Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Authentic Pocasset Cape Waterfront Cottage
Pocasset, Patuisset Vacation Rental - ID 24260

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 5
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 2 twins, Futon sofa and chair in LR
Beach: Short walk to either Hen Cove Beach or Sandy Beach
Guest Reviews: 9 reviews
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
Off-season 2016/17
 
Summer 2017
 
Off-season 2017/18
 
Off-season 2016/17
$1,300
Summer 2017
 
Off-season 2017/18
 
Off-season 2016/17
 
Summer 2017
 
Off-season 2017/18
 
OWNER SPECIAL:
REDUCED PRICE; ONLY ONE WEEK LEFT! Sept. 10-17.
Contact Anne - ID 24260
Time active: 2 years, 4 months
Phone(s): (508) 395-1570 (Cell)

Set Up Your Vacation

Vacation Name *
General Description *

This information will be included in ALL email inquiries that you send related to this Vacation. You will be able to include questions specific to each listing before sending your email inquiries.

# Adults
# Children
      Cancel
×
Description

Description

LIVE in your bathing suit & flip-flops in this Cape Cod waterfront cottage.

Summer, as it was meant to be.

If I only had space in the ad for one picture, it would be one you'll see here: at mid tide on a sunny day. Taken from the rocking chair on the porch, looking across the cove. I wish it could have ''scratch n sniff'' with the scent of sea breeze & the sound of a couple of ospreys and sea gulls ''discussing'' how the fishing is going.

This is one of the last simple Cape waterfront summer cottages. Located minutes from the Bourne Bridge, with spectacular saltwater views from windows on 3 sides. Family neighborhood. Amazing outdoor shower with privacy AND a water view while you shower! (Check it out in the pix!) Enjoy your own small beachfront and swim from the property, or use the town swimming beaches just footsteps in either direction.

PERFECT for 1 to 5 People, With All the Ambiance

The cottage has 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed, one with two twins (one is extra long). Futon sofa in the LR is a favorite sleeping spot for many guests who want to get up with the sun. There's one bathroom, with an indoor shower. 'Old-fashioned knotty pine walls in 3 of the 4 rooms. Watch the boats come and go in the cove through panoramic windows, or from those rocking chairs on the porch, or from the picnic table on the patio. Plenty of folding chairs for outdoor patio or beach.

NO EXTRA CHARGES....All bed, beach, bath & kitchen linens provided. Walk to beach, no permit required. No cleaning fees. Wireless internet & basic cable TV included.

Both propane and charcoal grills, microwave, toaster oven and great views from inside, but you will want to be out watching the fiddler crabs on your beach, or walking the scenic 1-mile circuit around Patuisset Island. Simple kitchen (no dishwasher) with a fabulous big, old 4-burner gas range with oven, and a full-size fridge with ice maker. One window A/C cools one BR, but you hardly ever need it. Several fans are in the cottage for when the wind is calm if the summer humidity rises.

Pocasset Village (1 mile stroll) has pizza/sandwich shop, the best breakfast on Cape Cod (The Corner Café; try the Irish Bene!) & churches. Or in Monument Beach village (2 miles) stop by Becky's Bakery for pastry, ice cream at the Whistle Stop, or a casual meal take out at Monument Pizza.

Rent a kayak or paddle board nearby and enjoy the cove or venture around Bassets Island and out to Buzzards Bay.
show more show less

Photos

Photos

Pricing & Availability

Pricing & Availability

0

Calendar Last Updated: September 06, 2016

Additional availability info: This is a Saturday to Saturday vacation rental.

Long-Term Rental (1 month or more): Cottage is uninsulated with minimal heat, but available at substantial discount for lovely Cape 'shoulder season' of Sept. to Mid-Oct.

Additional pricing info: $200 Discount available for multiple-week booking.

