Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Lucy Vincent Beach Oceanfront Contemporary
Chilmark - Lucy Vincent Beach Vacation Rental - ID 4172

3 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, two window seats for children
Beach: New - path to the beach - or boat to Lucy Vincent
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 14 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Candace or Dennis Guittarr
Contact Candace or Dennis Guittarr, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 910-2434.
Please mention Property ID# 4172 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Safari House

This was our second stay at Safari House and hope it's not the last. The property is incredibly beautiful, private and convenient to one of the best beaches on MV if not the best. I've vacationed on MV for many years and have stayed at a number of different places, and having spent time at Safari House, it is hard to choose anywhere else. We love it! We hope to be back next year??

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Andover, MA
Member since Oct 2015

I just now went on my daughter's laptop to get my email for the week -- that's how relaxed I am! There is so much I could write to you about -- the ospreys, catbirds, song sparrows and bunnies, the sound of the surf, the fog settling in over the pond, morning coffee in bed with a spectacular view, warm showers with constellations twinkling above... This is such a special spot on a beautiful island that we have grown to love since first coming here over 20 years ago. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We are respectful and are taking good care of it.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Ann W
Hampston, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Exceptional Property

We have been coming to this extraordinary place for the last 8 years and the fundamental reason that we keep returning is that we believe that this home simply does not have an equivalent – by a long shot. Simply put, Chilmark and specifically Lucy Vincent Beach are tremendously serene and beautiful and are removed from the more congested and busy portions of the island, and this home places you right where you want to be in Chilmark - on Lucy Vincent Beach.

We used to rent in the Chilmark woods and had to obtain a pass to Lucy Vincent Beach and drive to the beach, forcing adherence to hours of operation when the gate was open and staffed. With this home and its location on Chilmark Pond and Lucy Vincent Beach, you have unfettered and direct access, affording you the ability to walk the beach in the morning at sunrise or spend a quiet afternoon or early evening on the beach. This south shore beach has limited access so it is not overcrowded, the waves are great for boards, and it's very picturesque. We believe that it is by far one of the best beaches on the island.

The house is perfect for a family, with a great room and deck overlooking the pond and beach. Views, tranquility and nature abound, it’s a perfect peaceful retreat. We appreciate the simplicity, spaciousness, and cleanliness of the house, and all necessary amenities are present in the home including an outdoor shower perfect for after the beach. This house is amazingly private, the only noise you hear are the waves and birds. The owners have always been nothing but a pleasure to work with over the years, always accommodating and communicative.

The village of Menemsha is only a few miles away with awesome seafood, fishing and evening sunsets. Chilmark's library and tennis courts are a short drive or walk away, and other amenities such as Ally’s General Store, Chilmark Store and Chilmark Chocolates are easily accessible to this location, though you may not want to pull yourself away from this special place. Five stars+

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Amston, CT
Member since Jul 2015

We love the Safari House! From BBQ's to walks on the beach, we made the most of our stay. The path to the beach was great. We look forward to staying at your home again soon. Michael and Colleen

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
Colleen M
Manhattan Beach, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks for sharing your beautiful property with us. We had a wonderful time with new experiences and can't wait to return next year. Great views, serene, tranquil, perfect family time.

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Ed S
Rochester, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We love the house and the nature that surrounds it. We look forward to being back at Safari House next summer!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Roman F
NY, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"This is a wonderful house in a phenomenal location just minutes by kayak, swimming or wading from Lucy Vincent Beach. We could have spent our entire vacation just gazing at the views from the deck. We can't wait to return next year!"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
Pelham, NY
Member since Apr 2010

Our stay at the 'Safari House' has been phenomenal. The view from the house was very refreshing as were the quick trips across the pond. Never want to ferry away.....vineyard memories last forever. The departure is sad as we leave the vineyard once again, can't wait till next year!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Jim M
(Homeowner Entered)

This house has a spectacular view and we have loved every minute here since we started renting 3 summers ago!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Mike C
Davie, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

I had a week of complete bliss! Celebrating my 80th birthday with my son's family in paradise. The sunrise and sunsets, watching mother duck and her brood off for their morning swim. Walking the beach to the clay cliffs, we are, already, planning for next year

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Joanne D
Emmaus, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

"We have been fortunate to have vacationed the last two years at this exceptional property and we will be back this coming year. We have been coming to the Vineyard for years and prefer staying up-island. A couple of years ago we decided to stop renting in the Chilmark woods and to try to find a location more proximate to Lucy Vincent Beach. Never did we imagine that we would find a vacation rental quite like this one and needless to say, as long as we can, we won’t go anywhere else. This rental is exceptional most significantly for its private location on Upper Chilmark Pond and Lucy Vincent Beach. Besides being located on what we believe is one of the nicest beaches on the island, this rental provides an unmatched tranquility based on it setting overlooking the beach and pond. Our children love to take the boats out in and swim in the pond and my wife and I could sit on the deck for hours simply enjoying the view. Words such as incredible, picturesque, and spectacular, are understatements when referring to this location. The home is clean, offers all necessary amenities, and the homeowners have always been tremendously helpful and hospitable. The home layout is perfect for a family, with all rooms having exceptional views, and a great room, inclusive of kitchen, dining, and living areas with multiple sliders to the deck. This convenient location is only a short walk to Chilmark Store or Library, or a short ride to Menemsha for some of the best seafood on the island. "

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: December 2009
Amston, CT
Member since Sep 2007