Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Walk to Bay Beach & Town Center
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 5088

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 4 twins
Beach: 2/10 m. to Powers Landing (bay) beach; 1 m to pond
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 13 years, 8 months
Contact details:
  Email Rick
Contact Rick, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 608-0872 (Cell).
Please mention Property ID# 5088 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Cozy and Enchanting Cottage

Cozy and enchanting cottage..Great back yard,very private. Wonderful location, close to beaches and Wellfleet Center. Our six year old cried when we told him it was time to leave! Rick was available w/out being intrusive. The cottage and sense of welcome exceeded our expectations (which frankly I was afraid were too high to begin with).

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Woburn, MA
Member since May 2012
Excellent in every respect

We had a wonderful stay - Rick was incredibly helpful and everything was really easy to find and manage. I'd certainly recommend this property for anyone looking for a great location - it's a short walk on a quiet street to Mayo Beach and a nice bike ride into town.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Columbus, OH
Member since Jan 2013
Heaven

What an amazing magical home!! From the friendly tree that greets you to the private back yard sanctuary, this place is just a little piece of heaven! We have stayed here a couple times and feel no need to look anywhere else after many years of changing rentals yearly! Rick is kind, caring and pays attention to all the details, the home is clean and inviting with anything you need at your fingertips. We cannot recommend any place more highly than we do our little home away from home! Thank you for sharing it with us!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Buffalo, NY
Member since Mar 2013
Great spot in Wellfleet

We had a wonderful stay in Wellfleet at Rick's cottage. Rick was communicative and very helpful in getting us set up and was accessible during our stay. The cottage is adorable and was perfect for my family of four. The queen bed was comfortable, and the kids enjoyed running around the large patio and deck outside. The kitchen was small with limited counter space but the tables outside were perfect for eating on. The outdoor shower was a huge hit and essential when coming back from the beach.

The cottage is in close proximity of downtown Wellfleet. Adults can walk to Mac's Shack easily but we weren't able to do that with two kids in tow. The street is too busy and there is not enough of a shoulder to feel comfortable. Still, it was a quick drive to an incredible spot for dinner (and oysters!). We spent some time at the bay beaches- our favorite was The Gut out on Great Island. We also enjoyed time at the ocean beaches, especially during low tide. Wellfleet also has numerous kettle ponds which were great for the kids. We can't wait to go back. It was a lovely vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Member since Jan 2015
Cute cottage in the woods

We had a great time in Wellfleet. The cottage was very close to the beach without need for taking the car. It has a quiet ambiance. We loved watching the chipmunks darting about. The cottage was compact but had everything we needed for a family of 4, The outdoor shower was fun. Very useful to have access to a washing machine.

Rick was very efficient indeed, quick to respond to any request and email, posted a key out to us. He took a personal interest in making sure all was well - this adds value to a rental.

We didn't cook at all but the kitchen seemed well stocked if we had been able to tear ourselves away from some of the restaurants. We enjoyed Mac's shack several times. Karoo in Eastham is excellent, serving South African food,

Don't leave without hiring a bike and spending the day on the cycle path, swimming in the ponds en route. Although the beaches are lovely, we found the ponds to be very special and unique places

The kids loved the whale watching trip from Provincetown. We had a lovely al fresco lunch from the harbour cafe in Chatham while watching the fishing boats, a far cry from the tourist overrun restaurants on the main street.

Cape Cod is a beautiful place to have a vacation. Wellfleet is well appointed with shops and restaurants but also has places for walking and engagement with nature.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: November 2014
United Kingdom
Member since May 2014
100% As Advertised - Good honest Wellfleet rental

We recently stayed at this property in Wellfleet with our three young children for 2 weeks - this home is exactly as advertised and provided us with the perfect homebase for exploring and enjoying Wellfleet/Cape Cod! Being a Wellfleet rental, we were able to obtain a Town Beach parking sticker which provided us easy access to Newcomb Hollow, Cahoon Hollow, and White Crest Ocean beaches as well as many town/pond locations - this property was just a couple minute drive to the Ocean beaches that we love (even closer/walking distance to bayside beaches as well).

