Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

''The Chimney House'' - Water Views from Every Room!!
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 20116

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 BRs: 2 queens, full size sofa bed & small day bed
Beach: 8/10 of a mile to Harding's Beach
Guest Reviews: 36 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 5 months
Contact details:
  Email David
Contact David, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 439-3311.
Please mention Property ID# 20116 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
36 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful week on the Oyster River

My family of 3 had a wonderful week at the Chimney House. Very convenient location allowed for easy visits to friends and family in Harwichport and Brewster. Harding Beach and Ridgevale Beach were beautiful! My son caught a fluke right on the river (a 3 minute walk from the cottage). Boatyard staff were very friendly and allowed us to launch kayaks and fish. Breezes kept house cool. A couple of nights were cool enough to use the chimenea - fire lasted a long time and was great for making s'mores. A wonderful vacation. Thank you to our hosts for all the amenities and responsive answers to questions.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Port Washington, NY
Member since Apr 2014
Perfection

Perfect is the only word that comes remotely close to describing Chimney House. Absolutely everything has been provided to make your stay memorable from the great collection of CD's and movies to listen to and watch, if time permits, to a beach bag complete with sunscreen so that you can enjoy the superb beach which is nearby.
The owner is very attentive and keen to answer any queries you may have to ensure that your stay is an absolute pleasure.

We'll be back.

Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Australia
Member since Feb 2015
A slice of heaven

We visited the Cape in August 2015, travelling from London, England! with our 3 young children and had the privilege of staying at The Chimney House. What a gem of a place! The location of this cottage could not be better, minutes away from the incredibly quaint little town of Chatham and a stone's throw from a number of breathtaking beaches. The cottage itself is delightful! It is immaculate and very well equipped. Everything works and is in outstanding condition. It feels like a home, not a holiday rental. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and honestly didn't want to leave! It was an absolute pleasure dealing with the owner who was prompt in his responses to all of my many queries and had a wealth of local knowledge which proved invaluable whilst we were there. If I could give this little slice of heaven more than a 5 star rating, believe me, I would!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
United Kingdom
Member since Jul 2015
Perfect

This is a beautifully kept cottage with a wonderful living room! The breezes through the room's windows were heavenly. Everything you could want for a kitchen was provided. Will definitely consider going back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
CT
Member since Jun 2015
Best week ever!

My family and I were fortunate to stay at this perfect little cottage. 2 adults and 2 teenage girls, and there was plenty of room. Lots of amenities in the kitchen, everything my foodie family needed. The location is absolutely perfect. We left our kayaks down at the boatyard for the week, no problem. Speaking of kayaking, it was excellent, saw deer on the beach! Having all the windows open at night was so nice. Probably had the best weather all summer! Ocean breezes blowing through, it was lovely. This location is a little slice of heaven and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone! The homeowners are so helpful and easily accessible by phone or email.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Canada
Member since Mar 2008
Best Place to Stay on the Cape

We stayed at the Chimney House for a week in July 2015 and loved every minute of it. We are a family of four from outside Toronto, with two kids aged 5 and 7 and this was our first visit to Cape Cod. We definitely picked the right place to stay - the Chimney House and Chatham were both the right choice.

The Chimney House was fantastic - clean, quiet, comfortable, private, and a great location - central to everything the Cape has to offer. It felt like home the second we arrived, and it was a perfect home base for us for the week, as we made trips to Boston, Nantucket, Hyannis, and Provincetown. It was fully equipped, including kitchen/laundry and had absolutely everything we needed for our stay.

Chatham was definitely the place to stay, with a fantastic downtown, great restaurants, shops, beaches, etc! Our favourite beach was Hardings Beach, about a 2 minutes from the Chimney House.

David and Beth were awesome from the moment we inquired about renting the Chimney House. We knew exactly what to expect upon arriving, and they were also nice enough to answer all my emails about what we should see/do while visiting. They were more than helpful in providing suggestions on restaurants and things to see, and made our trip that much more enjoyable. The only thing we didn't have time for (which we regret) was checking out a ball game in Chatham.

I would recommend staying at the Chimney House to anyone looking to make a trip to Cape Cod. Thanks again and we will definitely be back again soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Canada
Member since Jan 2015
Charming & relaxing hideaway

Beautiful cottage tucked away with lovely views over the river. You feel a million miles from the hustle and bustle of every day life, but it's only a short drive to Chatham with all the amenities you need. Chatham itself is really pretty, you could easily spend a couple of days wandering and checking out all the eateries. The Chimney House provides a great base to explore the Cape from.

