Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Wellfleet Cottage in park-like setting near Drummer Cove
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 11597

1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 2
Beds: 1 BR: 1 queen
Beach: Exactly 1 mile to Le Count Hollow ocean beach;
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 10 years, 8 months
Contact details:
  Email Harry Peabody
Contact Harry Peabody, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 349-1207 (Home).
Please mention Property ID# 11597 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfectly private!

This charming little cottage was an absolute delight. I found it online and am so happy that I did. It is nestled right off of Route 6. Easy access to all the beaches as promised. It was absolutely Immaculate upon arrival. The kitchen was well appointed with everything one might need. I love the outdoor shower, it was absolutely charming! Plenty of room on the outdoor back deck and the grill was awesome and it was nice and big. The back accessed via another road was absolutely perfect to maintain privacy. I would absolutely return on another trip. The stairs to the loft, as promised, were steep! The bed linens were of a high quality and the towels were nice and big!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Feb 2016
Great getaway.

Cozy cottage, perfect for two. Loved the airy bedroom loft and outdoor shower. Very clean and private. Great location. Quick trip to Wellfleet Center and beaches. I would recommend to family and friends.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Member since Mar 2007
Vacation

We stayed at the cottage in August 2015. Great location, very private and quiet. Basically, everything you'd want from Wellfleet vacation! Lynn warned us about steep stairs to the second floor but it wasn't a problem for us. We loved it and would definitely go back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Swampscott, MA
Member since Oct 2015
Delightful

I will agree with another poster that I nearly hesitate to share information on a find such as this. We have been coming to the outer Cape as a couple for many years. A studio that we stayed in for five or six years running was turned over to a family member of the owners. We have been searching for another suitable place ever since. We believe we have found that special place again in this rental.

This cottage truly is perfect for a couple but not so small that we were unable to entertain both indoors and out on the roomy deck. The property is private, tree filled and well maintained. The home itself is charming, impeccably clean and very thoughtfully apportioned. This is not a second home filled with after thoughts: everything here is clearly meant for this space and its very tasteful decor. Uncluttered, nothing extra and yet has everything that is needed; all very good quality and appreciated. We really loved the private path to the sandy road, the outdoor shower, the spacious sleeping loft and the proximity to the rail to trail bike path. We spent hours on our bikes every day and we've never had the pleasure of being so close to the path while vacationing here. I particularly appreciated the brick tile countertops in the kitchen and the towels and linens provided for our use. It was the only time we've used what was left by an owner: they were in excellent condition. We also appreciated the artwork and old photograph of the previous cottage on the site. We did not use the heating unit or the television; the windows stayed open our entire time, and I was thankful, frankly, that there was no washer and dryer. Bring woolite and hand wash your necessities; the clothes line is handy and harkens back to a simpler time. The owners are gracious and kind, live nearby, and promptly responded to a late night phone call when we misplaced our house key. We absolutely love this place and we are coming back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Wynnewood, PA
Member since Sep 2014
Couldn't be any sweeter!

It's hard to write anything that hasn't been already said including how I was reluctant to write this review as this rental is such a find. To pull off the road and have one's own parking place & walk through the woods with a lamppost that illuminates the path at night is magical. The house itself was even cuter than we had expected; it is small but is so thoughtfully yet simply appointed. Harry's art is such a pleasant and personal touch that we loved.

I am a passionate cook and was delighted by the kitchen and it's accoutrements. It was the first year I didn't wish I brought my own gear. We have rented bigger houses in Wellfleet but this place really works as a romantic getaway. It is clean, comfortable, and oh so charming. The loft bedroom, on the second floor is adorable and the stairs were not as bad as we thought, but yes, as the ad states, may not work for all.

Lynn & Harry live in the main house and are terrific hosts; they are kind, thoughtful, and readily available should you need anything but we felt like we had total privacy in the back. The bathroom with the adjacent outdoor shower reflects the best of both worlds and really added to the vacation feel . I could keep going but by now you have the idea; the combination of historic charm, the location, the hosts that have put so much love to create such a comfortable cottage , etc, add up to this total winning package.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: February 2015
Hurley, NY
Member since Sep 2012
Perfect "basecamp" summer cottage

So glad to have stumbled upon this cottage, almost to the point where I hesitate to write a review. If you are interested in enjoying the Outer Cape and all it has to offer, and not the least bit interested in what is on TV, this might be the place for you, meaning the lack of a big screen tv and comfortable lounging couch actually makes this place better. Such a great cottage feel, and just the perfect amount of everything needed without the excess. The cleanliness can't be surpassed, the bathroom connected to the outdoor shower is genius, the sleeping loft and bed were very comfortable (and yes, the stairs are incredibly steep!) and the kitchen was a pleasure to use. The simplicity of it all was so relaxing. Although the front of the house faces the owners' home and driveway, it is still very private because the back deck and path out to the allotted parking area through the woods was the only area we needed/ wanted to use (no reason to use the front of the house, except for our initial arrival and unloading the car after meeting the homeowner. Otherwise we drove down a different street to park and enter from the back).

