Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Waterfront home with gorgeous views, stairs to private dock!
Brewster Vacation Rental - ID 17579

3 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 3 BRs: 3 queens, 2 twins
Beach: Directly on the water
Guest Reviews: 23 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Mary
Contact Mary, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (617) 413-0737.
Please mention Property ID# 17579 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
23 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Beautiful home in an idyllic location

We loved our week at Bruce and Mary's beautiful home in Brewster, and would echo what many have already said in their reviews before ours. The spacious and well appointed home, meticulously landscaped property and views of beautiful Seymour Pond are even better than shown in the listing photos and described in the text. The setting is so beautiful, and there are so many vantage points from which to enjoy it (outdoors and inside!), it's difficult to motivate yourself to leave and enjoy the many attractions that brought you to the Cape in the first place! The home was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated, and held every possible utensil, creature comfort, small/large appliance, and beach/pond/lawn toy you could want to enhance your vacation experience. The warm welcome we received from Mary and Bruce upon our arrival set the tone for a great week - they really want you to enjoy your stay, and do a wonderful job letting you know about all of the great features of the property. Their many thoughtful personal touches were very much appreciated. The "MistAway" mosquito repellent system is remarkable - we spent a lot of time outside on the decks and around the property in both the day and evening, and never received a single bite!

The location in Brewster is great - centrally located to many great beaches, just minutes away from essentials and many restaurants and attractions, and the Cape Cod Rail Trail is less than a five-minute bike ride from the house

It rates as our family's favorite vacation rental ever, and we can't wait to return. Thank you, Mary and Bruce, for all you did to provide us with a very special week. :)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Essex Junction, VT
Member since Jun 2009
We loved our week at Mary and Bruce's home!

We can't say enough about what a great time we had at this home in Brewster. The pictures do not do this beautiful home and property justice. The grounds are impeccable. The home's open floor plan on the first floor and spacious rooms are fantastic. We loved that there is a beautiful view of the water from every room in the house. This home is fully equipped with everything you need to have fun in the water, a kitchen with anything you could ever need, and a library of books to keep any reader intrigued. They even have a hammock! Mary and Bruce were great to work with. Can't wait to go back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Shelton, CT
Member since Jan 2016
What an amazing place

We have stayed in many rental properties in the Cape and in the UK and this has to be the BEST by a mile. Mary and Bruce have thought of everything and coming from the UK this was really helpful -- all linens, beach toys and beach seats, cool boxes, the list is endless.

There are so many things we loved about the house to name but a few, the lawn, the well equipped kitchen but the best of all was the pond and the canoe. hours of fun.
In fact we loved it so much we have booked to come back next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
UK
Member since Mar 2008
The best house we ever stayed in

I can't say enough of how delighted we were to stay in such a beautiful house on a beautiful location that actually accepted our new "bassidor," Tassie. Mary keeps the house immaculate, and Bruce takes care of all things electric and groundskeeping. We have been renting on the Cape during the summer for over 20 years. This was the best vacation and the best house we ever stayed in.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Newton Center, MA
Member since Jul 2007
Wonderful setting

Our stay was just delightful. In every little details, the house was incredibly pleasant. It was spacious, clean, luminous and practical. There were ample freshly clean linens, soap everywhere, all the required equipment for the kitchen, the lake, games for the whole family. The landscaping was impeccable, the view was spectacular, and the neighbourhood was quiet. We hope to enjoy it again soon.

Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
canada
Member since Mar 2013
Wonderful House

I would just echo the other reviewers in saying this is a very lovely house, in an idyllic setting, very peaceful. The house is airy and bright and it has a really homey and comfortable feel, which made us relax very quickly. For the uninitiated, 'pond' means "lake," and it's huge and stunning. There are other properties doted around it, but you can see hardly any from the house and it felt for most of the time like it was our own private lake. We swam in it every day, and paddled around it in the canoe, found a little secluded beach where the kids built a den.

