Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Family Friendly Waterfront Home with Private Beach
Bourne, Monument Beach Vacation Rental - ID 11731

4 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 9
Beds: 4 BRs: 2 queens, 5 twins
Beach: on private beach
Guest Reviews: 21 reviews
Time active: 9 years, 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Jane
Contact Jane, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 958-8128.
Please mention Property ID# 11731 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
21 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
guest review

Pictures do not capture this hidden,meticulous diamond of a home..I work for the Health Department and am pretty much a germ a phob.....this place was beyond clean...EVERYTHING was provided for. .Five adults and 3 toddlers stayed with ample room for all....Owners were available immediately for any questions and SO helpful....I could not break myself away from the front porch the day we left.. The children loved the playground and tennis courts....and so peaceful day and night with easy access to Falmouth, Martha's Vineyard and canal for morning walks. We will CERTAINLY return for another glorious stay!!!!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Owner Response:

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in our home, and we look forward to your return. Let us know when you want to come back as we are already booking for next summer!!

Ansonia, CT
Member since Aug 2014
Great House

We stayed here for 2 weeks and the house exceeded our expectations. The location was great--right on the water. The sunset views were unbelievable. The park next door was great for our 2 kids. There is an ice cream stand and a Cumberland Farms in close walking distance, which is very convenient. The house is much larger than the pictures let on. The large family room is very spacious and the dining room was able to comfortably seat up to 10 people for dinner. We were met at the house upon arrival and Jane was very attentive to our needs. The house was stocked with all the necessities and more. The addition of the gas grill was a welcome surprise. The house sleeps 9 very comfortably, and the large deck and front yard allowed us for some daytime visits from family and friends without feeling cramped. We come to the South Shore/Cape every year from Arizona, and this house has been the best fit for us to date. I recommend it for anyone looking for a place on the water in a beautiful setting.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Owner Response:

We loved having you and your family. We are thrilled you enjoyed the house and look forward to your return next summer.

Scottsdale, AZ
Member since Jul 2014

This is a great house for 8 guests, lots of nooks and crannies, big dining table for nightly feasts (mostly ordered in, very relaxing!) the owner is friendly and super responsive as is her family, available just next door. I didn't swim but one member did, said the water was lovely. Sitting on the front lawn or porch looking across the Bay is a very peaceful, relaxing experience. Furniture is nice, pleasing colors, clean, everything you could ask. Highly recommend.

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Terri R
Ontario, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

If a peaceful multi-generational family vacation is what you want, then 7 Arthur Avenue is the
place for you!
We arrived to find a grand, old house situated on a manicured lawn with a wonderful
wraparound porch within a “stone’s throw” of a private beach, with boats & yachts floating in
the harbor. (Picture postcard perfect)
We would often eat outside on the porch. The kids played in the sand and tried to catch sand
crabs. The sunsets were stunning and the stars twinkled brightly. The park next door was an
added delight for young and old.
Any convenience you can think of is within walking distance of the house. Becky’s Bakery is a
must visit.
The bedrooms are bright and airy. The sounds of the waves will lull you to sleep. There was
more than enough room for all nine of us. Had a great lobster dinner with all nine of us gathered around the dining room table.
The owners, Jane & Joan, were most welcoming and helpful. The house is furnished with
everything a vacationer might need. Thank you to the entire O’Connell Family for sharing your
beautiful home with us for a memorable week in June.

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Patti L
Lakewood, Ohio
(Homeowner Entered)
Wow, a perfect house = a perfect vacation!

My only hesitation writing about this house is that I don't want it to be booked when I want to visit again!

The house is perfect for a lot of people--there were 6 or 7 of us at various times, and we never got in each other's way. Easily we could've had 3 more people. The rooms were spotless, big, comfortable, with closets I'm jealous of and really comfy beds. I slept like a log. If you like to sit and relax, this is the place. Most of our time was spent sitting and gazing at the boats, kayakers, geese, and the greenery beyond. Truly, it's incredibly beautiful.

The roof over the huge porch made it possible for us to sit outside even when it rained. It was gorgeous in the sun, rain, tons of rain, mist, fog, everything.

The basketball court, tennis courts, and jungle gym right next door made for easy access to exercise and some needed movement after relaxing. Our group was aged 19 through 69 and at one point or another, we all used the facilities. However, obviously, if you don't like to hear a basketball bouncing, or kids laughing on a swing, beware. Personally, I loved seeing/hearing other happy vacationers.

The only semi-negative I can come up with is the one shower, but even when there were 7 of us in the house we didn't have much of a problem.

Back to the house. Sigh. I wanted to move in, but that's another story. The kitchen was fully equipped, large, inviting. The neighborhood pretty. An easy drive to the Lobster Trap (we went 3 times!) and the Dunbar Tea Shop (we went there 3 times also!). We loved Sandwich, and the various ice cream shops, and the big Stop & Shop. Provincetown was a nice drive away. We meant to go to Martha's Vineyard, but who wants to leave that house and that view!

Once more thing: the owners could not have been nicer, more available, etc.

YES, go to this house...but please, not the same week I want to go!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
Member since Apr 2014

The house has an amazing view with a terrific porch to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening! The sunsets were spectacular. The house felt very comfortable with areas to spend time together as a group or areas to step away to have a bit of time to yourself. It was very clean and well maintained with very nice and caring neighbors! The location of the house was very good for all the places we visited while on the Cape. It far exceeded our expectations and we would HIGHLY recommend this home!!!!

