Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Pancake Hollow: 3 BR/3BT w/Central AC on 7 Serene Acres
Aquinnah Vacation Rental - ID 3557

3 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: Philbin and Lobsterville beaches within 2 miles
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 15 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Jestina Held
Contact Jestina Held, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (410) 239-3245.
Please mention Property ID# 3557 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
4th Year at the Hollow

We've rented this house in Aquinnah for several years and have hosted many friends and relatives. It's always been a positive experience for all of us. Comfortable, quiet and close to several great beaches, it's a super location. The owner is always making sure that we are welcome and have everything we need. Our favorites are Lobsterville and the West Basin. We are happy to recommend this lovely home in Pancake Hollow.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Riverton, CT
Member since Jan 2007
Why YOU should stay at Pancake Hollow

Why should you stay at Pancake Hollow?

1. It is a very cute and comfortable house.
2. The back yard is totally private.
3. You can walk to the Cliffs.
4. You can have blue corn pancakes at The Aquinnah.
5. You can go back to The Aquinnah for supper and eat out on their deck and enjoy a magnificent sunset.
6. You can enjoy sun and sea at Philbin Beach, or Lobsterville Beach, or the basin at the end of Lobsterville Road.
7. Chilmark Chocolates is just down the road.
8. You can take a book out of the Aquinnah Library and enjoy reading it in the loft at Pancake Hollow.
9. You can visit Polly Hill Arboretum and see some magnificent plantings.
10. You can make wonderful vacation memories that will last a lifetime.

Miss Jestina lovingly cares for and maintains her Pancake Hollow abode. She is absolutely hands-on. She wants you to be happy and is very accessible at any time. What more could you want from an owner?

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Owner Response:

Thank you for your review! The Hollow considers you an "old friend" and is always glad to see you!
She smiles when you reappear! So do we? ;-)

Branford, CT
Member since Feb 2013
Happy Relaxed Visit

Our return trips to Pancake Hollow are always the best! We enjoyed the beauty and tranquility of rhe house. And it feels a bit like home each rime we return! Can't wait to come back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Owner Response:

There is nothing the Hollow loves better or values higher than returning happy folks! See you next year! The lights are on!
Jestina

Winthrop, MA
Member since Aug 2011
Nice and Quiet!

Wish we had found this when we first came to MV 7 years ago! Nice star views 3 of our 7 nights. We were lucky that the nearby lighthouse was off (and being moved) while we were there. Nice house and property, very quiet area.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Owner Response:

What newly met treasures these folks are! We welcome them to the Hollow Crowd- a small but distinguished group of like- minded individuals!
Jestina

Nashville, TN
Member since Apr 2008
Just Right!

Place was wonderful! Located in my favorite part of the Island. Very private but 15 minutes bike ride to favorite beach. Delightful screened porch and nice deck with outdoor shower, handicap accessible with ramp, bathroom grab bars, walk-in shower, and high commode. Well equipped! Clean and ready for us when we arrived.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Owner Response:

So very glad your stay was all that you had hoped for- and more importantly, needed! There is something soothing yet renewing about the Hollow-- is there not? Come again!

Goffstown, NH
Member since Feb 2014
Perfect choice

Can't say enough about this house. We have rented on the Vineyard many times, and we have always stayed in Vineyard Haven, but spent a lot of time in Menemsha. We saw this house and decided it was time to re-think our rental location and were not disappointed. Very comfortable, perfect layout for friends and family coming to visit, and wonderful peace and quiet. We couldn't have made a better choice. We'll be coming back next year and hopefully, many to come.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Riverton, CT
Member since Jan 2007
Serene and Comfortable Aquinnah Home

This very lovely and comfortable home affords a peaceful respite from the hustle and bustle of busier Island locales. Enjoy Down-Island, and then come home to a quiet oasis nestled on an interior lot. Or go to one of the nearby beaches for sun and surf. The house includes all amenities necessary and it is nice not to have to lug sheets and towels. If necessary, there are not one, but two!! commercial sized washers and driers on the premises. And the water is pure and abundant.

Enjoy dining at the Aquinnah Restaurant located at the Cliffs, just up Lighthouse Road. Breakfasts there are a must, with rave reviews going to their blue corn pancakes and "Tomahawk" special. You will definitely find your bliss at the Aquinnah, particularly dining outdoors on their back deck overlooking the ocean.

