with our two children, school-age, in this immaculate and pretty house. We have stayed in many rentals over the years and we have to say the landlords at Beach Bound Cottage get the blue ribbon. Brigitte and Dean are eager to please and meet your every need. They remained on the ball at all times throughout our stay. There are no unpleasant surprises here; no moldy smells, no dirty room closets, no poorly functioning appliances, etc. Everything works and is up to great standards. The house also has a beautiful garden, equally well cared for, which we enjoyed very much to relax and play in, as well as the nice outdoor shower.

Overall a great place for a small family, which we can recommend very highly.

Thank you, Brigitte and Dean, for all your kindness, and your charming house. We are more than happy to recommend this house.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Switzerland
Member since Feb 2009
Charming Getaway in Barnstable

We rented this cottage, sight unseen, based on the reviews from others who had already stayed there. What a jewel!! Clean, pretty, private - we enjoyed this cottage immensely. The outdoor shower was fantastic and the beautiful gardens made a us feel like we were a world unto ourselves. It has all the amenities needed if choosing to "stay in" and is ideally located for going out, touring the area. We have already recommended this location to others and are looking forward to our next visit.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Canada
Member since Apr 2012
Perfect Cape Getaway

You can only make a first impression once and we were impressed! From the characterful New England style cottage to the extensive gardens, this was an ideal location for our 13 year old daughter and ourselves. Clean and quaint with everything we required provided. The beach pass is a real bonus, provides free parking, entry onto the beach and even access to locals only areas that visitors would not normally be able to access, it saved us in the region of $150 in a week! My wife loved the outside shower, mornings and night, and we all ended up using it exclusively by the end of the holiday. Location is very central with the amenities of Hyannis close by in one direction and the traditional village of Barnstable in the other. You could spend a week here without traveling more than a few miles for provisions, and the garden yard is to die for! We would definitely return and would recommend to others.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Member since Aug 2012

Thank you very much for everything. It was such a nice week. Your place is wonderful, clean, spacious and with an incredible garden. We will certainly get in touch with you to come back next year! Again, thank you very much!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Nadine G
Blainville, Ontario, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)
Charming cottage and gardens

This charming cottage was the perfect getaway spot for our family of three. Not a detail was lacking in the cottage, and the back yard gardens were so wonderful that just staying on the property was a vacation! Brigitte was wonderful to work with, with her quick responses and helpful information, and the location of the cottage was so convenient to anywhere we wanted to explore for the day. When we can make another trip up to the Cape, this would be the perfect place to come back to!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Forest Hill, MD
Member since May 2012
Simply Lovely!

If you are a small family or a couple, this is a fabulous place. From the time you arrive, you know that you are someplace special. The grounds are meticulous and beckon you to meander around, artistic touches everywhere and a hammock to chill in. Once you step inside even more surprises...a beautiful thoughtful welcome gift and letter. Not to mention all the designer elements. You are made to feel like Brigitte and Dean just aim to please. They have thought of everything! Forgot your toothbrush...don't worry. Soap and shampoo? It's waiting for you in the outdoor shower. The whole process of renting this cottage is completely professional, from the first call with Brigitte to the follow up letter to the deposit being returned within days of arriving home. You will not be disappointed with this rental. As a matter of fact, you will probably dream of it often, once you are gone. The good news? You are are always welcome back. Thank you for sharing your beautiful property with us and your many guests.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
canada
Member since Feb 2012
Cathy, Philomena and Phillip - Markham Canada

We are so fortunate to have found this cottage to spend one week vacation. Having never been to Cape Cod it provided peace of mind when we arrived. The Cottage is situated in a very tranquil setting, the perfect home away from home. Very clean and tastefully decorated. The gardens were very calming and beautiful, a perfect setting for relaxing after a days of touring. We would certainly stay at this cottage if we plan to visit Cape Cod in the future.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Canada
Member since Jan 2012
Wonderful relaxing retreat.

My husband and I spent a week in this cottage in June at the end of a touring holiday around New England.
It was the perfect way to end our holiday. The cottage was immaculate and peaceful, and we could relax in the beautifully maintained and spacious gardens or take a drive to the recommended sites nearby or enjoy a spot of Whale Watching from the local harbour which was a fabulous experience.
Brigitte was really helpful from the time we made our first enquiry to when we arrived home, always ensuring that we had everything we needed. The cottage had so many thoughtful touches, it is a credit to the owners. Thanks for everything, if we ever have the chance to return to Cape Cod we will certainly be in touch!!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
UK
Member since Oct 2011