Really close places that are a must to eat at while at the house: The Lobster Trap, Becky's Bakery and Monument Pizza

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
Jayne B
Minnesota
(Homeowner Entered)

Loved the house and Joan was wonderful! Great location on the Cape, which allowed us to get out sightseeing and getting everywhere we wanted with ease. Definitely recommend and we hope to stay there the next time we come up east!

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
A C
(Homeowner Entered)
Great house in a great location

We loved this house. Normally on holiday we get up late in the morning, but here we were up at 7-7:30 every day to sit on the veranda and enjoy the view. It really is wonderful and something you could never tire of. The house itself is spacious and comfortable, and the kitchen is well equipped. The owners are very helpful and not at all intrusive. Very sorry to leave!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
UK
Member since Jun 2013

The house had fabulous views from nearly every room with delightful breezes throughout. It is well laid out with a very generous wrap-around porch arranged for leisurely relaxing or a dinner for family and friends...all while enjoying the wonderful views of the bay. In the morning the light off the water provides a lovely way to wake. There is a private sandy beach that is perfect for children or adults who would like to take a swim in the calm waters. A beautifully manicured lawn provides a lovely place for play, and just across the street is a public tennis court. The house is very comfortable, nicely decorated and perfectly maintained. The location, soon after going over the Bourne Bridge, made for an easy drive, while still being very accessible to all the Cape has to offer...historic sites, boating, golf, shopping and many other activities. The owners were very helpful and responsive when getting everything arranged. We highly recommend this lovely home for all types of gatherings. And don't miss a stop at the Lobster Trap which you will pass on the way, for a casual meal overlooking the local swimming hole, or to purchase seafood for dinner at the house.

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Christine F
Darien, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
We love this house!

This is the second summer that our family -- parents, grandparents and children -- have stayed here, and it has really been perfect for us. There is so much for the children to do: they spend hours looking for sea creatures on the beach and around the jetty, and they are able to play on the adjacent playground or play tennis while the adults watch from the porch or yard, though often we join them. The house has everything, is very clean, and the owners are great. We cooked family dinners each night except for the two times we treated ourselves at The Lobster Trap, five minutes away. The neighborhood is friendly but non-intrusive. We love to walk to Becky's Bakery in the morning and to watch the stunning sunsets from the yard in the evening. It's a great place.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Dallas, TX
Member since Mar 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us for a second year:) It was every bit as wonderful as we remembered it being. Amazing sunsets, playing at the park, walking to ice cream, pastries, pizza...
The best part was just relaxing on the porch with a book and family. All 4 generations made many memories that we'll cherish,Until next year.......
Thank you

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
K S
Mass
(Homeowner Entered)

Lovely spacious room, magnificent view, playground for the little ones, plenty of room for kite flying on the property. Who could ask for anything more? Loved it! Looking forward to a return visit.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
A Y
Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

Great place!! We really enjoyed sitting on the porch each night watching the sunsets. The house was perfect for all of us. Thanks so much.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Kurt K
Nebraska
(Homeowner Entered)

We have now spent the past three summers in this house and each year has been better than the last. Access to all that the cape has to offer without spending your vacation in the car. Park next door is great for kids. House is spacious enough to easily accomodate two families of 4. The deck provides unbelievably beautiful views - perfect for enjoying cocktails during the sunset and well into the night as you listen to the bells on the boats and watching the stars.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Hudson, NY
Member since Dec 2006

Loved the view!! Loved the location, next to park on the beach, close to Hyannis and Falmouth. House was spacious perfect for a large family, The Whistle Stop ice cream was a big hit. Enjoyed watching the boats on the canal.Thank you.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Sue M
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We had a truly wonderful family vacation. All 4 generations enjoyed the amazing porch and views. The children loved the park and walking to the pizza shop and ice cream store. We hope to be back next summer.

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Kevin S
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We loved staying at your house, you had everything so clean, well stocked and comfortable and the welcome basket was such a lovely treat. I also enjoyed the conversations with yourself and some of your other family members - the beach and water were great and the walks to the ice cream shop every night was a special treat for the kids and adults as well, the proximity to the playground and tennis courts were awesome - it made it so easy to access and fun for the kids to just be able to go when they wanted to. Also your well stocked bookshelves and pictures were appreciated - my daughter in law kept us well informed of the history of the area and the house. Thank you again

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: February 2011
Inge K
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The porch and view is wonderful! The home is very well layed out and there is plenty of room for everyone. We had a wonderful time and the home is located close to Woods Hole for day trips to Martha's Vineyard. The sunsets are stunning."

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Eva B
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation home. Your home was as neat as a pin, we loved the large bedrooms. The porch was our favorite place to sit. The basketball court and tennis courts were great for our kids. We would definitely visit you again. Thanks for everything. Sandi"

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: July 2009
Hinsdale, MA
Member since Jul 2009

"We had a wonderful stay. The views were amazing from every window. The best part was the porch - it totally lived up to the pictures on this site. The nearby Cape Cod Canal with its great bike path, the Lobster Trap and the bakery were other highlights of our stay. Its a nice quiet town - just what we wanted. Thanks, Jane, Joan and David for being so helpful."

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: June 2009
Shelburne, VT
Member since May 2009

A much belated thank you to you and your family. We had a lovely stay in Monument Beach. Your home is probably the most well laid-out and comfortably furnished that we have ever rented (we have rented quite a few!).

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Heather K
Wisconsin
(Homeowner Entered)