Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Popponesset Beach-Now booking Fall 2016
Popponesset Beach in Mashpee, Vacation Rental - ID 22577

3 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 4 twins, bunk beds, mattress under bunks and
Beach: Private Popponesset Beach a 4-min walk or .3mile
Guest Reviews: 19 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 1 month
Contact details:
  Email Bruce/Norma
Contact Bruce/Norma, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 477-4071 (Home), (508) 783-7718 (Cellular).
Please mention Property ID# 22577 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
19 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Cutest cottage

We had such an amazing time at Bruce and Norma's cottage. We spent our evenings hosting relatives and spent most mornings drinking coffee and having breakfast in the backyard. The outdoor shower was amazing and the firepit was nice for s'mores! Bruce brought by stuffed quahogs and Norma brought over an anchor for our huge raft. SO incredibly hospitable. Bruce even took us on a tour of Popponesset Bay and harbor. It was beautiful and so thoughtful. The house was spacious and had A/C units for our very hot week. We will definitely be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

Thanks for the nice review. It was nice hosting your family. We hope you consider us again in your family reunion planning.

Member since Mar 2016
Best family trip

My husband, 3 young girls, dog and I just finished up a fantastic week in Popponesset. This house had all we needed and much more. Plenty of space, all the daily necessities, very clean, and a great outdoor space for kids. The house is located in a great spot...quick walk to the Community Center, which has fun activities for kids daily, and a 5 minute walk to the beach...perfect for little ones. The hosts, Bruce and Norma, were so friendly and attentive and made our stay very enjoyable. We are already counting down the days to our next stay in Popponesset!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Thanks for the great review,. We take pride in our property and want our guests to enjoy our slice of Paradise. It was great meeting you and we would love having you back!

West Roxbury, MA
Member since Jul 2016
22577

Bruce and Norma, the owners, are the nicest people you will ever meet. The home is gorgeous with coastal decor. It's bright with the skylights even on a cloudy day that makes it bright in the home. It's welcoming and beautiful! Everything is organized, you unpack and have a place for everything. You will feel right at home. We had a great experience with becoming really great friends with Bruce & Norma, and we will remain great friends. They took us for a boat ride & amazing Mexican dinner night with mariachi band. We had a blast. This vacation was everything you could ever imagine & more. Short walking distance to beach, community center, raw bar, the inn, the lure. We didn't want to leave. Best vacation we have ever had, huge thanks to our new friends Bruce & Norma. To note my 15 year old son is disabled & they set up handicap ramp for his wheelchair. They go above and beyond. Can't wait for next year's vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Thanks for the review. We enjoyed your family and our new found friendships. We welcome you back for future visits

Marshfield, MA
Member since May 2015
A great week in Poppanesset!

We stayed here for a week in June and had a phenomenal time! The house is adorably decorated, with a nice deck and backyard, even a fire pit for pre-bedtime s'mores. It's a short walk to several beaches, which were as good as, or better than, any in the Cape. You can enjoy the open ocean on one side, with light surf and gorgeous views, and 50 yards away, you find the inlets and channels and shelter from the surf. The first day we were there, the kids had a blast catching small fish and hermit crabs in the channel. Our hosts, Bruce and Norma, make it easy to enjoy the beach; even though we brought our own, they had extra chairs, boogie boards, pails, shovels, balls, games and a cart to get it all there.

"Poppy," as the locals know it, is such a great community, perfect for families of any age, including young children. The neighbors are friendly, the streets are safe, and the clubhouse is a hopping community center.

As for the house, Bruce and Norma do a fantastic job making guests feel welcome. The kids loved their welcoming gifts, and the adults loved the clean home, ample space and bedrooms big enough to spread out a little. Our stay was unforgettable, and we want to go back. Seriously, this was a perfect vacation at a perfect time!

Thanks, Bruce and Norma!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed hosting your family and welcome you back for future visits,

Barrington, RI
Member since May 2016
Awesome!!

