Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Unique Antique Farmhouse; Great for Two Families; Central AC
Barnstable Vacation Rental - ID 21158

3 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 queens, 1 double, 2 twins, iBed, air bed, futon, Port-a-crib,
Beach: .4 mi. to Long Pond, <10> min. drive to Salt
Guest Reviews: 18 reviews
Time active: 4 years, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Ginna
Contact Ginna, by e-mail.
Please mention Property ID# 21158 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
18 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Amazing weekend for our low-key wedding!

What a find! A great space both indoors and out, the Farm was the perfect venue for our small wedding event. The huge field made for a beautiful ceremony under the trees, and then allowed for lawn games, eats and drinks. Adults and kids alike were able to enjoy the day, with room enough for everyone to pursue their own activities!

Ginna is a fantastic owner - honest, communicative and patient. We're so grateful to her for opening her home to us as we celebrated our wedding.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Owner Response:

What a joy this was for me, to know my home was being used for such a happy event. J could not have been more pleasant to work with in getting everything arranged. He was so honest and went out of his way to make me feel assured about their wedding being held at my home. What a wonderful group of people, those I met. I left feeling very comfortable and secure in who was in my home. My neighbors raved about them as well, no loud noise, very low key, and indeed exactly what J had described would be the situation. Indeed, the house was left in spectacular order. I'm so happy the bride and groom were delighted in their chosen spot for their very special day. Thank YOU, J, for everything. Wishing you and J all the best in the years to come.

North Falmouth, MA
Member since Aug 2016
Great house for family

My husband and I rented this home for 2 weeks hoping that the layout and yard space would work for having 2 families in the house simultaneously. It worked wonderfully. The home is spacious and comfortable, with separate living spaces and 2 masters, one with an additional kids' room upstairs and laundry. The owner is very helpful and available for any questions, additional needs, etc.

If outside space is important with active kids or just to BBQ and hangout, the property is wonderful. Plus there's a beach pass for any Barnstable beach or pond. You can walk or drive to the little pond for local owners only. During the week you could have the whole place to yourselves. Was perfect for the elementary and preschool kiddos.

Overall a fabulous stay with easy access to local and longer distance activities. Will be back again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Owner Response:

This wonderful family capped what was a summer of top-notch guests this year. I'm so glad, K&J, that the house worked so well for your family and that you were comfortable and enjoyed it. Once again, I came home to a house in perfect order and great shape. I'm a lucky homeowner; I've had so many wonderful tenants, and K&J and their family are well within that category. How grateful, and lucky, I am to have had such responsible, respectful, kind, and fine guests.

Braintree, MA
Member since Oct 2014
Great vacation house!

This summer our family spent a week on "The Farm" (me, my husband, daughter and her husband, two grandchildren, ages 7 and 11, son and his cockapoo). We had a fantastic experience and plan to return again next summer. The house is spacious, clean, and welcoming, and the sleeping arrangements worked well for us. The two bedrooms with attached baths allowed the 2 adult couples privacy. The children loved the upstairs bedroom. The living room with the 1/2 bath allowed my son and dog privacy as well. The enclosed porch with sliding glass doors was our evening hangout, and the deck was large enough for morning coffee and afternoon lunch. The porch overlooks a huge backyard that was perfect for the kids, and especially the dog. The tether ball and the outdoor shower were other nice touches.

The neighborhood is quiet, and we enjoyed some long morning walks. One of the best things about this property for us is that it comes with access to a private beach on a large pond. We were there almost every day, as it was the perfect, safe place for us to hang out and swim.

The homeowner is extremely helpful and went to great lengths to make a book that explained everything about the house and things to do in the surrounding towns. We are all looking forward to our return next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

What wonderful, 5-star guests this group was. They are welcome back any time, and I am thrilled that they will be returning. Very friendly people, very cute dog, and the house was left immaculate, which is always appreciated!

Thank you, S&A, for the wonderful review and taking the time to write it.