OWNER SPECIAL:
REDUCED PRICE; ONLY ONE WEEK LEFT! Sept. 10-17.
Minimum Stay Requirements:
  • Off-season 2016/17
    7 nights
Available
Unavailable
Unknown
 
  • Price SEPTEMBER 2016
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
     $1,600            1 2
     $1,300  3 4 5 6 7 8 9
     $1,300  10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  • Price OCTOBER 2016
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
        1 2 3 4 5 6 7
        8 9 10 11 12 13 14
        15 16 17 18 19 20 21
        22 23 24 25 26 27 28
        29 30 31        
  • Price NOVEMBER 2016
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
              1 2 3 4
        5 6 7 8 9 10 11
        12 13 14 15 16 17 18
        19 20 21 22 23 24 25
        26 27 28 29 30    
  • Price DECEMBER 2016
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28 29 30
        31            
  • Price JANUARY 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
          1 2 3 4 5 6
        7 8 9 10 11 12 13
        14 15 16 17 18 19 20
        21 22 23 24 25 26 27
        28 29 30 31      
  • Price FEBRUARY 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                1 2 3
        4 5 6 7 8 9 10
        11 12 13 14 15 16 17
        18 19 20 21 22 23 24
        25 26 27 28      
  • Price MARCH 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                1 2 3
        4 5 6 7 8 9 10
        11 12 13 14 15 16 17
        18 19 20 21 22 23 24
        25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  • Price APRIL 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
        1 2 3 4 5 6 7
        8 9 10 11 12 13 14
        15 16 17 18 19 20 21
        22 23 24 25 26 27 28
        29 30          
  • Price MAY 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
            1 2 3 4 5
        6 7 8 9 10 11 12
        13 14 15 16 17 18 19
        20 21 22 23 24 25 26
        27 28 29 30 31    
  • Price JUNE 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  • Price JULY 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
        1 2 3 4 5 6 7
        8 9 10 11 12 13 14
        15 16 17 18 19 20 21
        22 23 24 25 26 27 28
        29 30 31        
  • Price AUGUST 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
              1 2 3 4
        5 6 7 8 9 10 11
        12 13 14 15 16 17 18
        19 20 21 22 23 24 25
        26 27 28 29 30 31  
  • Price SEPTEMBER 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                    1
        2 3 4 5 6 7 8
        9 10 11 12 13 14 15
        16 17 18 19 20 21 22
        23 24 25 26 27 28 29
        30            
  • Price OCTOBER 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
          1 2 3 4 5 6
        7 8 9 10 11 12 13
        14 15 16 17 18 19 20
        21 22 23 24 25 26 27
        28 29 30 31      
  • Price NOVEMBER 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                1 2 3
        4 5 6 7 8 9 10
        11 12 13 14 15 16 17
        18 19 20 21 22 23 24
        25 26 27 28 29 30  
  • Price DECEMBER 2017
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                    1
        2 3 4 5 6 7 8
        9 10 11 12 13 14 15
        16 17 18 19 20 21 22
        23 24 25 26 27 28 29
        30 31          
  • Price JANUARY 2018
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
            1 2 3 4 5
        6 7 8 9 10 11 12
        13 14 15 16 17 18 19
        20 21 22 23 24 25 26
        27 28 29 30 31    
  • Price FEBRUARY 2018
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28    
  • Price MARCH 2018
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28 29 30
        31            
  • Price APRIL 2018
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
          1 2 3 4 5 6
        7 8 9 10 11 12 13
        14 15 16 17 18 19 20
        21 22 23 24 25 26 27
        28 29 30        
  • Price MAY 2018
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
              1 2 3 4
        5 6 7 8 9 10 11
        12 13 14 15 16 17 18
        19 20 21 22 23 24 25
        26 27 28 29 30 31  
  • Price JUNE 2018
      Sa
    Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
                    1
        2 3 4 5 6 7 8
        9 10 11 12 13 14 15
        16 17 18 19 20 21 22
        23 24 25 26 27 28 29
        30            
Amenities

