Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charming Chatham Village Cottage
Chatham Village Vacation Rental - ID 8815

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 5
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, queen sleeper sofa in livingroom
Beach: 10 min walk to Oyster Beach, 1 mile to Lighthouse
Guest Reviews: 26 reviews
Time active: 11 years, 10 months
Contact details:
  Email Margie Downes
Contact Margie Downes, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 965-1155 (cell before 9PM EST).
Please mention Property ID# 8815 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
26 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful cottage in center of Chatham

Margie - we very much enjoyed our stay in your beautiful, clean, centrally-located cottage. The kitchen was so well organized and up-to-date that we were prepared for all culinary adventures. Although it was September, the very efficient air-conditioning was much appreciated. Our Maine Coon cat was delighted with all the chipmunk observing opportunities. We hope to visit again next year. So convenient only one block removed from Main Street, but so quiet.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Owner Response:

Loved sharing the space with you and your family! Would love to have you stay again, just let me know.

Collegeville, PA
Member since May 2015
Great house, great town, great owners

We couldn't have asked for a nicer week at the Cape and I thank Margie, the wonderful owner. The house was perfect and well equipped with just about everything you need to be very comfortable - the kitchen put mine to shame! - and the location is excellent. A 10 minute walk brings you to beautiful and charming downtown Chatham with all its cute shops and delicious seafood restaurants - not to mention Chatham Candy Manor! We were especially grateful to Margie for letting us bring our two dogs, who had a fabulous time and didn't want to go home! We'll be back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Owner Response:

So great to have you stay at the Cottage, Robin! Thanks for being such super tenants! Until next time ..... :)

Member since Jul 2016
Home Away from Home

This was our third consecutive year staying at the cottage. It's perfect for our family of four and our dog Zoey. We love its central location (walking distance to town, the park, baseball field, children's beach and the bike trail) and its tranquil setting. The cottage is very charming and always meticulously clean. Margie is also terrific and she genuinely wants her tenants to feel at home and love the cottage as much she does!!! We are already planning our trip for next year!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Karen, I love having you and your family stay at the Cottage! It's one of my Best Kept Secrets to share! It makes me so happy to have such nice people enjoy this great hide-away for a totally relaxing vacation. And Chatham just can't be beat for everything wonderful on Cape Cod!

Nyack, NY
Member since May 2013
We keep coming back!

This was our 7th or 8th time at the cottage - I've lost track! Nonetheless the repeat customer aspect is a sign of how much we enjoy the cottage. The location can't be beat....secluded yet steps from town! We love walking, eating and more seasonably beach going near the cottage. It is well maintained. Margie is very responsive and it's an overall smooth rental process - we highly recommend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Always love having you and your family stay, Pauline! Glad you love the Cottage! My best kept secret .... that we love to share!!!

Norfolk, MA
Member since Dec 2008
Lovely cottage in a great location

Our family of 3 (2 adults and a toddler) enjoyed our stay at this cottage in August 2015. The interior is warm and inviting - with a well stocked kitchen, central a/c and an open airy feeling - and the close to town location was perfect. We spent our days walking to Lighthouse Beach, Oyster Pond (perfect for younger kids) and walking into town for dinner, bandstand concerts and just to stretch our legs. The owner was friendly, professional and responsive. Would definitely recommend this rental!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Owner Response:

Thanks for the nice written review, Megan! You enjoy a lot of the same things that I love about the Cottage! Thanks for being such great tenants!

Member since Jul 2015
Perfect cottage in a great location!

Our stay here was great! The cottage was the perfect size for the 2 of us and our boxer Cruiser. The location was awesome, as we walked to almost everything we did all week. Clean and simple with all the amenities of home. This was a special week for us as we also got engaged. The cottage was a great retreat after long beach days of celebrating. We will surely be back soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Owner Response:

Congrats on your engagement! So happy to have provided the "special place" in Chatham where you took the next step in your relationship. Thanks for being such great tenants and loving the place like I do! We can both agree that it's tough to leave the place. You are always welcome back!

Member since Dec 2014
Best place ever!

We absolutely loved this beautiful little cottage, and had the most pleasant, peaceful week there. Just sitting in the living room in the evenings and watching the clouds through the skylights was heaven! We were perfectly happy & comfortable. The cottage has everything you could ever need for a week's stay. The location was ideal as well. We felt like we were so lucky to have found it.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Owner Response:

So glad you enjoyed it!

Member since May 2014
Wonderful week stay

The cottage was very clean, well stocked, well furnished, and nicely appointed. A very comfortable stay. And the location was ideal. A short walk to the beach; an even shorter walk to downtown. And the Cape Baseball league was playing in the field right up the street. We would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy Chatham.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Buzzards Bay, MA
Member since Nov 2014
Annual vacation

This was our 7th trip to the cottage; hopefully that's says it all!! We love the cottage, the location, amenities, etc. and will keep going back. The owners are easy to work with and response times are quick. Enjoy your stay!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Owner Response:

Always love having you and your family enjoy our Chatham Cottage!

