Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Kayaks/bikes, close to North side Beaches & 6A
Dennis Vacation Rental - ID 14996

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 queens, 2 twins, qn sofabed; rollaway twn; packnplay
Beach: walk to pond; 1.5 mi to bay beaches
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 8 years, 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Peter
Contact Peter, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (215) 680-2169 (cell), (215) 646-1689 (home).
Please mention Property ID# 14996 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfect Cape Cod Cottage Getaway!

We have stayed at this wonderful cottage two times so far and will return next year. The cottage is very welcoming and the owners have thought of everything you could need! It is always spotless upon our arrival (we have stayed at several cottages that I have had to clean upon arriving which is the last thing you want to do after a long car trip nor should you have to). The kitchen is well stocked (pots, pans, dishes, knives, etc.) which makes cooking and dining at home easy with a family and a toddler! We are a family of 3 and there is more than enough room. Larger families would be just as comfortable. The beds are actually comfortable and there is great closet space! The cottage has great outdoors spaces to include a deck with large dining table, a patio and fire pit (and outdoor shower!). The central AC is a nice bonus for those hot and humid summer days. We love that there is a washer and dryer and an ice maker in the freezer as well. It is beautifully maintained and updated with great Cape Cod Cottage décor throughout. It has a great fenced in back yard for the times we do travel with dogs (it’s hard to find pet friendly cottages). The cottage is located in close proximity to some of our favorite beaches and restaurants. The neighborhood is quiet and perfect for family walks to the pond. The owners are a pleasure to work with and clearly take pride in their piece of Cape Cod paradise!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Tolland, CT
Member since Jul 2013
Everything we hoped for and more

We had a wonderful stay at the "Cottage by the Pond." This was our first 3 generation family vacation, and the house was perfect for us. The owners, Lynn & Peter, were quick to respond and great to work with. The house is beautifully maintained, and they have thought of everything you could possibly need. It is located in a quiet neighborhood which is perfect for napping babies, yet just a short drive to beaches, stores & restaurants.

Our favorite part was the backyard outside area. It is very private with lots of comfortable seating. We toasted marshmallows several times out at the fire pit. Our dogs were happy to be able to roam the fenced in yard. The pond was also lots of fun. The guys fished several times and were pretty successful! We all enjoyed paddling around in the kayaks. We will absolutely vacation again in this lovely home!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Chicopee, MA
Member since Jan 2014
Summer rental

This is our second time renting this lovely home. First off, the owners are a delight. The home is lovely and has a very 'homey feel'- you can tell the owners take great pride in their home. The side porch is great for evening wine, and the lower level patio is very private and a great place for evening campfires. This location is close to many beaches ( a few within minutes) great specialty food markets (take the owners' advice on where to shop - you will not be disappointed!). The house is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. This is our favorite rental on the Cape, you will not be disappointed !

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Webster, NY, monroe
Member since Jan 2013
You WILL find it here!!!

Lynn & Peter have done an amazing job of transforming this cottage into a luxurious cozy retreat that leaves you wanting for nothing. For those that cook ~ you will love the fully stocked kitchen. For those that love to read ~ there are cozy places in and out of the house to tuck away with a good book. For those that love decor and taste ~ You will find it here! For those of you that are taken back at what folks can do with a little hard work and love ~ You will be taken back. For those of you, like me, that want and enjoy a good night sleep ~ You will find it here! The beds are amazing. Our vacation has been restful, peaceful and enjoyable. A safe, comfortable haven on Cape Cod!!!

Thank you, Lynn & Peter, for sharing this with us.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
West Brookfield, MA
Member since Oct 2014
A Wonderful Week

Our extended family enjoyed a week at The Cottage by the Pond. The property offers lovely space for a family vacation inside and out. The fully equipped kitchen made eating in very easy. We had access to great restaurants. We enjoyed both the beaches on the bay, Mayflower and the West Dennis beach. The Flax Pond was the center of our outdoor fun. We kayaked, fished, splashed, waded and swam. We will definitely plan another trip to Dennis.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Forest Hill, MD
Member since Mar 2013
Great spot!

