Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Ridgevale Beach
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 4560

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 11
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 5 twins, Queen sleep sofa
Beach: 4/10th's mile to Ridgevale Beach
Guest Reviews: 37 reviews
Time active: 13 years, 1 month
Contact details:
  Email Paul K. McGrath
Contact Paul K. McGrath, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 439-9085, (781) 944-1418.
Please mention Property ID# 4560 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

Beautiful on the inside and out!

Property was wonderful! Plenty of space to stretch out with both a 2 yr old and a golden retriever. The beach is a close ten minute walk in a wonderful, safe neighborhood. All the amenities you need for a great beach adventure!

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Krista S
(Homeowner Entered)

Excellent home in a great location

My family of 4 really enjoyed our stay. The location of the house is excellent. It's a short drive to the shops on Main Street in Chatham and walking distance to Ridgevale beach The house is very well maintained and much bigger than it looks in the pictures. Paul the owner was very easy to work with during the booking process and made himself available throughout our stay. Ridgevale beach is a great beach especially having the estuary for younger children to play in. We hope to return next year.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Brian B
(Homeowner Entered)

Fun, easy, and relaxing- a perfect getaway!

This home was perfect for us! We flew in from California for a family reunion. I was traveling with my two children, ages five and seven, my mom, and my 91-year-old grandmother. We wanted to make sure that any home we rented was able to accommodate everyone's needs-- this one did! The downstairs room (with three cozy twin beds) was cute and fun for my kids while the bedroom was private and perfect for me. My grandmother enjoyed her room and had no issues navigating the home and the minimal stairs at the front door. The beds were clean and comfortable and each room had blackout shades!!! We happened to be there during a very hot and humid week so the air conditioning was a fabulous treat every time we got back to the house. The home was very clean, well taken care of, and well stocked. Additionally, the owners were prompt and responsive both before and during the rental, even checking in during the week and making sure everything ran smoothly. There are plenty of beach chairs in the garage downstairs as well as extra beach toys for the little ones. The home is centrally located so it was great to be able to walk to Main Street and have something yummy at Marion's pie shop or just head straight down to the beach and spend the day there. There was plenty of comfortable space for everyone to spread out, dine, lounge, play games, do puzzles, or just enjoy a relaxing nap in the middle of the day. The home has a really soothing energy to it so napping mid-day became a sought after part of our trip quickly upon our arrival. We couldn't have asked for anything more and would definitely come back to this home in the future! Thank you!

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Aneta P
(Homeowner Entered)

Great location

We really enjoyed staying in this location. The accommodations were spacious, the yard big enough to have a cookout with family, and the area was quiet. We would definitely consider renting this house again.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Mark D
(Homeowner Entered)

Location is INCREDIBLE!! Great for families!

Loved this house. It was exactly what we needed and wanted. It is much bigger than it looks. Quiet neighborhood and is centrally located, making everything very easy to get to. We Stayed the week of July fourth and experienced Americana at its best! The fourth of July parade, oldest in the country, was AWESOME! That night, the kids were tired and we decided to walk down the hill to the beach in lieu of going to fireworks in near by town. We were happy to see that the local families put on quite a show of fireworks and the 8 and 9 year old kids were happy as clams! Parents were to, since we didn't have to drive anywhere!! I chose this house because the kitchen is nice and upgraded,, bathrooms were nice and it has CENTRAl AIR! We had last minute family come for visit, so we gave mom in law and two Aunties the upstairs bedrooms and hubby and I were in bedroom downstairs with two kiddos in separate basement room that was just fine. Nothing fancy downstairs but great for purpose. Owner, Paul, was very patient with us, as I inadvertently thought check out was 11a.m. and it was actually 10 a.m. Chatham is THE place. Close to cool drive in theatre, water boats, kyak rentals, sailboats, etc. Have to say BRAX restaurant, few miles down the road has great food. Looks like a dive on the outside but has lovely ocean view with great inside and outside dinning. Flowers everywhere...and best lobster roll EVAH!!!! Take a quick drive to chrming Harwhich Port and visit Dr. Gravitie's Kite shop. Closer to home, go to Very cool ice cream shop in a converted Old school house close by. My only regret about the trip was that we had to leave. Great memories in your home, thanks again, Paul!!! Deb and Gregg.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Debbie A
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful Family Vacation Spot

