Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Winterwood - Walk to Dyer Pond and village
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 23931

4 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 2 queens, 2 twins, pack n' play
Beach: 10 minute walk to both Dyer Pond and Long Pond
Guest Reviews: 19 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 8 months
Contact details:
  Email Heidi Ganss Harris
Contact Heidi Ganss Harris, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (617) 733-5243 (mobile phone).
Please mention Property ID# 23931 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
19 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Heidi's place in the woods was perfect for our family of 6. The home is well stocked with cooking things, toys and games and bedding. Very comfortable and clean. Heidi was great to work with and very responsive. HIghly recommend!

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Sarah R
Denver, CO
(Homeowner Entered)

Heidi was incredibly responsive, gave clear and concise instructions, fair and clear house rules and made things easy. The list of local places to eat, to go and to see were terrific as well. The house has a warm rustic feel with all the modern conveniences you could want. Old recycled timbers with modern marble sink top bathrooms are combined extremely well.

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Jeffrey S
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a lovely fall getaway at Winterwood. The location was perfect - within walking distance to Wellfleet village and accessible to Provincetown and all parts of Wellfleet. Heidi's house was charming, old Cape Cod. All the bedrooms were bright and sunny, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Lots of interesting antique pieces and well equipped with everything you could want. The location was so peaceful and quiet, a perfect setting for relaxation. Thank you Heidi for all your helpful information! It was a pleasure to stay in your home.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Barbara H
Scituate, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

My family and I had a delightful stay @ Heidi's Winterwood! This was an impromptu trip for us and Heidi's pre-trip communication made the weekend come together very easily. The house was open, clean and light-filled, charmingly decorated, with comfie beds and a touch of Cape Cod history everywhere - felt like coming home to family. Loved having walking directions to a lovely fresh-water pond available, as well as local menus and suggestions. We were in close proximity to a number of beaches and relished in the quiet, relaxing privacy of our location. We so hope we can gather ourselves again next year at this special place!

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Lezlie D
Saratoga Springs, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Heidi was very helpful with everything we asked her. Heidi also gave us a list of the local places to go.The house was very clean and well stocked with linens. We will return there and reccomend the house to anyone who wishes to go there. The place was immaculate.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Tom F
Middletown, NY
(Homeowner Entered)
Perfect Spot for our Family Holiday

We've stayed at Winterwood three times now, and each time we love it even more. The house is spacious, well laid out and extremely well equipped. It is perfectly located; it's a bike ride from charming Wellfeet or Long Pond and a short drive from Cahoon Hollow Beach and several beautiful ponds. Heidi is a responsive and thoughtful host. For each of our stays, we have checked in and out with no problems, and the house is always spotless.

My family and I enjoy so many things about the house - barbecuing on the back deck, having family breakfasts around the big country kitchen table, relaxing with a book on the couches and playing in the garden. We also adore the outdoor shower.

Our daughters have a lot of fun with the toys, books and beach supplies which Heidi provides. It really feels like our home away from home and we look forward to returning next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
New York, NY
Member since Sep 2014
A week at WInterwood

I may be spoiled forever. Winterwood is in such a lovely location. The house is great, the master bedroom is huge, the upstairs bedrooms smaller but just fine. The kitchen is very well stocked with pans, utensils, bowls, etc. The walk to the lake, however, was my favorite part.

Heidi was super-responsive to any questions or issues.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Northampton, MA
Member since May 2014
Great return to Winterwood

We stayed at Winterwood for 2 weeks during the summer of 2015 and were back for 2 more weeks in 2016. A great relaxing place to stay, very well-located and a comfortable home. Winterwood is a great place for children as well -- our children enjoy the collection of toys and games. Some nice improvements were made to the first floor bathrooms since last year. We hope to be back next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Belmont, MA
Member since Dec 2014
Great House!! Great Location!!

Our 3 generational family is so happy we found Winterwood! If you want character (it's a renovated barn with lots of history), comfort (very homey furniture), and location (near fly over into town on ocean side of Rt 6)!! this is truly an extraordinary place. Wonderful spaces to be social or to be quiet; games, toys, books for children (and adults) of all ages.

Kitchen is fully equipped, bedrooms are very comfortable, bathrooms new, etc. Everything amazingly clean! I don't think anyone ever took an indoor shower because of the great outdoor shower!!!

Heidi is also the nicest person. Very responsive to any problem that might arise. Oh, and did I mention being able to walk to the beautiful Dyer Pond!

Next year will be our third year. I'm already planning on it and can't wait!!!

Cleanliness of home:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Newton Center, MA, Massachusetts
Member since Apr 2009

It was a great stay in a beautiful big house. Heidi was full of great activity suggestions.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Fred W
Los Altos, CA
(Homeowner Entered)
Great house, great space, great location!

