Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Great Eastham Beach House in Central Location
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 14780

4 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 2 queens, 4 twins
Beach: 500'
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 8 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Peter and Kathy
Contact Peter and Kathy, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 648-5567.
Please mention Property ID# 14780 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Salty Pumpkin Summer 2016

I have been visiting the Cape for over 35 years and have been renting for the last 15. This year we needed a bigger space, and when I found the Salty Pumpkin, it seemed like the right fit. Well, it was more than that and the perfect place for my wife and I and our 4 adult children and their significant others...including our 11 month grandson. The family/kitchen area is wide open and was a great place to hang out and talk/read...everyone had their own private sleeping quarters...even with all of us up and about the house never felt crowded.

We had perfect weather for the week with temps in mid-80's but the bay and ocean breezes kept the house cool day and night. The deck is large and has a wonderful view of the bay where we would watch sunset. The bay beach is just a few houses down and great at low tide walking the flats and a pleasant relief for swimming on the high tides. The house is bigger than it looks, is perfect for a large family, has all the modern amenities you need and yet in some way has that nostalgic feel of a Cape Cod cottage. One of the nicest places we have stayed on the Cape and look forward to more summers here.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Wallingford, CT
Member since Nov 2015
The Salty Pumpkin

My family and I have stayed at the Salty Pumpkin for the past 4 years. The Salty Pumpkin is clean, open and spacious, and the owners have graciously provided amenities such as bicycles, ping pong, pool, board games, beach toys and books to allow hours of entertainment. There was plenty of sleeping room for our large family. The large deck allowed a great place for the family to unwind at night, and the house is a very short distance (approximately 3 houses down) to a great bay beach. If you want a quiet, relaxing, fun filled beach vacation, I would recommend you stay at the Salty Pumpkin.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Cohoes, NY
Member since Aug 2012
Perfect Family Vacation Spot

We stayed at the Salty Pumpkin in July, 2015. The size and layout were perfect for our extended family. The house picks up all the cooling breezes with plenty of windows. We particularly enjoyed the large deck out back. It gets the early morning sun for that first cup of coffee, and the sunsets are magnificent! (We even saw a rainbow!) The oval table on the deck comfortably seats 6. The kitchen is well equipped for serving large groups, and the gas grill makes BBQing a snap. There is even an extra propane tank so you won't run out. Having beach chairs in the garage is a plus, in that you don't need to haul your own. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms more than adequate, and the outdoor shower is enjoyable. I don't know what the hot water system is, but with 3 showers, a Jacuzzi tub, washer, and dishwasher, we never ran out of hot water.

The teenagers in our group made good use of the ping pong table and TV room downstairs. We liked the extra touches, such as the pots of flowers and the bird feeders that were in constant use. Even though the house is only 2 miles off Route 6, it is extremely quiet and peaceful. Peter was easy to work with, and answered all of our questions in a timely manner. We spent time at Sunken Meadow Beach, just 5 houses away, as well as the National Seashore beaches. We will certainly consider this house for our next Cape vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Rumney, NH
Member since Jan 2012
Great house and great location

We just returned from another great vacation at the Cape. We've been coming to the Cape for many years, and this was our fourth year staying at the Salty Pumpkin. This house is perfect for us. Plenty of room for large or extended families and an easy walk to the beach. We spent the days relaxing on the beach and enjoyed long family dinners on the huge back deck. The beautiful outdoor shower is a hit with both the kids and the adults. We're looking forward to coming back for many years to come.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Tolland, CT
Member since Feb 2010
LOVED the Salty Pumpkin

I have been vacationing on the Cape for over 10 years. The Salty Pumpkin was the perfect house for our family of 7 plus an infant. We had more than enough space. The house was very clean. We took advantage of the beach toys in the garage, ping pong in the basement and all enjoyed the outdoor shower. The basement room was perfect for my brother, his wife and their new 6 week old baby because it offered them the privacy and offered us some sleep when she cried during the night. The beach was a short walk down the road. We became friends with many of the neighbors while taking morning and evening walks. We have stayed at many houses from Dennis to Truro and the Salty Pumpkin was truly the best due to its cleanliness, space and the many touches the owners had left for us (access to beach toys/chairs, bikes and the lovely book guide full of pamphlets, restaurant menus and things to do). Thanks for a great stress free vacation!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Cohoes, NY
Member since Aug 2012
PERFECT FOR EXTENDED FAMILY VACATION

We spent two fun weeks at this comfortable, well-appointed and maintained home. Great layout of the house provides open space for getting together as well as privacy for individual families. It's larger than it looks on the website. We were especially pleased with the close-by quiet Bay beach, easy access to the Audubon sanctuary and Atlantic beaches, and nearly Wellfleet. Bikes, toys and beach items provided by owner were very much appreciated as we were traveling from various parts of the country. Have stayed at various places on the Cape over the years and highly recommend the Salty Pumpkin and its conscientious owner.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Member since Dec 2009
A great house in a great location

The Salty Pumpkin is all that it is represented to be -- and more. We just returned home from a great week at the Cape and our first year in the Salty Pumpkin. It is VERY spacious -- with the eight of us having more than enough room to sleep and eat and play without being on top of each other. Our teenagers -- four of them -- loved hanging out in the basement with the pool table and tv. The deck on the back of the house is big and comfortable. We had dinner out there every night. The bird watching off of the deck -- with bird feed supplied by the owner -- was also a lot of fun. The house itself was clean and well-appointed with kitchen and dining supplies, washer and dryer, and clean, modern bathrooms. Nice outdoor shower too! And the close proximity to the bay was perfect. Recommend it to all who are considering it.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Owner Response:

We are glad the house worked out so well for you and your family. We will definitely look at leveling the pool table for your next trip to the Salty Pumpkin.

Caldwell, NJ
Member since Nov 2010

I wanted to send you a quick note to thank you for the opportunity to spend a week at the Salty Pumpkin this summer. My family and I have been renting at the Cape for 10+ years now and this was by far the nicest house that we have stayed in. Great location with a quick and easy walk to the beach, plenty of room, super clean and all of the amenities that you could need for a relaxing vacation at the Cape. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back for years to come. Thanks again.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Keith M
Tolland, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

What a great week we had. Very nice weather, a comfortable and well-equipped house, and great mattresses! We loved the bay beach -- the kids spend hours looking for marine critters at low tide and swimming at high tide. We also njoyed Marconi beach, Welfleet Bay, biking, kayaking, hiking and eating on the great deck. Life was VERY GOOD.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Barbara D
Glastonbury, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

Wow -- we loved the Salty Pumpkin. We have never stayed in a home that is so SET UP!!! Thank you for your attention to detail and allowing us to stay in your home.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Cindy and Jeff G
Natick, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for a great place to stay. The house was everything we were hoping for and more. We loved being able to walk to the beach, rides our bikes to the bike path and grill on the deck. We had a great time.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Joe C
Reading, MA
(Homeowner Entered)