We just returned from a wonderful week on the Cape (4 adults) and were all very pleased with the house and the accommodations as well as its location, close to the beach (walking distance), cycling path, and Chatham. The house was very clean, charming and well laid out with comfortable seating in a very light and open family room area, dining room and living room, the beds are very comfortable and we used the grill a fair bit. The owner was very responsive. Schoolhouse ice cream down the road is a must. Nice spot for cyclists. Ridgevale beach has lots of kids and relatively calm waters - great for young families.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Daphne V
(Homeowner Entered)

Great centrally located and close to beach

Very comfortable house with plenty of room Short walk to great beach. Loved the location. Close to town and located centrally on the Cape.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Glenn C
(Homeowner Entered)

Very Comfortable and Very Clean-Great location

We have rented this house more than 10 times and each time we come back we like it even more. The owner is very responsive and is always adding and update. This year it was new LED recessed lights in the Family Room. The beach is at the end of the street and the bike trail is less than a mile away. Plans are to return again next year.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Anonymous H
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful house close to a great kids beach

Location-wise, the house is very close to Ridgevale beach, which is an amazing beach for kids due to the estuary that makes for lots of fun in calm water. It's technically walkable, but too far with kids. The house has everything you need, with two rooms upstairs and a room with a queen downstairs and a separate entrance. In the basement are twin beds in the open area, so no separate door but you can sneak past to get to the downstairs room or come in through the separate entrance - works fine for kids. The house itself was clean, comfortable, and lots of yard space for kids to run around. Outdoor shower makes it easy to clean up outside. Would definitely recommend, especially for families with kids.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Anonymous G
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful cottage, short walk to a great beach

This cottage is absolutely beautiful. The beach is only a short walk away and it's a beautiful walk down a rolling beach plum lined road. The beach is great for kids and families and very quiet by comparison to many other Cape beaches. Nice little snack stand right at the beach and with the shallow tide pools, there are some great areas for the kids to explore. The cottage is significantly bigger than the pictures lead us to believe and we were comfortably able to sleep nine people on beds without using the Hide-A-Beds. There is a lot of space to spread out and relax at the cottage and it was immaculate and very well maintained. For a "connected" family it's also got all the modern amenities for your enjoyment (HD TVs with xfinity X1 boxes, Blu-ray players, WiFi and even a Keurig!). Perfect area to stay on the Cape if you are looking for a quiet spot to relax. It's also very centrally located if you spend time in on the lower Cape and mid Cape as my family and I do. Short drive to get to a lot of fun stuff for the family when you're not at the beach. (go-karts, trampolines, mini-golf, drive-ins, whale watches, Monomoy island tours, Nantucket ferry, etc.) The Bike trails are also very close, and you can easily ride to the trail, or take a short drive and park right at the trails if you have little ones. It's also got a lot of great places to eat close by. I highly recommend ordering some lobsters from the Chatham Fish and Lobster co., or grabbing a meal downtown at the Impudent Oyster or the Chatham Squire. Overall the vacation was fantastic and very relaxing and I'll definitely be returning. Thanks Paul!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Matthew B
(Homeowner Entered)

Nice house on a large lot.

