Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Pristine Boathouse on Quissett Harbor walk to beach
Woods Hole, Quissett Harbor Vacation Rental - ID 21777

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 5
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 2 doubles, 1 Queen Sofabed
Beach: "The Knob" &/or Children's Beach 500 yards
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 4 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Susan and Gary
Contact Susan and Gary, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (617) 332-7554.
Please mention Property ID# 21777 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Peaceful Setting

We were very happy with our stay here. The Boathouse was clean and incredibly well-equipped with kitchen necessities, washer and dryer, linens, etc. A beautiful sunset spot every night. The owners were wonderful to interact with. We would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

Thanks so much for your beautiful recommendation! It was a pleasure having people like you take such good care of our Boathouse. We treasure it too ...along with our relationship with our guests. We hope to see you back at the Boathouse soon. Best wishes, Sue & Gary

Member since Jul 2016
Great Cape Cod Getaway by the Bay

We had the pleasure of spending a week at this lovely and comfortable cottage the week of the 4th of July. We loved the location, the great view from the deck, and the proximity to a great little beach, which we really enjoyed, and to all the activities that this great little town of Falmouth has to offer.

The owners were very welcoming and extremely helpful The house is all that was advertised, and we certainly will be back in the future. We strongly recommend this lovely Boathouse, and hope that you do too.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments. We loved meeting you and having you enjoy your stay with us. It gives us extra pleasure to see how you enjoyed The Boathouse and also how you took such good care of it during your stay. Do come back!!!

Best wishes for a good healthy year ahead!

Sue & Gary

Tarrytown, NY
Member since Jan 2016
Fabulous vacation house

The boathouse is the perfect summer vacation place for our family. We had a fabulous week - really loved paddle boarding and sailing in the harbor. We stored our two paddle boards at the lower level of the house, and it’s so convenient to put them in water. The boathouse has terrific water views. We enjoyed eating breakfast and dinner on the porch watching sail boats coming and leaving the harbor. The house is also very conveniently located (5 min to Woods Hole and Falmouth), and the kitchen is very well equipped.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Chestnut Hill, MA
Member since Mar 2016
Perfect Stay

We stayed one week in June 2016. It was an incredibly beautiful location, the house was in the best shape, everything worked well, nice details (like coffee and tea machine, infrared ceiling heat in bathroom, very comfortable bed and so on). The owners, Sue and Gary, were great, a lot of tips and perfect explanation about the house. We will come back again for the unbelievably nice and calm terrace to relax and refill our batteries.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Dear Fabers:

Thank you so much for your beautiful and timely review. It would be a pleasure having you return next summer, perhaps even for a longer time, to "restore your batteries!"

Best wishes for the months ahead.
Sue & Gary Jacobson

Member since Jul 2016
Lovely!

We stayed at the Boathouse for a week in early summer, and everything was wonderful and as described. It is perfectly situated for walks, swims, kayaking, and bicycle trips, and we loved exploring the shops and restaurants of near-by Woods Hole and Falmouth. It was so relaxing to watch the constantly changing harbor from the deck, and we arranged a sailing lesson at the adjacent small marina. Sue and Gary were readily available with helpful suggestions and minor concerns. What a gem!

Accuracy of listing:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Owner Response:

We are so delighted with your beautiful and most welcome rave review and very much look forward to your return. If you have 't made summer plans do consider some of our open weeks this summer. We'd love to welcome you back!
Sue & Gary

Concord, MA
Member since Jul 2009
Sharing my thoughts

Out of all the houses we have rented worldwide, this is the best by far. It is well designed, comfortable, roomy and ideal for relaxing by yourselves or enjoying friends. It feels like your own home, and Sue and Gary have perfectly outfitted it to make you feel that way.

And for the view of the harbor, it is spectacular from the spacious deck or the living room at any time of the day or night. This is a real WINNER.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Bryn Mawr, PA
Member since Sep 2014
Perfect waterfront location

The boathouse is in a wonderful location and directly on the water. The harbor is very peaceful and the views are spectacular. The boathouse gets sun all afternoon, which is great. The sunsets are amazing. We rented bikes and kayaks for our vacation and used them every day. It was very easy to put kayaks in the water from where they were stored. The bike path is close by so within a few minutes you can be on it and either head to Woods Hole for lunch, shopping or just hanging out, or you can head in the other direction towards North Falmouth. Having "the knob" within walking distance was extra special. What a beautiful property and so nice to have beaches close by that you can walk or kayak to. My kids and I had a wonderful vacation. Thank you, Sue and Gary.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Boxford, MA
Member since Mar 2014
Magical cottage!

We had a nearby wedding, and decided to stay through the 4th of July week, so we rented this cottage. It is adorable, with a gorgeous view of the harbor. We loved access to the knob for the beach and running trails, as well as how nicely tucked away the property was. It was also just a few minute drive to downtown Woods Hole and not too far from Falmouth either. Loved our time!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Washington, DC
Member since Jan 2014
Gorgeous Setting

We spent a restful, soothing week at The Boathouse. The small harbor setting is picturesque, interesting, and quiet. Swimming, fine food so close by (Anejo in Falmouth, Pie in the Sky in Woods Hole for the best Key Lime pie ever made), walking, shopping, and exploring. The Boathouse is exceptionally well kept. Clean as a whistle with so many thoughtful touches. Sue and Gary couldn't have been more helpful.
Since you are right on the water, you can watch the fog roll in at night ( a spectacular experience), see gorgeous sunsets, observe the tides first hand, and listen to the birds. You can be at a calm, protected beach or an open, wavy beach in a few minutes walk. This is walking, biking and kayaking heaven.
Thanks, Sue and Gary!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Huntington Station, NY
Member since May 2013
Great Summer Holiday

We had a really nice stay at the boat house during the heat of July. The house was great size for our family of four, and the location was just fabulous - particularly if you have a friend with a boat!