The cottage is home from home, and very comfortable and well equipped. I loved sitting in the garden and listening to the wildlife, watching the boats bobbing around. Very peaceful. I just wish we could have stayed another week.

We cooked most evening (don't miss the Fish Pier for amazing fish just off the boat), my partner fancies himself as a bit of a chef, and we found everything that we needed to whip up our gourmet meals.

The laundry facilities were really helpful as it meant we didn't have to pack too much and worry about baggage limits on our flight from the UK.

David was so helpful, from helping us with how to transfer payment from the UK, sending us lots of tips of things to do and places to see, and even arranging a birthday cake for my partner. The Chimney House is definitely top of the list of places to come back to. Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
united kingdom
Member since Feb 2015
Perfect retreat!

This charming, light-filled cottage was the perfect place to stay. It wraps one in a peaceful and relaxing mode. And,its close proximity to the town made excursions a breeze. Everything was clean and tidy when we arrived. Nice little kitchen. We loved the quiet and lazy mornings.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Member since Jun 2015
A True Combination of Privacy and Location

This house made our vacation better than we could have imagined!! First, the house is the classic Cape Cod Cottage with its style, coziness and location but has just enough modern touches to make the stay even better. Need central air? No you don't... The calming breeze off the marina is the best air conditioner you can have. When we arrived, the house was spotless and the Owner met us with enthusiasm and a positive attitude that set the bar for a great week ahead.

This house is so close to downtown, beaches and restaurants that there is no time wasted in a car but, once you return home, quietness and relaxation await. Even on vacation, we actually loved being at the house. I hated to leave my morning coffee time down at the marina as it had to be the best way to begin any day! Nighttime fires and cookouts in the private yard were perfect for the stay at home nights. We don't know what else to say about this house other than perfect...perfect...perfect !!!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Bellingham, MA
Member since Mar 2014
Great spot to stay!

This was our first stay at The Chimney House and we found it to be a clean & charming place, conveniently located a short drive from everything in Chatham we wanted to access. The owners were wonderful to work with. I would highly recommend this rental for couples or small families.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Attleboro, MA
Member since Jul 2007
A Wonderful Home Away from Home

I highly recommend this cottage to rent and enjoy Chatham. The house is lovely and decorated well. The homeowners have done a wonderful job stocking the house with everything you need, even sheets and towels! The homeowners are so kind and helpful- making you feel welcome and relaxed. A perfect place to rest your head and enjoy Chatham.

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
Maryville, TN
Member since Dec 2007
Taken care of at the Chimney House.

We loved Chatham, and the Chimney House was a really great place to call home for the week. David, the owner, was very accommodating and helpful with all things Cape and Island! We agree, that Hardings Beach, just down the road, was the best of all we visited. Thanks again, David and Beth, for your lovely cottage.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Cottage Grove, WI
Member since Apr 2013
Gemütliches Ferienhäuschen

Wir (Familie mit zwei Teenagern) haben uns im Chimney House ausgesprochen wohl gefühlt. Beth und David haben uns freundlich empfangen und uns alles gezeigt. Bettwäsche, Handtücher waren ausreichend vorhanden, was für uns, da wir aus der Schweiz anreisten von enormem Vorteil war.
David ist in allem sehr entgegenkommend und hilfsbereit!
Der Wohnraum vom Chimney house ist von Licht durchflutet und bietet schöne Ausblicke ins Grüne und zu einem kleinen privaten Bootshafen. Das Cottage liegt inmitten einer kleinen amerikanischen Ferienhaussiedlung, während unserem Aufenthalt nur von Amerikanern bewohnt. Schöne Ausflugsmöglichkeiten: Provincetown zu Walbeobachtungstouren, Plymouth: Erste Besiedlung durch Europäer - Museumsdorf und Mayflower II, Wrentham Village Klamottenoutlet, Chatham Hafen mit vielen Seehunden, tolle Strände, Brax Landing mit den besten Lobster rolls, Ausflugsmöglichkeiten nach Nantucket und Martha's Vineyard.