Very pleasant. There is both an eat-in kitchen as well as a dining room, and a large family room. It sleeps 6 comfortably and in addition there are three single beds in the basement. Owner is very helpful.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Anonymous F
(Homeowner Entered)

A Gem Near Ridgevale Beach

We arrived to find the house to be well appointed including everything as advertised. Location is an easy stroll to the Beach or to Marion's Pie Shop. (awesome cinnamon rolls piping hot at 8 int he morning). The lot was great for the grandchildren to safely play away from the street. Our favorite restaurants were Del Mar for a full meal and the Talkative Pig for Pizza and small plates. If you end up consuming too many calories the bike trail is not to far away--you can either bike in one direction to downtown Chatham or in the other direction to Harwich , Dennis, Orleans and Wellfleet. Owner was responsive to any questions and would definitely recommend this house to a friend or family member.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
John R
(Homeowner Entered)

Great Place

Your first impression when arriving is a little bit erroneous as it looks a lot smaller in the front then it actually is. The house was immaculate and fully equipped. We were able to utilize the large back yard for a cookout for about 29 people with lots of room for games. We also used the many tables inside for card tournaments. The only minor compliant was the looseness of the door knobs which could be easily fixed. Overall, I would recommend this house for anyone.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Anonymous E
(Homeowner Entered)

Sweet spot near the beach

Our second year renting this property, and we have already signed up for next year! The location near the beach, as well as the bike path, makes it a perfect spot for an active family. We had our in-laws stay in the bedroom (with bath) on the lower level, and while it is not fancy, they enjoyed the quiet room (esp with our adult children staying up late at night in the renovated family room on the main level). The advantage is the location, for sure, and we loved having the garage to store our bikes. Another great vacation here!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Professor A
(Homeowner Entered)

Great House and a Great Location

My extended family and I rented this house for the first time as part of a larger family reunion taking place in the neighborhood. The beach of course is great and just a 10 minute walk. Chatham offers many things to do. The house was clean, orderly and had everything we wanted and then some. Highly recommend it.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Anonymous D
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful Chatham, Cape Cod Vacation

You will love pulling up to this beautiful home with the best hydrangeas on the entire road. This home is charming, very well-kept, clean, comfortable and the perfect place to relax with famiy. It has a nice open feel and very accommodating for families with plenty of room to eat, sleep and relax! The close proximity to the beach is very convenient for trips back and forth and a beautiful walk. Also, close to lots of resturants and Main Street in Chatham.This is our second year at this home and we cannot wait to go back next year. It is the perfect family Cape Cod vacation.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Amy L
(Homeowner Entered)

Great location

This property is in a great spot - we were a bike ride (down a hill) from a wonderful beach for children - lots of pools for crab catching. The best surprise was finding that we were a 5 minute bike ride from a cycle path that joins the Cape Cod Rail Trail. A wonderful bike ride great for adults and children - we managed to ride every day. House is spacious and well laid out.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: March 2016
Aniko C
(Homeowner Entered)

Cozy Chatham rental close to our favorite beach.

We are frequent visitors to Chatham and more specifically the Ridgevale Beach area. This house is in walking distance to the beach and has a open outdoor shower for rinsing off. I love central air and this house has it! Tons of room for my family of five. Easy connection to wifi. House was clean on arrival. My only recommendation would be to update outside lounging area and beach chairs. We had a fabulous time and will be back!!! Thanks so much!!!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: March 2016
Anonymous C
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect Chatham Vacation

We had the most amazing time and loved our stay at this home. From the moment we arrived and saw the most beautiful blue hydrangeas and well-kept lawn, I knew it would be a memorable trip. The home is very spacious, tidy, well-maintained and much bigger than I had expected. It was very comforable and accomodating for our large family and two young children to relax, cook meals and walk to the beach. It is an easy and enjoyable walk to the popular and family friendly Ridgevale Beach which the kids loved. I will definitely be back next summer.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: March 2016
Amy L
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful home for family vacation near beach

