Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Elegant Family Home and Guest House in Private Setting
Tom Nevers, Sconset Vacation Rental - ID 17637

6 BR
4 ½ baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 6 BRs: 1 king, 4 queens, 2 twins
Beach: 1.8 miles
Guest Reviews: 25 reviews
Time active: 6 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Sharon
Contact Sharon, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (860) 690-3262.
Please mention Property ID# 17637 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
25 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

We recently stayed at this home and had a lovely time. There was plenty of room for everyone and the layout provided great space for all to spread out and enjoy. Great kitchen, amazing deck (right off the kitchen), and bedrooms and baths all very nice. The owner was incredibly nice leading up to our stay - quick to answer any questions we had and gave great recommendations... which made staying here all the more enjoyable. A great way to end our summer.... Location very convenient - great food a few minutes away at Lola Burger and The Sea Grille. The only negative was having to leave!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
George R
Atlanta, Ga
(Homeowner Entered)

We had the most unbelievable and memorable stay at this beautiful property! The owners were fantastic and caring and had the property immaculate upon check in. I felt like I was renting a family home without all the clutter. There is absolutely nothing I could have hoped for more than all this beautiful home had to offer. The setting and landscape was serene and green and maintained that made it that much more wonderful. Thank you thank you! We will be back:)

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Sal B
Atlanta, GA
(Homeowner Entered)

I have stayed in several homes over the past ten years, and I highly recommend this home. The pictures on the site are great, but the home and the gardens will exceed your expectations. It is taken care of very well, and features a great location since it is very close to Milestone Road in Tom Nevers, which allows you to get everywhere quickly. Yet, you would never know that you are a few blocks from Milestone Road given the privacy and the serenity at this home. This is a very good property for families. The rooms are comfortable, the kitchen is large, and there are several areas for families to enjoy. There is a secret shade garden with a fire pit, a large deck with a grill and plenty of other garden space (the kids enjoyed Wiffleball contests on the lawn). I especially enjoyed the library, which was a perfect place to unwind and enjoy a drink, replete with dark wood and comfortable chairs (and a TV). The rest of the house is bright and sunny, in the usual Nantucket style. In addition, the property features a very comfortable guesthouse apartment. We stayed at this property in late June, and since we like to explore the entire island, the location is perfect. There are private beaches down Tom Nevers Road, and plenty of places to go for a nice drive (we rented a jeep and enjoyed the trail off Milestone Road and others). In short, as a frequent traveler to the island who has stayed in several homes, I highly recommend this vacation rental. You will not be disappointed!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Oliver R
Miami, Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

My wife and I rented this fabulous home to celebrate her 65th birthday with family and friends. The house is terrific (especially the gourmet kitchen) and the grounds might even be better! The word "tranquil" is the best way I can describe this entire property. If you are looking for a great place to spend a vacation for up to 10 people I promise you won't be disappointed. And oh by the way, our 39 year old bachelor son absolutely loved living in the apartment over the garage. Not a bad way to go!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Richard S
Sarasota, Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

We have multigenerational family reunions each year on Nantucket and prefer properties with a main house and a separate apartment or guesthouse. Because of the ages of our family, we also prefer houses with king or queen sized bedrooms, and these can be hard to find. This property exactly met our needs. There are five comfortably sized and comfortable bedrooms (one king and four queen beds) in the main house, as well as a sixth bedroom with a daybed for overflow visitors. The apartment over the garage is spacious, with another queen sized beds and full furnishings and amenities, including kitchen and washer dryer. The outdoor spaces, including an enormous deck with outdoor shower, are great. The property is surrounded and secluded by lovely gardens and a variety of shaded or sunny seating areas. We loved the easy access to Tom Nevers beach, Sconset, and the bike paths. The house and gardens are beautifully maintained and the owners were completely responsive to any questions that arose during our stay. All in all, this was our best rental ever.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: April 2016
David B
Scarsdale, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family had an amazing week getting to know the island of Nantucket. We had a big group- 8 adults, plus a 10 month old. This house exceeded our expectations. It was incredibly clean and comfortable. We spent most of our time in the gorgeous kitchen and at the huge teak table outside on the deck. Every night we grilled and had a sit down dinner with everyone at the kitchen table or on the deck. The soeaker system was a great addition- we had music playing outside for cocktail hour. The layout of the bedrooms was fantastic. the The 3rd floor was a great space - the baby had her own room, while we stayed in the larger bedroom w queen bed. The location on the island is perfect. We went to Sconset in the morning to go running and get coffee (just a quick 5 minute drive from house). And the beach access at Tom Nevers was perfect- we were sometimes the only ones on the beach! We definitely plan on returning- Nantucket won over our hearts, and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: April 2016
Taylor R
Darien, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Fantastic living, inside and out.

