Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charming -Walk to 2 Beaches -Booking Now Summer/Fall 2017
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 3705

4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins, set of bunk beds, crib, rollaway
Beach: 3/10 m. to Pleasant or Forest Street beaches
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 14 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Dore' Butler
Contact Dore' Butler, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 430-2961.
Please mention Property ID# 3705 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful stay with family at the Antique Cottage

My family very much enjoyed our 2-week vacation at the Antique Cottage in South Chatham. I stayed there many years ago and it was as nice as ever. Although we travel a lot to the Outer Cape during our stay (Wellfleet, Truro, P-town), being 'based' in Chatham, with so much around there, is our preference.

The house is an historic treasure and beautifully appointed with antiques. The multiple 'gathering spaces,' in the house proper, in the airy porch, and in the various 'rooms' in the landscaped yard made for very comfortable use of the property for my husband and I and our adult children with their families.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Putnam Valley, NY
Member since Jul 2016
Chatham vacation

Great stay, looking forward to next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Worcester, MA
Member since Jul 2015
Another fantastic week in Chatham

This was our fourth year staying with Dore'. We had another fantastic week on the Cape. It was four adults and four kids (ages 4, 6, 6, and 9). There was plenty of room for the eight of us, and we never felt like we were on top of each other. The house, as always, was in top notch condition. We really loved the addition of the fire pit. The girls loved lighting the torches and sitting under the stars. It's an easy walk to the beach at the bottom of the street, and there are several other beaches within walking distance as well.

If you are looking for a relaxed week on the Cape, in a wonderful house, look no further than Dore's Antique Chatham Cottage. We can't wait to get back there next year!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Forest Hills, NY
Member since Sep 2015
a special cottage.............

We are grandparents, 70 years+ , our daughter, 41, her two sons, 7and 9 yrs and our son, 42 yrs.. This is a lovely, absolutely charming cottage... plenty of room for everyone and a fabulous, well groomed yard, but still space for the boys to run around and play. The house is well stocked with the basics (soap for dishwasher, washing machine trash bags, etc), including two tv's, videos, and games for the children). One really does have the feeling of a home away from home. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and were able to eat outside every day at the two picnic tables... a very thoughtfully but practically decorated cottage. Friendly contact with the owner and specific advice, which was a big help also. This could be what you are looking for.. Thank you to the owner!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Germany
Member since Feb 2012
Great house to rent!

We enjoyed our stay at Dore's Antique Chatham Cottage so much. Not only was it in the best location with regards to walking to the beach and great restaurants but Dore' also stocked the house with everything we could need plus more! The charm of the home and all of Dore's personal touches and decor make you feel like you are walking into a home not a rental.

It was also a perfect spot for our daughter and her bridesmaids to get ready on the day of her wedding! The spacious grounds outside gave us plenty of room to relax and mingle as we all got ready.

Thanks again, Dore'.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Member since Jul 2014
Wonderful vacation!!

We had the privilege to rent this house!! Very clean and fully equipped for a super one-week stay. We enjoyed the quietness of the place and the more than wonderful garden. I would recommend this place for a comfortable and quiet vacation. Walkable distance to the beach. Not too far from Chatham village - great!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Canada
Member since Jan 2014
Enjoyed stay at cottage

Thanks so much for a great week on Cape Cod. We had terrific weather. We enjoyed the location and took several easy morning and afternoon trips to surrounding towns. The house was well stocked and well located for our trips to the beach and Cape Cod Rail Trail. The outdoor area is especially charming. We enjoyed more than one trip to Sundae School. We'll be returning to Chatham and Harwich again, I'm sure.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Washington, DC
Member since Feb 2014
A perfect family vacation on Cape Cod!

What a perfect family vacation on Cape Cod. My family and i were thrilled with this lovely house, which was even more beautiful in person. The 8 adults and my son, who is two, were very comfortable and had more then enough space.

The house was perfectly clean, no dust, and the decorations were charming and tasteful. The garden is very large and well cared for, with many charming places to sit and talk .The yard area is huge and perfect for children to safely run and play. It was near to great places to eat and a short 10 minute walk to a pretty, quiet beach.

Dore, the owner was so helpful, warm and welcoming! She was the perfect host who really made sure we were comfortable and felt at home. Children and adults will adore this house. It has something for everyone to enjoy!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Jul 2014
Great Stay - Thank You!