Norfolk, MA
Member since Dec 2008
Lovely cottage!

Thanks for the rental of your lovely cottage. I thoroughly enjoyed several weeks in Chatham. The cottage had everything I needed. Such a nice quiet location yet close to everything. Perfect!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2014
Date Submitted: November 2014
Harrisonburg, VA
Member since Jun 2014
Perfect location!

Cottage is quite lovely; clean, bright and sunny! Wonderful accommodations for rest and relaxation, outdoor patio and BBQ too!

Amazing location; walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.

We'll be back soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Orange, CT
Member since Mar 2012
Clean, cute and comfy

This adorable cottage is a little gem not far from Chatham center. The owners are very accommodating and have put a lot of care into making their vacation home comfortable for travelers to the Cape. We would return for another vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
Owner Response:

Thanks, Pam! We always say it's very "Goldilocks" ~~ "just right"! Glad that you enjoyed it!

Norwood, MA
Member since Jan 2007
Perfect

What a charming Irish Cottage within walking distance to everything in Chatham. We had a wonderful time driving to all different towns on the Cape as this was a perfect starting point. The cottage has all the conveniences of home and we can't wait to return. Perfect!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Owner Response:

Thanks, Nancy! It was a pleasure to have you stay!! Until next time ...

Tarpon Springs, FL
Member since Jun 2013
Wish I was there now!

This cottage was perfect for a relaxing week at the Cape - walk to town, walk to fish pier and see the seals, beds comfortable, house immaculate, outdoor shower was huge! Every convenience needed was included with the house, and good thing there was so much within walking distance as the freshly made donuts across the street called us every morning with their cinnamon siren song...
would not hesitate to recommend.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Owner Response:

Maryann, Thanks for the great review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Cottage and in Chatham. I'd be THERE every week if I could because the Vibe is so awesome! Calgon ... take me away! Discovering how to de-stress is an ART, for sure. To exist with temporary "no worries" ... is priceless! Hope that you can stay again with us! Your family was perfect for the space. Donuts and kind neighbors included!

Best, Margie

Belle Mead, NJ
Member since Jan 2013
Great cottage

This 2 bedroom cottage was wonderful. Very private location with all the amenities. The location could not be better. Wonderful cafe across the street serves breakfast and lunch. Bicycle shop diagonally across. Bike trail just down the street. Easy walk to Main Street where all the restaurants and shops are.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Glen Rock, NJ
Member since Mar 2013
Fabulous and charming Cape Cod experience

What a wonderful cottage this was. My family (mum, dad and 4 year old daughter) spent two glorious weeks in Chatham, and we loved every day. Yes, we travelled about a bit but also spent many days just in and around Chatham. The cottage is really lovely, clean, tidy, and with everything you need! The kitchen is very well stocked with all that you need and hot water all day every day!! Great washing machine and dryer as well. We spent two weeks in early May this year and the weather was fantastic. Not hot, but warm and not so many tourists. I would recommend the cottage to anyone. We will likely return! Thanks to Margie!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
UK
Member since Jan 2013
Great Location!

This was our first visit to Cape Cod. Margie gave us great suggestions on places to eat, beaches to visit and things to do in Chatham and Cape Cod. The cottage was very clean and cozy. Everything you need to have a wonderful vacation. The location was the best. Restaurants and stores are within walking distance, but on a quiet street. When visiting Chatham again, we will definitely stay here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: November 2012
North Aurora, IL
Member since Sep 2012
Chatham Vacation

My husband and I (and our sweet Golden Retriever) loved this cottage! It's super cute and cozy. We liked that it was set back from the road and had some privacy. It's in a great location - within walking distance to downtown. We would definitely contact Margie in the future if we decide to come back to vacation in Chatham! We absolutely recommend this cottage!

Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: November 2012
Owner Response:

So glad that you loved the cottage! It's just perfect (to us too!) in many ways. Quaint, convenient, comfortable to families, and with the modern touches that we all appreciate! Thanks for the great review so others can contact us with confidence. Hope to hear from you on your next vacation to the Cape!

Salem, MA
Member since Aug 2012
Beyond our Expectations!

I cannot express how amazing this little gem of a cottage is! The pictures do not do it justice! Every amenity needed was provided, from towels, to sheets, to dish washing liquid and laundry detergent! And a lobster pot! The place is immaculately clean, and the location was amazing! right around the corner is Main Street which we enjoyed strolling along almost nightly where we would stop for ice cream with our toddler. Across the street is a great children’s playground/park, and down the street from that the Chatham Bakery which we fell in love with! Short drive to the beaches and everything else for that matter! What a great intro to Cape Cod! And Margie is the best! Answered all questions and even had a welcome call with us a couple days before our trip to walk us through the house and tips for a wonderful trip! We already booked for next year and plan to make this an annual family trip!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Owner Response:

Jenn,
So glad that our cottage could be part of your wonderful vacation this year. A lot of love has gone into it to make it cute, cozy and comfortable for all ages! Every year we have the house, we discover new things about Chatham and the Cape so I'm glad that I could share some "tips" with you. It's always nice to to know our guests enjoy the house and town as much as we do! Keep looking at the wonderful vacation pictures you took when you need to smile ... and your next vacation will be here in no time! Best, Margie

Mount Vernon, NY
Member since Apr 2012
Great Place!!