A most memorable vacation in a very well equipped home with extraordinary landscaping and outdoor living. The house and carriage house were immaculately kept and maintained. My family enjoyed the private setting while being close to the beach and bike paths. The owners went out of their way to welcome us and to make sure everything was perfect. It was pleasurable in every way. I would highly recommend this property to any family, you will not be disappointed in any way and it is likely to surpass all expectations.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Hopkinton, MA
Member since Aug 2013
Idyllic Oasis full of charm and comfort!!!

We found the house to be everything promised and more! The gardens and walkways enchanting, the house warm, cheerful, and tastefully decorated, and so comfortable. The beds, linens, and towels, clean and high quality for a blissful night's sleep. The kitchen, a cook's dream. Nothing overlooked for cooking for a large family (we were 8 adults and 4 young children), including kitchen supplies and tools. The butler's pantry stocked with every imaginable need for entertaining and meal preparation.

The gardens were gorgeous, the air scented with California privet hedges blooming and abundant hydrangeas with many flowering annuals and perennials everywhere. The herb garden helped ensure the fish we caught were perfectly seasoned! There were many secret gardens to find, quiet places to relax, read, play, explore and sunbathe. The property is lovingly cared for. Inside, every living area is well planned for the utmost comfort and charm.

Town was a short drive or good bike-ride away and adorable Sconset was even closer. The public golf course was just down the road and made for a fun afternoon for several in our group. The beaches are everywhere and fun to explore – everything you need to go (umbrella, chairs, cooler) is in the house, so not to worry!

We, as a family have rented numerous vacation homes over the past 36 years and never found one so quintessentially perfect. On top of it all, the owners were above and beyond helpful in both getting us there and making sure we were all comfortable once we got there - top notch all the way!

This home is a magical place. Once you have been there you will start to plan your return! We can't wait to go back! We didn't want to leave!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Philadelphia, PA
Member since Jul 2013
Girls getaway

The house and grounds were very beautiful, and I loved the outdoor shower. The property cannot be seen by neighbors so the privacy and the quiet are real treats. The house is fairly new - everything was sparkling clean, so pretty and very comfortable. The house is located just a short distance from wonderful walking and biking trails and not too far from 'Sconset and beaches. Getting into town and around the island in general was easy. The house is not handicap accessible.

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: June 2013
Waban, MA
Member since Jun 2013
Perfect family vacation home

We stayed in this home for a week in August to celebrate a family event. The setting was just what we wanted. Plenty of room for our family of 10, the kitchen and common areas were open and easy for us to gather and cook and enjoy each others company.

There are so many beautiful areas on the property to enjoy. Quiet areas to relax with a good book, large outdoor table to include the whole family all surrounded by beautiful landscaping. We rented bikes for the short trip to the beach. Perfect!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Philadelphia, PA
Member since Sep 2012
Your home in Nantucket!