Wonderful, comfy home for a family (of 5) vacation--it is much bigger than it looks in the picture--3BR, 2BA plus a "dorm" of twin beds in the lower level. Great backyard--nice grill--easy walk to beach--and wonderful central A/C. Nice couches to lounge on; modern kitchen with all the conveniences (a Keurig, yay!). Beds were comfortable. Garage was terrific to store our bikes, and it was an easy ride to the bike trail--you can ride an easy 4 miles to Chatham center or go the other direction on the trail all the way up the Cape--we enjoyed biking 15 miles to the Hot Chocolate Sparrow in Orleans. It was magical to ride through Harwich when the bells were tolling in the church at noon. Rented paddle boards and went up to Hardings Beach, but it was also fun just to sit on Ridgevale Beach and you can rent boats there as well. We will rent this again, for sure.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: March 2016
Professor A
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed our September week stay in 2012. Walk to and from beach is very "do-able" and gets your daily exercise in, as well. Comfortable sleeping for family of 5 in lower level with use of their own bath. Queen bed and 2 twins for sleeping on1st level bedrooms, with shared bath. Listing description accurately describes home and location. Plenty of indoor & outdoor seating for eating for family & guests.Parking is easy access, so as not to have to keep moving cars. About 4 miles to Chatham Center and about the same to Lighthouse Beach. Ferry to Nantucket available within a couple of miles (Harwichport), but plan on spending approximately $74. round trip per person. Seal boat tour is about $34. round trip. Brax Restaurant has indoor & outdoor dining with great food and reasonably priced, with view of Harwichport Harbor. The younger crowd also enjoyed eating at Squires in downtown Chatham, and of course we all enjoyed the ice cream sundaes, available at several nearby locations!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Alexa C
(Homeowner Entered)

Excellent communication with owner for all questions & concerns prior to renting. Very nice property, very comfortable and great location! Would definitely rent this home again when the opportunity comes up! Lots of room, great for multiple families to share, comfortable lots of seating and eating areas! Thanks again for a very nice vacation!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Kristin V
(Homeowner Entered)

This vacation was the first time for my family, my daughters, their husbands and all the grandchildren to get together in one place. The home, I can't call it a cottage, too nice to be considered just a cottage, is beautiful and in wonderful shape. It is close to the beach, a great beach. So it has something for everyone. We had a wonderful time cooking out and cooking in. It is close to many good restaurants and downtown Chatham, a beautiful town with shopping and more good restaurants. The close beach is a good place for children and nearby is an ocean, big wave, beach if you prefer. We would definitely rent here again.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Judith B
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great time, this home was perfect for our need to accommodate two families. The living space and kitchen were very clean and comfortable and the short, 10 minute walk to the beach made it very convenient. We are already planning our next trip to the Cape.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Deborah O
(Homeowner Entered)

My family and I had a great time at your home! It was much bigger than I expected. Kitchen was beautiful. I loved the pass through window. This came in very handy. There was plenty of room for everyone!. The beach was great. The only thing I missed was a deck. Would of loved to walk out onto a deck to have morning coffee!
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Sue M
(Homeowner Entered)

This house was wonderful and perfectly suited for two families of 8-11 people. The location was ideal, within walking distance of the beach and close to town. Really great home with a nice private and quiet location. Large comfortable and well equipped. Everything we could have asked for!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Stephane L
(Homeowner Entered)

We spend 10 days in this comfortable and beautiful home. Very cozy and well equipped kitchen where we enjoyed our meals. The kids loved ball games in the backyard. Only 10 minute walk to wonderful family friendly Ridgevale beach. We are looking forward to coming back.
Recommended for: Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Michael B
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was spacious and just as described, and in a great location (5-10 walk from the beach) which was great for our 1 year old and 3 year old boys (they also loved running round the sizeable garden). The house was well equipped and the owner, Paul, was also very helpful in answering questions both before and during the holiday. Chatham is a great town with good restaurants and shops and is a wonderful location from which to explore Cape Cod.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Lucy M
(Homeowner Entered)