Everything is in good working order in the cottage; the back deck provided perfect privacy to sit and enjoy dinner and my wife and I really enjoyed the decked path to the large outdoor shower. The front patio also provided a shady sitting area to easily enjoy the sites and sounds. Of concern to my wife and i was mattress comfort as we had issues with a prior rental - the bed in this cottage is extremely comfortable and was the perfect resting spot after a long beach day.

Both my wife and i enjoyed daily runs to and around Town Pier and all the way up to Great Island/Duck Harbor .

There is not much area around the property for children to run and play, however there is a playground across from Mayo Beach that is easily within walking distance. Both of the secondary bedrooms are small but provide enough space for multiple children/guests to spread out and relax/rest.

The cottage is the perfect location for accessing downtown Wellfleet/the Pier area.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Lusby, MD
Member since Mar 2014
Cute - Cozy - Comfortable

This little cottage is incredibly private given its proximity to the delights of Wellfleet -- its beaches, town & beautiful roads for running and biking to name a few. The outdoor shower and multiple outdoor spaces to enjoy were highlights for our family of four. The owners are wonderful - communicative and thoughtful - and their love of their cottage and the Cape shine through.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Owner Response:

I'm happy to hear that you think so highly of our cottage. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Katonah, NY
Member since Jan 2013
Cozy Cottage

We loved our stay in this cozy cottage. We were looking for a bright, clean, comfortable place to stay, and we found it in this quaint cottage. My family of five fit comfortably and we also had my niece join us for a few days. We enjoyed the outside shower and eating outside on the deck. It was conveniently located. I enjoyed my morning walks to town and the pier, and as a family we were able to walk to the harbor for ice cream. We will return to this rental next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Owner Response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a guest review. We look forward to hosting you again next summer.
Regards, Marilyn and Rick

Warwick, NY
Member since Nov 2012
Cute and Comfortable cottage

My family of four (2 adults, 2 children aged 3 and 5) spent a week here this summer. This is our 2nd family trip to Wellfleet, and it is one of my favorites places to be in the summer. Some great activities for the whole family, lots of swimming options, and a very cute town with lots of art galleries and restaurants. The cottage was perfect. We had other friends and families staying in nearby rentals, and this was nice and central to town. The bedrooms were small but comfortable. There were fans in all of the rooms, which was great. The kitchen was small (it's a cottage) but it was fully functional and we ate most of our dinners at the cottage. There is a picnic table in front which was great for the kids. The outdoor shower (a MUST for any Cape renter) was large and private. The inside bathroom was tiny (again, this is a cottage), but we only really used it for the toilet which was fine. One night we did have guests sleep on the pull out sofa. Only issue was there was no room to walk past pullout when out. I would not recommend using this as a full time bed if staying there -- it prevents those sleeping in the master bedroom from getting to the bathroom in the middle of night. With all that said, I would highly recommend this adorable cottage!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Owner Response:

I appreciate you taking the time to write a guest review. I'm glad that you highly recommend the 'cottage.' The pull-out sofa is good for an unexpected overnight guest, but as you say, not for regular use. Thanks again!

Bridgewater, MA
Member since Jan 2013
Cozy home away from home - Great Rental!

A friend and I stayed here in Sept 2012. We enjoyed all of the comforts of home! The back deck with grill and dining area are outstanding -- we loved dining out there. Landscaping makes it very private, and it's a great place for morning coffee near the bird feeders. Kitchen had all the cookware we needed, including a large pot, crackers and picks for lobster! Wireless internet kept us both "plugged in". We walked to both Powers Landing and Mayo beaches, Wellfleet Center and Wellfleet pier. Short drives to Ocean beaches and the ponds. Loved the outdoor shower, never used the indoor one. Would absolutely stay here again if the opportunity comes up!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Poughkeepsie, NY
Member since Mar 2012
Another wonderful week!

