Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Great Fall Weather! Walk to Beach+Ride to Bike Trail/Lg Yard
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 2460

5 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 12
Beds: 5 BRs: 2 queens, 2 doubles, 4 twins, 1 queen sofabed
Beach: 3/10 mile/5 min walk to neighborhood private beac
Guest Reviews: 46 reviews
Time active: 16 years, 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Michael Gavin (Owner)
Contact Michael Gavin (Owner), by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 455-1933.
Please mention Property ID# 2460 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
46 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
As advertised!!

The house was clean and orderly when we arrived. We LOVED the patio with the two grills. We spent every evening enjoying the beautiful weather, eating the great Cape Cod seafood, having a few drinks, and making memories! It is just a short walk down the street to the beach and just a short drive to Chatham for shopping and some great restaurants. The location is ideal, we took a 45 minute ride to Provincetown for whale watching and shopping. There is an awesome restaurant at the corner of the street (Pisces). I plan on returning and staying here again. You won't be disappointed. I would highly recommend the house to my friends and family.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since Apr 2016

We enjoyed the accommodations very much and they were right in line with the description. This property is a perfect place to share quality time with family and friends. With so many options for the kids it allows for better visits with friends and loved ones. Overall we all enjoyed this tremendously and believe we will be back.

Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Jay J
Denver, Colorado
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks, Michael!

Thanks again for allowing us to stay at your place...has been just what the doctor ordered. It was a fantastic week, and we all fell in love with the house by the end of the week. It seemed like every time we needed something, it was there. All of the touches for kids were wonderful and the yard is amazing. The house was clean, and we did watch the TV. I also thought that you did a great job communicating - that was definitely a plus.

All the best,

Bryan

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Bryan H
Marlborough, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Michael,

I just wanted to say that we had a great stay at your summer vacation home. It was the perfect size for our family. Couldn't have asked for more beautiful weather! The kids had a ball and there was never a moment where there was a want of things to do. I'm sure we talk again.

Sincerely,

Janet and Dick

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Janet and Dick F
Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael,

We had a great time, the house was perfect for us with our 3 grandchildren (8,5 &4). The parents (2 couples) loved it. The kids had lots to do with all the play features you have in and out of the house. The two living-rooms were a plus, since the kids could be in one watching either a video or TV. The eating area inside and out was perfect for all of us and that hammock and the tree to sit under with continuous cool breezes was great. We liked that we could walk or bike to the beach. We got a week's pass to Harwich so we could go to Red River and park the car with all the gear and the others could bike.

The house was very clean and picked up. Also the yard.

We watched your TV and we all used our tablets, (the kids watched their Netflix streaming movies on them).

Thanks again, we can't wait to come back next summer, it was perfect for us. In fact no one wanted to go home.

Linda and Peter and all the assorted [family members]

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Linda and Peter K
Florence, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

[MG=Homeowner + LMR=Guest]

MG>
In an effort to improve the house, I'd greatly appreciate your comments on:
>>>

MG>
The state of cleanliness when you arrived?

LMR>
-Good. I didn’t feel the need to break out the bleach bottle or vacuum before settling in (which says a lot)!

>>>

MG>
What were the things that you liked the best?

LMR>
- Indoor and outdoor space. Nice to find a house that can comfortably accommodate us all! The kitchen is very spacious. We spent a lot of time gathered around the large patio and kitchen tables as well as in the family room(s). The home office is an excellent feature for those that need to have a private work space.
-In-house washer & dryer = no visits to the Laundromat!
-Loved the outdoor shower. It was large, clean and critter free!
-The boys enjoyed having the basketball goal in the driveway.
-Proximity to the beach.Not a bad walk...!

>>>

MG>
Did you watch any TV, or did you just watch DVD's and use the internet?

LMR> I don’t think we watched any TV.  We brought a game console system for the kids. I brought a bunch of DVD’s—but we didn’t watch those either. Might have been different if we had had bad weather—but the weather was nice all week so our days were spent outside and we played “old fashioned” games each night after dinner with the kids.

