Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Privacy & Comfort on Great Pond in Eastham
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 8917

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 2 twins
Beach: on Great Pond, less than 1 mile to Cape Cod Bay
Guest Reviews: 32 reviews
Time active: 11 years, 8 months
Contact details:
  Email Sarah Mumford
Contact Sarah Mumford, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 255-3689 (Home).
Please mention Property ID# 8917 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
32 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Hard to believe it has been eight years since we discovered Clark's Point and Great Pond. The weather was perfect! First Encounter continues to take our breath away at sunset. Oysters, oysters and more oysters this year. They were fantastic...Visited our favorite beaches, and no trip is complete without a trip to Provincetown.

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: May 2014
Christine and Jim D
Woodstock, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

What a great place! We love the proximity to other towns and the bike paths. We biked several times, walked the National Seashore, napped and hung out in this comfy home. It was nice to eat here, watch a movie, sit by the fire at night. We also saw a great sunset and sunrise...Thanks for a nice respite.

Date of Stay: April 2014
Date Submitted: May 2014
Diane and Chuck M
Portsmouth, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

This was our first winter vacation here. It was every bit as wonderful as we'd hoped for. We brought cross county skis and had an awesome afternoon skiing on the bike trail...We bundled up and walked on the windswept beaches. We'll definitely be back for another winter stay.

Date of Stay: February 2014
Date Submitted: May 2014
Elaine and Joe P
Mansfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Back for our annual fall respite here at the cottage. We saw a colorful sunset at First Encounter Beach...enjoyed a warming fire as we played checkers....paradise on earth.

Date of Stay: November 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Joe and Elaine P
Mansfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Well, we could not have timed out two week vacation better!...the weather was Indian Summer delightful and we soaked up the sun, birdsong and ocean air, knowing that we'd be heading to a long winter in Vermont!...Thanks again, we'll see you next year!

Date of Stay: October 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Lisa and John G
Stowe, VT
(Homeowner Entered)

What a gorgeous week this year! We had summer days in October which prompted a swim in the pond...also kayaked out of Salt Pond into the marshes...Thank you so much! See you next year!

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Donna and Rob H
Fair Lawn, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Grateful for this beautiful space in this spectacular setting! ...Many summers spent in Wellfleet and Eastham in the past - this has been the most peaceful. Lots of swims in bay and ponds. Hikes on beaches were great. Thanks.

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Tom and Sue T
East Taunton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful stay here...We went biking, kayaking, up to P'town and down to Chatham, to the beach, mini golf and out for ice cream. We had lots of nice evenings out on the dock and enjoyed watching a bunny we named Harold...We had a fun week and want to come again.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Isabel (age 9) B
Sharon, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for a fantastic stay - we loved out time here and felt at home. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed kayaking on the pond and swimming in such fresh, clean water. Thank you for creating such a beautiful place to come to for a relaxing vacation.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Amy R
Northampton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Hidden Gem

Our family has been returning to this peaceful hidden gem for 7 or 8 years now. The location in Eastham is perfect since you are situated near the bay beaches, ocean beaches, as well as the bike trail. The house itself is tucked away among beautiful pine trees and overlooks Great Pond. The wrap around deck is therapeutic to sit on any time of day where you can see and hear a variety of birds within the pines and on Great Pond (and also a resident bunny). The house is immaculate and has all the amenities you would want. The owner, Bob, is wonderful making sure you are settled and happy. Bring your kayak, SUP board, fishing poles, etc., since you have easy access from your own boat dock.

Each year we come back and pull up the driveway and it feels like home. I guarantee you will leave this home feeling peaceful, refreshed, and counting down the days to your next trip to this wonderful place! Thank you, Bob.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: February 2014
Southbury, CT
Member since Feb 2014

Once again, another fantastic week at this cozy cottage, Cape Cod has offered many fun things to us, and we enjoyed everyday to its fullest. While we were here, we went to Marconi Beach where we soaked up the sun, played in the water, and even spotted some cute seals as we were walking along the beach. While some days, we just hung out here at the cottage playing board games, watching movies, and spending quality family time. We would also like to recommend kayaking and fishing on the pond too! Thanks for letting us have a wonderful vacation!!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Autumn (age 12) R
Atkinson, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Another wonderful week at our favorite home away from home. We spent our entire week at Coast Guard Beach so the boys could learn how to surf. It's by far the best beach for it and has one of the most rewarding low tides of all the beaches we've visited! ....As always, we will miss Clark's Point the second we pull away!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Sue C
Newton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

For the past 15 years, my family and I have been vacationing on the Cape, We decided 10 years ago that Eastham was the place to make our 'base camp.' So for 10 years, I have rented various homes in many neighborhoods in Eastham, looking for my home-away-from-home. My search is over! This is such a wonderful, peaceful, comfortable, cozy, clean and beautiful cottage. Everything about it - and our stay - was perfect. I can't wait to come back and wish we didn't have to leave. Thank you for everything.