The beach across the harbor was great swimming every day. Sitting on the deck in the early evening watching the harbor come alive at cocktail hour was also a great bonus.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: February 2014
Seattle, WA
Member since Feb 2014
Sailor's Delight

Return guest. Fabulous view, convenient, and well equipped. A true vacation spot!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Boston, MA
Member since May 2009
Wonderful boathouse

What a wonderful charming place to stay. The boat house on Quisset Harbor was charming with a great casual feel and balcony overlooking a lovely small harbor full of wonderful sailboats. The boathouse is wonderfully equipped, immaculate and comfortable. There are some lovely walks right from the house, and Falmouth and Woods Hole are minutes away for restaurants and activities. A great week with room to have guests to enjoy an evening or day as well. Our first trip to Cape Cod will be hard to beat.

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Sacramento, CA
Member since Jul 2013
Wonderful

This must be one of the most comfortable and relaxing vacation spots on the Cape. From the remarks of others who have stayed here, you will learn that the cottage is immaculate, well equipped with all amenities and enjoys beautiful views of Quisset Harbor. For me, a boat lover, a highlight was simply sitting on the deck, enjoying my morning coffee, and watching the harbor come to life with waterborne activity. Another was a leisurely walk around the harbor's northern edge to The Nob, a wilderness reserve that offers a number of easily negotiated trails, all of which lead to the tip of the north entrance to the harbor, with beautiful vistas of Buzzard's Bay. Both Woods Hole and Falmouth are within minutes by car, and the bike trail that connects them is a short distance from the cottage. I certainly plan on coming back - its a wonderful spot and will provide a memorable experience should you choose to spend some time here.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Owner Response:

Fred- That is a five star review from a five star guest. Both you and Thora were so warmly appreciative in person that it certainly made my day when I saw you at the Knob and at the Boathouse. Such good feelings that our beautiful abode is being loved and cared for as it deserves.

When you are ready, do let me know the dates when you might wish to return. You might wish to consider more than a week's stay in 2013 as well.

In any case, be well for 2013 and accept our thanks for your taking the time to write such a beautiful review.

Sue and Gary

Guilford, CT
Member since Oct 2012
Little Gem

My wife and two children rented the beautiful boathouse this past summer. And what a GEM!!! The sunsets in the evening filled our deck and living room as we ate dinner and thought about the wonderful day we just had on the beach and out sailing. The view of the harbor with sailboats of every size and the peacefulness of the surroundings leave a memory to get us through the winter cold in the Midwest. The house itself is excellently maintained, very clean and comfortable. Traffic is non-existent as the house is away from any roads secluded in its own cocoon on the harbor and surrounded by trees. Let all the cares of the world bypass you as you enjoy your stay here.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Owner Response:

Dear Mort and Jill-

Thank you for your five star review of our "little gem." Nothing warms us as much as knowing that people love and care for the Boathouse as we do.
We hope that you do stay warm this winter with your thoughts of returning next August. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes-
The Jacobsons

Chicago, IL
Member since Jul 2012
Boathouse

Over the years we have rented summer homes on Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket and in Falmouth. Nothing compares to the boathouse located on scenic Quissett Harbor. It is perfect for a couple or a family of four. It is ideally located within walking distance of the beach and the Falmouth-Woods Hole rail trail. The home is over equipped and well maintained. WiFi has just been added. The deck has its support posts literally sitting in Quissett Harbor during high tide. This makes for the perfect location to watch the summer sun set across the harbor. A not to miss vacation home!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Boston, MA
Member since May 2009
home away from home

This is our favorite place to stay on the Cape. The nostalgic setting and charming home provide all the amenities for a secluded, disconnected holiday with easy access to the energetic rituals of Cape Life. Minutes from Woods Hole, we often bike for our internet download at the coffee shop and then take the extraordinary Shining Sea trail ride along well protected woods and extraordinary ocean vistas. Great shopping and dining in Falmouth and ponds and beaches all around. The home literally sits on the water and has unparalleled views. Walking access to great hiking and secluded protected swimming. And the added bonus is the harbor at Quisset if you want to bring your boat. The owners take care of this as though it were a delightful Inn. No place like it anywhere. We come back year after year.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2012
Washington, DC
Member since Jul 2012
Fabulous!

This is the perfect summer home for a family of four. It is close to beaches, Woods Hole, Falmouth and the bike trail. The posts of the deck are literally in the edge of Quissett Harbor. There is plenty of activity in the harbor and boatyard to keep all entertained from sunrise to sunset. The view is outstanding, particularly sunsets. The home is above average equipped with everything meticulously maintained. WiFi has just been added. There is no downside to this property.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2012
Boston, MA
Member since May 2009