My son was married on Nantucket this past weekend. We needed a home that would accommodate my husband, myself, my son and his bride-to-be, my other son, my mother-in-law (89) and father-in-law (92), and my mom (79). We needed a home where our older relatives could be comfortable. We needed a home to entertain our out-of-town guests. This home exceeded all our expectations! The photos are an accurate representation of the rooms, but there is no way that a camera could do this lovely home justice! It is decorated with impeccable taste. Everyone who came to visit us here was blown away. It's like a little villa in Tom Nevers! It is clean, well maintained, and extremely well appointed. There were two minor maintenance issues (neither of which impacted us) that we let the owners know about, and the caretaker was there that day. Both the owner and caretaker are easily reached if needed. We entertained here all week. We had groups of 10-15 people that were easily seated outside on the very large deck, or in the dining room and kitchen. Speaking of the kitchen, I was in my glory! I love to cook and this gourmet kitchen was amazing! Any cooking, baking, or serving utensil you need is there. There is even an herb garden which I used frequently during our stay. The outdoor grill is gas and easily handled food for 15. No words could properly describe the outside design of little seating areas and beautifully manicured gardens. It is an oasis! My son and his new bride used the apartment as there own private place. It is also well equipped with a bedroom, full bath, and great room with kitchen. They even had there own washer and dryer. There are plenty of beach chairs, towels, and coolers. There is a beach umbrella and other beach equipment all made available to us. We rented bicycles from a company in town. They delivered them and picked them up. We had an easy ride into Siasconset, the Sankaty Light, and Tom Nevers Beach. The house is a short walk from the bus stop on Tom Nevers Road. So some of my relatives used the bus to come in from town. The owner was more than wonderful this whole year as we prepared for our stay. She helped us secure a reservation for our car on the ferry, and sent us information about Nantucket. Most of all, the owners allowed this to be our home on Nantucket. There were no locked up cabinets or do not use rules. We were entrusted with a beautiful home and we felt honored to be there!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Owner Response:

Dear Patricia,
We look forward to you coming back soon!
It was a pleasure having your family in our home.
Sharon and Steve

Rocky Hill, CT
Member since Jul 2012
More than we expected!

Our family travels quite a bit and we like to stay in places that make us feel at home. This was why we chose this particular house for our vacation.

This trip was particularly special for us because our family members were getting together to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary. We had a group of twelve people with ages ranging from 2 to 77. This house (and the owner) made our first trip to Nantucket an absolutely picture-perfect event!

The house sits on a beautiful property and driving up to it makes you feel like you are in your own private world. The three acre lot is peacefully tucked away and the grounds are exquisitely manicured. The house is very spacious, elegantly decorated, and equipped with any and every kind of modern amenity. Everyone loved the house for their own reasons. The kids loved to roam and explore the gardens and wide-open yards. The cooks enjoyed the expansive modern kitchen and outdoor grill. The outdoor enthusiasts enjoyed the nearby jogging and biking trails. Everyone savored the beautiful, expansive backyard to relax, read and catch up with family members. Probably the most popular feeling was how everyone felt they each had their own comfortable space and place to retreat when the time came. The apartment over the garage was a particular bonus.

Staying in Tom Nevers was relaxing. The beaches on the south shore were beautiful and secluded. We were a short drive to anywhere on the island and only a short bike ride to the charming town of Sconset.

What also made our stay so pleasant was the owner of the house. She was extremely helpful and was always there to give us great suggestions for restaurants, beaches and places of interest.

We highly recommend staying here. It was everything we had hoped for and more. We look forward to staying here again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Owner Response:

Dear Reema and Kris,
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves so much. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the special character of our home.
We hope to see you again in 2013!
Sharon and Steve

Atlanta, GA
Member since Jul 2012

We recently spent five glorious days enjoying this beautiful house. From the supremely attractive and comfortable decor to the immaculate kitchen with every appliance you would wish for, to the fluffy towels and crisp, white sheets, you will be in a lovely paradise during your stay. A biking path very close to the house allowed for biking and running with ease. And those beaches....!
The owners have created every convenience for their renters and the house allows for a relaxing, restful vacation. You will not be disappointed. We plan on returning annually.

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: May 2012
bloomfield, ct, usa
Member since Dec 2010

My friends and I recently spent a pre-season, long weekend here. This is the ideal vacation rental if you’re looking for an elegant, private setting and a luxuriously equipped and well-decorated home. The bedrooms are lovely and comfortable, and the two floors of bedrooms and a separate apartment offered each of us privacy. The dining room and living room comfortably accommodate a group of 8-10. Open to the dining room, the charming, well-equipped kitchen is ideal for multiple chefs as its centerpiece is a huge island with a separate sink. Everything about this home was attractive, practical and in pristine condition.
There are several outdoor seating options and multiple private garden areas with beautiful landscaping. I like the home’s location both for the serenity and privacy as well as the easy access to the bike path which we rode both to beaches and town. Although the weather was brisk, we managed to enjoy a couple of meals outdoors at the long table on the large deck. The owner is very helpful and the rental process went smoothly. I am looking forward to returning for a week with my family this summer.