The house is really well equipped to help a family have a nice holiday, including things like really good beach gear, e.g. chiller-bags, beach chairs, sun-brella, boogie boards. If you wonder about the location, yes it is a drive from Brewster and shops but I would say that realistically, if you choose Brewster there is no natural town centre anyway. It is stretched out over many miles so you'd have to drive everywhere anyway. So this location is actually good because you're as likely to go south on some days. And if you rent bikes which we did, the cycle trail comes close to the house (only a few minute cycle away), you only have to cross one main road, and on the track it's only a mile to a really good deli. This was a real bonus for us. We cycled all the way to Coast Guard Beach one day from the house. It took about 90 minutes but was a spectacular ride. Final bit of opinion/advice: if you are wondering about beaches, etc,. our experience was that Nauset Beach was the absolute best and it's not too far from this house, you drive through Orleans, which is a nice place to stop for supper.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
United Kingdom
Member since Feb 2014
Great family holiday

A beautiful home in a perfect setting. Peaceful and relaxing. Enjoyed a super holiday with our two sons aged 18 and 21. Seymour Pond was great for swimming and kayaking. The house was well equipped, and Mary and Bruce were very welcoming. Also had fun days out whale watching and jet skiing

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
England
Member since Jan 2014
Great Vacation Spot

Wife, Daughter, Granddaughter and her friend, and I stayed here for a week. The pictures on the web, great as they look, do not do justice to the property. It is absolutely great. Relaxing place. From the moment of arrival and greeting by Mary and Bruce, proud owners, giving all the needed details of house and surrounding our stay was most enjoyable. Would heartily recommend to any family wanting a peaceful stay in a lovely and very clean home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Peachtree City, GA
Member since Feb 2014
Oasis on Cape Cod

My family had the most wonderful week in this rental home - it is the nicest property we've ever rented. And it is SO much larger than the photos depict - vast dining room & enormous 2-car garage where we were able to store our kayak. Mary keeps the home immaculate - I myself am a neat-freak, and there wasn't a speck of dirt anywhere - truly hard to find in a rental property. The misting bug spray worked wonders ... we had absolutely no issues with bugs. And Seymore Pond is just perfection - so much cleaner than most other ponds on the Cape. The only downside of this home was that the view was so gorgeous we rarely wanted to leave the house!

Mary's communication was impeccable - she really goes above and beyond to ensure her renters have a wonderful week. Tons of towels and beach chairs, the most awesome hammock which is easily strung between 2 trees in the yard, and a fully-stocked kitchen. She and Bruce greeted us upon arrival to show us around, and anytime I had a question during the week she immediately responded to my text message. We look forward to our vacation next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Nutley, NJ
Member since May 2009
Beautiful home with wonderful serenity.

We loved our stay in this beautiful home. Ideally perched above Seymour Pond - a big body of water that feels more like a lake in scale. 180-degree majestic views of this quiet pond which sees an occasional canoe, sunfish or paddle board but no motors. Sipping coffee in the morning on an adirondack chair, feeling the soft breeze from the pond while trying not to let the view distract us from a good book was one of our favorite memories of our stay.

The house is modern, beautiful and immaculate. The outdoor shower is perfect. The association beach is a 2 minute walk away and is well maintained with a sandy bottom. The use of the house canoe provided a fun hour or so each day for our kids who loved to explore other areas of the pond. The bike trail is a 5 minute bike ride away and the many great Brewster restaurants and bay beaches are no more than 5 - 10 minutes in a car.

The owners are very nice and accommodating and provided lots of great info on the area. Just a great vacation experience.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Sudbury, MA
Member since Jun 2009
Wonderful place to stay!

We stayed at this wonderful home for a week in early July 2012 and the stay exceeded all our expectations! The home is gorgeous and immaculate; the view is lovely - the pictures don't do it justice; and Mary and Bruce were very responsive and helpful during the week. Our young son loved crawling all over the home (it is very kid friendly) and we enjoyed having dinner on the deck every night, enjoying the view. We will definitely rent again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Arlington, MA
Member since Apr 2012

Mary and Bruce,

Your home here on the Cape is just beautiful. Every room has an incredible view and the property is wonderfully secluded. The week has gone by far too quickly, but we hope it may be possible to return again soon.
Thank you again for opening your home to us. We had a great time...at your neighborhood beach, on your canoe and especially, just hanging out, reading and eating our meals on your deck. We'll never forget it!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Julie R
Chapel Hill, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