LMR> We very much enjoyed our stay at the farm house and will definitely consider returning!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Lisa R
Frisco, TX
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful family vacation! Your house is large enough that we can spread out (and not get in each other's way...as family can do :) . The weather was perfect and there was ample room for outdoor activities.

We ate almost all of our meals outside and loved the tables and chairs.
My favorite part of the house is the kitchen. It's large enough for a few people to help when preparing meals and it's fully stocked with anything we'd ever need. The gas stove is great as is the large refrigerator.

There is no doubt that having 2 living rooms with 2 TV's makes life easier with the kids. The outside shower is very comfortable to use and was preferred by almost everyone. We all appreciated the many magazines available. We had planned on playing a few games, but the Kan Jam game we brought was addictive so the group usually retreated to the yard to play.

So thank you for providing such a pleasant place for a family vacation. I don't know when the family will be able to find the same week on their calendars in the future, but if they can you will certainly be hearing from us.

Lyn and Bernie

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Lyn and Bernie L
Wilton, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael,

The place was clean when we arrived. The house was well equipped for everything we needed for 12 people and the location is fantastic. Thanks [for having us] again!

Vince

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Vincent R
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Hello Michael,

My family, my parents and my brother's family all had a wonderful time at your house! It is very clean and well equipped. The house feels like a home. It's very warm and comfortable. And even with all the rain, we managed to still have fun. Without all the games, books and DVD movies you have provided for adults and kids, we would have all been climbing up the walls! We are already talking about returning next Septembrr, before the kids grow into school age and prevent our fall vacations. Thanks!

Vanessa and our extended family

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
Vanessa A
Roanoke, VA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael,

We had a good time! (The 2 person bike and ping pong table was a favorite!) Everything that was there was good. And it wasn't too far from everything but just far enough that it was peaceful. I will keep it in mind that you rent in the spring and fall. It would be nice to get away for a few days during those seasons. Thank you for renting the house to us.

Diana

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
Diana H
Plymouth, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

I just wanted to thank you for letting us again enjoy your great place in Chatham. Once again, our summer vacation was a dream vacation!! We enjoyed every moment of it and the weather was on our side all the time. Thanks again and best regards,

Suzanne

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
Suzanne L
Montreal, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Hey,

Great place! We had tremendous fun. Our three kids loved it! The boys spent all week climbing in your huge trees. Everything we needed was in the house. Having 2 separate living rooms (with doors) is a brilliant idea for your renters. And Geocaching abounds all over Cape Cod. Thank you! We WILL be back!.

David & Steffanie

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
David & Steffanie S
Allentown, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael:

Good morning to you! We had a wonderful time at your lovely home. Thank you so much for everything! I will send you an email with some of my favorite moments/things…. I particularly liked waking up to bird songs every morning. The tandem bike was awesome! Thank you for everything!

Warmly,

Danielle

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
Danielle P
Longmont, CO
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael -

We had a great vacation! The Chatham Farmhouse is a wonderful house for families, very comfortable and clean. The large kitchen was fabulous and was equipped with everything we needed. The house was exactly as described on the website and in your correspondence. We enjoyed our short walks to the beach (which we did often) and the short, scenic drives to different locations on the Cape. We would definitely consider renting your home again. We're not sure when we could return but would definitely contact you again if we can arrange another visit to Cape Cod. Thank you for allowing us to rent your lovely home!
 
Melodie

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
Melodie M
Baltimore, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

Hello. I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed your home!! My Mom had a wonderful birthday and my family truly enjoyed our stay. It was an amazing week!! Your home was so comfortable!! We all enjoyed the sunset on Pleasant St beach last night. It was beautiful!! We also saw your neighborhood fox. I sure hope we make it back soon!! Take care & thank you. Michelle

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Michelle L
Columbus, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

As always, we enjoyed our stay. Appreciated your change to a gas stove – you gave us a good excuse to switch from our home electric stove.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Richard S
Chatham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hello Michael,
 
Back in Montreal yesterday afternoon after a wonderful vacation in your Pleasant Street home. We enjoyed every moment of our stay, everything was perfect and I wanted to thank you for it. My sons want to repeat the experience … and rent your home again next year.
 
