Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

1929 Cottage with Storybook Charm & Fabulous Location
Nantucket town, Nantucket Vacation Rental - ID 23440

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 queens, 3 twins
Beach: The Creeks Beach is 2/10 mi.
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Lee
Contact Lee, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 799-5273.
Please mention Property ID# 23440 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Location

Growing up spending summer's on the island, I knew it was important for my children to have the same experience. For the past 15 years, we have rented a home the 3rd week of August. Every year we choose a different home. Without question this one was in the top 3. Lee was extremely easy to deal with. She was quick to respond to my questions, sent a reminder to book the ferry, and had our deposit back in the mail within days. The house was clean and by far the most well equipped we have stayed. It was well stocked with plenty of towels, bedding and basic household items. Our first night we realized the TV was not working. By the next morning Ray (the property manager) was installing a new one. I would highly recommend this home. The only drawback that we experienced was you will not get any privacy in the yard. Due to being close to town, the houses are very close, and you will hear or see your neighbors or their dogs.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Osterville, MA
Member since Jan 2009
A gem

We loved staying at this house! The arrangement of the rooms fit our multi-generational group perfectly-- kids and parents upstairs, grandparents downstairs (and snoring grandpa in the sleep cabin out back!). The house is very well appointed-- tons of good towels, nice linens, comfortable, beautifully coordinated furniture, all the kitchen supplies we needed. The front yard was a great place to hang out, and the back yard was perfect for grilling and dining. (Gas grill, a spacious dining table, herbs in the garden, etc.) The outdoor shower was wonderful, too.

We were in Nantucket during a very hot week, and the AC kept the house plenty cool. Lee (the host) couldn't have been more responsive, both before and during our visit.

It's a ten minute walk into town from here, and a 5-minute bike ride. There is a marshy beach a very quick walk from the house, as well as a takeout lobster shack (Sayles).

One of our best rental experiences ever. Enjoy!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Amherst, MA
Member since Aug 2015
Perfect house! Perfect spot!

My husband and 3 sons had the pleasure of staying in this home for 2 weeks. The house is updated and maintains a clean, fresh Nantucket cottage feel! Fully equipped with higher end sheets, blankets and towels. No need to bring anything but your clothes. (We brought out own beach bag and mini cooler.) The house is an easy walk into town. Or, a quick bike ride to the big stop/shop or the chicken box!

The house has great character, and I love how it is decorated, especially all of the plantation shutters. Brand new outdoor shower is a bonus! My oldest (14), loved his own sleeping quarters in the very cool "shed" out back. The front yard and back patio are lovely.

We look forward to returning next year! Lee was more than accommodating!

(P.S. I was able to "sniff" out the Murrays outlet store about 700 yards away on New Street! Small but you can possibly get a great deal!... I can't believe I have been coming here all these years and didn't know the outlet store existed)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Brielle, NJ
Member since Aug 2016
Fabulous... Again!

We have just returned from this home AGAIN. Just as last year, the house is perfect. Everything you need to enjoy a great Nantucket vacation is here at this house. It is a perfect location to walk to town, walk to the Washington St. Beach, the duck pond, convenience store, art galleries, and the list goes on. The house itself is very nicely furnished, the beds are comfortable and the back patio is perfect. The fenced yard is great for pets and children. The neighborhood is quiet and very little traffic on this quiet lane.

The owner is a pleasure to,deal with. We lost internet one night from a thunderstorm so I emailed the owner who immediately got back to me. There is also an one island caretaker.

I can't think of a single negative concerning this property. This was our second year in this house and we love it so much , we are going back for 2 weeks in September and have already requested time for next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Germantown, NY
Member since Jan 2015
A great week in Nantucket!

My husband and I spent a lovely week in this charming cottage. We arrived in the sleepy off season and were delighted to walk to town for dinner and shopping an not contend with any crowds. The house was well appointed and beautifully decorated, all was as described. The fully equipped kitchen allowed us to cook some meals at home and enjoy the back deck and yard space. The rooms were cozy and there were plenty of towels and linens. Owner made sure we were settled in and followed up to make sure we arrived home safely. We would absolutely rent this property again. You will not be disappointed!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2016
Date Submitted: April 2016
Member since Mar 2016
Great House, Perfect Location

We recently spent 2 weeks in this great house. When we arrived, there was a box of chocolate-covered cranberries on the table waiting for us. The house was spotless and everything is included...linens, beach towels, beach chairs . This owner has thought of everything. The house is very well decorated and very comfortable. The rooms are spacious, the back patio with dining set and fenced yard is great for eating at home. The front yard is also fenced and that's what makes this a great pet friendly home.

