Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

On the beach, views of bay and marsh
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 15835

2 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 BRs: 2 queens, bunkbeds, Graco Pack-n-Play crib
Beach: 150 steps to Burton Baker Beach
Guest Reviews: 26 reviews
Time active: 8 years, 1 month
Contact details:
  Email Sarah
Contact Sarah, by e-mail.
Please mention Property ID# 15835 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
26 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Truly wonderful experience!

This was our first time renting a vacation house and we didn't know what to expect. We cannot thank Sarah enough!! She answered any and all questions we had.
What a wonderful home and a fantastic vacation spot! The house was comfortable with four adults and two kids, the picnic table and the pine trees gives it a bit of a camp feel, and of course, the short, pleasant walk to the beach was the topper! The beach was never crowded, and the tidal pools made every day, every shift of the tides, a new adventure! The shed full of beach supplies was helpful and added to our fun. The house was well stocked and we needed for nothing. There are lots of great games to play with the kids and the informational book that Sarah provides was chock full of great things to do, places to eat, tidal times and emergency info. The neighbors and even the trash men were so pleasant, we felt right at home. It was so hard to leave!!
I would recommend this home (and this owner!) to anyone, young and old! We cannot wait to return again!
Thank you again, Sarah! You truly have a beautiful home and thank you for sharing it!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Feb 2016
Second Stay Very Special

We have just returned from our second stay at Sarah’s cottage and had another very special vacation. Same crew as last year but with the kids being a year older, 2 and 4, they enjoyed a wider variety of activities. The cottage, with the new bathroom, is wonderful and is close to a great bayside beach.

Part of each day was spent playing at the cottage and at the beach. We took greater advantage of the biking (two-year-old got a free ride) this year, from the cottage and on the great nearby trails. We also enjoyed the Cape Cod Museum of Natural History, which is suitable for those of any age. The kids had an especially great time there.

This is a unique spot for a family vacation and we could not have had a better time. Thank you, Sarah.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: June 2016
Member since Mar 2015
Wonderful stay

This cottage is delightful. The location is fabulous affording gorgeous sunsets and ease of access to the beach with tidal pools. The cottage is well equipped, and the owner is enormously accommodating to requests. It is great having a dishwasher, washer, and dryer also.

A great find in our very favorite area of the Cape.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Member since Sep 2014
Our Little Spot in the Sun

We've now stayed at Sarah's place three times and we absolutely love it there. Indian Neck Beach, on the bay side, is ideal for younger kids with calm warm water, ample tide pools for crab hunting, and is just steps from the house. There's never a crowd on this beach yet there's always other friendly families to get to know when the kids want company. The house itself is very comfortable, with plenty of sleeping options, an outdoor shower (key!), washer dryer, DW, and lots of entertaintment on hand for a rainy day-- games, DVDs, books.

I really appreciate the time Sarah has put into curating the place with families in mind. Because the beach is so close you don't need to get a sticker but if you want to check out the ponds they are a short drive or even a bike ride away. For us this property is always an A+ experience.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Cambridge, MA
Member since Jan 2014
Great location!

We just returned from a week at Sarah's beach house. We had a delightful time! The beach is WONDERFUL and close. Many days we had it to ourselves. We walked the beach, watched the sunset and swam in the warm water. We met many kind people, and enjoyed all the activities of the Outer Cape. We rented a paddle boat and yak board from Jack's, we took hikes at the National Sea Shore and the Mass Audubon Society. Everything is close and easy to get to. The cottage is cozy and comfortable for a small family. The perfect get-away!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Member since Mar 2015
The perfect place for a quiet family vacation.

We just returned from a week at Sarah’s Cottage with our son, daughter-in-law, and grandchildren ages 3 and 1. We all had a wonderful time. It’s the perfect place for a quiet family vacation.

It’s a great place for kids, with a basket of toys in the house and more toys in the shed to play with in the pine-needle-covered yard and to take to nearby Indian Neck Beach. This bayside beach is fun at both high and low tides with about a hundred yards uncovering at low tide for exploration.

Some in our family love to cook, even on vacation, and the fully equipped kitchen met all of our needs.

Wellfleet has attractions in town, including a farmers market, and is the perfect location from which to visit the National Seashore, Atlantic beaches, bike trails, and the many other attractions between Orleans and Provincetown.

I can’t think of any way in which our vacation could have been better. Thank you, Sarah.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Member since Mar 2015
Perfect Spot!

We just came home from a wonderful week at this beautiful cottage! Home is complete with everything you need to enjoy yourself. Sarah said to "just bring yourself" and she was right! Short walk to beautiful quiet beach, shed full of beach items, beautiful sunsets and an overall great place to relax and enjoy your vacation! House is also close to great restaurants and National Seashore beaches. Cannot wait for next summer! Thanks, Sarah!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Whitman, MA
Member since Jul 2009
The little cottage in the fairy tale woods by the sea.