We relaxed and drank coffee on the back deck in the mornings and had our cocktails in the evenings out there as well. And yes, the house is situated off Rte. 6, so you can hear traffic, but it's not terrible because it is set far enough back in the woods so you don't feel like you're "on" Rte. 6. My husband and I were going for the quiet secluded locale, and this was fine with us, even for sleeping. We were happy to be at the cottage when "home" (sleeping/ waking up, coming back from the beaches, ponds, bike riding, hiking, or boating, and showering up and having a cocktail before excursions out for the night), but the simplicity of the cottage forces you to go out and ENJOY THE CAPE!!!! The lack of A/C might scare some of you at first, but trust me, it's better that way- open windows, fans blowing- it actually added to the experience. We were not the least bit uncomfortable, even on a rainy day/ night. The only thing one should be aware of is the lack of a closet for hanging clothing. Once again, though, pure genius. A chest of drawers for bathing suits, undies, shorts,and t-shirts and a hat tree with a few hangers for skirts and dress shirts are the only options for clothing up in the loft (or anywhere, for that matter). We just kicked our shoes off under the stairs to the loft, and threw our jeans and sweaters on the bench (up in the loft as well). I don't say this to complain. I only say it to warn the fashionistas out there that like to "be prepared" and bring everything they own with them on vacation... My husband and I were laughing at the thought of bringing a large suitcase up the loft stairs- not happening, folks. Think large duffle with straps when packing. As for other things, the all natural soaps and fresh hydrangeas were so nice, and we were never once interrupted by the owners (huge bonus points in our book). Needless to say, we loved our stay- thanks, Lynn! Hope to be back soon...

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Marion, IA
Member since Jan 2014
We loved it!

The place was great. It was nestled away in the trees a little and made for a completely relaxing experience. Though it could sleep 3, it's just right for 2. The appliances looked very new. Lynn said the cottage is 10+ years old but it was in such good condition, it was hard to believe. The outdoor grill was wonderful to have and we used it plenty (the corn the cob was so yummy on grill ... but I digress). And when Lynn says the stairs are steep, she's right! [not a big deal ... until 2:00 AM in the morning :-) ]. Lynn and Harry were wonderful hosts. The cottage is quiet, beautiful, convenient. What more could you want?!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Brookline, MA
Member since Feb 2012

Thank-you so much for providing such a welcoming, wonderful cottage! The size was perfect fro us and we loved the deck. The woodwork in the cabin is beautiful and we enjoyed the beach themed paintings and accents throughout. We had a lovely time!! Thank-you so much for a great week!

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: April 2012
Mark D
Beacon, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

The architectural features of this wonderful cottage amazed me. Indeed, the upstairs bedroom, outdoor shower, and hidden pathways are amenities not to be missed. Fresh flowers and beautiful linens, plus good books to read, are just a sample of what Lynn and Harry have put into their little treasure. Harry's artwork abounds, and it is wonderful. They are the most charming hosts imaginable.
Claudia M. Santa Fe, NM, 2011

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: May 2012
Santa Fe, NM
Member since Apr 2011

Lynn & Harry, We enjoyed our days in your lovely and poetic little cottage. Seeing rabbits around, birds singing us the joy of life and of course the quality and refinement of the 'place' you create. Thanks a lot.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Nicole and Serge B
Montreal, Quebec
(Homeowner Entered)

It was a wonderful treat to stay at your cottage. My husband said on arrival that if he were to design a cottage this would be what he'd like. Love the wood. Very organized - you've thought of everything so tastefully!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Joni M
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

What we liked: outdoor shower, deck, loft, privacy, well equipped, the pictures, the location - basically everything. We would love to come back. Thank you!

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: January 2010
Kim l
Utica, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

"My husband and I rented this wonderful cottage for our honeymoon. The cottage is perfect, peaceful and private. It was supplied with everything we needed and more. I loved the fresh flowers and the sweet ocean breeze. The cottage was very clean and the location was ideal for us. Our own path through the woods and the outdoor shower were my favorite aspects of this property. Harry and Lynn were extremely nice and helpful, providing us with recommendations for local dinning and recreation making our honeymoon even better. I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a very special home away from home."

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: August 2009
Adrian, MI
Member since May 2009

"What a wonderful cottage to spend a honeymoon in! Cosy, clean and well-equipped, it was an absolute pleasure staying here. We would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a special place to vacation. Harry & Lynn are warm and friendly, and always helpful! The Cape has wonderful beaches, bike paths and new experiences... Having spent our honeymoon here, we definitely plan to return in the future!"

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: August 2009
Cape Town, South Africa
Member since Aug 2009

"What a lovely time we had in Wellfleet! Our stay at the Cottage was wonderful. The description of this property is perfect. It's bright, private, and comfortable. We felt a "million miles away" relaxing on the back deck. The outdoor shower is heavenly. The location is great. The nearby beach is breathtaking - day or night. We only wish we could have stayed longer!"

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Exeter, NH
Member since Apr 2009

"We loved it! We especially appreciated the fresh flowers, quality linens, iron & ironing board, and environmentally friendly products - right down to the air freshener!! I loved the outdoor shower - very cool! Thanks again and we hope to be back!"

Date of Stay: June 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Heidi H
McDonough, GA
(Homeowner Entered)

"This cottage is private, cozy and just lovely. It had everything my husband and I needed for our holiday on the Cape. It's bright and clean and has a great grill on the back deck and kitchenette for eating in (good dining spots are also within a short drive and there's a little shop that sells breakfast and lunch goodies just across the street). Definitely bring bikes and ride or walk the short distance (a mile at most) to the gorgeous LeCount Hollow Beach or take a long ride on the nearby bike path. We'd also recommend checking out the Highland Light at dusk (or swinging the clubs at the golf course) and, of course, wandering the shops and galleries of Wellfleet. Great location. Great little house. We'll be back."

Date of Stay: June 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Park City, Utah
Member since Mar 2009