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: May 2012
Westfield, New Jersey
Member since May 2010


It was a privilege for our family to stay in this beautiful home recently! From the moment we spotted the brilliant purple/blue hydrangeas that welcome you in the circular driveway, we could tell this was going to be special. The owners have made sure that comfort is paramount. The house is spacious and immaculate with different areas of the landscaped outdoors offering privacy and tranquillity for all to spread out and relax. After a day of cycling to a few beaches, it was an absolute treat to come back and cool off in the outdoor shower and to prepare a meal in the gourmet kitchen equipped with everything you may need for a fancy dinner or a casual barbecue. We loved the different seating areas outdoors and my favorite was an almost hidden garden away from the house with it's own barbecue pit. The beautifully furnished bedrooms are so comfortable and bath and beach towels are plentiful. The owners have made it easy for one to just get on with having a great time because every detail has been covered. We cannot wait to go back!!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Newton, MA
Member since Jul 2011

Their rating is 5 out of 5 Guest review from Amy Judd on 10/19/2010 for a stay in October 2010. "We enjoyed this property so much last year that we returned this fall with three other couples. The house is great for a large group, with many beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms. It is immaculate, well-maintained and well-equipped with everything one might want for entertaining and enjoying the outdoors. We especially enjoyed the chef's kitchen with the dramatic, large island and the beautifully-landscaped, private setting. I highly recommend this property, and my experience with the homeowner was very positive."

Date of Stay: October 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
Marblehead, MA
Member since May 2010

"We loved everything about our stay in this wonderful home that truly reflects the casual, elegant style and character of the island itself. As you enter the property, you immediately appreciate the park-like landscaping and classic Nantucket architecture. A welcoming, wrap around front porch, complete with porch swing, frames the main house. The pictures of the interior speak for themselves—it is beautifully designed, furnished, and decorated—but what cannot be conveyed by the individual snap shots is the overall feeling of warmth, and comfort. The house is well situated on the island, very close to the most beautiful beaches, as well as to the charming town of Sconset, and an easy drive to the busy, downtown shopping area. We could not have been happier with our choice of vacation homes to experience everything Nantucket has to offer."

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Glastonbury, CT
Member since Sep 2010

Rated: 5 of 5 Wonderful family vacation home in Nantucket Our extended family of 6 adults and 3 young children needed a home with sufficient privacy for each of the 3 family units. This lovely house supported our many expected needs and related events that developed during our two week holiday on Nantucket. This Tom Nevers area home offers great indoor and outdoor spaces for a lovely, relaxing holiday. The house offers a delightful kitchen with a great stove and ovens, large refrigerator and freezer as well as wine cooler and is very well stocked with cooking equipment and pantry space for various family member food interests. The first floor provides for comfortable dining, family conversation and reading in both the living room and small den. The outdoor patios and extremely well planned gardens are charming for the adults and offered great fun for our young kids who loved the freedom to run around on grass, through 'secret gardens" and up and down the long driveway. The 'coach house apartment' also provides a comfortable space for quiet reading and activities and an additional bedroom and bath. We would definitely rent the property again on return to Nantucket. Its proximity to Tom Nevers beach, playground

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
Max F
Washington, DC
(Homeowner Entered)

Great Home! The home is meticulously maintained inside and out. Plenty of room for families or multiple couples with an additional unit over the garage which provides more privacy. Great back deck, grill, outdoor shower, patios and gardens. Rooms are all well decorated and comfortable beds. We had an incredible week and enjoyed the home!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Ryan W
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