English translation:
Cozy Cottages
We (family with two teenagers) have felt very comfortable in the Chimney House. Beth and David made us a warm welcome and showed us everything. Bed linen, towels were plentiful, which for us as we arrived from Switzerland was a huge advantage.

David was all very accommodating and helpful!

The living room of Chimney house is flooded with light and offers beautiful views of the countryside and a small private marina. The cottage is set in a small American holiday site, during our stay only inhabited by Americans. Beautiful excursions: Provincetown to whale watching, Plymouth: First European settlement - Museum Village and Mayflower II, Wrentham Village clothes Outlet, Chatham harbor with many seals, great beaches, Brax Landing with the best lobster rolls, excursions to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: November 2012
Switzerland
Member since Sep 2012
Another Wonderful Stay!

The Chimney House has become our piece of heaven at the end of the summer for the last three years. We stay with our two small children and all four of us have thoroughly enjoyed the house, the surroundings, Chatham and the Cape. The aesthetics of the cottage and the comforts it provides are first rate. We love the house and are glad an annual stay here has become our family tradition. The owners are wonderful hosts!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Darien, CT
Member since Sep 2012

Another great time @ "The Chimney House'. Girls are older this time (6&9) enjoyed the beach
(Hardings) made a trip to Wellfleet & P-town. Had a great meal @ Delmar. Kayaked on the River &
saw H Connick Jr.. Another good walk on Monomoy Wildlife Reserve. love sitting in the Family room and enjoying this house.
Thanks
Shannon,Chris,Olivia,Julia

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Shannon V
Winchester, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)
Quintessential Cape Cod

We have spent the last several years vacationing in the Chatham area staying in motels and rentals in hopes we would find the place we wanted to return year after year. This year we found that place…the Chimney House. It is a charming and cozy cottage. The location is quiet with a beautiful view of the Oyster River and boatyard. The house is comfortable and well equipped.

Our boys (5 and 4) enjoyed early morning crab hunting at the small boatyard beach while we enjoyed the view and our morning coffee. Our boys also delighted in the visits from Salty, the boatyard dog. We enjoyed the peaceful Cape Cod evenings grilling out with the tiki torches lit and the chiminea to keep us warm. Hardings Beach is less than a mile away and Ridgevale Beach (great for families with small children) is a short car ride away. Our week was the quintessential Cape Cod experience!

David, the owner, is great to work with and very accessible. If you think this looks like the place for you, try it…we don't think you'll be disappointed. We booked our week for 2013 before our vacation even ended!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Walpole, MA
Member since May 2009
Charming House - Wonderful Vacation!

We stayed at Chimney House for two weeks this summer with our two young children (7 and 5 years) and we could not have enjoyed it more. The house is especially charming and pleasingly decorated - with a perfect and easy flow of space and rooms. It is full of light and airy, yet cozy, comfortable and relaxing. You really feel that you are on vacation. Open the windows, and a pleasant breeze flows into the house from the pond below.

The house sits just above a small boatyard on Oyster Pond, so you have easy access to a pleasant and breezy view of the inlet.
The owner David is great - particularly kind, knowledgeable and helpful. An added bonus - his wife Beth’s paintings of Cape Cod that give added charm to Chimney House.

The kids enjoyed the freedom of going back and forth to the pond with nets to catch little fish and crabs. Salty, the Labrador retriever whose owner works at the boatyard, visited a few times, much to the delight of our kids, particularly our dog-crazed daughter who loved feeding her biscuits supplied by CH.

Chatham is spectacular and full of so many great things to do. It is a tasteful, low key and beautiful town. And Chimney House makes you feel as if you are in a cozy nook – so nicely situated on the Cape.
David recommended kayaking, which we did twice – rented one from John, a nice guy near the Town dock a little ways down Oyster Pond. Bike riding is fantastic – have wonderful paths that go all over the Cape. Chatham Fish dock was a great visit for the kids – got to see the seals up close as they swam around the fishing boats unloading their catch of the day. We enjoyed grilling at Chimney House and using its Chiminea on the back deck. It could not have been a nicer, more restful and happy vacation

A great house and great time for our family! – David and Anne, NYC

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
New York, NY
Member since Feb 2012
great family memories

First of all the best part was the owner. David wrote us many times before our stay to make sure we were all set. He made a few exceptions for us since we were traveling from far away in MN. Once we arrived to our dream cottage, the kids went crazy. They showered every single evening outside on the private deck. We had all the comforts of home in this cottage. We overslept every morning with the peaceful sounds of nature out our windows and the cool breeze of the river. Not only was the cottage amazing, but the town is the best of all the Cape. We visited each town and this is the best. We were able to drop all our beach chairs (provided by the owners) and towels and food at the beach , then my husband would drive home and ride the bike the .8 miles back to the beach so we never had to pay for parking. We are missing the Chimney House!! Thank you, David!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Saint Paul, MN
Member since Jan 2012
Beautiful!!!