Member since Mar 2016

Nutty about the Farm
Bellingham, MA
Looking for an amazing escape rich with what's REALLY important for vacationing?
Then you need to check out "the Farm." All 9 of us had plenty of room to relax and enjoy all the comforts of a true New England Cape Cod experience! The owner is over the top with making sure you enjoy your stay! The binder of information she put together for you covers everything from where to eat, play and have the most fun for all types of people. Our families were quite fond of the tether ball and croquet matches we had. If you are looking for good old fashion quality family space to vacation you can't beat the Farm. Plenty of room for eating together as a crowd and sleeping arrangements were perfect for 4 adults and 5 teenagers! We went to both the pond which is very nearby and hit a bunch of beaches that were only a short car ride away.
Stayed: August 2015 Submitted: August 24, 2015
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Cindy M
Bellingham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Lynne K. said...
Aug 16, 2015

RAVE REVIEW My husband and I just sadly left this morning the "quaint Farmhouse" after spending two delightful weeks with friends and family there. All of them gave a 5 star rating to Ginna the owner. This is why - She has everything that anyone would want in a dream vacation - the huge beautiful grounds for both adults and children just add towards a relaxed and fun time whether it be playing tether ball, soccer, croquet or using the fresh clear pond nearby. Every day we had cool breezes with our coffee in the morning, had picnics for lunch on her large porch and cocktails in the evening back on the deck. Her kitchen is well - stocked and she has thought of everything to make her home your home while you are visiting. Very helpful with a big smile for all - that's Ginna! Run, don't walk to enjoy this fantastic "quaint farmhouse."
Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Lynne K
South Carolina
(Homeowner Entered)

Shivani said...
May 26, 2015

Exceptional!

My family shared this beautiful farmhouse with another family over Memorial Day weekend. It was a perfect home away from home for the 7 of us. The owner, Ginna, was very responsive right from the time we made reservation - providing useful information and promptly responding to questions. The house is very charming, and clean (also met my very high bar for linens and towels!) and has everything one could need to relax with friends and family. The two separate en suites provide privacy while more than one living rooms and dinning areas enable groups to socialize over meals and games. Our groups enjoyed the outdoors as much as indoors - beautiful landscape, lush lawns and games (crocket, tetherball). Its walking distance to a pond with small beach. The three season porch was perfect for early morning cuppa while listening to birds. Ginna is extremely thoughtful - she even emailed us how to avoid what was turning out to be heavy traffic on the way out. I'd highly recommend this farmhouse, and plan to revisit soon.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers

Owner Response
This group of guests could not have been nicer. I felt comfortable with them the moment we met, and I left feeling very good about in whose hands was my home. Indeed, when I returned, they had left the house immaculate! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the Farm, Shivani. It was truly a joy to have you there. The kids got right to playing in the lower field, as kids are wont to do, and I left with a smile after watching the boys playing baseball as their fathers sat on the deck chatting and watching the kids play. Thoroughly pleasant, desirable guests, and I truly look forward to a return, should they so decide. Thank you, Shivani, for such kind words about my home.

Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: May 2015
Shivani M
Lexington, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Gloria said...
Jan 7, 2015
-
A home away from home!

My family and my best friend’s family attended a wedding in the area. We decided to make a long weekend of it and treat ourselves to a nice home we could share and that looked fun for the kids. Each day we all looked forward to the lovely evening fires in the charming and romantic living room. It’s a wonderful house to come home to after an event or exploring Cape Cod. The kids actually didn’t mind taking a break from their electronics and loved the plentiful games and books provided. Each night in front of the fire, there was tournament of Sorry! that took place. It brought back many memories for us adults and it was fun to see our children enjoying the same games we grew up with. Climbing the big tree in the yard and tetherball were also a huge hit for the kids! – They loved having plenty of room to run around outside and explore on their walks to the pond. The home is in a convenient location, and we even took a day trip to Martha’s Vineyard since the ferry was so easy to get to from the house. Another great place we visited that I would recommend was the Heritage Museum in Sandwich. Our group especially enjoyed the space and privacy this house offers. The kids enjoyed their own space upstairs, while the adults thoroughly enjoyed their separate space. The layout of the home offering two separate wings was perfect for our two families. The owner clearly cares that her guests are comfortable. We had a wonderful rapport with her and will definitely be returning this summer. Thanks so much for such a fabulous and memorable stay!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
My Response
Thank you, Gloria, for such a nice review. I'm so glad you and your family and friends had such a great time and seem to have made the most of your time on the Cape and at the Farm. Thank you, also, for taking such great care with the house. 5-star Guests!