We LOVED our week in Wellfleet at Heidi's house. She was fantastic to work with, very responsive and caring. The house is large enough to accommodate many people, as noted in previous reviews. Because it is a renovated barn, it's got a lot of charm, and they kept the flavor of that throughout the house, including some cool farm-related antiques. I was told their plan is to update the bathrooms this fall. Though they worked fine and the water pressure was excellent, there is no doubt this investment will make this unique house even more comfortable. We enjoyed using the outside shower, too. The A/C units in each room were very much appreciated and needed the week we were there. The location is so convenient to everything! We loved the beautiful lakes, spectacular ocean and bay beaches, and being so close to downtown Wellfleet. Thank you again, Heidi, for everything!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Sharon, MA
Member since Nov 2007
Great house

Winterwood is a very comfortable and well-located house. We shared the home with another family for 2 weeks and had everything we needed for a great stay. And we saw some incredible shooting stars from the back porch. Thanks for a great stay!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Belmont, MA
Member since Dec 2014
Winterwood's Whale of a Week

It would be hard to manufacture even one complaint about Winterwood. Less than five minutes from Route 6, the home is shielded by forest from any sound of traffic. The house has a spacious kitchen and dining area which flows easily into the living room. The expansive master bedroom on the first floor lies down a hallway, providing privacy from the main activity area. Our three families, with three grandchildren, were quite content relaxing inside between short drives to beaches on either side of the Cape. The village of Wellfleet charmed us--quiet and intimate. The pleasant Winterwood owners supplied useful information on secluded recreational spots nearby. Not much further north is Provincetown's diversity of shops, old buildings and scenery, and about 30 miles south of Winterwood, the National Seashore's Salt Marsh Visitors Center offers daily tours and films.

We have been to Cape Cod many times over five decades. Winterwood stands out as a choice base for exploration.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Framingham, MA
Member since Aug 2015
Great Cape House

What a nice beginning of the summer. The house was spacious and comfortable and in a quiet location. Being within walking distance to ponds and downtown Wellfleet was a big plus. Our whole family enjoyed our time here. Thank you, Heidi.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Mamaroneck, NY
Member since Dec 2012
A Great House for a Multigenerational Family Reunion

Our family - grandparents, parents, and grown kids - stayed at Winterwood. This house easily accommodates different generations. The 90-year-old grandparents stayed in the first-floor bedroom, and the parents, daughter, and son and daughter-in-law split up the upstairs bedrooms. Having an open floor plan kept everyone connected even if we were in different parts of the house. And the dining room deck is perfectly positioned to get sun from sunrise to sunset and perfect for those sun lovers who want to soak up rays.

A more than fully stocked kitchen allowed us to whip up breakfasts, lunches, and dinners to our hearts' delight. There are also lots of small homey touches in the interior decor that really contribute to a comfortable stay. Finally, it's quiet, private, clean, well-kept, close to Route 6 and a short walk to two great ponds. Hard to believe, but it's even more spacious than it looks in the photos!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Chestnut Hill, MA
Member since Jun 2015
Wonderful Introduction to Cape Cod

This was the perfect place for our family holiday. Winterwood is a gorgeous house, which is well laid out, spacious, bright and airy. We loved the two decks and large kitchen table for sharing family meals.

Heidi has done a wonderful job, equipping the place with everything you could need. With beach chairs, children's toys, books, CDs, DVDs and kitchen supplies, it really felt like a home away from home.

The neighbourhood is very peaceful but at the same time so close to many things. It's a nice bike ride into Wellfleet and Long Pond, lovely stroll through woods to Dyer Pond and then a short drive to bayside and ocean beaches as well as a number of freshwater lakes. We were spoilt for choice in where to go each day.

This was our first visit to Cape Cod and we were blessed to have found Winterwood! We will be back without question!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
New York, NY
Member since Sep 2014
Great house, great location!

We spent two weeks at Winterwood and would definitely return! The location is GREAT - close to town, beaches, and ponds. The house itself is spacious and comfortable, including the beds. It has everything you could want for a fantastic Wellfleet experience!! Recommend highly.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Member since Jan 2014
Wonderful home, perfect location

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. The home is spacious with lots of room to roam with soaring ceilings. Even with small children, you could drop your stuff and never feel crowded. The location is fantastic, super convenient to everything but so private at the same time. The home was clean and well appointed with great outside spaces and lots of flat yard for ball games and cornhole. We loved our time at Winterwood, loved learning about the history of the home, and the owner was so easy to deal with. Highly recommend this home and we will certainly be back!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Member since May 2014

Thank you, thank you! We loved our stay at Winterwood! What a great location - we enjoyed our daily walks to Dyer Pond, the kids had so much fun on the rope swing. And such a short drive to Newcomb Hollow, our favorite ocean beach. Your place is so clean and well-appointed. We were able to have our friends over for a BBQ, there is plenty of room for entertaining. It was so helpful to not have to bring beach chairs, thanks for that. We will definitely be back!!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Lisa M
Larchmont, NY
(Homeowner Entered)