Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Our Great Gatsby
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 4612

9 BR
3 ½ baths
Sleeps 19
Beds: 9 BRs: 1 king, 2 queens, 1 double, 11 twins
Beach: 5 /10 to Forest Beach a salt water, sandy beach
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 11 years
Contact details:
  Email Joan
Contact Joan, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 828-2809.
Please mention Property ID# 4612 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Our Great Vacation

We have enjoyed family reunions on the Cape for the past 11 years. During that time our family has expanded from 12 to 22. Needless to say, we have outgrown many places, but Our Great Gatsby fits us perfectly. The huge lawn gives the kids plenty of space to run without fearing for their safety. Joan and John make it easy to reserve, and Carter, the full time Caretaker, is available to answer any question. I really would love to know more about the history of the house. If only the walls had ears I suspect there would be great stories from F. Scott Fitzgerald and Ernest Hemingway.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Belmont, MA
Member since Sep 2016
Our Great Gatsby

Our Great Gatsby was an ideal spot for our family reunion. It offered plenty of space for all 16 of us - aged 3 to 70+. The house location on a dead end street made for welcome quiet, nice wildlife and better safety for the grandchildren.

The outdoor terrace facing the water was a favorite place for outdoor summer dining. The lawn in front of the terrace was big enough for baseball, frisbee games and just running around.

Carver, the superintendent, is an invaluable resource. He maintains the property well and has sound recommendations about dining, swimming options, renting sailboats, etc. He knows the area well!

A grand old mansion! We had a fun filled week!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
New York, NY
Member since Jul 2016
An Amazing Gatsby Adventure

My wife and I chose Our Great Gatsby house as the perfect wedding site for our intimate, family wedding, and we could not have asked for a better rental. The property owners, John and Joan, were informative, kind, and quite personable, making it feel as though we were invited and welcomed guests into their home. The onsite property manager and grounds keeper, Carver, is truly a gem who does an impeccable job at maintaining the grounds and house. He worked diligently to ensure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and never hesitated to assist us with anything!

The house itself is a beautiful structure that makes you feel as though you are in an elegant and classy era. It is fully stocked with all needed amenities and kitchen items to assist with hosting a wedding, reunion, or special event. With all of our family there, it truly felt like a home that we would never want to part with. It is also located a short and beautiful walk from the beach, which adds to the enjoyment of all in this part of Cape Cod.

I highly recommend renting this house for any occasion and know that my wife and I will be back in the coming years to celebrate our anniversary in such a beautiful spot and lovely home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Del Rio, TX
Member since Jan 2015
Annual accommodation for New Haven Ski Club

This gorgeous property has been our annual retreat for the past 3+ years. 19 of us bring our bikes to cycle the Old Colony Rail Trail where we stop for lunch or the local farmers market and continue on towards the beaches. Or take a short stroll to Forest Beach. Or hang out back at The Great Gatsby house to sit outside to read a book and look at the view of the ocean engulfed in the colorful landscaping (I have pics). The yard is well manicured with a variety of sitting locations in the shade or sun.The inside of the house you can see from the photos - it is a sunny, warm, and inviting house. The 19 of us sit around the dining room table over dinner and wine chatting and laughing about the days events.

We will be back again -next year - cheers.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Milford, CT
Member since Oct 2015
Family Reunion and Vow Renewal

We combined our 40th Anniversary vow renewal with a family reunion. It was a great week and the house was perfect for our needs. The ceremony on the lawn was beautiful! Carver and Tara were wonderful - making sure we had all we needed. There was space enough for everyone to gather and also spread out to have quiet time to read a book or take a snooze. The beach is a short distance away and great for kids. We all (reluctantly!) left with memories to last a lifetime.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
White Plains, NY
Member since Aug 2011
Great place for family reunion

We recently returned from a family reunion with all of my in-laws gathered for mom's 80th birthday. This house was large enough for all 19 of us to sleep and gather comfortably. There is plenty of space outside for evening dinners where we found the view to be spectacular. The walk to the beach is only 5-10 minutes and we found the view of Nantucket Sound was beautifully filled with sailboats, etc. The caretaker was very responsive to our requests and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Syracuse, NY
Member since Jul 2014
The Gatsby was Great!

My family and I stayed at the Great Gatsby, 13 of us total including 2 young kids. We had a wonderful time... The house exceeded our needs. We spent a lot of our time outside on the large porch, which overlooks the expansive grassy (and beautifully landscaped) lawn, and beyond that are lovely ocean views. It felt private and secluded and we were overall very pleased with the accommodations. Also worth noting: the caretakers were beyond pleasant, very welcoming, and made us feel right at home!

Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Chevy Chase, MD
Member since Oct 2015
Fantastic Property for Writers Retreat!