Date of Stay: December 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
Gloria P
Atlanta, GA
(Homeowner Entered)

Five stars are not enough, the pictures and description do not do justice to this lovely getaway. This vacation rental is an immaculately kept and well appointed antique home with all the amenities of modern living. It's rambling old farmhouse layout allows for multi-generational vacationing with space, comfort and privacy. The rooms and furniture are invitingly comfortable. Everything you need for beach and comfort is at your fingertips. The owner is both personable and professional. She thoroughly and lovingly went through the amenities, charms and quirks of this well restored, antique property. She was aways just an email away, and graciously answered any questions and met any needs immediately. The mature landscaping in a large yard is a nature, bird and flower lovers paradise. The expansive and well kept yard and field are perfect for family games and fun entertaining. The decks and screened porch are amazing for lazy days with a book and iced drink. The constant breeze makes for a naturally bug-less deck experience. A short walk or bike ride to a refreshing clean, fresh water pond is a summer day's necessity...try the rope swings! It is only a 10 -15 minute ride to a number of great beaches (passes included). Craigville Beach tops my list! Mashpee Commons is a great place for a day of shopping. Any number of restaurants, pubs and fun places are a short car or boat ride away. I recommend Baxter's in Hyannis, you never know who you'll run into. I also loved the Plum Porch shop in Marston Mills for an eclectic shopping experience. I highly recommend this vacation rental home to anyone looking as a quiet reprieve-alternative to a hectic beachy vacation. We were on the cape for a family wedding and we were so thrilled to have such a comfortable place to stay that actually reduced the stress. Kudos to Ginna, the owner and loving caretaker of this historic old home, for making it a great place to vacation.
My Response
Well, let me just say that these were 5-star guests. Within a minute of meeting them, I felt like I had known them forever, they were so warm and friendly and easy-going. Nothing makes me happier than knowing vacationers love the house and its charms (and yes, its quirks!) and that it helped to enhance to their vacation. They cared for it very lovingly, for which I am very grateful as well.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
San M
Weare, NH
(Homeowner Entered)
Perfect Family Rental

I spent a week with my family (husband, two boys now age 2 and 5, and my parents) at the Farm last year, and after a fantastic experience, we will be returning again this summer. The house is spacious and welcoming, and the sleeping arrangements are flexible. The two bedrooms with attached baths worked out well for our group. There is a "sleeping porch" with a dining area that's perfect for non-quite-outdoor dining weather. The deck is large and has plenty of seating, and overlooks a huge backyard that's perfect for kids. An outdoor shower is another nice touch.

The location of the house is ideal for our needs - convenient to attractions in Hyannis, Sandwich, and Mashpee. The neighborhood is quiet. One of the best things about this property, for us, is that it comes with access to a private beach on a large pond. We were there just about every day, as it was the perfect, safe place for our two little ones to splash. The homeowner is beyond gracious and went to great lengths to make sure we had a safe and enjoyable stay. The previous two summers we had vacationed on the Cape in two other rentals, and never had an experience like this. We are all looking forward to our return this year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: March 2015
Falmouth, ME
Member since May 2012

Great vacations !
Guest Isabelle (Montréal) Date of stay 08/03/13Review Submitted 08/22/13
We had a very good time in Ginna's place. She was always available to answer any question. The house is beautiful, well equiped and confortable !

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Isabelle A
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

A Peaceful, and Spacious Retreat
Guest Anonymous Date of stay 07/21/13Review Submitted 08/05/13
We had a group of 6 old friends who stayed at this property while attending a wedding in a nearby town. We LOVED the house, the owner, and the surrounding trails and pond. Such a lovely surprise! The owner was incredibly attentive to every detail and went out of her way over and over again to ensure we were well cared for. The house is absolutely perfect - it has so much warmth and charm, and is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need for an exceedingly comfortable visit to the Cape. We had daily family style dinners - there are two large wooden tables to gather around and another outside on the deck. We planned to go out for more meals, but were so happy at the house, we hardly left except to go to the beach and for runs around the pond. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms and showers are new and clean, and the house is layed out in a way such that you really can't hear noise from one side of the house to the other (which we LOVED!). So those who wanted to sleep late could, and the rest of us enjoyed coffee in the sunroom. We were all very sad to leave, but plan to go back as soon as we are able. Many beautiful memories were created at this house! Thank you for everything, Ginna!