Thank you both for sharing the Chimney House, it worked out so well for our family. Our 2 yr old daughter absolutely loved having her own room where she could wake up and look out to see the boats on the water every morning. It was really a beautiful area, and so peaceful, and the cottage was just so comfortable it made us feel at home.
Jenn, Paul and Violet

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Clifton, NJ
Member since Jul 2012

"Many thanks for a great week staying in your beach house. We had beautiful weather and hope you will enjoy the same up here in the fall"

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Chris,Christina M
Darien, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had a great time. The weather cooperated so that we were able to do everything we planned! Had some great sun and also some fog that lent "atmosphere". The Chimney House worked out great. Thanks for your flexibility on the scheduling"

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Bruce,Linda H
Hingham, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. Hopefully "The Chimney House"
survived Hurricane Irene unharmed!!. We would love to return in 2012"

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Neil,Karen S
West Springfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

'We had a wonderful time-and were thankful for such great weather!! It was fantastic!!
We are already looking forward to next year"

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Caroline & John M
Washington, DC
(Homeowner Entered)

"We loved the cottage, Boat Yard and Salty!!! Location was great and "The Chimney House" was the perfect size for our family. Please hold the same week for us in 2012"

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Tim ,Ann Marie C
Wellesley, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you so much. We had a blast!! The kids wanted to stay "forever"!!! Salty was a big hit, she adored my lil one."

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
John & Amy K
Scituate, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

Beth & David," we had a great time at your "Chimney House" . One of the hottest weeks
of the summer and the breeze blew through and kept us comfortable and cool!!!
We enjoyed Pisces and the Squire!! Thanks for the recomendations!!
See you in 2012.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
John&Sue S
Richmond, VT
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful location and lovely home; we truly enjoyed our stay at Chimney House!

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
West Newton, MA
Member since Jun 2009

"Many thanks to you both for sharing your lovely cottage. It was great! We left wishing we didn't have to go back to work the next day! We are looking forward to coming back in the future. It was perfect for us and we really enjoyed it!"

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: March 2011
Chris M
Darrien, Ct.
(Homeowner Entered)

"One word to describe our entire vacation----Perfection !!!! Thank you so much for sharing "The Chimney House" with our family. Whenever we arrived back to the cottage it felt like we were returning "home". Simply the perfect vacation spot.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: March 2011
Todd S
Los Angeles, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

"Your home is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway.It's a lovely spot, so charming, so bright and so Cape Cod. Thank you for making our first stay in Chatham such a memorable one"

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: March 2011
Whitney B
Andover, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had a wonderful stay! The cottage perfectly cozy & charming& tasteful& had everything you could need for a young family on vacation. Thanks a ton!

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: March 2011
Keri,Lari,Ari, B
Stamford, Ct.
(Homeowner Entered)

"What a loveley respite in this otherwise chaotic world! Thank you for sharing the Chimney House with us. It was perfect"

Date of Stay: August 2007
Date Submitted: March 2011
Leslie W
Cambridge, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

"The perfect cottage, lots of fun things to do. Great resturants our favorite was the Impudent Oyster"

Date of Stay: September 2006
Date Submitted: March 2011
Margaret C
Chicago, Illinois
(Homeowner Entered)

"bikes, beaches,seals,Salty,Ice cream, lobster rolls- perfect weather and a charming place to stay! Thank You"

Date of Stay: August 2006
Date Submitted: March 2011
Bill C
Dunstable, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

"Our second visit, why mess with perfection!!"

Date of Stay: July 2006
Date Submitted: March 2011
Marti F
Dedham, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

'The stay we had at your beautiful home was fabulous"

Date of Stay: August 2005
Date Submitted: March 2011
Irv k
Atlanta, Ga
(Homeowner Entered)