We had a lovely stay at your cottage! It is very clean and just the right size. We walked right into town, and enjoyed the shops and restaurants!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Pitman, NJ
Member since Feb 2012
Best rental in Chatham

We spent two fabulous weeks at this place in Chatham and it really was perfect. The place is exactly as the pictures show, very cute, very clean, everything updated and modern and well planned out. There were two of us and our dog and although it looks small, it does not feel it at all with the skylights throughout the place. And you can't beat the location. It's a short walk to the beach in town or a longer walk to Lighthouse Beach, which is my fave. We went to the Chatham Squire for dinner twice, great food, good family restaurant, the lobster ravioli was delish. I also loved the Red Nun bar and grill by the baseball field. Great sports bar with really good food and a great spot for watching any game, they have a ton of big screen tvs and an outdoor patio. Oh, and the town's baseball diamond is right across the street from the rental and the games were packed every night.

As for staying in Chatham, I would definitely stay at this cottage again and recommend it to anyone. It was very dog friendly, as are the owners but the town of Chatham is not so dog friendly. And the ticks were terrible this year so beware, we took off at least one tick a day from the dog. We did manage to find a dog friendly beach that we could drive to that was a few miles away, maybe 7 miles away, called Jackknife Beach and went each morning where the dog could run off leash.

All in all, a big thumbs up for this rental, it was the best part of the holiday. We checked out a lot of rentals while we were there in town and we really did pick the best one. Thank you, Margie!
Lesli, MB and Hershee too.
Ottawa, Canada

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Canada
Member since Mar 2012
Fabulous Place!

I stayed in this cottage for a week in May - totally enjoyed it. It is a wonderful, bright, comfortable, and clean space. Has all the amenities you could wish for. A short walk into town, to the beach, etc. Could not have picked a better spot. Quiet - many sounds of nature, great spot for sitting outside - reading, eating, relaxing. I look forward to returning!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Owner Response:

Bernice,

Glad that you love it as much as we do! Fabulous get-away!

Margie

Canada
Member since May 2007
In the Heart of Chatham

Chatham, Cape Cod has had a special place in my heart since I was a young teenager and came there for the first time. This spring I needed to get away to a place for respite, and Chatham immediately came to mind. I was unbelievably lucky to find "The Cottage" and to stay there for three weeks. I wanted a place that was within walking distance to town, and a place that would "hug me." The cottage was incredibly clean, comfortable (even with a Tempurpedic bed!), fully equipped, and I even had new furniture delivered while there! The coziness and the "tucked away" aspect of the cottage was just perfect. I would stay there again without hesitation. It was such a pleasure to rent from Margie and John who are so personable. It isn't just a business with them, as it is with so many owners, they truly want you to feel at home!! Enjoy your stay half as much as I did, and you will love it!

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Owner Response:

Yes, Darla, I came to the Cape as a teenager too! Somehow, it plants a seed in our hearts! It was so wonderful to have you and your pup, Minnie, enjoy the Cottage. There's just so many ways to enjoy it ... doing everything or doing nothiing!!! Hope that you can return from VA!!! Thanks for the wonderful review! Margie

Montpelier, VA
Member since Jul 2012

We stayed here in June 2011 and had a wonderful time! The weather was quite cool and rainy for a few days which made me even more grateful to have chosen this cute cottage because we did not mind at all hanging out there and cooking in the well equipped kitchen and reading lots of books in the cozy living room. The location is perfect, just a few steps from Chatham Main St and the shops and cafes, the bike rental place across the road and also very close to the beach and the lighthouse. Despite the central location it was very private and quiet. The decor is modern and tasteful and the house bright and airy. Loved the skylights and the spacious bathroom with the washer/dryer. If you are looking for a reasonably priced charming cottage in a great location, this is it!

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: June 2011
Wilbraham, MA
Member since May 2011

We stayed in this lovely cottage last September. At first we thought that the off season pricing was a little high. However, after staying there we realized You get what you pay for! This cottage far exceeded our expectations! Unlike past rental experiences the online pictures and descriptions for this rental were accurate. The cottage was clean, cozy and well maintained. Although the weather for our entire week was lousy, for once we didn't mind staying indoors. Our experience with the owner was a positive one and we highly recommend this rental. Robin"

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: March 2011
Milford, CT
Member since Sep 2008

"We found this house by accident on line. It was just perfect for us. The location is great and it is very private and a great get away spot. We plan to continue to rent this each year. The house is beautiful and has everything you could possible want for being away from home. Kim and Brendan Walshe"

Date of Stay: June 2008
Date Submitted: June 2009
Plainfield, CT
Member since Sep 2007