Bruce was an awesome host and this was a great place to spend the Memorial Day weekend! Very close to the beach...has a grill to BBQ on and a fire pit. Perfect get away from the city!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Jul 2016
Great Cottage in a great area.

Loved the house and the area. Everything we needed and a great back yard with a firepit! Enjoyed walks in the area, and our friend's wedding at the Popponeset Inn was incredible. Would highly recommend this cottage!

Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: May 2016
Owner Response:

We are glad you enjoyed our cottage. You were lovely guests and we welcome you back any time.
Thanks,
Bruce & Norma Hartwell

Member since Apr 2016
Delightful

Great Cottage! We rented for a long "weekend" (Sat. - Tues.) - attended a wedding at the Popponessett Inn. I was a little hesitant renting "sight unseen" - but I was very pleasantly surprised! The house was very clean (& well stocked with dishes, glasses etc.), backyard was spacious (loved the fire pit!), perfect location (leisurely stroll to the beach) & to top it off, the owners left us a lovely "greeting basket" full of goodies! What a great treat/surprise - much appreciated! I would definitely recommend this rental & hope to return in the future (possibly for a week or two next time!!!).

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Stoughton, MA
Member since Sep 2015
What a great place to stay

Bruce & Norma are such a hospitable couple. We arrived to nice gift baskets for the kids. They loved going to the beach and finding horseshoe crab shells along with many other sea creatures. S'mores on the fire pit were a bit hit. My kids can't stop talking about the boat ride Norm took us on. Can't wait to do it again next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Needham, MA
Member since Jun 2015
Charming Hidden Cottage At Poppy Beach

My family enjoyed this cottage very much. Everything we needed was provided as to bed linens which, in my experience, no rentals usually do, and kitchen linens. As I am a lady pushing 70 years, the Internet was even more important to me than the beach, so I was delighted it worked well. As to the younger members of our party, this cottage is a child's dream. Plenty of videos and activities available in the cottage as well as swing and jungle gym sets outside! All in all, everything was set up so everyone could relax comfortably!! We would rent again in a heartbeat!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Stoughton, MA
Member since Aug 2010
Great house

This was our second year renting this house. We love all the amenities, especially the outside shower and fire pit. The beach was a very short walk and we did it with 3 kids in tow. The owners are very hospitable. We are looking forward to next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Owner Response:

Thanks, Tara. We enjoyed having you and taking Dan and the kids for a boat ride, We do hope to see you again next summer!

Worcester, MA
Member since Mar 2013
Family friendly beach escape

This adorable property was perfect for our family beach vacation! We loved being able to walk to The Spit and the beautiful beach. Excellent proximity to The Marketplace and fishing on the bridge. Our kids also took advantage of arts & crafts, foosball, and movie night at the club house, just a short walk away. Very family friendly! Also worth mentioning, we had great dining experiences at The Popponesset Inn dining room, The Lure (also at the Inn) and Anju (Mexican) in Falmouth. Be sure to check out the wonderful toy store at the marketplace and the weekend live music at the gazebo. We enjoyed the outdoor fire pit and welcome gifts left by these generous homeowners.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Member since May 2015
Fantastic kickoff to summer!

We just returned and had a fabulous stay. We have three young daughters and it was perfect for us. Bruce & Norma were so kind to leave us house warming treats and were always available for any questions.

Perfect location with a few minute walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on the Cape and an even shorter walk to the Community center and playground. It was great to be able to enjoy the swing set and firepit in the backyard.

We will definitely be back! Thank you for the hospitality!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: May 2015
Owner Response:

Thanks for being great guests. You are more than welcome back. Hopefully we can take the family for a boat ride.

