Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

''Green'' Home, Water Views, Garden, Birds, All seasons
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 17168

2 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 BRs: 2 queens, 1 queen futon sofabed
Beach: 5 min. walk to a swimming beach at high tide
Guest Reviews: 18 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Bonnie Shepard
Contact Bonnie Shepard, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 214-0232 (Phone in Wellfleet), (617) 264-0950 (Phone in Brookline).
Please mention Property ID# 17168 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
18 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Such accommodating accommodations

There's a lot to love about this place: The location, the layout, the vibe and the sense of sustainability and ecological responsibility. As soon as you look around the house, it's clear you're renting from good people, and you truly get the feeling that the owners are sharing their home with you.

We've rented a lot of places over the years, and we can honestly say that Bonnie and David offer the most welcoming, comfortable and convenient accommodations we have experienced. There's nothing like finding so many of the comforts of home in your rental. We all try to pack all the things we require, but we rarely have space for some of the extras. Bonnie and David have made sure their house is your house - well stocked kitchen, drawers full of supplies, basement with beach gear and laundry, all the sundries and tools you'd need, and a garden to boot. (Yummy tomatoes and fresh herbs. Grilled rosemary chicken anyone?)

Suffice to say - we'll be back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Roslindale, MA
Member since Feb 2012
A perfect vacation!

We had a truly blissful month at the house. The house is certainly well-equipped and comfortable. Staying the whole month allowed us to have so many wonderful experiences as well as restful moments. We especially appreciated your emails noting the many events – we went to the theater and concerts. The beaches and ponds were delightful. Your garden provided us with tasty tomatoes (at least the ones the chipmunks didn’t eat) and the herbs were perfect for cooking. Our last day was perfect at the Porchfest event. We walked around town listening to great music. A perfect vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Dec 2009
Perfect!

This house was what we have been looking for in our rental search for 2 years! We thoroughly enjoyed this bright, open, clean, comfortable, home with a well stocked kitchen! From the views, the closed in porch/dining area, balcony off the bedroom, the walking path to a bay beach behind the house, quiet and relaxing neighborhood where the kids could bike on the street, to the amazing gardens! The best part of the gardens, we were able to share some of the harvest; fresh herbs, lettuces and berries! So much more to say about this home and its location, but come and stay and see for yourself! We are looking forward to our return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Member since Aug 2014
Five Stars

Our bird-watching daughter was thrilled with the marsh setting of this house, and we all enjoyed the lovely and quiet surroundings. The house itself was very comfortable and outfitted with everything one could possibly need. We spent a relaxing week of bike rides, beaches, and birds (including multiple visits to the nearby Audubon sanctuary) and very much appreciated the owners' many thoughtful touches and prompt communication. Thank you!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Member since Jul 2014
My Happy Place

Wellfleet is my happy place, made even happier this season with the discovery of this sweet home on Wigwam Street in South Wellfleet. First of all, the Sunday to Sunday rental was so much better than Saturday to Saturday. We had no trouble getting on/off Cape. In fact, we got there well before check-in, so we hit the Flea Market and got a few treasures.

Upon arrival, the house was immaculate throughout, and with the front and back windows all open, there was a delicious, steady breeze which lasted all week. We rarely even used the fans; in fact, in the evenings, I had to close some windows. The house is stocked with all you need for your week at the Cape including everything from boogie boards to beach chairs. If you like to cook or bake, the kitchen contains every type of pot, pan and utensil you could possibly need, and since we were there toward the end of the season, I think we probably benefitted from past renters who left lots of spices, oils and other non-perishable items.

My favorite place was the comfy Andirondack chairs on the front porch where I sat each morning with my coffee and fresh goody from The Blue Willow Bakery (less than 5 min. away) and watched the tide come in on the marsh across the street. I had never actually seen that in action, and it gave me a greater appreciation for the rythym of the day. The street was quiet and the back yard was filled with all kinds of herbs and wildflowers. I scored on one day when one ripe fig materialized among all of the green ones on the most robust fig tree I've ever seen, and had we have been one week later, we could have picked grapes right off the vine.

The location was perfect for us; we just crossed over Rt. 6 to the road that led to our favorite beach at Maguire's Landing, or we could just continue down the road to any of the other beaches all in row. If we can make it back next August, we would most definitely stay here again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Solon, OH
Member since Mar 2014
Wonderful, cozy home!

We had a wonderful week in this cozy, well-equipped home on Pleasant Point. The location was perfect for walks, the back sunroom was cool in the morning for reading, and breezy at night for family dinners. It was a cozy fit for 3 adults--my husband and myself, my sister-in-law and two teenagers--but added to the sense of family togetherness!! :-) Thank you for a lovely spot for our annual trek from Colorado to the Cape!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Durango, CO
Member since Nov 2013
Delightful surprise

Despite many summer vacations on the Outer Cape, this was the first time we stayed in a Wellfleet marsh community. Three generations all loved the location, as well as the super-clean, well-supplied and comfortable house. The wonderful garden and owners' concern for the environment were added bonuses. Next time we will bring kayaks to store on the community rack and take out at every opportunity when the tides oblige.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Larchmont, NY
Member since Apr 2008
Perfect Wellfleet spot!

