Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

The BoatHouse dune-top bungalow overlooking Cape Cod Bay
North Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 3726

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, Bunk beds, hammock!
Beach: 50 ft. to private beach directly in front
Guest Reviews: 28 reviews
Time active: 14 years, 10 months
Contact details:
  Email Maureen Keegan
Contact Maureen Keegan, by e-mail, or at .
Please mention Property ID# 3726 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
28 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
The sound of a screen door on the Cape was never sweeter

I was trying to find a place on the Cape that would bring me back to my teens in Orleans and Eastham as well as take my wife Julia back 25 years to that day that I first brought her to the Cape on her birthday, and we found it. If you truly want to feel and experience the Cape as it was meant to be, you cannot pass up The Boat House if it is free.There is a small sign posted by the door as you exit which reminds you how important the sound of a screen door stretching open and then slamming shut behind you is as a key to all great summer memories. The Boat House has now added more importance to that sweet sound. Thank you.

John and Julia
Demarest, N.J.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Demarest, NJ
Member since Sep 2016
Magical!

We so loved this very special place in a very special spot. The house couldn't be more charming, and the deck--with locust trees providing shade--was glorious. Love the outdoor shower, and the spot on the bay is really great--walk out forever in low tide; step off the stairs to swim in high tide.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Williamsville, VT
Member since Mar 2013
Piece of Paradise

What a wonderful spot! We had a view of the water; enjoyed the deck; short walk to the beach! My son's favorite spot was the hammock on the side of the house. We had a wonderful vacation and this house allowed us to have some wonderful memories.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Norton, MA
Member since May 2016

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Thank you, Maureen!
What a perfect place to spend our 34th wedding anniversary. the house is so charming, the deck so relaxing, and the view outstanding.

To the next visitors-
Don't miss exploring the beach at low tide, each sunset on the deck and listening to the crickets.

Thanks again,
Gary & Kathy
Los Altos, CA

....now back to the other coast!

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Gary and Kathy M
Los Altos, California
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

"We had an amazing tow weeks of EVERYTHING! Thank you for sharing your magical pradise. We to be back again next year.
Six Happy Ramsden of Wellesley, MA

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Matt R
Wellesley, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

We had a lovely vacation at the Boat House. We pick a new town and a new house each year, but this is out favorite place so far- lucky #7! Kim

Also we loved the marvelous ocean view and sunsets. It was great to have a boardwalk again. We really enjoyed our stay. - Clara

PS the stars at night were incredible. We even saw some of our Milky Way's galactic center.
Best,
Kim, John, Jackson and Clara

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
John A
Greenville, Rhode Island
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Wow. That's all we can really say. What a place. It has been magical. the last time I was at this very beach I was 6. To return with my little girls and husband has been surreal. I will love this this place always. We had a wonderful stay.
Erin, David Charlotte, Molly and Olivia

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Erin D
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Thank you so much for this lovely and super clean Boat House. Nous avons adore notre sejour sur lebord de la mer. Les couchers de soleil sont spendides. Quel endroit calme et paiseble!

Merci pour tout et a une prochaine nous l'esperons!

Sara & Etienne
Monteral, Quebec

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Sarah R
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Dear Maureen,
We had a wonderful week in your lovely boathouse. we really enjoyed the beach, beautiful sunsets, lazy mornings on the deck and the outstanding surroundings. This is exactly what we needed after a stressful week in NYC. We wished Cape Cod wasn't that far from Germany.

Thank you!
Alexandra, Hinch, Sophia, Julius, and Laura

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2016
Alexandra S
Konigstein, Germany
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Amazing cottage!
What fun we have had- perfect location...loved the drive-in. We ate our way across the Cape- Pearl in Wellfleet our favorite. We will be back for more low tides and full moons.

The Clarks
Ventura, CA

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2016
Jill C
Ventura, Calif, USE
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Dear Maureen,
What a fantastic house! We had such a wonderful time. This is our first time on the cap and we totally had the full cape experience. My son Jaxie (3 years) said, "mama this house is spooky at night, but it does have a magic toilet seat!"
And Robby (9 months) especially loved the tub. We have one complaint, however, there needs to be more bottle openers..ha ha what a collection. It needs one from NYC! Check your mail!

Thanks again for everything! we will definately be back.

Love, Abel, Niki, Jojo and Robby

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: February 2016
Phillippa A
New Rochelle, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Dear Maureen,
What a charming little cottage this is. Our whole family loved it. i enjoyed your photography too. This is the nicest cottage we've stayed at. Maybe we'll be back again.

Thanks for everything,
Fred, Robin, Dana and Eric

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: February 2016
Robin V
Stormville, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

What perfection! We arrived five days ago during a stunning sunset and knew a miraculous week would follow. It did! Beach every day and dinner in the house every night together. Super simple. Super wonderful! Our only regret is that we're not staying two weeks! I have a feeling we'll be back.

Thanks so much again!
With love,
Francesco, Chistina, Adam and Niccolo

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: February 2016
Francesco S
New York, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

We had a wonderful honeymoon week here! The cottage is beautiful- we really enjoyed your thoughtful design!
Thanks for sharing your special place with us!