Braintree, MA
Member since Jul 2011
Awesome family vacation

I will recommend this neighborhood and this house to all of my friends! The location is amazing for my three kids - ages 10, 7, and 5 who could all walk or ride bikes to the community center and play in the pick up baseball and soccer games every morning. The crafts, bingo nights and square dance nights were a blast too. This house was clean, well-stocked with board games and movies and had a great backyard with play equipment, a firepit, and horseshoe set. We loved riding bikes to get pizza at the market place and walking to the beach. Bruce and Norma are a lovely couple who went above and beyond our expectations to make our week special - from the surprise boogie boards and toys to the bottle of wine waiting for us. I really hope we can come back here for many years to come!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Waltham, MA
Member since Mar 2014
Poppy beach house

This is or second year renting this home. We opted to stay for 2 weeks this year and it was well worth it. Great not to leave after a week and just enjoy the beach while everyone else packed up. I'm hesitant to actually write how much we enjoy it. I don't want to let the secret out that this is one of the best spots on the Cape! We had friends and my mom come to visit and they loved it. They're already looking to rent for next year.

Walk to the beach. Great shopping and entertainment 5 minutes away (Mashpee Commons). Plus Hyannis and Falmouth are only a short drive. Not to mention the world famous "raw bar" with its amazing lobsters rolls and shellfish. You're foolish to vacation anywhere else.

Thanks, Bruce and Norma.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Pembroke, MA
Member since Sep 2013
Can't wait to go back!

From the moment we got here, we felt welcome. Each of our children had a personalized beach pail filled with goodies and there were snacks and wine for the grown ups! The house was well kept and had a very beachy decor - perfect for vacation. We ate breakfast on the back deck almost every morning and grilled dinner out there in the evenings. We topped off a few nights roasting marshmallows over the fire-pit. The beach was close enough for the kids to walk to without getting tired, and some days they rode their bikes there. The community house had daily activities for different age groups and we were even there for a road race. The owners (Norma & Bruce) were great hosts and gave us suggestions on places to go and activities available. I am writing this review as I start planning for next summer - cannot wait to go back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
Weymouth, MA
Member since Dec 2014
Poppy cottage

Stayed here mid August, great time! We have to small kids 7 & 4. It's a short short walk to the beach, where we'd stay all day fishing for minnows and crabs. Awesome beach with lots of boats going by and plenty of sea life, nice and warm for swimming in the ocean. Cottage was cozy and felt like the Cape should -- a BEACH HOUSE!!... Loved the market place in the neighborhood, famous raw bar, kids store, ice cream, coffee shop, bands... you name it, very fun place. Norma and Bruce were great hosts. They even left welcoming gift buckets filled with all kinds of stuff for the kids. It was a nice touch. We're heading here again next year....

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Owner Response:

Hope to have you back again next summer!

Pembroke, MA
Member since Sep 2013
Great house for family with kids

This was our first year renting a house, and we are so happy we chose this one! It was clean and had everything we needed. The outside shower was perfect after a day at the beach. The beach was only a 5 minute walk and was not overcrowded, perfect for letting our children run around to play.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Owner Response:

Hope to have you back again next summer!

Worcester, MA
Member since Mar 2013
Can't wait to return!

Our family had a last minute vacation to Popponesset, and we rented this cottage. We are glad we did. It is a cozy, clean, "Capey" cottage, with adorable nautical touches throughout. Our children were thrilled to receive their cute "welcome basket" - complete with a personalized beach pail, and other things that kept them happy! We appreciated our "welcome" bottle of wine, and Euro for our car. The Spit is a close walk, took us less than five minutes, and the warm water was music to our souls. We are in the process of booking for summer 2014, and I couldn't believe I forgot to review.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: February 2014
Member since Feb 2014
Clean, and Quaint!

So, I have rented this home a few times.. It is clean, quaint and very cozy! Close to Mashpee Commons if you like to shop! Surrounded by a friendly community and close to beaches. The spit is one of the attraction beaches in Poppy and is really quite beautiful, just a 5 minute walk.. The people are friendly and the owners Bruce and Norma are extremely accommodating! The cottage itself is by far a pleasant experience with the comfort of almost being home :) If you have not visited it here, then it's a must! You will want to come back for sure! I also recommend coming in the early fall, it is beautiful.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: February 2013
Weymouth, MA
Member since Feb 2013