Amenities

Proximity to water and beach
  • on a salt water beach
Interior
  • A/C Unit(s)
  • Microwave
  • Coffeemaker
  • Linens Included
  • Cable TV
  • Wireless or wired internet
  • No Smoking
Exterior
  • Screened Porch
  • Deck/Porch/Patio
  • BBQ-Grill
  • Outdoor Shower
Other
  • Pets considered
Handicap Accessibility
  • All on one floor, but there is a single step up to the porch, & then another into the house. Doorways could be tight for a wheelchair.
Location

Location - Pocasset, Patuisset

Nearest beach: Short walk to either Hen Cove Beach or Sandy Beach

41.6848389 -70.6235830 0
Reviews

Guest Reviews

9 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Property ID 24260

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Knotty Pine Cottage, It was a very comfortable home with all the amenities anyone could need, including two grills complete with gas and charcoal. This is one of the only cottages that also comes with sheets, towels and beach chairs. This is an all inclusive cottage. Now, along with all the amenities, it has the most wonderful views of the cove with all its boats. It is so perfect to be able to walk out the door and go for a swim without getting into a car and driving to the beach, waiting in line to park and paying to park. We were also able to going kayaking and windsurfing right from the backyard. We met the neighbors, who were also very friendly any helpful.

After you speak to the owner, Anne, you will want to rent the cottage. She is so welcoming, honest and very quick to return answers to any questions that you may have. I hope you enjoy your visit to the quaint and perfect Knotty Pine Cottage.
show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Bolton, MA
Member since Apr 2016
Fantastic!

A great cottage on one of the best parts of the Cape. Walk to the beach and a short drive to the Chart Room (lunch/dinner) on the water overlooking the marina. Friendly neighborhood and everyone walks around the island during the day and especially at night. We have been coming to this area for over 50+ years and needed an overflow cottage for extra family.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

That's what I'm talkin' about. Thanks for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your time on Patuisset Island.

Member since Mar 2016
Mixed

I write this with such mixed feelings because I believe the owners heart is in the right place but honestly this cottage should be torn down. We stayed one night, had paid for a week, spent the second night in a hotel and then headed home. We found roaches and roach droppings, ants literally crawling out of the woodwork the morning after our first night. When we arrived my husband and I spent 4 hours scrubbing the fridge, oven, countertops, bathroom and horrible floors. The shower drain is missing it's grate and is rusted, my six year old could fit her foot into it, and paint peeling on shower walls. The old windows are very hazzerdous and can fall at a moments notice breaking little ones fingers. Tons of raid and ant traps stashed in drawers and under counters so the owner new of the issues but did not warn us. It took my husband almost an hour to clean the grill which was not maintained at all.
Positive points
In a great neighboorhood, quiet and beautiful view of ocean. Walk to a nice beach. The Outdoor patio with picnic table and lawn was nice but rest of yard was over grown and harbouring tons of misquoitos. Outdoor shower was a plus because we wouldn't use indoor one.
We were so very disappointed and left exhausted and stressed as we spent 3 days at home washing everything that's went into the cottage afraid of bringing roaches back into our home.
If you don't mind the bugs and the lack of cleanliness then this is your place . Again I apologize for this because I do believe Anne the owner had good intentions
show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

Mismatched expectations?
I was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in my summer cottage on the water. You did not mention in your review that I returned half of your rent. In my online listing, I have tried hard to represent my cottage accurately as an older, authentic Cape summer cottage. When I reached out to you on the day after you arrived, you told me everything was fine.

The bug you say you saw are not cockroaches, but rather an innocent bug called a wood roach. According to the Barnstable County Agricultural Extension Service, “this bug has more in common with a moth. They do not bite or sting, and the chances of their hitch-hiking home with someone are pretty slim, and they would not survive the trip or multiply.” I have never had much trouble with mosquitoes, though I do provide repellent for guests who forget to bring their own. Our charcoal and gas grills are cleaned regularly. No other renters have had any complaints about the work of our cleaning lady.

