Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Classic Cape - Clean & Updated Amenities - Family Friendly
South Chatham - Forest Beach Vacation Rental - ID 18899

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins, 2 Full Size Futons in living room
Beach: 4/10 of a mile to Forest Beach, South Chatham
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 6 years, 3 months
Contact details:
  Email Joe and Laura J
Contact Joe and Laura J, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 910-4042.
Please mention Property ID# 18899 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
We Hit the Cottage Jackpot!!!!

This was our first time (my friend & I) as renters on Cape Cod and I cannot say enough about this wonderful cottage and the owners, Joe & Laura. Due to a construction issue at our planned rental, I had to scramble to find a place. I wanted this area and frankly this cottage. Joe & Laura worked with me to make it happen.

The cottage and furnishings are EXACTLY as pictured -- no unpleasant surprises. It is a cozy, comfy (but not fussy) place to just hang out or to return to after a day at the beach or sightseeing. I won't say much else about the cottage itself as I previously wrote, what you see is what you get, and with this cottage, that's a great thing.

My friend and I are in our very youthful 60's and she kept saying how it would be a perfect place for her daughter's family (husband & 2 young children, and her of course) to vacation.

Joe & Laura (owners) are only a text away and reply very quickly. Whenever I texted Laura with a question, ( I think only once or twice after arrival because everything is so well explained before you arrive) she responded immediately.

Regarding the deposit; I got my check for the deposit back in a very short time after my return home and would have been quicker if I used Paypal :-)

The location is a plus also. Close enough to Chatham for convenience but far enough removed from the crowds and traffic. We took the ferry to Nantucket, and my daughter recommended using Freedom Cruise from Harwich Port. It took us about 6 minutes to get there.

The cottage is .5 mile from Forest Beach. It's a smaller beach, no facilities but the cottage is close enough to get there and back very quickly.

I really can't put into words what a idyllic place this cottage was so I'll end by saying, WE HIT THE COTTAGE JACKPOT! And thank you again, Joe & Laura.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Dallas, TX
Member since Jul 2016
Great Stay in a Great Home!

This classic cape home was a perfect vacation spot for my husband and me, although the layout and location would be ideal for a family as well. We both felt right at home from the moment we walked in the door. The flow of this home is so inviting and relaxing, from the easy access to the deck right off the driveway, to the open and airy layout of the living space. And while the summer of 2016 will go down as one of the hottest in history, the cross-ventilation this house provides from the front and back doors and slider left us perfectly comfortable enjoying the ocean breezes with no need for the available a/c at all!!

We found the furnishings very comfortable with plenty of space to spread out in the living room while enjoying a good book or one of the many dvds from Laura and Joe’s collection! And we loved coming across the portable stereo in the closet (yes, they have thought of everything!) to enjoy music with breakfast and ballgames in the evenings! The bedroom was very nicely laid out with the most important feature, a very comfortable bed! And I think we have found one of the nicest outdoor showers on all of Cape Cod!!

I feel that our search for the perfect Cape vacation home is over! We are so glad we found Laura and Mike’s home by Forest Beach and are very much looking forward to returning for our next Cape trip!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Manchester, CT
Member since Dec 2006
The best time ever

We have rented this wonderful beach house for our son and grandchildren for at least four summers. Actually our grandchildren call it "their beach house"! It is so well appointed, immaculate and well cared for. It is very kid friendly and only a short walk to the beach. The kitchen has everything needed for a seafood dinner and there's so much room on the comfortable deck to enjoy it with the entire family. The beds are very comfortable and sleep six easily. The bath is very clean and updated. This house is very close to Forest Beach and a short drive to five other beaches. It is a short drive into Chatham with its wonder shops and excellent restaurants.

The owners, Joe & Laura, were great to work with.

We really, really enjoyed the outside shower! The kids, 7 & 8, want one at home.

Thanks again for a memorable summer vacation in Chatham by the sea. We are definitely looking forward to staying at this house during the summer of 2017.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
New Paltz, NY
Member since Dec 2015
Perfect Chatham Retreat

We love this house! We've been staying here for years and never want to go anywhere else. It has everything a vacationing family needs. It is clean, up to date, and private. The owners take great pride in the house and it shows. I can't say enough about it. This is what a Cape house is supposed to be!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Westwood, MA
Member since Oct 2016
Outstanding Cottage in South Chatham

We owned a cottage in South Chatham for twenty-five years and we returned this summer for a week and stayed in this adorable cottage. It is immaculate, tastefully decorated and has all of the amenities that you need. It is a great location for all family activities! We highly recommend this property... we hope to go next summer for two weeks!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Old Saybrook, CT
Member since Jul 2015
Charming little cottage

Charming little cottage. Perfect for a family vacation. Location is great , short walk to the beach or drive to downtown Chatham .We have stayed in this cottage a few times & have noticed upgrades each time we come back. We hope to return soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: February 2015
Date Submitted: June 2016
Marblehead, MA
Member since Jun 2016
A Perfect Family Vacation!