We once again had a wonderful week in the cottage. This is our third time staying here, and we were pleasantly surprised by all of the renovations to the house - new wooden floors, beautiful new kitchen and cheerfully bright paint in all the rooms. The cottage feels quiet and remote, yet is close enough to walk to Powers Landing beach and get to any place in Wellfleet in five minutes by car. We love the outdoor shower and eating dinner on the back deck. We had a beautiful, peaceful week and were so sad to have to leave. We'll be back again next year!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Cranford, NJ
Member since Jan 2008
Wellfleet Cottage

We absolutely loved the cottage!! The location was fantastic. It was walking distance from the bay and you can walk down to the pier and have fresh lobster at Mac's fish market. We took advantage of the Cape Cod rail trail every day, which was just a short drive and then we headed right down to the beach. The cottage had everything we could have needed!! And we loved the outdoor shower!! We definitely recommend this cottage to anyone. We hope to return in the future.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Boca Raton, FL
Member since Jan 2012
July 2012

Our family of five thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cozy Wellfleet cottage. We loved being close to town and a short walk away from the bay, and at the same time, the cottage felt very private the way it is nestled in among trees. The cottage has all the amenities but still feels like a beach vacation stay away from home...the decor and welcoming sectional seating, the outdoor decks for dining or games, the outdoor shower (big hit) and the backyard wildlife all contribute to a relaxing stay...and the owners have gone out of their way to consider their guests' needs.
We'll be sure to request good weather again...somehow, Rick and Marilyn seem to have an 'in' with Mother Nature!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Brimfield, MA
Member since Jun 2007
Simply Perfect!

My husband and I searched high and low for a great place to stay on the Cape. When I came across this listing I was drawn in by the beautiful flowering trees and cute Cape Cod cottage pictures. Let's just say the actual place totally lives up to the photos. It is extremely clean and had everything we needed for our week stay. It's the perfect size and has plenty of room. The beds were extremely comfy and perfect for guests of all ages!
It was in walking distance to the beach and is nestled in the perfect spot. It was very quiet and private. We absolutely LOVED the outdoor shower!!!!!
There is no fee for Mayo Beach so we drove our car (about a mile) down the road where we spent most of our days in very warm calm waters. Mac's at the beach was delicous too!!!
Downtown Wellfleet is a short ride away and always had plenty of parking. Definitely have breakfast at the Lighthouse and try dinner at the Pearl. We loved both places.
Hands down one of the best vacations we have had. If you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing, beautiful, quaint and picturesque place to stay for a week or two in the summer...this is the place to be! Wellfleet is amazing...and so is this cottage!
Thanks Rick!!!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Santa Rosa, CA
Member since May 2012

We have enjoyed staying in your cottage in August 2010 and August 2011 and will be returning this August again. The location is perfect - we walk to Powers Landing beach and enjoy watching the tide come in and go out. We've enjoyed walking along the beach to the pier for some ice cream, and recently discovered the beauty of Great Island (about a five minute drive up the road). The house is perfect for our family - we love having breakfast and coffee on the front deck and dinner each night on the back deck. And the outdoor shower is wonderful - even in the rain! This is the perfect little Cape cottage!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: January 2012
Cranford, NJ
Member since Jan 2008

"For our first trip to the USA, we've been very lucky to find this lovely cottage. It has a wonderful deck with a great barbecue and a very agreeable outdoor shower. In the morning you can contemplate the birds singing. The cottage is very clean , quiet and well situated. Rick, the owner was very attentive to our needs and welcomed us with a bottle of Chardonnay. A place to go and a place to go back."

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
FRANCE
Member since Jan 2010

"The pictures of the cottage give a good flavor, but being there is even better! Rare to find a lovely interior nicely furnished (very comfy bed in master bedroom), a 5 minute walk to the beach AND a serene private front and back area ~ The back is my favorite. There is a new deck, table and chairs and across a grassy area are two adirondack chairs facing a bird feeder ~ We were joined by yellow finches and a scarlett taninger for coffee each morning. Off the deck are lighted steps (for night) which lead to a lovely outdoor shower ~ under the sun or the stars, it's great. There is also a private area with table and chairs in the front. The kitchen is well stocked, cozy and opens to the back deck. Though the cottage isn't huge. the 3 bedrooms extend off the living room so there is a nice spaciousness in that way. The owner is great to deal with ~ returns lost cell phones, and other items left, and may I say, the two times we've been, leaves a gift in the fridge to begin the beautiful vacation. It's also located in my favorite part of Wellfleet ~ the gold coast near the amazing sunset at Duck Harbor and Great Island. Enjoy, but leave me time to go too!"

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: May 2010
Watertown, MA
Member since Apr 2009