Owner Response:

Owner response: I've had such nice Guests this summer of 2013, and I am very appreciative and happy that they seem to have loved my home and had such a nice time while there. I truly want my Guests to be comfortable and make the most of their vacation time. I am also very grateful for the kind words, regarding my home, in the reviews that have been submitted. Thank you to all. Below is a personal correspondence between my Guest Brooke T. and myself, which was a response to the review she submitted. I felt it was worth publishing on the site itself: "Hi Brooke, I just got a notice from VRBO letting me know about your review submission. What a beautiful, personal, and kind review, Brooke. Thank you so much. And I do hope you will be back. I'm so glad you and your friends so enjoyed the house, and did so with the intent I hope for all of my guests. Please do stay in touch. I'll be curious as how things progress with your own rental endeavors! Sincerely, Ginna" "Darlin' - I was just being honest when I wrote that this lovely morning. I have rented no less than 15 houses through VRBO (around the world), and it is safe to say that you and your house were one of the best surprises I have had:) You care a lot, and that came through entirely. And that definitely matters to some of us...... Enjoy the beautiful, almost fall-like weather this week!! All the Best, Brooke"

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Brooke T
Kennebunkport, ME
(Homeowner Entered)

Marstons Mills- A little known gem on the Cape
Guest Marypat S. (windham) Date of stay 07/13/13Review Submitted 07/20/13
We have just returned from a relaxing week in this wonderful New England farmhouse. The owner has thought of everything to make her home your "home away from home". The photos and description are accurate and Ginna, the owner, was very gracious and helpful throughout the rental process. She even told us a way to avoid bridge traffic coming down. There was plenty of space both inside and outside for our group of 7 to enjoy. The home and grounds are maintained lovingly. The pond was great and so easy to get to we opted out on heading to the beach a few days. Marstons Mills location makes it the perfect place to go anywhere else on the Cape. I would recommend this home to friends. It would also make a great place to spend the Thanksgiving or Christmas holidays as well. This home is dog friendly.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Mary Pat S
Windham, NH
(Homeowner Entered)


Great Fun on Cape Cod
Guest Anne (Ma) Date of stay 06/29/13Review Submitted 07/11/13
This summer was the third time we have stayed on this lovely property. We love the openness both inside and out. No matter where you are in the house, you feel a breeze and hear birds chirping. The very private deck and yard were perfect for our 4th of July cookout! The bedrooms are spacious, the beds comfy, and the outdoor shower is wonderful! The tenant reference book prepared by the owner is the most comprehensive I have ever seen. We used it extensively to explore - the map to the rope swings came in handy! It is a dog-owner's dream to stay at dog-friendly Cape Cod home with huge yard and conservation land and a pond so close by! We can't wait to return.

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Anne M
Worcester, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Wonderful home filled with charm

We just got home from a wonderful week in this beautiful home and hated to leave! The homeowner is a sweetheart to work with. She did everything possible to make our stay pleasant, enjoyable and comfortable. If you want lots of privacy and space in the middle of Cape Cod, this is the home for you. We were amazed at how pretty and peaceful this property is. We thoroughly enjoyed the porch and yard where we entertained family and friends and spent quiet hours reading. We will be returning this Fall!

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Worcester, MA
Member since Jul 2012
Perfection!

We stayed for 2 weeks and loved our time on the Cape. The house is great -- beds comfy, sheets lovely, amazing outdoor shower, incredible room to run, trees to climb, tetherball to play! The owner is so thoughtful and wants her house to feel as comfortable as she can -- she doesn't cut any corners and is very quick to help out in any way she can regarding the house or our time on the Cape. We really enjoyed going to the swings at the pond but also driving all over the Cape since the location is very central. Overall, a great place to stay on the Cape and we will be back again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Brookline, MA
Member since Sep 2012

From Guest Book: I spent most of my adult life reading "Country Living" and dreaming about living in a house just like yours. Thank you for making my dream come true, at least for a little while...

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Manny C
Thousand Oaks, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

From Guest Book: Ginna, your home has so much charm, and your yard and gardens are beautiful. The kids had so much fun (good, old-fashioned fun!) playing outside. We had an amazing vacation and I thank you for all your care and thoughtfulness the past few months. We will miss it here.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Kim K
Thousand Oaks, CA
(Homeowner Entered)
Wonderful lake house!

we had a fantastic time at this wonderful house. We were four adults and 5 kids ranging in age from 6 months to 14 years, and the house felt very spacious for us. It is well-equipped, with lots of dishes, pots, games for the kids, high chair and pack n' play for baby, and even beach towels. Ginna is very friendly and accommodating--she very much tries to make things comfortable and easy for her guests, and we really appreciated that. The lake is wonderful--the adults did morning swims while the kids were still in their P.J.s. We hope to be back next summer!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Cambridge, MA
Member since Jun 2010