Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Outstanding Harwich Long Pond Family Home
Long Pond, Harwich Vacation Rental - ID 22979

4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 4 twins, A crib can be provided upon request
Beach: Private access to Long Pond, 300 yards away
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Norma Jean
Contact Norma Jean, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (860) 974-1155 (home), (860) 608-2515 (mobile).
Please mention Property ID# 22979 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Scrupulously clean with nice yard

Neighborhood was quiet and property was well maintained inside and out. Good water pressure in the shower and well functioning wall air conditioners and appliances. Sunny and bright with the kitchen skylight. Good sized closets in 2 of the bedrooms. Bedrooms were a good size. Grill worked well and patio with stone fire pit was comfortable and pleasant. It was mice having extra umbrellas available when extended family arrived. Good amount of cabinet space. The private bedroom/bath might not be good for some with disabilities as there was minimal space to get in the bed, and the sink is so close to the toilet that one could bump their head getting up; just be careful. Beds were a little too soft for my bad back. Stairs to pond were rather steep but that probably cannot be helped. Close to main roads and Garding Beach. Overall a very pleasant place to stay. Thank you very much.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Marlborough, MA
Member since Mar 2009
Our stay at this lovely home

This house was lovely and everything we needed was provided. The back yard was wonderful and where our family spent most of their time when not out & about. There were bikes in the garage for use on the Rail Trail which was very close to the neighborhood, and the access to Long Pond was a short walk from the house. We enjoyed our stay!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Member since Jan 2014
Simply awesome

Jean was a delight to work with and their home had everything that we could have thought we needed. The games were played by our children and my sister's children, marshmallows were roasted, walks were had, several bicycle trips were taken and our amateur attempt at canoeing was great as well. The place was clean, with such wonderful amenities - we were comfortable with 4 adults and 4 kids - every person had their own bed. We will definitely look to return! Thank you to the homeowners for letting us rent their home!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Natick, MA
Member since Mar 2011

This review was provided to the homeowner in their guest book:

Amazing vacation. Truly a gift. The house was perfect and all the extras made it special....took the bikes on a ride to the bay beach in Brewster one morning, sat outside and relaxed, and love the lake- so beautiful! Can't wait to come back with out kids one day! :-)
Thank you Loftus family for your hospitality!
The Handsow's

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Morgan H
Grand Junction, Colorado
(Homeowner Entered)
The Perfect Spot

Thank you for providing such a perfect spot for our "girls" vacation! Being so close to the bike/walking trail and the lake (with your canoe) made enjoying our time together so much easier. Many hours were spend around your kitchen table cooking fabulous meals, talking and laughing - of course, laughing! The fire pit brought hours of entertainment, and the outside shower was delightful. We really enjoyed your house and look forward to a time when we can return.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: February 2014
Yarmouth, ME
Member since Feb 2014

This review was provided to the homeowner by the guest by way of email:

We had a wonderful vacation in your great house even though the weather didn't cooperate! We loved being near the bike trail and enjoyed our morning walks to the General Store. Thank you for making us feel right at home!
The Whytes

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Pam W
Glen Rock, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

This review was provided to the homeowner in their guest book:
We had a fantastic vacation! The location of your home was perfect! The close proximity to the Bike Trail and the great ponds was one of my favorite things. We enjoyed the brand new outdoor shower and fire pit immensely! We picnicked on a Wellfeet beach and enjoyed music on the port. Thank you for putting so much through into your guests.

Sincerely,
The Sklar Family

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Coleen S
West Wardsboro, VT
(Homeowner Entered)
Great Vacation

This rental has everything you will need and more for a great vacation! The house is bright and extremely clean. The big backyard and fire pit provided hours of outdoor time for the whole family. The location of the house is ideal for day trips anywhere on the Cape and the convenience of the bike path is perfect. It was so nice not having to pile all the kids and bikes in the car. The outdoor shower was a perfect ending to a long day at the beach. We fell in love with Harwich and the Long Pond area.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Lunenburg, MA
Member since Feb 2012

This review was provided to the homeowner by the guest by way of email:
Hi Norma Jean,
Thanks for your note. We had a wonderful time at your house. Your hospitality and responsiveness was very much appreciated. As of now, I can't think of anything to improve the house.

My wife and I took the bikes out on the rail trail and that was great. We really appreciated that since her bike had been stolen the night before out of our bike room at our condo building and mine had been vandalized to the point where it was unride-able. We ride bikes back home a lot so it was a pleasure to have nice bikes to ride on the trail. Thank you so much for that. Also, the fire pit was a big hit for us. It was nice to sit by that fire and have it keep the bugs away. Finally, the air conditioners were a huge hit for us. Given the heat and humidity, it made it a pleasure to step back into the house after the beach or when we turned in for the night. Very nice.

All in all, we really enjoyed your house. Thanks again for everything!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Bill C
Cambridge, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Hidden Gem

This property is a hidden GEM. Right off route 6, you can see Long Pond from the end of the driveway. I only wished the weather was warmer so we could have used the lake beach area. We did spend an afternoon cycling the bike trail, which was 1 street away. All the Cape amenities are at your fingertips from this property.

As we entered the house, it felt like home. The property has everything you'd ever need for a week's stay and maybe more. The owners have taken great pride in this home, and the recent work in the yard shows that for years to come, this will be a great place to stay, either for a weekend or a week!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: May 2013
Woodstock, CT
Member since May 2013
Your answer to a great vacation

This is a beautiful, clean and very comfortable home filled with many extras! We enjoyed restful nights and days filled with lots of fun. There are bikes in the garage as well as other sports equipment, and the yard is beautiful. We enjoyed a peaceful afternoon as we relaxed in the yard with a good book. The location is perfect...just a short walk to the lake and the bike path. It is very easy to fall into a smooth routine while staying at this wonderful home...it has everything one needs and more!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Woodstock, CT
Member since May 2013
Quaint and Quiet Lake House

We really enjoyed a wonderful vacation at this home rental! Although the house was on the smaller side, the layout of the bedrooms and the bathrooms were perfect for a couple with 2 kids (each kid invited a friend for the week), a master bedroom and another bedroom with a private bath for friends (a couple) who visited over the weekend. The living area and dining/kitchen areas are open so the place felt larger than the square footage listed. There was a large picnic table/benches outside on the patio for BBQ's and chairs/end tables on the deck for afternoon cocktails!

The best part was that the location was quiet! The lake was 2 blocks (walking distance) away and since we brought our canoe, we spent more time on the lake than at the ocean with the parking challenges and the masses of people!! If you are looking for a quiet retreat that is close to shopping, bike paths, and the water - this is the place for your next vacation! Also, we had access to the bikes in the garage so we didn't have to transport ours! We loved it so much, we have reserved it for another week this August!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
W Hartford, CT
Member since May 2013