Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Breathtaking Views of N. Beach / Ideal House for 2 Families
North Chatham, Half a mile to Vacation Rental - ID 25878

5 BR
4 ½ baths
Sleeps 12
Beds: 2 kings, 1 queen, 2 doubles, 2 twins, 1 twin trundle
Beach: .6 to Cow Yard, 1 to Claflin, 1.8 to Lighthouse
Guest Reviews: 15 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Mary Cavanaugh
Contact Mary Cavanaugh, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (708) 334-5472 (cell).
Please mention Property ID# 25878 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
15 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Lovely Home

My family of 12 thoroughly enjoyed staying at your lovely home. Highlights were: 1) the fabulous kitchen and accompanying dining room with a table that allowed us all to sit together 2) the fire-pit on the deck where many late night conversations took place, and 3) the ping pong table where a ping pong tournament was held every night culminating in a championship battle on our last night! Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Member since Jan 2014
Fantastic Experience

Our two week stay was fabulous. Our family (two adults and five children), thoroughly enjoyed this lovely home. The layout was perfect for our family; younger kids, older kids and adults all had their own spaces, yet there was ample room in the kitchen and family rooms for us all to spend time together. My husband and I shared the first floor master suite, and our seven year old slept in the room right next door. The teenagers all had their own spaces upstairs. The five bathrooms—and outdoor shower—made quick work of post-beach cleanup. The older kids enjoyed the upstairs family room (with gorgeous views) and bedrooms, while my husband and I could sit on the bluestone patio or relax in the first floor family room. We spent nearly every night together around the fire pit making s'mores and enjoying the view, while my oldest played piano. There was a great selection of music from current musicals—we enjoyed signing along to tunes from Wicked and Les Mis! Additionally, we cooked dinner at home most evenings in the beautifully appointed kitchen and using the outdoor grill. The kids also spent a lot of time playing pool and ping pong. We all enjoyed the various board games—with many options for all ages.

One of my favorite aspects of the home was the vast array of books—so many different types of materials. Books for young children, tweens, adult fiction non-fiction, and many best-sellers! First rate kitchen, beautiful indoor and outdoor spaces, and great flow. We also loved having the beach towels and beach chairs (12 of each), as well as the umbrella and beach toys. It seems that Mary has thought of everything! She was also great about checking in, and so helpful with recommendations from restaurants, to local beaches, to the best place to get fresh fish. We were sad to leave, but are already looking forward to returning.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Acton, MA
Member since Aug 2019
Beautiful home

We rented the home for our sons wedding in Chatham. Not being form the area, we didn't know what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised. The house was modern, tasteful decorated, spacious and clean! We wish we had more time to spend at the house enjoying the fire pit, pool/ping-ping/table, and outside kitchen. It was a perfect space for the groomsmen to get ready for the big day. Thank you, Mary! We will recommend the house to all our friends.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Chester Springs, PA
Member since Jan 2018
Gorgeous, kid-friendly home!

Our family of 9 thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful, spacious home. We often cooked in the well-stocked kitchen and on the gas grill. The fresh seafood market is close by and offers many just-caught choices. We really liked the large kitchen table - great for dining together as well as playing games. Had fun playing ping pong in the basement and both TVs offer tons of channels.

Plenty of privacy for a family or group of friends, it's peaceful and very kid-friendly. Great to have a fire pit for chilly evenings and you can't beat the amazing views from the patio and balcony.

All linens are high-end and it was nice to have all the beach towels, chairs, etc.
Chatham is such a pretty town, filled with shops and delicious food choices. We visited several of the beaches, and bike rental is just nearby.

We spent a fun day exploring Nantucket with easy ferry rides nearby. Worth going if you haven't visited. It's a beautiful island with quaint shops, delicious seafood, plenty of beaches & amazing views.

The owners are great to work with - attentive, responsive and very accommodating. So nice having the Peapod grocery order delivered and everything put away before we arrived.
We highly recommend this lovely home and would definitely come back. Overall fantastic family vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Kernersville, NC
Member since Aug 2018
Excellent Rental

We had a wonderful stay in this property. We were with our grownup children and their partners.

There is great space and flow to this house, which really adds to the success of the stay. It is modern and very clean. The photos are a true reflection of the property. There were enough reception rooms for people to have their own down time. We loved the big kitchen/dining - had great family meals around the big table. We also loved having the bbq and fire pit on the patio - both of which we availed of a lot.

The only downside is the ~30 minute walk to town or Lighthouse Beach. That said, it wouldn't put us off renting again as the house is so great. It was a pleasure working with Mary for all matters concerning the rental. I would strongly recommend this house.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Bernadette, We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our home, and thank you for your kind review. Regarding the distance to town, we double checked the mileage, and we are exactly 1.2 miles from the circle on Main Street and 1.8 miles to Lighthouse Beach. Our listing is now clearer about those distances, and we’re sorry if there was any misunderstanding about how far they are from us.