We stayed in this adorable cottage for our annual Chatham vacation this year. We have rented several cottages over the years, but this was by far our favorite. The location is perfect, quiet and quaint area, just a short walk to Forest Beach to gather shells. The house is immaculate and decorated tastefully. All amenities are provided to make the stay more comfortable. The owners are lovely to work with! We are already eager to return next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Old Saybrook, CT
Member since Mar 2009

"The cottage was immaculate. The location is in a quiet neighborhood near the center of town and close to the beach. I highly recommend renting here."

Date of Stay: April 2011
Date Submitted: April 2011
Watertown, CT
Member since Apr 2011

We can't believe this was our 5th annual trip to your cottage! We loved it as much this year as the first. It feels like home :). The new trash area/counter are a great addition. We appreciated the new outside tablecloth too. Justin loved all the books and movies and was thrilled to find the squirt guns in the shed. Please thank your boys for sharing their toys so generously. We had a wonderful two weeks and despite the summer's only few days of rain. There is plenty to do on the cape, rain or shine. As always, we look forward to next years visit. Have a great winter!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: April 2011
Jennifer, Bob and Justin P
Westwood, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

This is our fourth year coming to the cape for our summer vacation, and it has been the best year yet! This is our favorite rental by far! The house is wonderfully appointed in each room, and the decor is so welcoming. The movie library is excellent for the times where we needed to relax. And by far, the outdoor shower was one of the best features. It was clean and well-made. We've seen some pretty yucky ones. We had the opportunity to explore town, take in a baseball game, and enjoy the beach. We loved Oyster Pond on School house Rd. We look forward to our 2011 vacation, only 51 weeks to go, and we will be back for sure. Many Thanks.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: April 2011
Dan E
Long Island, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

You have really created the PERFECT vacation rental. Your attention to the needs of your guests down to the very last detail, has been so appreciated! The design & decor of your home is lovely and clean inside and out. The A/C and outdoor shower brought us from satisfied/happy to blissful! The toys and sandbox entertrained our two young children enough for us to actually RELAX! We had such a great week, and can't wait to come back in 2011!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: April 2011
James V
New Paltz, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks again - the place is as nice as we remember from 2 years ago! The improvements are nice too - our 3 year old thinks the cobblestone border makes a great balance beam. He also really appreciated your children's library - we must have read every book at least 5 times!.....We hade a great vacation - we hope to come back again!

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: April 2011
Michael L
East Walpole, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had the best vacation this week thanks to finding your wonderful beach home. It is well equipped and very comfortable in all respects. it is tastefully decorated and very kid friendly. We took many of your restaurant suggestions and were happy with all especially The Corner Store Burritos! We love the beach and how private it is. Hopefully we will be renting again next summer maybe (2) weeks this time. We don't want to leave!!! Thanks for everything.

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: April 2011
Jim M
Medford, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time in your beautiful cottage. After several years in a different rental on Florence Drive, we couldn't believe our luck in finding such a clean and well-equipped place to stay. Your thoughtfulness in providing for the needs of your renters is much appreciated (especially the cleanliness!). We can't wait to return next year!

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: April 2011
Ted, Jeannette, Nathaniel and P
Storrs, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Everything wonderful as usual in this beautiful cottage. Love the new cathedral ceiling! And your powerful shower sure feels good after a day at the beach. Looking foward to next year!

Date of Stay: September 2008
Date Submitted: April 2011
Fritz and Victoria L
Groton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We loved your beach cottage! It was clean, modern and had all the amenities. We also loved all the extras for the children. It's a wonderful, comfortable place and we really hope to be able to rent again for many summers to come. Thank you so much.

Date of Stay: September 2008
Date Submitted: April 2011
Michelle, Wayne and Alison C
Salem, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful vacation and found your house very comfortable and extremely well equipped. Our children were particularly appreciative of all the toys and sports equipment, which we put to good use. Many thanks for PG Tips - nice cup of tea was enjoyed throughly! We can recommend Dolphin Fleet Whale watch in P-town - truely awe inspiring. We also enjoyed beach combing along Morris Island and at the National History Museum in Brewster, Cycling along the Cape Cod Rail Trail and down the Coast Guard Beach makes a great and fun day out. The abundance of wildlife particularly impressed us, so we decided to make a log of all the things we saw: --In the yard -- Pheasant and 12 chicks, lots of rabbits, chipmunks, foxes, giant american robins, great spotted woodpecker/dawny woodpecker, sparrows, goldfinch, hawks, monarch butterflies. --At Forest Beach/Morris Island -- 3 Ospreys, Egretts or Cranes / Herons, Double Crested Corurants, Horse shoe crabs, hermit crabs, atlantic crabs, seabirds too many to mention, marsh harrier, red crested tree creeper, red wings black bird, star fish, harbor seal. --On the whale watch -- 20 Humpbacks, 5 finbacks and 3 Minke.

Date of Stay: August 2007
Date Submitted: April 2011
Roberta, Steve, Pietrox & Giul H
United Kingdom
(Homeowner Entered)