Ala David Letterman, here is our Top 10 list of things we love about your cottage:
#10 The relaxing hammock
#9 The friendly starfish decorating all the windows
#8 The warm, soothing outdoor shower
#7 The luxurious king size bed
#6 The deluxe gas grill
#5 The large space for backyard games
#4 The melodic chirping of birds in the morning
#3 The fun collection of books, games and DVDs
#2 The lush bounty of plants, bushes, flowers
And the #1 thing we love about your charming cottage is…Quality time spent with family in a tranquil, picturesque setting (priceless!) Thanks for all the wonderful details you put in place to make our stay so special. We had a wonderful time again this year! The Diaz Family

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Stephen, Christine D
Flushing, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed a wonderful fortnights holiday on Cape Cod. Your cottage is perfect in every way, beautifully decorated, so much thought and attention to detail, we loved it and hope that when we come back to the Cape you will still be renting it out. Thank you so much for all the little touches that made it extra special.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Mark,. Kate, Ethan D
Sutton Coldfield, England
(Homeowner Entered)

"This cottage is the PERFECT Cape Cod getaway. The pictures don't do it justice. It is immaculate and clean, with every decoration and item picked with care and thought. It is on a main road but set back far enough that you barely notice. The neighbors are quiet and not intrusive, and there is plenty of space to hang around in. The garden is breathtaking with hydrangeas everywhere and classic Cape Cod decorations. The hammock is a great touch and a nice way to to sit back and relax. Nothing is far away, including shopping, beaches (freshwater and saltwater), even a brewery! I would 100%, unequivocally rent this cottage again the next time I am taking a vacation on the Cape."

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: June 2011
Worcester, MA
Member since Nov 2010

"The cottage was all that was promised, and the owners care for it meticulously and with love. We enjoyed Millway Beach and Hathaways Pond, both lovely spots to enjoy the water away from the crowds. The proximity to Hyannnis stores is convenient and not too obtrusive, and we enjoyed the tree frogs chorus at night."

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Boston, MA
Member since Mar 2010

Thank you so very much! We had an amazing week. The weather was perfect & the cottage was very welcoming. We truly appreciate all your hard work & heart you put into your cottage & gardens. We are refreshed & ready to head back to our 9-5 (unfortunately). Thanks again.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Chris & Katie V
Lisbon, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

For the 10 years we have been coming to the Cape, your cottage was by far the nicest we've ever stayed. Everything was immaculate from decor to cleanliness! Thanks so much.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Tom & Kristin N
Norwalk, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had a great time at your cottage! It was all we expected: beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. We also enjoyed the seafood market down the road and the beautiful beaches nearby! Thank you for a great experience, we are definitely considering going back!"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Member since Aug 2010

We had a wonderful time in your cottage. We enjoyed the hammock, the grill, and the opportunity to eat outside every night. We hope to come back again. Thank you so much!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Steven, Christine D
Flushing, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We had such a great time staying here. This cottage is amazing & has everything you would need on a vacation. All the little touches make for a very relaxing time and we really appreciate it. Thank you!

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Althea & John M
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"This cottage is a gem! It has been beautifully renovated with lovely details throughout. From the gorgeous wrought iron, king-sized bed, to the colorful braided rugs, it is comfy and cozy. Everything one could need has been provided, right down to the washer/dryer tucked neatly into a closet. We enjoyed the using the outdoor shower and resting in the hammock after a day at the beach. The cottage is exactly as it appears in the pictures and is fresh and clean. The owners are a dream to work with, responding quickly to inquiries, and are prompt with written correspondence. While secluded in a private setting, it is close to the beach and village in one direction and restaurants and stores in the other. It is a great location and I would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing and stress- free vacation. Extra bonus: The cottage has a gas-fired stove in the livingroom which would be lovely on a long fall weekend!"

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: August 2009
South Hamilton, MA
Member since Jul 2009

Thank you so much for allowing us to spend a week in Cape Cod Paradise! Upon arriving we found Beachbound Cottage to be impeccably clean & fully stocked with everything we needed. We loved the central location. Walking & driving to shopping, restaurants, the beach & entertainment was very convenient..........loved the stock of movies.......the gardens, grounds & flowers were lovely. We truly appreciate the extent that both of you went to make a home away from home. We had an amazing week. Thank you so much for everything.

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: March 2010
Resa, Dave, Suzanne, Steve O
Glenmont, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for the wonderful accomodations. Your house is so lovely & your yard is beautiful. We enjoyed the gardens immensely - being avid gardeners ourselves. We would love to come back again. Your home is very well cared for & it shows. Thanks so much for a perfect vacation!

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: March 2010
Kathleen & Don V
Stockton, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

We really had a great time this week, despite some rain. You have done such a good job redecorating the cottage. It was so clean and comfortable. The girls liked it too & they didn't want to leave.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: March 2010
Mario, Lucie, Andria & Beat M
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)