Hope to see you again in 2019

Old Greenwich, CT
Member since Sep 2018
Exceptional home with a view of the ocean and plenty of space

We recently spent 2 weeks at Mary and Marty's North Chatham house and thoroughly enjoyed this well appointed spacious home. The house has two large living rooms and two master bedrooms - all with incredible views. The kitchen (with 2 dishwashers, a sub-Zero fridge/freezer, a Wolf oven, and 2 built-in refrigerated drawers) was a pleasure to cook in - plenty of room for family members to gather in the kitchen while meals were prepared. We have been coming to the Cape for family vacations for the past 20+ years, and this is definitely one of the nicest houses we have stayed in. Highly recommend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Atlanta, GA
Member since Feb 2008
Perfect

I can't say enough about our wonderful stay. The house is stunning and impeccably kept. We had 10 family members, and we never felt like we were on top of each other. A beautiful gourmet kitchen that we used many evenings to cook large family dinners. We also enjoyed the amazing fire pit at night. The bathrooms were beautiful and spacious. The owner also provided beach towels and beach chairs that accommodated all of us. Hope we can return next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Bethlehem, PA
Member since Jul 2018
Fabulous rental

We rented the house over July 4th and loved the property. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the new renovations gave it a very clean feeling. The back yard view is breathtaking and we loved sitting by the fire pit and enjoying the evening. We’d highly recommend this house as a vacation spot within walking distance to downtown.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Pompano Beach, FL
Member since Jul 2018
Week in Chatham

We had a great week in Chatham! The house is beautiful, clean and updated with views of the water. In a quiet setting, but still within walking or biking distance to town and Lighthouse Beach. The owners are super nice and easy to work with!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Owner Response:

Glad you enjoyed your stay Carol.

Hope to see you all again next summer.

Best,

Mary

Wellesley Hills, MA, Usa
Member since Feb 2017
Family Vacation

This was a fantastic home that was beautifully maintained and appointed. It had every amenity you could need for a family vacation spanning three generations. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a luxurious and relaxing summer vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Member since Dec 2016
Priceless

Huge gourmet kitchen to prepare meals together.
Beautiful deck to watch outdoor movies under the stars.
Bedroom suites for everyone.
An amazing home in Chatham for our entire family to gather.
Memories made to treasure for a lifetime...Priceless!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Owner Response:

Hi Tiffany,

So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in Chatham and our home. You are welcome back anytime.

Best,

Mary

Ridgewood, NJ
Member since Sep 2017
Beautiful House, Gorgeous Views, Perfect for 2 Families

My brother and I rented this house with our families. The house is beautifully redone on a quiet street. We ended up eating in most nights because it was so fun to cook in the gorgeous gourmet kitchen, which is stocked with tons of dishes, 2 sets of silverware, 2 dishwashers and a great range. We also made good use of the amazing Sabre outdoor grill! The house has every amenity you could hope for between radiant heat in the bathrooms and mudroom, a large washer and dryer, an outdoor shower, multi zone air-conditioning, 2 master suites, an outdoor gas fire pit, a basement play space for the kids and an amazing view! It is a quick drive into town and to the public beaches. I highly recommend it!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Wellesley, MA
Member since Jun 2016
Goodbye Trip with friends

We have been vacationing on the Cape for almost a decade with our two children. We often bring family, but this was our first trip with friends. We were a large party and wanted a very nice, relaxing holiday. Mary's house is beautiful, clean and had all amenities. We had a wonderful time and hope to rent the house again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
New Canaan, CT
Member since Feb 2010
Fabulous Big Chill Weekend!

Ten of us got together for a friend's 50th birthday party weekend, and we couldn't have chosen a better location than 107 Captains Walk! The house is spectacular, the ocean views are amazing, and the short distance to downtown Chatham encouraged us to get up and enjoy long walks on beautiful fall mornings. Although we were very close to lots of great restaurants, we made most meals at home in the newly remodeled kitchen. The house is big enough to accommodate those with differing interests, so while some of us were upstairs watching the baseball playoff games, non-baseball fans were downstairs enjoying other activities. My favorite part of the house was the outdoor fire pit where we spent many evening hours catching up and reminiscing. This was like a home away from home and I definitely hope to get to Chatham soon and stay there again.

Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Oak Park, IL
Member since Apr 2016
Summertime in Chatham!

This house is awesome! It has everything you could possibly need for an amazing vacation – it’s beautifully appointed and has brand new amenities. The location is ideal - Chatham’s movie theater is charming and the local restaurants have delicious fare, not to mention the fish pier where we were able to buy fish that had just come out of the water to grill back at the house! We spent sunsets out on the patio watching the stars come out – identifying constellations and looking for satellites – sitting by the fire pit. We’re from Chicago so the pitch dark of the night and the quiet of the days were a welcome respite for us. We can’t wait to get back to Captains Walk!

Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: May 2016
Chicago, IL
Member since May 2016