I thought we were going to be staying at a house on the ocean side of the Cape. I misunderstood the website. But once we saw the area around the cottage, the beach, the tidal pools and all the trees, and especially the cottage, we knew we were in the perfect place to experience life on Cape Cod. The peace and quiet was just what we wanted. And we had everything we needed at the cottage. I felt like we were visiting family. :-) We don't go on many vacations but I know if we ever come back to Cape Cod, we will surely stay at Sarah's cottage. She was a wonderful "landlady" and she even left us a bottle of champagne to help celebrate our 30th anniversary. So thank you, Sarah, and I hope we get to actually meet face to face on our next trip to your amazing little cottage by the sea.:-)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Smock, PA
Member since Aug 2013
We love this cottage!

Last week was our second visit to Sarah's cottage by the sea, and we are already looking forward to and planning the next one! The cottage is squeaky clean, well stocked, welcoming and most of all, peaceful. Sarah has thought of everything. :)

The beach is so close, the water is warm, and the fact that there are very few other beachgoers makes it feel like it is your very own private beach.

A week at this home let us fully relax and breathe more easily. We find it difficult to lock and close the door behind us when it's time to return home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: June 2013
Winsted, CT
Member since May 2012
Spring Break Getaway 2013

We loved our stay at Sarah's property in Wellfleet! The view from the property is lovely, with the water a short walk away....the cottage was wonderful- perfect for our family! Everything was comfortable, and Sarah was very attentive in every way to make sure our time in Wellfleet went smoothly. We hope to come back soon in the warmer weather....we had a wonderful hike nearby and a great bike ride on the CCRT.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2013
Date Submitted: April 2013
Owner Response:

We would love to have you back! Thanks for the kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Best, Sarah

Bloomfield, NY
Member since Mar 2013
Returned for the 2nd year in a row!!

This is officially a tradition! Spring break in wellfleet. Same tremendous hospitality. Same impeccably clean, well stocked home. Same beautiful areas and beaches to walk on and explore. We love the Cape this time of year and will plan to return again and again. Thank you once again, Sarah, for sharing this wonderful treasure with our family.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: March 2013
Date Submitted: March 2013
Owner Response:

The pleasure is ours! Love to share my happy place with others who love it too!

Somers, NY
Member since Mar 2012
What a wonderful spot

After searching many different sites we found this cottage on Weneedavacation. com, which was one of the easiest sites to find what we were looking for. The cottage was just perfect, it had all everything we needed and then some. It was located in a quiet spot with lots of playing room outside for the kids. Having a washer and dryer on site with children it a huge plus. The cottage is also located so close to the beach, and there were very few people at this beach. It was so quiet and peaceful there. The kids got up each morning going out looking for crabs and shells. When leaving the kids said, "We're going to miss this place," a feeling that we were all having.
Sarah was so friendly and helpful. She communicated with us before and after the trip. She has a book in the cottage with anything and everything you want to know about the area.
Thank you Sarah, we are looking forward to visiting again next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: June 2012
Owner Response:

Susan, It was wonderful to meet you and your family! Thank you for your nice comments. We will reserve your spot for next year. We want you to make our happy place your happy place! Best, Sarah K.

Topsham, ME
Member since Jun 2012

We just returned from a long weekend at this wonderful vacation home. It was clear from the first contact with Sarah that this was not just any rental property. As it has been in Sarah's family since it was built, you feel more like you're borrowing a friend's cottage than renting a house. Sarah's concern for our safe arrival and enjoyable stay was paramount. We were arriving at night in the off-season...she left the light on for us! You have everything you need there: Linens, towels, soap, shampoo, cleaning supplies and even a bottle of wine to welcome you "home" for the weekend! Did I mention that the house was immaculate? The appliances looked brand new! It was the perfect respite for my family. We have 2 teenagers and they really enjoyed just being able to walk to the beach and take it all in. Even though it was too chilly to swim, being next to the water provides the best therapy I can think of! We enjoyed discovering the Wellfleet area and even tried the BBQ restaurant on Route 6 thanks to thorough binder left for you to peruse with restaurant reviews! Having lived in the South, we are bbq snobs and we would have never tried this place if not for the recommendation. IT WAS DELICIOUS! The best fried chicken around! I would recommend this house to anyone who is looking for their own little slice of the best that Cape Cod offers....in fact, I already have! I think everyone should enjoy drinking their morning coffee in an adirondack chair looking at the water...a perfect way to start any day! Thank you, Sarah! We will be back!

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: April 2012
Somers, NY
Member since Mar 2012

We had a lovely time staying at this cottage. The owner was a pleasure to work with and accomodated us in every way possible even including an extended stay when our schedules did not match up with the lease agreement. The bottle of wine left for us on the kitchen table was a very unexpected surprise. The cottage was clean, up to date and perfectly situated for time at the beach and a private setting. Everything we needed was available to us. We were amazed talking with other vacationers about how nice our experience was compared to their own. Wellfleet is a pleasure to visit and I would not hesitate to return to this property.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Rochester, NY
Member since May 2011

We were pleased with the location of the cottage between the lagoon and the beach. As well, pleased with the privacy and the lovely and unbusy beach. The cottage itself was all we hoped for...ample room w/2 bedrooms and 1.5 baths, large fully-equipped eat-in kitchen and as much technology (wi-fi and T.V.) as one would want. It is evident that this is a much-loved family cottage, equipped for kiddoes w/the bunkbed on the sunporch.
Jan O.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: February 2012
Pembroke, MA
Member since Jul 2011

We had a great beach vacation here with our family! We have two young boys, so we wanted to be very close to the beach and this spot was perfect for us. The water was calm and the tidal marsh was an excellent place for them to play in shallow water. The sleeping porch was a hit with our 3 year old and the outdoor shower made coming back from the beach so much easier. Also, it was great that we didn't need to worry about beach chairs and toys--they were there for us to use.
This is a great little community of cottages. We met wonderful people and Sarah's hospitality really made us feel at home and made for a relaxing stay. We plan to come back next year and hope to get friends and family to rent nearby cottages!