Kind regards,

Suzanne

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Suzanne L
Montreal, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed your house very much! The kids really enjoyed the supply of videos!...ping pong, and volley ball net, and bikes. The weather was iffy at the beginning, so we did excursions to Provincetown, kayaking, hiking, etc.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Susanne R
Easton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We can't say enough about our experience at your house- it was fantastic! The house was attractive, very clean, neat, organized, warm and inviting. Has all of the comforts of home, especially if you want to cook and eat big dinners at home. The descriptions on your website, along with your very useful info emails, were dead-on accurate (we've had several bad experiences in the past with renting houses that bared no resemblance to the advertised copy). We will be sure to stay there again!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Sabrina H
Buffalo, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi, Michael. Just felt compelled to send an email telling you how much our whole family loved staying at your house last week. Really, really loved it! Especially great for the kids... my personal favorite feature being the little handle on the screen door just at the right height for our 2-year-old. :-)

We had such a great vacation... whale watching, shopping, golfing, hanging out at the fish pier, taking walks, going to the beach....

It was wonderful to return to your house following each outing. We shared great meals there and the kids were so at home every time they jumped out of the car! It was the perfect place for our family to enjoy a very special vacation. Thank you!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Emily N
Elizabethtown, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael-

We had a wonderful week at your house!  The weather was great and we enjoyed the beach and some sightseeing! We will definitely consider the Farmhouse again.

Thanks,

Jennifer

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Jennifer H
Cranston, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Michael,

We had an absolutely wonderful time!! Your farmhouse is charming, lovely, and very comfortable. It was absolutely spotless, and exactly as you represented on the website. Beautifully decorated and equipped with everything necessary to have a relaxing summer vacation. The kids totally loved the yard- we practically had to drag them into the car when the week was over and we had to go home! Thanks for everything. And we will be back!!

Jan

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Jan S
Ridgefield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael,

Your house is perfect for the small children in our family. As always, the house was spotlessly clean when we arrived on Sat. July 21.

The walk to the beach is very easy to do and there was always parking for those bringing the younger children.

Thanks again,

Susan

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Susan W
Newtown, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hello Michael

First, and foremost, Thank You for sharing your lovely family home home with us.  We had a wonderful week, as we always do. We took great care in keeping everything as we found it. 

Dotti

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Dave & Dotti B
Dracut, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great time on the Cape! Chatham is definitely the town to be in. If you ever have anyone looking for a reference or feedback from someone who has stayed at your place I would be more than willing to send them. We absolutely loved it!!

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: December 2011
Suzanne S
Washington, DC
(Homeowner Entered)

Hey Michael,
Thank you for a wonderful week in Chatham. The house was great, and the story about it coming over from Nantucket on a barge was great to tell visitors. We are already committed to vacation in Florida next summer, but if you rent off season, please let me know, I think the house would be great in the Fall. Thanks again.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Al G
Oxford, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Had our best vacation yet. ....we will want to repeat next year (and I hope for many more). Thank you again for providing a place to continue our decades-long annual entire family gathering. Without a second thought or consultation, I cannot foresee any time in next several years when we would NOT want to rent your property for the same days..... it is more than time together - it is a tradition, a pilgrimage, an in-gathering, a bonding. I hope that there would be an opportunity for you to meet my family, as much for them to express their appreciation to you in person as for you to see how much we enjoy being together at your property.

[Note: has returned every year since 1998]

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: December 2011
Richard S
Chatham, MA, us
(Homeowner Entered)

Michael,

I just wanted to let you know that your house was perfect for my family. The children: ages 6, 5, 3, 2 and 20 months thoroughly enjoyed the yard and the Pleasant Street beach was perfect for them. We hope to come back next year!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Susan W
Newtown, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

Your home was wonderful! It was in a great location to go to awesome beaches, and the one on the street was an easy walk. We had plenty of room to spread out and to have quiet spaces as well. The yard and grill were in good shape too. The resource book for area attractions was especially handy!

We truly enjoyed our stay and I appreciate how easy and accommodating you were! I would most definitely rent the home again- most likely the same week or the week after.