My family stayed in this wonderful house for a week. It is well-kept, clean, roomy and well-stocked with all a family will need for a vacation, including a beach bag! The owners are readily available, and easy to deal with. The location is great, as well...close to everything you need for a fun and easy vacation. We had THE BEST time, and will be coming back next year!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Harrison, NY, usa
Member since Mar 2011

Our vacation started right when hurricane Irene was coming. Mary was very accomodating with everything that was going on. Mary's communication was awesome - there was never any guess to what was going on. The house is gorgeous and in excellent condition! It's actually larger than the pictures show. Very comfortable and in a great location! I was skeptical about the bug spray because I'm usually a Vegas Buffett for bugs but I didn't get bit once! I would come back in a heart beat. Mary & Bruce were wonderful to rent from!!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Carteret, NJ
Member since Aug 2009

Hi Mary,

Your home is lovely! We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation.
We ate dinner on the deck many nights and the view of the pond was beautiful and peaceful. You certainly thought of everything to make your renters feel very comfortable.

Many thanks,
Rita and Jerry

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Rita S
Lexington, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Mary & Bruce,

Thank you for another wonderful week in your beautiful house!!

Best,
Lois & Alan

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Lois M
Long Island, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

"Mary & Bruce - we had a fantastic week's vacation on the Cape - all thanks to being based in your lovely home. Beautiful, immaculate house with every amenity one could want - and the most gorgeous location! It clearly is a home, not just a 'rental' and we appreciated all the thoughtful touches. The mozzie 'Mist-away' system was great - as the world's No 1 bug magnet, I was able to sit out & never get bitten! Lazy afternoons spent lounging in the hammock watching the ripples on the pond were offset by taking full advantage of the easy proximity of the CCRT. Oh - and we have to give a mention to the Brewster Coffee Shop for the 'cannot be bothered to cook' day breakfast - a real slice of good old-fashioned local breakfast spot!"

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Judith T
Scotland, UK
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear M&B, "We had a wonderful time in your beautiful home. Thank you for sharing it with us. We hope to come back next year!"

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Lois M
Long Island, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"Dear H- family, Thank you for letting us enjoy your beautiful home! We had a truly splendid week and are especially grateful for all the little "extras." The kids enjoyed the beach toys and we all enjoyed the canoe and the lake!" Best regards, -K

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Karen N
Westport, Ct
(Homeowner Entered)

"We stayed in this house for a week in August. It was both comfortable and beautiful. The view from the deck, in particular, was a constant source of pleasure, as were the breezes that blew up off the lake. All the furniture, equipment, linens and fixtures were of high quality, clean and in perfect order. The house included everything one needs for beach-going (umbrellas, chairs, sand toys) and entertaining (gas grill, kitchen utensils). I should mention the unique mosquito-control system that guards the house's perimeter: I don't know what kind of problem mosquitoes normally present on the Cape in August, but none of us were bitten even once. The lake is about 4 blocks' walk from the house and is warm and clear, with no power boats of any kind – wonderful for swimming. The small private lake beach is very child friendly and includes a dock for diving. We enjoyed use of the canoe very much as well. We would gladly return to this spot."

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Washington, DC, usa
Member since May 2010

"M and B, We had a lovely week at your home, it was both spacious and cozy and had everything we could need. It was lovely to wake up to the view of the pond. The community beach was fun, the pond was perfect swimming for our six-year old and we really loved the outdoor shower and decks. Thank you for sharing your home and we hope to be back next summer. Cathy from Mid-Hudson Valley, NY"

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
West Hurley, NY
Member since Jul 2010

"Hi M&B – we wanted to thank you for allowing us to rent your beautiful home for the week. We had a great time, incredible weather, and truly enjoyed the view and the town. Also, the Mistaway system was great. On the hottest and most humid days, had a few gnats out at dusk but other than that it was very clear. Good investment!"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Evan Z
Concord, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"We stayed one week in this house in July 2010. We are a Dutch family with three older children (14,17,19). We had a very good time here. The house is big with excellent facilities (big BBQ, wireless internet, several televisions,air conditioning in the sleeping rooms etc). The view is gorgeous. You can canoo and swim in the pond next to the house. From the house it is easy to reach several beaches. We also went one day to Boston (around 90 minute drive), and went whale watching (departing from Barnstable). All in all we can certainly recommend this house."

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Netherlands
Member since Jun 2010