Enjoyed visit to Chatam---home close to beach and town. Positives also include central air/heat, cable tv,full kitchen,quick response from owners to questions,cleanleness,very quiet neighborhood, some negatives,odd places for switches and some interior doors don't close fully. all in all a very good eperience,would recommend
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Date of Stay: October 2011
Date Submitted: December 2012
Marcia c
(Homeowner Entered)

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR LETTING US STAY IN YOUR BEAUTIFUL HOME WE LOVE SO MUCH.GREAT HOUSE, GREAT LOCATION . THANK YOU , VESNA WITH FAMILY.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: December 2012
Vensa K
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed our stay at this house. It is clean, conveniently located to both beach and town, and the owner was very pleasant to deal with. There was plenty of space for our family of four -- in fact, we could have easily fit another 4-5 people downstairs, where there is a second queen bedroom/full bath and 3 twin beds. The washer/dryer are new and clean, and the kitchen is in good condition. Overall, we were very pleased and would definitely return to this house.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: December 2012
Diane E
(Homeowner Entered)

We've spent many summers at this property with family and friends. First, the house is in great condition and the layout is perfect for multi-family or multi-generational rentals. Bedrooms are secluded from common areas so Adults can stay up without worrying about keeping kids awake. Works the same way in the morning if kids get up earlier than adults. The location is a convenient walk to an extremely kid friendly beach (Ridgevale) or the bike paths which can take you to downtown Chatham, or out to the main Cape Rail Trail in Harwich. Chatham is a 5 minute car drive and is a joy of the Cape if you are trying to avoid the more hectic pace of the towns closer to the canal. We've gone most years since 2003 and plan on returning in the future. The owners are very helpful planning your trip and addressing any issue that may arise during your stay (we have few trivial problems).
Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: December 2012
KevinB B
(Homeowner Entered)

A very nice property in a quiet neighborhood. Ridgevale beach is just a short walk away, and is a beautiful beach on Nantucket sound. The water is warm and the waves are kid friendly. Great bird watching for adults and lots of things for kids to see too. The house is well maintained with internet acess, HD TV, AC on the main floor and a gas grill in the backyard. Lots of room and seating for many visitors. Pet friendly-the dog had no complaints. A very short drive to Chatam downtown and easy acesss to everything on the Cape.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: December 2012
David A
(Homeowner Entered)

Stayed for one week at the end of September with my visiting parents from Ireland, myself, my wife and our young son. The location was excellent, the entire cape is very accessible from this advantage point. There is a nice beach at the end of this quiet street, ideal for families with young children or people looking for a bit of a get away. My parents wanted a room with accessible bath, which is provided on the ground level. Downstairs there was ample room for everyone else with a separate bath. We could have easily had 4 or 5 more people staying without taking from the comfortable surroundings. The yard has plenty of space and a grill which we used a couple of times. Literally bring your linens and towels and your off on a great vacation.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: December 2012
Conor T
(Homeowner Entered)

Great Location. Walk to Beach. Beautiful House and Grounds. Stayed one week at the end of September with my visiting parents from Ireland, myself, my wife and our young son. The location was excellent, the entire Cape is accessible from this vantage point. There is a nice beach at the end of this quiet street, ideal for families with young children or people looking for a bit of a get away. My parents wanted a room with accessible bath, which is provided on the ground level. Downstairs there was ample room for everyone else with a separate bath. We could easily have had 4 or 5 more people staying without taking from the comfortable surroundings. The yard has plenty of space and a grill which we used.

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
Conor T
Boston, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed our stay at this house very much It was in a wonderful location. The house was very nice and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Chatham is a great little town and we took advantage of everything it had to offer. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: December 2012
JoAnn S
(Homeowner Entered)

A Great Place to Stay! We enjoyed our stay at this house very much. It is in a wonderful location. The house is very nice and had everythign we needed for a comfortable stay. Chatham is a great little town and we took advantage of everything it had to offer. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
JoAnn S
Shaker Heights, Ohio
(Homeowner Entered)