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Antique Cape Cottage. What a charming house! Not to mention, they have thought of everything. The house is very well equipped for your stay. We were fortunate to have lovely weather (very little humidity throughout the week.) If it had been a humid week, it could have gotten stuffy inside. The rooms worked perfect for our group. The nursery alcove upstairs was particularly convenient for my family - bed for my husband and I, a crib for our one year old and a cot for our 3 year old; everyone slept well. Spent a lot of time in the sunroom and on the home's beautiful grounds, whether it be a dinner outside or s'mores around the firepit. Plenty of beach gear that we were able to use, which was great! Such a nice location - short walk down to a small private beach. For us, it was good for watching sunsets and taking pictures of our kids. Lots of seashells to collect! Would definitely stay here again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Cumberland, RI
Member since Jan 2014
Antique Cape - Chatham MA

Our party arrived promptly at the 3:00 PM check in. Dore' was there to greet us and was thorough in showing us the house and its amenities. I will say the home is delightful and full of charm. We are antique home fans and this met and exceeded our expectations. The kitchen is well appointed with the convenience of the washer/dryer located there so laundry can be done while preparing meals. The bedrooms all are very comfortable with individual air conditioners which we appreciated as it was quite warm and muggy during our week. The beds were fine, we enjoyed the 4 poster in the downstairs master. The attached screened porch was quite pleasant to sit in and enjoy our morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. One of the best aspects of the property is the yard and landscaping which I would describe as magnificent. There are various areas to explore in the yard and very private from a dining area to a fire pit area to a sun patio area. It is quite an amazing yard. I spent my summers as a child not too far from this place so I am quite familiar with the area. Pleasant and Forest beaches are an easy 10 minute walk each, Red River probably 20 minutes. One item of note, the stairway to the two upstairs bedrooms is quite steep. I don't mean this as a negative, it's just the way these old houses were built, so if you have anyone in your party that might have a physical issue with negotiating stairs, just keep it in mind. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend the property to anyone.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Chester, NH
Member since Mar 2013

Hello Dore’,

Thank you for emailing a request for a review from us. We were going to write one but life tends to get in the way. We had a wonderful time on our Chatham Vacation and in particular at the Antique Chatham Cottage. My wife fell in love with the cottage as soon as she saw it online.
I appreciated the hard questions you asked regarding did it meet our expectations, cleanliness and what changes would have improved our stay. Let me just say that your house was everything we were looking for and more. It was amazingly clean and everything was in working order. My wife loved the kitchen down to the measuring spoons and cake pans for our granddaughter’s birthday. What change would have improved our stay? Another week of vacation at the Antique Chatham Cottage! Thank you for an amazing vacation. We will be back.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: March 2012
Tom B
San Francisco, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

The Antique Chatham Cottage had everything we wanted for our family and much more. The minute we stepped through the door we immediately began relaxing. The house was so inviting and comfortable. We appreciated the lovely note welcoming us along with detailed information about the house and the house book full of suggestions, activities, restaurants and maps. The house itself was truly immaculate. The kitchen was fully equipped and everything worked. We enjoyed the 2 beautiful beaches within walking distance and even walked over to Red River Beach. We liked that Town Center was just a short drive as well as a large market. My daughter loved Main Street Chatham with all of its trendy boutiques and delicious ice cream. The house was ideally located close to all the Cape has to offer including the National Seashore, museums, shopping and wonderful restaurants, all of which we enjoyed. We are definitely returning to this sweet retreat and would highly recommend it to families with children or couples who want a quiet get-away that is still close to everything.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: March 2012
Robin L
Richmond, VA
(Homeowner Entered)

We were attracted to the heading on your website “Romantic Antique Cape”. As two couples celebrating our second anniversaries, the house was truly romantic. We felt as if we were in a lovely Nantucket Bed and Breakfast surrounded by cottage gardens. All of your suggestions for romantic evenings were greatly appreciated. We loved our Dinner Train ride through the Cape towns and the surrounding cranberry bogs to the bridge over the canal and back. We also enjoyed our dinner at the Captain Linnell House and a couple of fun nights at the Squire. P-Town was so picturesque as was downtown Chatham. Our favorite days were spent kayaking in the tributaries to the ocean in Orleans and a whaling trip in P-Town. We also took advantage of the bike trail close to the house since the guys are avid bikers. Thank you for providing such a lovely house and experience for our second anniversaries. We are planning on returning for our fifth.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: March 2012
Tracy D
Greensborough NC, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

There are very few times in life when things live up to expectations... in this case, the guest house met AND exceeded expectations. I let my daughter pick this rental out; she was hooked after looking at the first photo on their website. It looked too cute and cozy to be true. Well, it was just as adorable in real life as it was on the photos. The owner has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable, from the copious notes on the area in a bound book to a loaded picnic/grill basket ready for use above the fridge. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking to relax on the Cape: great property, location, and charm. It is also very well maintained and clean- the owner was washing out the garbage cans by hand when we arrived!

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: June 2011
Minneapolis, MN
Member since Mar 2011