We had a great experience. The house was spotless, and we had everything we needed. The kids loved having the finished basement to hang out and play games. Fire pit and pond were perfect for the nights we didn't want to head back out. The fenced in backyard and conservation trails made traveling with the dog easy! Would go back again in a heartbeat, an absolutely adorable vacation home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Jefferson, MA
Member since Feb 2014
Destination Dennis : Massachusetts Magic !!

Our vacation and Cape Cod adventure was nothing short of magical... complete with a full rainbow on the second evening! Every single day of our stay, we created a "Top Ten" of things we saw, smelled, ate, heard and experienced! Every evening our true #1 was this cozy, perfect and insanely accommodating cottage by the pond. We feasted on fresh seafood and "found" The Lost Dog Pub. Every day we strolled the Setucket trail and marveled at the beautiful and lush scenery and soaked up some late summer sun on the local beaches. The sand was so clean and the water so clear; free souvenirs if you are into unique rock and shell collecting! We gathered groceries at the Dennis Public Market. We made the mistake of buying the homemade "Kitchen Sink" cookies there... so mouthwatering and fresh that we went back 3 more times for fresh batches! Mmmmm. Justin was on a quest to find the very best chowda on the Cape and we have quite a list of favorite food stops and oyster outlets! Every evening was spent catching a sunset and then relaxing in the serenity of this home. I curled up with a book on one of the many comfy chairs. I noticed every corner of the home could be considered a reading nook... cozy chair, a lamp and a tiny table for a cocktail or a cup of tea! Justin was captivated by the Direct TV except I think it was primarily tuned to the Golf channel! He played a round at Dennis Highlands and was invited by some friendly gents to join them at Dennis Pines the next day!!

The downstairs bathroom and shower were spa-like. Every single day was an adventure but it was a true delight to "come home" to the incredible cottage by the pond. We will be counting the days until we can return !!
Mandy and Justin

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Lansdale, PA
Member since Sep 2012
Five Star Cape Cod Vacation

We had a wonderful week at this Dennis "Cottage by the Pond." Our group consisted of four generations and we were enjoying a walk down memory lane as my in-laws lived in East Dennis for many years. The cottage was very well equipped from the kitchen with its pot filler faucet near the stove to all of the beach chairs, towels and toys for the little ones. I have stayed in many vacation rental properties and this one is at the top of the list!!!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Dansville, NY
Member since Oct 2011
Cape Cod Paradise

How welcoming to arrive in our private paradise after a long-car trip? These homeowners have simply anticipated everything we could possibly need.
I consider myself a well-seasoned traveler, but this "vacation home" made us feel welcome from the moment we entered. The kitchen was well-stocked with everything I forgot at home. We tried to use the home to it's maximum, games, TV, internet and of course the gardens. Morning coffee in the garden, listening to the birds and just relaxing. Well you can't put a price on this kind of experience. Truly a privilege staying there if for only ONE WEEK. Can't think of one thing I would change. William and Diana
June, 2012

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Abington, PA
Member since Jul 2012
A cottage of comfort.

I have had the pleasure of staying at "Cottage by the Pond" on three occasions. The cottage has great outdoor space. Food nearby at Captain Frosty's is delicious. It's a great place to stay for people of all ages. I recommend visiting The Little Beach Gallery on South St. in Hyannis and Heritage Museums and Gardens in Sandwich during your stay at the cottage.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: September 2013
Montville, CT
Member since Sep 2013

This property is wonderful. All of the creature comforts of home and extremely comfortable. The location was amazing, near all of the places we wanted to be. We especially enjoyed the grills, the firepit and the backyard. We passed several evenings cooking out and then relaxing by the fire in the backyard. The owners have really thought of everything and were great to deal with. I am looking forward to my next trip to Cape Cod and staying at this cottage. You won't be disappointed.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Farmington, NY
Member since Nov 2010

You have the most amazing little house! Everything is beautiful and you guys thought of everything! All the comforts of home and more!....