Your home helped my family create wonderful memories of my son's first beach vacation. Thanks again!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Rebecca F
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely farmhouse. The house was very well equipped and comfortable. My husband loved using the charcoal grill and the basketball hoop. We had a wonderful time. If ever we are in need of a vacation on the Cape (again), we will rent your house!

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: September 2011
Mae C
Boston, Mass
(Homeowner Entered)

My 2 sisters and I had a lovely time. Your house was a perfect rental for us. The house is well laid out, especially for large families or for families to share. And unlike some rentals we've rented before, everything was clean and fresh. I would absolutely go back, but not for another couple of years as I have 17 more U.S. states and a few more countries to see first!


Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: September 2011
Becky M
Pollock Pines, California
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful stay - both of our parents and my husband's 94 and 91 year old grand parents came down to stay. The first floor setup was just perfect for them. The house is also the perfect setup for young children, with plenty of private and safe yardspace and lots for them to do.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2011
Kelly W
Orange, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was great, well stocked w/ kitchenwares and bikes, beach chairs, plenty of room to move around and a great yard. It was clean and tidy when we arrived and it didn't appear that anything was broken. We would definitely rent the house again, in fact i'm already looking into my time off for next summer!! I will be in touch, and you have a lovely home. thanks again

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2011
Martha C
Saratoga Springs, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time (again) at your house in Chatham. Thank you for making it available to our family. We love your house and how it is set up, and I like what you did with the new brick patio and the patio tables. Thanks again!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: September 2011
John P
Hampstead, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Michael,

We thoroughly enjoyed the house and had a fantastic 2 weeks!!! I must say, we had been a little nervous about reserving this holiday from our home in England, from just an internet site and without ever having seen it, but it could not have been any better. It was everything we expected and much more. The kids just loved it.

If we ever travel back to Massachusetts we will DEFINETELY rent your lovely home again!!

Thank you so much!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: September 2011
Thomas P
London, England
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael…Ohhhhhhhhh…we had such a lovely time at your summer home!!… we love all the little things that make it special too (the books, toys, stool in the bathroom, and how smart everything is put together)….lots of time just hanging out in the driveway…so many bikes to choose from in the garage, and a flat driveway…. my 6 year old has just today learned how to ride a bike!!...she is just beaming!....we loved the beach, but it is funny- we came here to go to the beach and were surprised by how much time we spent enjoying your yard and toys (volleyball, horseshoes, squirt guns, basketball), and just hanging out watching the kids play….

So, now we are thinking about next summer at your house....

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: September 2011
Linda P
Stockbridge, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

First let me say we enjoyed our week on the Cape. Most of us attended a Crusaders soccer game at Y-D and a Chatham A's baseball game against the Orleans Cardinals. In addition, we used several beaches, played golf, toured the Air Museum and Rail museum, researched several topics at the Eldgridge Library, played numerous basketball, volleyball, horseshoe matches and celebrated three birthdays with lobsters and cake. We would like to commit now to the first week in August for next year.

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: December 2011
Charlie S
Woodstock, VT
(Homeowner Entered)

Your Chatham home is very well described, and we loved having a free beach within
walking/biking distance. We all had a very nice break! Thank you.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: December 2011
Heidi M
Poughquag, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Michael,

Thank you for providing such a spacious and well equipped house. Everyone in our big family party (14) was happy there and I heard zero complaints about anything. All the thought that had gone into making this a nice place for children was especially appreciated: the scooters, basketball hoop, swing set, beautiful back and side yards. It's an ideal place for multi-generation family reunions. This was probably the first time my three daughters (living in Amsterdam, Atlanta, and Boston) have been able to spend a whole week together for about 15 years. Whether it was sunny or rainy, the house just worked. We loved the big open kitchen, which is well arranged for several people to be working in it at once and the generous dining space off of it. Also, the double living rooms were great--you could be in the thick of things or quietly reading, whatever you preferred. Your descriptions of it were very accurate.

The house was clean when we arrived, and nothing needed fixing during our stay.

We explored the neighborhood on foot and on the bicycles we brought and it didn't take us long to discover the the great beach that you get to by turning left at the end of Deep Hole Road. It’s so close that you can just drop off the folks with the cooler and beach chairs (thanks for providing those) and then cycle back.