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Catherine C
Enfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We accomplished exactly what we wanted this week - rest and relaxation! The weather was perfect...for the first time we saw the fog rolling in over Great Pond - really enjoyed it. Nothing can compare to the sunsets at First Encounter Beach - they get better each year. Until next time....

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Chris and Jim D
Woodstock, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

It has been another wonderful time at this beautiful cottage. This trip was full of relaxation and fishing on Great Pond. Such a beautiful place. Already looking forward to our next trip.

Date of Stay: March 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Chris B
Utica, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

This warm, secluded little house, in its serene setting amongst the pines, is a joy we will always treasure. We feel fortunate to have found the place. Thank you, and all the best to all who follow here.

Date of Stay: January 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Sonya W
Wallingford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

There's nothing quite like pre-Christmastime on the Cape. Peaceful, contemplative, restorative. Even a gray rainy day has special properties here! Loved being in the cottage - will definitely be back. Thanks!

Date of Stay: December 2012
Date Submitted: January 2014
Ellen F
Hamden, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

What a wonderful weekend - just to go to the beach and breathe in the Atlantic air and soak in the autumn sun. We advanced a little in our migratory bird know how...saw razor-bills and guillemots out over low tide, as well as different duck families at the tranquil Beech Forest. Also the biggest collective pod of grey seals ever traveling down the shore. We'll be back in the spring!

Date of Stay: November 2012
Date Submitted: January 2014
Joe and Elaine P
Mansfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for sharing your cottage...We had so many fun adventures during this trip...See you again soon.

Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Chris B
Utica, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

The morning of our last day of our 4th visit here...we leave more grateful and in love with this beautiful setting than ever...it will definitely live in our thoughts until we return!

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Donna H
Fairlawn, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

The end of another week/year at Clark’s Point. Many peaceful hours spent simply gazing at the surroundings...See you next year.

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Mark S
Weymouth, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for such a wonderful stay. We so enjoyed the cottage and its setting, we are ready to come back next year! What a retreat by the calm of Great Pond after a busy, fun day boogie boarding at the beach. We feel this home is the perfect place.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Erik R
Northampton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Our trip to Cape Cod was amazing! We swam at beautiful Marconi Beach, biked along the Cape Cod Rail Trail, kayaked and fished on Great Pond...We had lots of adventures and had a fantastic time at the Cottage!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Kim R
Atkinson, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

A relaxing week just when we needed it most. The feeling we get when we arrive here is incredible and we wish we could bottle that feeling and take it back home until we return...Thank you as always for this oasis!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Justin C
Newton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Two weeks flies by too fast! Each visit we discover something new as well as visit old friends...Clark’s Point always reminds us to slow down and enjoy life more. See you again soon.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
John G
Stowe, VT
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks again for making this cottage so perfect. Like many before us, we now think of it while we are here as “our” cottage, too. Often we are rejuvenated and relaxed leaving, but this time I’d add that we are clearer about the importance of a place like this in the midst of such beauty to help as reconnect with what and who is the most important - and what is just clutter. Thanks for sharing this place of possibility.

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Jay G
Dedham, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

Rediscovered the word relaxation this past week...Contemplating what to do, or not to do, each morning on the deck. The weather was perfect - stars delighted us each evening. The familiar sounds of Great Pond never cease to bring comfort and joy!...Thanks for sharing this piece of heaven with us...Until next time!

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Christine D
Woodstock, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Time disappears here. The rhythms of the natural world reclaim us. We will depart with these images, sounds and scents imprinted in our memory, to re-visit when life gets too loud. Loved our stay!

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Val B
Leverett, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Another ‘enchanted April’ stay at this lovely place...thanks for this welcoming cottage in the woods! Many spring and summer-like days at the Cape Cod National Seashore, sun-bathers and hearty kids in the water, even. Nothing gets one back in the right frame of mind like sitting by the shoreline breathing in sync with ocean waves...Until next time...

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Joe P
Mansfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We came up (from North Carolina) to do research family genealogy (Mayflower passengers). Visits were made to Orleans, Provincetown, Plymouth and Boston, which were fantastic! But nothing compares to the absolutely wonderful time here at the cottage...we were awestruck with this place and will definitely return!

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Drew N
Brevard, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

....A wonderful stay - thanks for sharing your beautiful place. The nearby walking trails were a pleasant surprise. We definitely hope to come back!

Date of Stay: March 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Danny F
Fairfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Another very relaxing week-end at the cottage - away from busy responsibilities and obligations... thanks for sharing this magical place!

Date of Stay: February 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Andrea R
Middletown, CT
(Homeowner Entered)