The location of this beautiful cottage is also perfect. It is exactly 1/2 mile walk up Orange Street to Main Street. You can also walk to the small convenience store, art gallery, restaurants and even to the beach where you can rent paddle boards and kayaks. Yet it is on a very quiet street, so you don't realize you are right in the middle of everything.

We loved everything about this home and will definitely return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Germantown, NY
Member since Jan 2015
A Real Charmer !!!!

We enjoyed our stay in the house. The listing was accurate and the homeowner was very organized and responsive. She anticipated our every need! The gardens are beautiful. The house is located on a quiet side street about an easy eight minute walk to Main Street. House is well appointed. Would definitely recommend to others!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Wellesley Hills, MA
Member since May 2016
Thank you

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 2 teens + 1 schnauzer) were quite comfortable at [this property]. The home was clean, organized, and comfortable. The rental was easy, clear and informative. The house is near town, an easy walk in. Being near town, the homes are close together. There was ample privacy and some beautiful gardens and areas to sit outside. Cable TV and internet and the ability to bring Oscar were a plus...
We enjoyed our time in Nantucket and at [this property], and would certainly recommend it to others. Enjoy!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
North Andover, MA
Member since Sep 2014
Perfect house for our family

This house was perfect for our family, it is very comfortable and well stocked. No need to even bring beach towels or chairs! The beds are extremely comfortable as is the family room. The kitchen has everything you need to cook your own meals, and the location is great for walking into town and having someone else cook your meals for you. We loved the proximity to the duck pond and estuary beach as well. This was our 2nd summer staying at Lee's house, and I'm sure it won't be our last!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Southborough, MA
Member since Dec 2013
Nantucket town Jewel

My daughter, son in law, and I enjoyed staying at this wonderful Nantucket cottage during a recent visit to the island. It is located close enough to easily walk anywhere downtown but enough off the beaten path to be in a quiet street with little traffic. The owners had organized the cottage so all those little things you need during the week but may have forgotten (visors, umbrellas, and so forth) were easy to find and there for a guest to borrow. The decor was very pretty and restful. The living room and bedrooms were decorated in the most attractive and appealing color schemes, and I enjoyed the sound of a water garden outside my window in the lovely blue and white bedroom downstairs. There was an extremely nice dining room with lots of pretty dishes and glasses to set a stylish table and a gas range - my son in law is an excellent cook and he was very comfortable cooking in the kitchen. There were even herbs in the back courtyard garden and we pinched off a sprig or two during our visit! The garden is quite nice - lots of flowers and I especially enjoyed the water lilies which were in bloom during our visit. There are so many other charming details - the wide floorboards, a balcony to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning or an evening glass of wine off the upstairs bedroom, an adorable one room nautical looking guest cottage in the back which would be the perfect hide-away for a teenager.

I highly recommend this property. We had a great week, and I could not have been more pleased with our accommodations or with the generous hospitality of the owners.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Seneca, SC
Member since Feb 2013
A Charming Nantucket Rental

The whole experience was wonderful! The setting of this charming rental was beautiful. We found the house clean, well equipped, and the location was great. My husband was thrilled that there were bikes, he toured the island daily. I did join him on one occasion. The weather could not have been more perfect, and we all enjoyed our time out on the back patio with fresh herbs and flowers surrounding us. The reason we traveled to Nantucket was for my nephew's wedding so it was a family affair. We found this property had the character and homey feeling of a real Nantucket home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Holland Patent, NY
Member since Sep 2014
Perfection

Lovely home, thoughtfully appointed. All the conveniences you could want. Walking distance to everything. Beautiful front yard and double patio in rear. Quiet area. Comfortable beds.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Scituate, MA
Member since Sep 2013
Property 23440

Lovely, quaint, well-maintained property. A/C units on both floors kept home very comfortable during a stretch of very hot, humid weather. Beds all very comfortable. Large dining area (including wet bar) which opens up to a very private courtyard. Perfect for entertaining or just relaxing with family. We spent much time there. Loved the outdoor shower! Had teens with us, who loved the bunkhouse! Within walking distance to town and local beach, but far enough from all the hub bub to provide quiet surroundings.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Scituate, MA
Member since Sep 2013
Amazing! The pictures are 100% accurate!

We were lucky enough to stay in this newly decorated home over the 4th of July week. The description and pictures are totally accurate. This is a great place. Easy 7 minute walk to town, about the same distance from the big Stop and Shop for food, and some great restaurants that don't charge an arm and a leg. Short walk to nearby convenience and package store and most importantly, steps away from Murray's Toggery Outlet! This is not a cottage or a rental, this is a lovingly cared for home. There are no inconveniences and so much more than one would normally expect in a summer rental. The highlight was the little porch off the second level master bedroom and the little extra building in back with another bedroom, complete with A/C of course! Can't wait to go back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Scituate, MA
Member since Jul 2013