Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Autumn: The Perfect Time to Visit Cape Cod!
9 Pond Road, Orleans Vacation Rental - ID 14519

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 7
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 king, 1 queen, 1 double, 3 twins, queen sofa bed
Beach: Swim/boat/fish from our landing; Crystal Lake
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 8 years, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Laura or Lynda
Contact Laura or Lynda, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (877) 534-5067 (Lynda Toll Free).
Please mention Property ID# 14519 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
A beautiful site on a lake on Cape Cod!

My husband and I had a great time on Cape Cod. We've not been there for some time and it felt like coming home! Our new home away from home was just great. The bungalow was very comfortable and the surroundings were serene. We were able to use the canoe on the beautiful lake and that was an added bonus. Our host were very gracious and welcoming. We do hope to come back soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
New Rochelle, NY
Member since Sep 2015
A Definite Favourite!

Coming from the UK, we have been regular visitors to the Cape over the last 10 years or so, constantly seeking the perfect property. Three years ago, we stayed at Crystal Lake and had a fantastic time - the lake, with the craft provided, and the fire pit, ensured that there was something to keep my husband occupied, while I sat on the deck and read or watched the birds, when I didn't fancy being active.

This year, having decided to revisit Portugal, I just happened to notice that the Bungalow was free on the dates we were able to go, so we booked it - the only place we have ever re-visited. And we have just returned from another wonderful trip. The Fagens are so welcoming and helpful - they indulged my husband's pyromaniac tendencies by providing him with an endless source of wood to burn, and the addition of a couple of kayaks meant that he was able to spend even more time on the lake. The sign of a good rental for us was that we didn't feel that we had to go out all day, every day. Although we did re-visit a lot of our favourite places, there were a couple of days when the only trip out was to the Fish Market or Grocery Store, to re-stock. We swam there, watched the turtles, fantasized about living there, and generally chilled out. We really didn't want to come home at the end of our fortnight. And we can't wait to go back - here's hoping!
As there are only the 2 of us, the single bathroom wasn't a problem, but overall, the house is well-equipped and - crucially - the living room furniture is comfortable for sitting, once the marshmallows are done and we finally retreat indoors! The house's location is great, too - not too far from shops, beaches and The Hole-in-One! All-in-all, a perfect holiday base.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
UK
Member since Feb 2007
Lovely

Our family has been vacationing on the Cape my entire life. We had recently outgrown the small cottage by parents rent and were looking for a place nearby for part of the family to expand to. We found Lynda's cottage last summer and are so glad we did! The house was clean and had everything we needed. (Lynda even provides shampoo, conditioner, etc. -- she's really thought of everything). It was great to be able to relax on the deck while our children played in the yard and on the play equipment. We also very much enjoyed taking the boats out on the lake in the evening and making s'mores around the firepit! The location is great as it's quiet but still close to shops, the baseball field, and the beach. We are already planning our trip for this summer!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Minneapolis, MN
Member since Jan 2013
Good Family Fun

My family and I have been coming here for the Memorial Day weekend for the past six years and have enjoyed every year; in fact it has become a family tradition. The property is very clean and very cozy. The up to date kitchen partnered with the wonderful new deck with a large gas grill allows us to have the choice of eating “at home.” The layout of the house provides plenty of personal space between the living room, front porch for relaxing, the deck or even the fire pit for some great summer fires to roast marshmallows and make the famous s’mores! The bedrooms are large and able to sleep either a large family or allow a guest to spend the night without worry. The local area supports a great number of good restaurants, local attractions, the National Seashore, Pilgrim Tower and is located in a great convenient area of both Orleans and Cape Cod to allow you a short drive to any destination for family fun.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Holyoke, MA
Member since Oct 2011
Great Time!

We vacationed here for a week with our three children ages 13, 11 and 6 and had a fabulous time. With the master suite removed a bit from the kids bedrooms with its own TV, there was plenty of room to spread out. The deck was wonderful and we kayaked and canoed almost nightly enjoying Crystal Lake. Lynda was a wonderful person to rent from and the linens and towels were as clean as a high end hotel and the kitchen fully stocked. They thought of everything from a new sponge and dish soap in the kitchen to a first aide kit in the BR, we were immediately comfortable to move right in. Nearby in down town Orleans you can rent bikes to take down the bike path or head to Nauset Beach which was our favorite spot....kids loved that they could be home in minutes and with the outside shower, coming in from the beach was easy. If there was one drawback it was only that there is one bathroom and it is small but with the outside shower it is manageable and didn't subtract from our vacation one bit, if anything we got silly about it and spent too much time outside to really care. Would highly recommend!!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Dover, NH
Member since Jan 2012
Great experience!