Pancake Hollow is a wonderful home to be able to stay in while on the Island. Ms. Held extends a graciousness, understanding, and welcoming to her renters. This alone is truly appreciated.

My family and I hope to return again to Pancake Hollow!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Owner Response:

So very glad you came and found respite! Come again! You know the words to the old camp song:
Make new friends but keep the old- One is silver and the other gold! All precious! The Hollow loves her friends!
Jestina

Branford, CT
Member since Feb 2013
Beautiful Home!

This charming, picturesque home is wonderful for a family vacation! Tucked away in a secluded area, it affords privacy and beauty. But it's also easily accessible to beaches, trails, shops, and the Gay Head Lighthouse. The house is well equipped and comfortable. One of my favorite parts of staying there was going on the deck and star gazing. I also loved being able to bike from the stunning clay cliffs to the calm, white sands of Lobsterville Beach. The location of the house is perfect! Wouldn't stay anywhere else! Also the owner is fantastic and nice!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Baltimore, MD
Member since Jul 2013
Quiet

Nice house. Could use some updating - new bedding, towels, etc. Kitchen smelled like gas when we first arrived. Smell went away somewhat. Owner very nice.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Owner Response:

When I called the tenant to welcome them I was told there was a smell of propane. I suggested that the knobs on the stove be checked to see that they were all firmly off. The next day she did not mention the gas when we talked. After reading this feedback, I contacted the previous tenant to her week, and the present tenant who followed her in, as well as the cleaners, but no one had/has noticed an odor. I assume perhaps that when the cleaners cleaned the stove that the knob might have been slightly turned.

As to the second issue, we strive to present a comfortable and clean summer retreat at an affordable price. On MV that is a tall order! There are many homes which are more "updated" but also considerably less affordable. Also, most similar rentals do not even provide linens and certainly not freshly made beds! We are not elegant- we go for family comfort and relaxation.

Having said that, may I add that we contacted the cleaners who told us that the bedding has indeed taken a hit this season and we will be happy to replace those items. We want our guests to be comfortable!

Jestina

Paxton, MA
Member since Aug 2012
A lovely spot in Aquinnah

We had a lovely stay. Great location. The wheelchair access made it a great fit for my parents! Not having to bring linens and towels is great too.

Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Owner Response:

How wonderful that the handicapped provisions were helpful! Winter well!

Brooklyn, NY
Member since May 2012
A lovely property

We love this property, and have returned a number of years now. The home is clean and comfortable, and comes with all amenities. The owners are quick to respond to questions, and are respectful of renters. The property description is just as advertised. A wonderful value.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Concord, NH
Member since Sep 2012
Pancake Hollow!

We so enjoyed our stay this summer and it always exceeds our expectations! Walks to the lighthouse, quick trips to Red Beach and Philbin. We are so grateful to return to PH again! After renting for 20 plus years Pancake Hollow is one of our best experiences; every amenity you can think of, comfort, serenity and a beautiful peaceful setting! And the whale of an outdoor shower!!! My daughter's all time favorite. We love the care and spirit put into the house and the privacy afforded all who stay (each has their own bathroom) is a great bonus! Thank you again for a wonderful stay; we hated to leave!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Owner Response:

The Hollow is so very glad to have met your needs and given the respite for which you labored all year! Come again, please!
J & S

Winthrop, MA
Member since Aug 2011
Love the comfort & location

Justina and Stephen: Wayne and I have stayed at your vacation rental for the last two summers in early June to celebrate our (30th and 31st) wedding anniversary. We love your home. It is a very reasonable price for the accommodations that you provide. We look for comfort, and love the privacy and location. We looked into renting in early Sept., but not available, and we did find another rental. We will be in touch with you next May for a 3rd year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Owner Response:

The little house in the Hollow would love to share your 33rd with you! Come on down!
Jestina

Clifton Park, NY
Member since Jul 2008
Cherished Memories

We have had the privilege of staying in this lovely abode 4 times and each time has been filled with cherished memories. The home is nestled off the beaten path so it affords lots of privacy. It is so airy and cheery and well appointed that we never want for anything while we're there! We only wish we could stay longer each time! It is our favorite place to go to be together as a family. We enjoy home cooked meals, games in the yard, bike rides to the lighthouse and the beaches, long hikes on trails, movie watching, star gazing, bird watching and many other activities. What's not to love?

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Baltimore, MD
Member since Sep 2012