Rebecca and Evangelo

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: February 2016
Rebecca E
Fairfax, Virginia
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Maureen,
You have a very special place here- we loved every minute of it. We are very sad to leave.
The Kovalchik

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: February 2016
Jill K
South Hadley, Masschusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Dear Maureen,
From the moment the 4 of us entered you lovely house we wanted it . And Yes, it wanted us too. Big time!
We had the most wonderful weather, and enjoyed long beach days, deck lunches, outdoor showers, bicycle trips, and a great BBQ dinner.

Never before did we enjoy a house so gracefully decorated and well equipped. The only thing we could find was a bottle opening (hahah).

We love your photos, especially the ones in the bathroom. Fab!!!
Thanks for your caring hospitality.
We'll spread the word.

Jan, Wynard, Arthur, Froms

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: February 2016
Jan B
New York, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Maureen,
Thank you for letting us have the cottage on this long weekend. the setting is gorgeous. The boys really enjoyed the expanse of the beach at low tide for exploring. Your cottage is so charming and so well thought out.

Your artistic eye did not go unnoticed.
We look forward to our next stay.

The Barbers
Newtown, CT

Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: February 2016
Erica B
Newtown, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Maureen,
Thank you for sharing this magical place with our family. the beach was so much fun for our kids and our lives seem to go with the tides while we were here. this place is so beautiful and so well stocked with items.

You can tell there is a lot of love and thought put into this place. We had a wonderful two weeks and hope to come back again.

The Cote family

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: February 2016
Brian C
West Hatford, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Maureen and Bob,
What a great spot. House was perfect size for the 6 of us. Loved your home with its great stuff. The deck is a great place to relax and the stairs down with the landing are fun to sit on at sunset. Kids loved it- the shower, the sound, the bunk beds and of course the tub.

Bike rides to the Landing and great neighbors made for a fun 2 weeks.
Would love to return...

Cotes
West Hartford

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: February 2016
Annie C
West Hatford, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

We can't thank you enough for arranging our last minute stay here. Everything was perfect- and the house is decorated just perfectly. (Love your photos and oils!!)

Hope to be back next year- we're now spoiled by the wonderful house and perfect location and amazing view.

Be well and thanks

Jane G and family

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: February 2016
Jane G
New York, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Maureen,
Thank you so much for everything. It was very last minute so thank you for rushing everything for us. As I figured, my parents fell n love with your place! In fact, my mom said to keep your number for the next time! haha! So it's a win! Those AZ folks needed some beach time stat and you gave it to them! Also, my daughter Ruby said "I love it mum!" and spent nearly the whole time on the beach or on the deck.

I can't say enough, but I'm-we're- grateful. You are blessed and I'm confident you mum loves it as much as we all do.

All the best- always,
Michelle, Michael and family

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: February 2016
Michelle and Michael D
Phoenix, Arizona
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

What a lovely peaceful week we've spent together at this beautiful little cottage by the bay. Perfect weather, including a thunderstorm one night, endless walks along endless beaches, fabulous meals out and at "hone", and daily bike rides along the many excellent bike trails heavenly.

So glad to have spent time at the very special place! Thanks!

Martha and Richard

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: February 2016
Richard & Martha W
Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

This was the most restful and happy little vacation! sunsets, cozy bed, long walks, hot baths, long chats, games, so much fun. this place is beautiful, comfortable and peaceful. Thank you, Lou and Mary

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: February 2016
Lou & Mary C
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Had a wonderful time. Very relaxing and a great place to unwind. Red Barn Pizza is awesome!! Deck makes a wonderful dance floor. Lots of fun and laughter. You've done an amazing job with this place. This is the "real" cape. Tough to return to the real world- Thank you,
Beth

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: February 2016
Beth C
Lexington, Masschusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

Thank you for sharing your perfect beach house with our family last minute. This must be a good livin' house since Hurricane Irene spared the cottage. Loved our time here! Maybe stay longer next time. Great job with this place!
The Walshes

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: February 2016
Jay W
Hingham, Masschusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

What a lovely place! It was even fun to hand wash dishes because everything has such charm. Of course the sunsets and the beach and the swimming speaks for itself, but we were surprised with the proximity of EVERYTHING! P-town, Wellfleet Harbor, Mac's Seafood (and the little Mac's Fish Market across the street) Orleans....Everything! Thanks Maureen and Bob for sharing such a wonderful cottage.
Best Jo-Anne and David

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: February 2016
Joanne & David M
Venice, California
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

We were so excited to be coming to 'Cape Cod' for the first time (first of many after our stay here!) On holiday from Connecticut.

Once we arrived we were certain to not be let down----what a cottage!!! The Boathouse Cottage has such charm and has been done so beautifully- we have fallen in love with it!! the location, sunsets, walks to our own private beach, and days at Coastguard Beach.

thank you for making this place a 'vacation one' for many lucky people to enjoy and experience. We are very sad to be saying "Goodbye" but feel very relaxed and will be back. It's been perfect!!
Dominic and Emily

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: February 2016
Dominic & Emily M
Ridgefeild, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

Transcribed from Guest Book:

When we rented the Boathouse on a rainy autumn day in Hamburg, Germany. We thought we had made a good choice, but were still uncertain what we could expect. Once we arrived here we were overwhelmed by the lovely house, it's perfect location and the gorgeous seaview. We spent a wonderful 2 weeks and will definitely recommend the Boathouse to everyone who plans to stay on Cape Cod.
Ende family

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: February 2016
Lothe E
Hamburg, Germany
(Homeowner Entered)