My husband and I rented this beautiful summer house during the month of August with our 3 kids (13, 9, and 5). The whole experience was more than perfect. The place was very well maintained; top quality towels and sheets, fully equipped kitchen, and reliable washer-dryer in the basement. The location cannot be better. We were 30 sec (walking) from our favorite Crystal Lake and 5 min(drive) to Nauset Beach. Owner was just wonderful. Very thoughtful and professional, and we feel very lucky to finally find this house after years of summer house hopping! We have already made a reservation for the year 2013!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Amherst, MA
Member since Jan 2012
Charming Cottage

This is our second summer and we love this cottage. It is quaint and spotless, very convenient with everything you need to relax and enjoy the Cape. The owners take immense pride in providing a wonderful experience.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Mont Vernon, NH
Member since Apr 2011

The house could not have been more welcoming. It surpassed expectations in every regard. Lynda Fagen's reception tour was friendly and helpful. The house is wonderfully well-equipped and comfortable in every regard. Though not large, it is roomy and well furnished; beds are comfortable and linens and towels of high quality. The location is ideal: a quiet residential street, lovely lake in back, spacious grounds, not far from shops, restaurants, walking trails, ocean and bay beaches. We were gathering for a family reunion, based on my sister's home down the street, and were able to host the group for a couple of buffet dinners and brunches. Everything needed for cooking, serving, cleaning was more than ample. I'd eagerly come back every year if it were possible. It truly felt like a much loved home.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Eugene, OR
Member since Jan 2011

Guest review from Joel Forman on 4/28/2011 for a stay in April 2011. "As someone who has spent many weeks over my life vacationing in various rental properties on the outer Cape I can firmly state that this house was the most lovely, comfortable, and convenient place we have ever stayed! The listing is right on the money. The property is very well maintained (new appliances, TV, lighting, windows, deck, grill, etc.) and in great shape. Ben and Lynda were the most gracious hosts and accommodated my family of 4 at the very last minute this spring. They really bent over backwards for us and absolutely saved our vacation. Their cottage is extremely well laid out and equipped with everything a family could need including a great kitchen for cooking, blazing fast wifi internet, LCD TV with Cable, DVD, VHS, and stereo, a new Weber gas grill on the wrap around deck with a view toward the pond where hey have a row boat and canoes and all the gear to go with it, and a basement with full laundry facilities and plenty of room to store our bikes. The house was originally a Sears Kit home from the 1920s that is just darling. One often overlooked amenity that is really critically important is the quality of the beds. The bedding in this cottage is so so comfortable and we slept like babies! We are spring vacationers on the cape and love to bike, beach comb, hike, and browse. The house is not far from the Cape Cod Rail Trail that, in my opinion, offers some of the fines biking on the east coast. Orleans is a lovely town and Chatham, Wellfleet, and Provincetown are within easy reach. The National Seashore is exquisite and this is the second year we saw whales from Race Point - a really special event! The Wellfleet Wildlife Sanctuary is great for walking and birding which is great in the spring before all the leaves hide the birds. I can't recommend this property highly enough! You don't need to bring anything other than beach towels and you couldn't ask for more welcoming and professional hosts and landlords. This will be our regular spring rental from now on!"

Date of Stay: April 2011
Date Submitted: April 2011
Jamaica, NY
Member since Mar 2007

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. The house was clean and ready for us promptly. The owner met us personally to give us a tour of the house and explain how everything worked. My wife enjoys being on a lake, so the proximity to Crystal Lake was great. I enjoy the ocean, so it worked out perfectly. The house has a lot of character and we loved the wrap around deck with the new Weber grill. The owners were very helpful, straightforward and honest. We plan to return next year!"

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Montclair, NJ, usa
Member since Feb 2007

My husband and I visited this vacation home with another couple and our two children. The accommodations were comfortable, and the location was fantastic. The owners of the property were very accommodating. There is a lake in the back where we went canoeing and row boating. We all had a fabulous time. All we needed to bring were our linens, clothing and food. The playscape in the back was a big plus for the kids. The porch was great for birdwatching. Highly recommend this property for a nice getaway in the Cape!"

Date of Stay: October 2009
Date Submitted: October 2009
Bethany, CT
Member since Aug 2009

This was one of the best places I've ever stayed at on the Cape. With close proximity to everything, it's still very private. Being able to go boating on the lake and to sit out under the stars at night on the deck is a real plus. The house was spotless when I arrived and is very comfortable. I will certainly stay there again and recommend it to my friends. E. Napolski"

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Springfield, MA
Member since Mar 2009

The property is not far from downtown and easily accessible to many interesting sites. My family and I felt right at home and found everything we needed to enjoy our time there. The rooms posses very comfortable furniture, unlike some rentals where the furniture is worn out or uncomfortable to sit in this home has a plush couch and easy chair and the dining room set is big enough to fit all six of my family members without getting in each others way. I would recommend this "home" to anyone who is looking for some peace and quiet, yet being only a short drive away from the hustle and bustle of touristy attractions."

Date of Stay: May 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Enfield, CT
Member since Mar 2009