We had a wonderful stay in this bright and comfortable home. The location is perfect, and the breezes in Pleasant Point kept us cool despite a heat wave! The house is nicely situated near beaches, great restaurants, and ponds. We can't wait to book again next summer!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Providence, RI
Member since Jan 2013
Wonderful

We had a really great stay at this cute, well-maintained house in Wellfleet. It was in perfect condition when we arrived, and we had no issues when we were there. Easy access to both Bay and Oceanside, pretty, & quiet. We were just as happy to spend the morning on the front porch drinking coffee as to be out on our bikes or at the beach. We plan to return next year!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Lexington, MA
Member since Aug 2012
Beautiful Retreat

We are a French family of 5 Cape Cod lovers. Over the years, we got increasingly hooked by this wonderful area and especially Wellfleet. Spending a week in this house was a wonderful experience. Short walking distance from Pleasant Bay gave us the opportunity to rent a canoe, which we loved. The house is very roomy, very well equipped and decorated with taste. We loved it ! Waking up in the morning and hear the birds sing gave us such a feeling of... holidays !

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Member since Aug 2012
"At Home" in Cape Cod

We completely enjoyed out stay here. Everything was perfect: the location is amazing-rustic, wooded and with sparkling water views, yet also pleasantly planted and tended in the gardens and pathways that surround the house. We used a variety of herbs from the garden every night atop fresh local fish that we cooked on the outdoor grill, or to flavor stews from the clams we dug in the afternoon. The house itself was well maintained and had an easy and open floor plan that allowed for lots of natural light. We all found favorite spots throughout the house and appreciated the care and thought that went in to creating a warm and attractive atmosphere. We had originally planned to eat out a lot, yet once we ate our first meal in the house and saw how well stocked and convenient the kitchen was, along with how glorious it was to dine in the sun room (morning, noon and night), we quickly revised our plans and had a great time eating-in. We were sad to leave but bring with us the wonderful memories of a week “at home” in Cape Cod.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Long Branch, NJ
Member since Jan 2012
Wellfleet gem that is excellent value.

Bright open home that feels very well cared for by its kind owners. Close to town of Wellfleet yet quiet spot with water view in front & back. When we arrived I thought we'd spend all our time in the back of the house with its lovely gardens yet the light off the water across the road from the front porch was magical. We loved the well stocked kitchen & appreciated the outdoor shower. Nice how bed & bath downstairs feels private from upstairs bed/ bath. We felt this house was excellent value.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Hurley, NY
Member since Sep 2012

What's not to like? Other reviewers have gone over the house. The location is fabulous--very close to Wellfleet (best town on the Cape in our view)--but just off the beaten track enough to be considered out-of-the-way. Back roads surrounded by trees and pleasant homes and cotttages make for leisurely biking and strolling. There's a few little access points to the water easily walked from the house. Terrific views, wonderful tidal activity. Altogether an incredibly pleasing location. The owners get high marks for an odd assortment of books that suggest open, interesting, and engaged minds. (They're probably some of those tree hugging liberals, or worse, academics, thank god. ;-) ). I mean, every place of this sort has to have Thoreau's Cape Cod and they have the 1951 Bramhall edition. Nice condition too. Very tasteful. A Richard Russo novel. A volume on alternative revolution. A Robert Crumb coffee table book?? And they have children! A compilation of pulp fiction (what are we to do here?). Oh yes, there's the usual assortment of "summer reading" for those so inclined. And there's the requisite variety of books on herbs, gardening, and birds, you'll need them. One can only guess what you'd find in their other residence! We do hope the place is available the next time we go to the Cape. Five stars, no question.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Buffalo, NY
Member since Oct 2007

Absolutely, perfect. I am reluctant for everyone to know because we hope to be back. The house is very open, decorated with exquisite taste, had views of the salt marsh from both ends of the house, and I wish our kitchen was furnished half as well as this one. The furniture was tasteful and very comfortable. We had breakfast on the sun porch over looking the garden in the morning and in the evening we ate on the deck. The master bedroom is very spacious and the bedroom on the first floor is a good size. You can walk to the salt marsh in a few minutes.

The house was clean and free of mold which was important to me because I am very sensitive to it.

The place is everything the description says and more.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Winchester, MA
Member since Mar 2011

I enjoyed this rental a great deal. I appreciated the well equipped kitchen, the herb garden, and the wonderful indoor space. We were in Wellfleet during some stormy weather with high gusts of winds, high surf and lots of rain from Sunday through Wednesday. The indoor space was comfortable, light and easy to be living in. During short periods of time when the weather let up a bit we enjoyed wonderful walks on the trails in the salt marsh along the bay side Also walks on the beach on the ocean side when the surf was so exciting. The owners were informative and a great help to deal with. I have already passed on and recommended the web site to others.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Lois R
Etna, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

" We live in a very beautiful part of the world so our standards for natural beauty is high. The place is nothing less than extraordinary The setting is idyllic and the home does indeed seem to possess a healing energy. The owners are perfect hosts. They represented the place accurately and if anything, understated its beauty. Our stay was quite wonderful. Unlike most vacation rentals, the home is cared for very lovingly by its owners and this care shows. We look forward to a return visit soon. "

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Leverett, MA
Member since Jun 2009

"We were very satisfied with the lovely home. The pictures really gave us a sense of each room, and we were even more delighted upon our arrival. The place was spotless with a very well-stocked kitchen, and it had some electronic equipment that we didn't even expect (DVD player, I-Pod docking stereo). We loved the garden and all its' bounty and were very happy in the quiet neighborhood. The place does get a bit stuffy and warm during the day, but the nights were really cool and pleasant and the furniture is comfortable. Our crawler daughter was also quite happy there, and the homeowners were very good about taking any baby-unfriendly stuff out of the house."

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: November 2009
Newton Center, MA
Member since May 2009

"This house is full of beautiful light. It is the light that has inspired painters on the cape for generations. And you can see water in both directions. There is a sense of being remote but it is actually very close to everything. A place to relax and enjoy! Everything is clean and new and the kitchen is very well stocked. We will certainly return and recommend it to friends. The owners are very nice people."

Date of Stay: May 2009
Date Submitted: June 2009
Brookline, MA
Member since May 2009