The only vacation houses Victor and I have rented before have been in France, since we have two now European daughters, and I'd say yours compared favorably with those. We'd certainly come back to you again if we decide to have an American family reunion.

Thanks again, Michael. Your historical antique house is a great place!

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: December 2011
Judy Y
Johnson, VT
(Homeowner Entered)

Michael,

I just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had in Chatham! We were so lucky to have a perfect week of weather and your house provided the perfect place to enjoy the week. Everything about the house was perfect. It was plenty big enough for all 12 of us to be comfortable, the kitchen was like being at home, the large private yard was great for having dinner and relaxing. We loved the outdoor shower! The kids used the ping pong table quite a bit, and I even played horseshoes for the first time. We walked to the beach at the end of the road quite often, and to the coffee shop at the other end. There were plenty of places to go on morning walks and see something different every time. We also did quite a bit of shopping on Main St., went to the Lighthouse Beach, the Coast Guard beach, Provincetown for a whale watch, used the Chatham bicycle paths, etc, etc. I think we crammed a lot into the week, but it was all very relaxed and enjoyable. But it all goes back to having perfect weather and the perfect house. Thank you so much!

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: December 2011
Phyllis E
Rush, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We all had a marvelous time and the house really was perfect for us all. We were still all talking about how great it was today before the PA crew left for home! The house exceeded our expectations and was remarkably well equipped- even paper and crayons for the kids to draw with! We also appreciated not having to bring a highchair or port-a-crib! It was very accurately described on the website and in your correspondence- in fact it didn't do it justice! And it was also was very clean and tidy. We are talking returning next year in June. We are also all dreaming of the day when we can use the outside shower again! That was a BIG hit

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: September 2011
Sherry C
Norwich, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Great house and yard!!! The absolutely perfect place for our family vacation! All the kids (mine and my brothers') spent the entire week outside, either in the yard, in the trees, on their bikes or at the beach (just like it was when I was a kid). They basically forgot all about TV and video games! They were out cold by 7PM every night, leaving us parents with little else to do but sit on the patio and drink wine. I will also say that your house is incredibly well equipped for just about everything a family would need on vacation, especially the kitchen. We have rented many vacation homes over the years, and that is often a common shortfall. Certainly not the case with you. We simply could not have found a better setting. While it is a very long trip from Toronto to Chatham, we sincerely hope to someday return to your wonderful home. Thank you so much!!

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: December 2011
Robin M
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Michael,

We had a wonderful time staying at your house in Chatham. It’s a perfect house for our extended family, with its many rooms, great kitchen, well supplied entertainment and yard, and easy walking distance to the beach. Thank-you again for letting us stay – we will definitely be recommending the house and the area to our friends and relatives.

Andrew

Date of Stay: October 2007
Date Submitted: December 2011
Andrew A
Carmel Valley, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Michael, we had a fun time staying at your house. It was the first time my wife and children saw the ocean. There were many fun things to do at the house.

Date of Stay: July 2007
Date Submitted: December 2011
Tim Q
Dubuque, IA
(Homeowner Entered)

Now we have been back home 10 days the holiday seems so long ago. However, I just want to write a few lines to thank you on behalf of my family and myself for the really wonderful time we spent at your Cape Cod house. I know that everyone had the greatest time and the memories will last a lifetime. You must be very proud of the place. Once again, thank you sincerely, Michael.

Date of Stay: August 2006
Date Submitted: December 2011
Michael & Lisa P
Cheshire, England
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Michael,

What can I say that you haven't heard already!

The house was a perfect retreat for our family reunion. Plenty of room to spread out -- inside and outside. We all like to cook and eat and spent many wonderful hours in the extremely well-equipped kitchen and at the table. I really appreciated the great home office you have -- since I'm a freelance editor I had to do some work each day and the set up is even better than what I have at home, and a lot more private.

We took good advantage of the rail trail bike trail for several extended rides -- didn't make it all the way to Provincetown but we did make to Eastham and back.

Thank you so much!

Brenda

Date of Stay: June 2006
Date Submitted: December 2011
Brenda M
Madison, CT
(Homeowner Entered)