Occasionally, no matter how hard we try, the cottage and tenants are not a good fit.
show moreshow less

Waltham, MA
Member since Jun 2015
Just right!

Had a lovely week at this cottage enjoying the fabulous view. Enjoyed swimming in cove, listening to birds, watching the water all day! The cottage is airy and the beds fine. The owner went out of her way to accommodate our schedule. Would love to return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: June 2016
Member since Mar 2016
Loved the Cottage

I rented this cottage with my daughter, son-in-law, and granddaughter for a week starting on June 28th, 2014. We were immediately greeted by the neighbor, Norm, who could not have been nicer. The cottage worked out perfectly for us. The area is fabulous, and everyone is extremely friendly.

It is perfect for kids and dogs. My 3 year old granddaughter made many friends to play with. She also loved the ice cream truck that came around every day. It is a great place for walking and jogging. Another wonderful thing is that it is very near The Chart Room and the Lobster Trap.

Ann was wonderful, and we loved the cottage. My son-in-law loved the outdoor shower. The cottage is not fancy, but has everything that you could need. The lawn is beautiful. It is so nice to sit out and watch the boats. We all loved it.
show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Lexington, MA
Member since Aug 2014
Slice of HEAVEN ON EARTH! Relax, Unwind, Enjoy - ON THE WATER!

When I think of “Knotty Pine Cottage” on Hen’s Cove on the Cape, three words come to mind:
HEAVEN ON EARTH! I’ve stayed here for years and adored every minute and I’m happy to share why.

It’s like stepping back in time to a simpler, saner, slower-paced chapter where you actually spend time relaxing, de-stressing, and enjoying the environment around you. BLISS!!!!!

I say that because it’s right smack-dab on the cove with the sound of water lapping literally outside your window. AAAHHH! No hustle or bustle here. No real man-made noise (you may see some kayaks and sailboats but no annoying loud powerboats or toys (hello sounds of nature!). You get a chance to reconnect with yourself and with your friends/family and the natural world around you.

People are friendly and there’s never a crowd – not ever.

This place has all the required creature-comforts (AND technology, too!)

Yes, there’s a TV. and internet now (concessions I frankly didn’t need myself, loving the idea of getting unplugged as I did) – and also now a microwave (I actually liked challenging myself to think and cook less “tech,” but I’ll adapt!). If you miss your dishwasher, don’t fret, you’ll be reconnected soon enough! In the meantime, savor some back-to-basics! It’s got the beds (all really comfy), kitchen equipment and gathering space needed for whenever you’re inside.
The #1 reason I love it here: The GENTLY-LAPPING COVE RIGHT OUTSIDE YOUR WINDOW, not across the street or through trees! (P.S. wall of windows in the living room looking directly onto water!!)

Personal favorites I’m happy to share:
1. Outdoor shower (if you haven’t had this Cape Cod experience, you’ll get how cool it is when you sample this, trust me – only THIS one isn’t just safe and secure with plenty of hot water and dappled sunlight in the leaves of the trees overhead, this one has a WATERVIEW, too!)
2. Eating outside on the patio looking at the water morning, noon or night
3. Rocking in the chair reading the paper on the porch … watching the sun come up over the water as you steal a night into dawn on the living room futon
4. The location – PERFECT in my book! You’re literally ON the water (almost above it when the tide comes in) – not across the street from it or down the road from it or get-a-glimpse of it!
5. In low tide you can sit on your own private piece of sand and you can wade out from your own yard down steps to the water to swim or float - more AHHHH!
6. The sweet public beach a short and easy walk down the street.
7. For exercise, I like to walk the circle that is Circuit Ave. and be blissed out by water views the whole way around. (Plenty of people bike – this place looks like a Norman Rockwell picture of family time the way it was and should be.)
8. Convenience store, pizza/sandwich place, grocery, post office and hardware store just a super-quick drive just up the road.
9. A short drive away you’ll find good restaurants where we’ve dined many times over the years.
10. One of my favorite Cape Cod towns is close – Falmouth (for a fix of good clothing/home shops, fine dining, and some of the best ice cream I’ve ever eaten – Ben’s Chocolate Emporium!).