" We spent five glorious days at this exquisite house in June. The house achieves something quite rare: it is elegant and luxurious while being impeccably tasteful. There’s so much to recommend it, it’s hard to know where to begin. First, it is very private. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with many little surprise gardens that offer quiet spots to read a book, admire the sky or just listen to the birds. One of these little outdoor alcoves includes a patio and fire pit perfect for making smores with the kids at night. When we drove in and first looked around we thought we’d wandered onto the set of a film being made on the grounds of an Italian villa, though the house itself is pure traditional Nantucket. The deck is expansive and features a magnificent table that seats ten for outdoor dining. The deck is surrounded by tall privet hedges that enhance the feeling of intimate privacy. There is also an outdoor shower that was a real treat. Second, the house has been thoughtfully provisioned in every way. No corners have been cut. The kitchen has every imaginable piece of cookware, utensils and serving dishes. If you love to cook, you will love this kitchen. If you don’t like to cook, but just like to eat, you will also love this kitchen! The linens are luxurious. The furnishings are all comfortable and attractive. Third, we found the location perfect for exploring the island. If the house were on a beach, or even any closer to a beach, the inclination would be to go that beach every day. Though the nearest beach is only about a mile away, the location encouraged us to go to several different beaches which was a big plus. We felt we really saw Nantucket from one end to the other, literally. Another big plus for this writer, particularly, was proximity to the outstanding network of paved bicycle/walking paths on the island. It was a luxury to be able, within one minute, to hop on a bike path and to ride 30 miles almost entirely on car-free bike paths. Bike riders of all levels, runners and walkers will love these paths. In addition to five bedrooms in the main house, there is a one-bedroom apartment above the garage (a separate building on he grounds) with a full kitchen, full bath dining and living area and a washer/dryer. Our group included our college age son and a few of his friends and they loved having their own space to hang out. In short, there’s plenty of space, inside and out, for everyone to find some peace and some privacy and for children and adults to enjoy, including lawns large enough for games of volleyball and other sports. In short, on a scale of one to ten, we give this house an eleven. "

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Needham, MA
Member since Jun 2010

Guest review from Judy Gelman on 8/28/2010 for a stay in June 2010. "The Perfect Vacation! We had our most enjoyable family vacation at this beautiful home. After years of renting homes, this was the most ideal experience we've had. The setting is perfect -- secluded yet right on the bike/walking path. We loved being able to walk or bike to Sconset. The house is equipped with every item you can imagine. If you cook, you'll love the gourmet kitchen, supplied with everything you'll need for any type of meal. We're still talking about our fabulous dinners on the beautiful deck and drinks on the balcony. The house is immaculate and luxurious, yet completely comfortable. It was hard to decide which room to sleep in - they are all lovely. My kids loved the separate apartment -- and this worked well with our teenagers. We look forward to returning with family and friends and introducing them to this amazing vacation home. ·"

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Boston, MA
Member since Aug 2010

Stunning Island House This house is superior in every way. It is spacious, stunningly appointed, luxurious yet comfortable. The setting is lovely with many places to sit and talk privately with one friend or to gather with several. The kitchen is handsome and has every possible appliance and gadget. We were two couples who stayed at this wonderful place for a long weekend, but the house accommodates many more. It was hard to decide which bedroom to sleep in because they all were so attractively decorated. You will not go wrong choosing this property.

Date of Stay: October 2009
Date Submitted: February 2010
S M
W. Hartford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"This gorgeous home is ideal for a large group, as there are many lovely bedroom configurations to choose from and plenty of private outdoor space. The beautifully decorated main house is well equipped, immaculate and very comfortable. The high-end kitchen is suitable for a professional chef, and can accommodate a crowd around the large island. A separate guest apartment above a large garage provides additional privacy. Our stay at this property was perfect in every way, despite the unseasonably cool fall weather. "

Date of Stay: October 2009
Date Submitted: May 2010
Marblehead, MA
Member since May 2010

Nantucket comfort What a beautiful/private setting. Wonderful, spacious house with bonus separate apt. Can accommodate several, yet very homey and comfortable. All the amenities w/out pretention. Back deck and grounds were lovely in fall. Cannot comment on beach access etc. but seems like driving or biking would be easy enough. Easy access to bus. Would return in a second.

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: February 2010
Elena F
Belmont, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Down to earth luxury My family of five stayed in this wonderful home at the end of August. The house had everything we needed. We enjoyed cooking our meals - inside the gorgeous kitchen and on the grill on the deck. The owners had left a booklet with lots of helpful information. At the end of a day on the beach, it was a great place to kick back and relax together, with plenty of space to get away from each other if we wanted to!

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: February 2010
Robin M
Newton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)