This was truly the most beautiful and comfortable place our writing group (Essex Writers and Artists Guild) has had the pleasure of holding our Fall Writing Retreat. 1930's magic, large accommodating living room with working fireplace, many sitting areas, floor-to-ceiling windows and doors that lead out to a lovely deck, views of the marsh and ocean, huge formal dining that allowed 13 of us to eat together with room for more. Magnificent master suite, lots of bedrooms and bathrooms for one and all. The owners were wonderfully accommodating, generous, and kind. I highly recommend this place for any sort of gathering whether it be family, friends or business groups. One-of-kind experience.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: November 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Haverhill, MA
Member since Apr 2013
Great for large family and/or friend get togethers

My family has actually stayed at this lovely home three times and everything is as described. The house is located on a quiet private road, and the setting is wonderful. The three sets of old fashioned french doors (in photo) open from the living room onto a large deck and flat lawn area with a view of the ocean. The house is well maintained and decorated in a charming and comfortable manner, and the kitchen easily accommodates large groups -- there's even a big pantry room with an extra sink and fridge. There's lots of fun stuff, a little library room filled with books, two bedrooms open onto their own private balcony, two of the upstairs bedrooms are connected by a little secret passage, and the downstairs master bedroom and big bathroom connect to a smaller bedroom with twin beds. We have enjoyed some really good times here together and hope to return again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: January 2013
Date Submitted: March 2013
Member since Mar 2013
Fabulous place

A beautiful house with excellent and abundant sleeping arrangements, large living, dining and kitchen. Perfect for a large group and for a party. Gorgeous view. Couldn't do any better anywhere.

Date of Stay: January 2013
Date Submitted: March 2013
Member since Mar 2013
Fantastic!

We rented this beautiful home with our extended family to have a family Christmas and New Year's celebration. The house is huge and filled with character, charm and Cape Cod tradition. There's loads of nooks and crannies so we could be together in the living room while our little ones were napping in one of the several bedrooms. The view of Nantucket Sound is absolutely spectacular! And, even though it was winter, we were only a short 10 minute walk from the beach where we enjoyed many beautiful sunsets. This house is perfect for an extended family get together or a group of friends vacationing in Chatham. A great find!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: January 2013
Date Submitted: March 2013
Richmond, VA
Member since Mar 2013
Great Gatsby - great vacation, great memories!

Months spent viewing properties on websites was well rewarded with our choice of Gt. Gatsby for its location, accommodation and atmosphere. Our three weeks spent there with family and friends was that "once in a lifetime" experience, expensive but worth it. It's an eccentric mixture of shabby chic and "Big (beach) House" rough and tumble which suited us perfectly - large enough to allow space to do your own thing, get away from kids or congregate for card-playing/jigsaw puzzling. We dined in style in the evening, with anything from eight to sixteen around the table. Breakfast was more the rolling, make more coffee when the pot is empty style of easy-going arrangement. Mis-matched crockery and wonky toasters only added to the holiday vibe, with bagels doing better in the oven. Relaxing on the deck in the evening, on return from a bracing swim and outdoor shower, with a drink in hand, surrounded by family and friends, is an abiding and valued memory.

The house location is great for exploring Chatham and the Atlantic coast beaches, the ferries for Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard further afield, and of course for all that grocery shopping nearby. I would advise doing those trips early in your vacation as by the time Great Gatsby works its magic on you, all you will want to do is grab your towel and wander around to the Forest Beach and spend your time there, with other locals, swimming or sunbathing as time and tide allow!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: March 2013
Ireland
Member since Nov 2011
Our Gathering Place for 20 Years

This year we will celebrate our 20th year of gathering at Our Great Gatsby (which really does feel like *Our* Great Gatsby) to celebrate the New Year with an extended group of old friends. We first rented the home in December 1993, when we were graduate school students, friends, and friends of friends. Over the past two decades we've returned year after year - through marriages, kids, and now teenagers soon to be off to college themselves. We return because we love the setting, we love the combination of open and intimate space the house offers, and most of all we love to cook a large meal every night and seat everyone around the enormous dining room table. The super sized kitchen accommodates large cooking crews, 24/7 bread baking, and epic games of Boggle. And the spacious and comfortable living room provides ample space for charades, dancing, or several people to nap or read on the cozy couches simultaneously. During the day, it's a short and scenic walk to the nearby beach. At night, each family has their favorite sleeping room, but the kids particularly like to have sleepovers in the "bunk room" upstairs, and to play hide and seek in the nooks and crannies of this unique space. Our Great Gatsby has become a tradition and a home away from home for our extended chosen family. We encourage any large gathering to create their own memories there.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: January 2012
Date Submitted: March 2013
Sandwich, MA
Member since Mar 2013