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Southborough, MA
Member since Sep 2011

We have now stayed at this property for two summers, and we truly enjoy our time here! The house has every amenity needed for our family...four beds with all the linens provided, dishwasher, washer and dryer, outdoor shower (just amazing), beach towels, beach toys and an outdoor grill. All of those extra items that you hate to bring from home but need are also provided...shampoo, dish soap, laundry detergent, trash bags, etc.

The house is a hop-skip to Burton Baker Beach, on the bay side where the waves are perfect for little ones. The beach is nearly private to the local residents since there is no parking available for people to drive to the beach. Wellfleet town center is about a mile and a half away, with lots of shops and restaurants to choose from!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
West Roxbury, MA
Member since Sep 2011

Our family of 4 adults and 2 toddlers will be enjoying our 3rd summer vacation week at this quaint cottage. The shallow inlet is a treat for the children, they can ride their water toys in and out with the tide and use ithe inlet as a big pool in-between the tides.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: February 2012
Chappaqua, new york, usa
Member since Feb 2012

This has become my family's "happy place"! The beach is so close and just perfect. The water is warm and the beach is great for shell hunting, sun bathing and floating. The cottage is spotless, well stocked with linens and everything else you need to make your time here easy and comfortable. Kids will love the beach and surrounding area and adults will appreciate the easy going family atmosphere of the area. Welfleet is a great town with yummy restaurants and many eclectic shops and gallerys. Can't wait to return!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: November 2011
Sandwich, MA
Member since Jun 2010

"So glad to have the opportunity to write a review! This cozy, welcoming, immaculate gem of a cottage was my home for a week in January, 2011. It sits on the edge of wildlife-rich marsh (including a resident egret) with Cape Cod Bay a two-minute walk down the path. The views, 24-hours a day, were beautiful and restorative. In winter, I found the peace and silence to be just what the psychologist ordered. (I'm the psychologist in question). I've had numerous interactions with the owners, by mail, e-mail and text message. Sarah's friendly and accommodating attitude shone throughout. It was a pleasure dealing with her. I would -- hope to -- definitely stay here again and recommend it to other potential renters, especially those whom I care most about!"

Date of Stay: January 2011
Date Submitted: January 2011
Irvington, NY
Member since Oct 2010

"We had a great time! Sarah is a very gracious and generous host and the house is just a short walk to a beautiful little beach. We made a habit of walking down to watch the sunset over Great Island every night. There were tons of toys on site, which was great for our daughter. We were about a 10 minute drive from downtown Wellfleet, which was perfect for us: we could go in for lunch etc or just hang out on the beach, explore the marsh etc at home."

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Sep 2010

"Charming , quaint cottage is just seconds from a great beach. From early morning walks to gorgeous sunsets--you can stay here from sun-up to sun-down! If you feel like leaving though--town is not far away with wonderful restaurants and plenty to do in the area. Our favorite part of the Cape! We hope to return again! "

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Hanover, MA
Member since Sep 2010

"We had a great time! With 3 kids, accomodations need to be simple and practical . This place is literally a 15 second walk to the best beach on the Cape for young children. With a big outdoor shower, in-house laundry and a functional kitchen, we had everything we needed. We definitely recommend this place. We will be going back!"

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Hudson, Quebec, Canada
Member since Sep 2010

"We very much enjoyed our stay in the cottage. Sarah made it easy all around from beginning to end. The place was immaculate, fully stocked, very comfortable, and what a wonderful location, just steps away from the beach! We had nice breezes all week. We will be coming back."

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
West Newton, MA
Member since Nov 2008

"The listing description doesn't do this place justice! The cottage is immaculate and has everything you could even think of needing! A perfect getaway for a family with kids of all ages. The beach is just steps away and it is gorgeous...a great location for kids or for a stroll - the water is warm and at low tide you can walk out forever. Downtown Wellfleet is charming and friendly - great restaurants and shops as well as a great playground down by the town pier. We will be coming back!"

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Sandewich, MA
Member since Jun 2010

"We have been coming to the Cape for 18 years and have stayed in many different locations. This, by far, was the BEST location for our family. We have two little ones and being steps to the beach was ideal. Low tide was a blast for the kids and adults alike:-) Wonderful to be able to run back to the house for beverages or naptime!! House is cute and well stocked. Sarah was the best to work with. Will be back for sure!!"

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Utica, NY
Member since Jan 2008