Small, but big enough for a swell, sweet stay! The cottage itself is small (please don’t expect Cape Cod mini-mansion) and basic in a quaint, turn-back-time way (don’t expect Pottery Barn perfection – nothing fussy or “home design studio” here). But don’t be fooled – it’s got EVERYTHING you need to vacation if peaceful, re-energizing, breathtaking and relaxing are appealing to you like they have been to me and the rest of us who ADORE THIS PLACE!

“Knotty Pine Cottage” is about getting away from it all and getting back in touch with what matters, at a pace and in a place that makes it all possible – RIGHT ON THE WATER!
show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: June 2014
Newport, RI
Member since Jun 2014
Knotty Pine Cottage, Pocasset

We have fond memories of our many week-long visits to the Knotty Pine Cottage and would gladly go back. We felt right at home in this comfortable, compact rental. The beach is wonderful and convenient; and we were out there all the time. The short distance from the cottage to the beach on the bay was an extra bonus - convenient to walk home for lunch or to refill our cocktails. We loved the outdoor shower and used it daily. We spent many pleasant hours on the screened porch, patio and in the yard. We especially enjoyed sitting at the picnic table, appreciating the view of the bay, and grilling. There were also several good restaurants nearby, for those few meals we didn’t cook in. For the runners and walkers out there, you can cover a nice distance along the bay, on roads with little to no traffic, with a cool ocean breeze. Don't pass up a chance to stay. show more show less

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: May 2014
Owner Response:

I was curious about why this guest gave our cottage only a 3-star rating (rather than 4- or 5-star), especially since she seemed to enjoy her stay and even said she would be happy to return. She stated that the lower rating was due to the fact it's a small cottage... and has no dishwasher or washer/dryer. It is indeed a small cottage, but most of our guests love it for its location and do not seem to mind not having these amenities.

Somerset, NJ
Member since May 2014
Great Cottage

This was a very nice cottage with a beautiful waterfront view, in a great location! The neighborhood was a great mix of friendly and considerate regular repeat vacationers, locals and first time visitors. There was a nice beach just a short walk from the door, and the area was great for casual walking along the water. This is a great place for a small family or as an overflow location for a large group using multiple cottages. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: June 2014
Ballwin, MO
Member since Jun 2014
Charming and Serene with Fabulous Views!

Access is fabulous: easy on-off Cape, completely avoiding the mayhem of Rt.6 traffic. Ideal location for cyclists and boat lovers of any sort. Close to the public boat launch and to Falmouth/Woods Hole for restaurants, shopping, culture if more "action" is desired. Love the outdoor shower with views!

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: June 2014
Concord, MA
Member since Jun 2014

About Anne

Member since:
5/5/2014
Reviews:
9 reviews
Calendar Last Updated:
8/24/2016
2016 is my third summer renting out the cottage that I love. My husband is too tall for the 6' front door and too much the gourmet cook for the simple kitchen!

What is special about this property?
This cottage is summer heaven. Family neighborhood, plenty of sun and sand. It's simple enough that it's not fussy. Equipped well enough for a little necessary ''work from home'' if you need to. If I were still single, it would not be listed! We keep it clean and ready for your memorable summer vacation.

What is special about your town?
Bourne is just as you get to the Cape (little traffic!) and you come over the Bourne Bridge, which gets less traffic than the Sagamore. Plenty of waterview walking, biking and woodland trails. The cottage is on a nice, sheltered cove for kayaking or swimming.