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: June 2011
Mary D
Malverne, N.Y.
(Homeowner Entered)

"We spent a delightful and relaxing month of October at the "cottage by the pond." What a comfortable house with all the amenities one can imagine!! Within 24 hours we felt right at home. We enjoyed the 42" Plasma TV equipped with Direct TV and all of its channels, the high speed internet allowing us to skype with our grandchildren, the brand new washer/dryer and the wonderful kitchen outfitted with anything a cook would want right down to the lobster pot and utensils to enjoy your freshly cooked lobster. Wine drinkers have their own wine frig. Indoor and outdoor comforts are unmatched. The two decks,tables and chairs, two bbg grills and even a hammock add to the enjoyment and relaxation. We could just imagine how great it must be to rent there during the summer. The house is close to beautiful beaches, especially Mayflower Beach, gift shops,antique stores, markets,golf courses and great restaurants. Off-season at the cape was wonderful: no traffic, few tourists, easy to travel from one destination to another. Family members who visited us could not believe how nice and luxurious the accomodations were for them. We have been vacationing on Cape Cod for over tqwenty-five years. All agreed that this house was the nicest, most renter friendly with all the comforts of home. THE HOUSE WAS PERFECT! We will definitely be back for another vacation or two or three. Frank and Margaret Crowley November 27, 2010"

Date of Stay: October 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Gansevoort, New York
Member since Nov 2010

Guest review from Laura Sweeney on 8/9/2010 for a stay in July 2010. "This was the second time we vacationed at this home, and it is truly lovely! It has everything you need, from the linens that are provided, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs and fishing poles! All you need to bring are your clothes. The area is also the best part of The Cape. We really enjoyed swimming in Flax Pond, which is so clean and clear. A nice alternative to the ocean, if it's too cold. The central air was so welcoming after a hot day, which there were so many of this summer and not many rentals have AC. The decor in this home is so pretty and just makes you feel at home. The outdoor shower is a real treat,and the lawn and flowers are beautifully kept. There is no reason to look any further, this home is the best! We can't wait to go back! The Sweeney's, Simsbury, CT"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Simsbury, CT
Member since Apr 2007

"This is the perfect house! Situated close to a small, quiet pond, and a quick ride to the most beautiful bayside beaches on the Cape, our family felt like we were staying in a five star hotel. From the first phone call, dealing with the generous owners, we knew we were in for a great vacation. If you need it on the Cape, they have it. From beach chairs, to blankets, it was all there for our families use. 24 years of visiting the cape and I've never had such a carefree stay. Pet friendly is a HUGE plus and allowed for the worries of a kennel to be long gone! The entire setup is that made for family gatherings and provides plenty of space for everyone to have a great time. If your looking for a great spot, in the middle of Dennis Village, I would look no further! This is the place! We'll be back again for sure!"

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: February 2010
Schenectady, NY
Member since Jan 2008

"We had a fantastic vacation at this wonderful home. First of all, the owners are first rate, super-cool people to deal with. This is a quiet neighborhood, great for going for walks, reading a book in the hammock, or kayaking in the pond (highly recommended!). Or... hang out in the backyard and check your email on the wifi, or watch a movie on the big screen... if that's more your speed. Beautiful kitchen, excellent bathrooms, comfy living area, very cozy... Be sure to visit Captain Frosty's down the street for a delicious meal!"

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: November 2009
Philadelphia, PA
Member since Nov 2009

"This house was WONDERFUL!! We vacationed with my parents and my elementary school aged children and it was a great size. Quiet living room upstairs and great entertainment area downstairs, perfect for multi-generational trips. Gourmet kitchen and fantastic outdoor living areas made us feel right at home. We took advantage of the fire pit to make s'mores and loved the selection of board games for the rainy days. Don't forget to visit the Ice Cream Smuggler and Captain Frosty's, both near by. Since our trip, we affectionately refer to this house as 'Our Cape House' because it truly felt like 'home, away from home' and we will continue to rent it for all future trips!"

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: February 2010
La Grange, KY
Member since Jun 2007