Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Great EsCape: Spacious 3 bed home near Forrest Beach

South Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 28468
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 2 queens, 2 twins, 1 futon
Beach: .8 miles from (free parking) Forest Beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 3 years
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Escape!

Absolutely great house! There was so much space. Everything you needed for a great vacation was available (towels, linens, spices, paper towels, dishwasher soap, washing machine detergent). It was so well stocked! I loved coming in to a house ready to enjoy our vacation! The beds were already made!

The house is set back and really private. I loved the location. Close to many places to eat, the beach, and a great place to walk our dogs (loved Thompson's field). The owners were great to work with. They thought of everything! I can't wait to come back. Thank you for everything!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Beverly, MA
Member since Jun 2009
Truly a "Great esCape"!

This is a beautifully maintained home and was spotless upon our arrival. It is warm and welcoming and we immediately felt right at home. The kitchen is stalked with all essentials needed to cook with updated appliances. it has a good size deck with a table and chairs that we enjoyed in the evenings as well as a gas grill. The descriptions of the home and the rooms are accurate, the set up worked out every well as we traveled with our young adult children. They shared the up stairs while my husband and I had the down stairs bedroom and bathroom. There is good size laundry room that also allowed a space for us to crate our dogs while we were out. I also want to mention that renting this property and communicating with the owners was simple and straight forward. Having looked for many weeks for a rental house in this location I can say it is priced very fair. The only down fall was that we had to leave. We are looking forward to renting this property again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Member since Jun 2020
Chatham House

House was perfect! Kids pretty much had full run upstairs which they loved. I really can't think of anything to improve that house....Other than guarantee perfect beach weather. We're just sad the week is over. So happy we were able to stay. We had a great week.!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Westwood, MA
Member since Jul 2020
Loved our stay at this cottage!

Our family of 4 adults, 2 young children and 2 dogs were totally comfortable in every way at the Great EsCape Cottage near Forrest Beach. The cottage was very clean and everything we needed except food and drink was provided. The layout was just right for our family and our dogs loved sitting on the deck. Aware that the pandemic is limiting what visitors can do, Lisa and John were helpful, answering our questions quickly and providing us with ideas for activities and information on the area beaches and trails.

The cottage is on Main Street but set way back so as not to be able to hear the traffic. It is very private.

We highly recommend this cottage for a casual Cape retreat.

Thanks to the owners!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: June 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for your review. We feel lucky that we had the chance to meet you during your stay. We loved having you and we are hopeful that you will return in the future. This year certainly has it's challenges, and I'm so glad that you found the house to be clean and that you enjoyed your time in Chatham.

We know that renters have many choices, and we are so glad that you found us!

Sudbury, MA
Member since Oct 2020

We enjoyed our stay. Everything was clean, neat and comfortable. Quick response to our questions. Great location. Would definitely return next year.

Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: June 2020
Rebecca P
Rochester, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

My family of 4 (2 kids under 7) traveled here because we wanted to be be closer to Chatham. The house was big, clean, and had everything we needed. Even though it is off the main road, it is so far back that it is quiet and safe. AC in every bedroom and in the family room was a plus. The outdoor shower was really nice. We would stay here again. John was very responsive and really cared about our stay. Also.. the grill is clean and worked great!

Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: June 2020
David B
West Springfield, VA
(Homeowner Entered)
Perfect Getaway

My family (complete with three small children) stayed here last summer and loved it. The house was extremely clean, spacious and accommodating. The family room was comfortable and the deck was relaxing. We used the over-sized upstairs bedrooms and bathroom, leaving an entire bedroom and bathroom to spare downstairs. We loved the outdoor shower and the very safe private lot. The house is set far back from Main Street, with plantings and a long driveway/road leading up to the house. It was quiet and peaceful. I highly recommend this house to anyone with kids, families with teenagers, and parties who want to have room to spread out.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: June 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you Katie for your kind review. We agree that this is a great house for families of any size. You and your family were wonderful guests. We hope that you'll remember us for future stays!

Westwood, MA
Member since Mar 2018
Perfect Fit

Over the past 10 years, we have been looking for the summer rental home that suits all our needs. We travel with 3 kids, 2 adults and 2 grandparents. We finally found it! This house has the perfect layout for a comfortable stay for 7 people, privacy for one family on one floor and a bedroom with a full bath on the main level. Additionally, there are thoughtful amenities that make staying here a total hit with everyone.

The bedrooms are large and airy, the kids have plenty of space to run around and play with each other and all their stuff. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are big and clean, there is a tub as well as an outdoor shower that makes everything much easier. The kitchen is stocked with all of the pots, pans, grilling and serving items that would be needed for pretty much anything. The house is clean and not cluttered with all of the things that are cute in Cape Cod, but in reality, need to be hidden from kids. The laundry room has large and updated appliances. Linens, towels and beach chairs are all supplied so that you don't have to drag them with you. The owner and owner's family are quick to respond if there is an issue, or if you accidentally get locked out! It is close to many beaches, to the center of town, to Route 6 and to the supermarket. Though on the main street, you would never know it as it is set so far back you can't tell. It is the first place that we have returned to, and the first time that we have booked multiple weeks. It works well for us, I would without hesitation recommend this rental to anyone who is looking to visit lovely Chatham.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Owner Response:

Peggy - You are our on of our best repeat customers and we love having you visit time and time again. Thank you for the awesome review and we'll see you soon for your 2020 vacation!

Westwood, MA
Member since Aug 2014

Great beach home with nice amenities...the space was exactly as advertised, sparkling clean on arrival, and plenty of space for our 6 people (3 couples). The outdoor deck, grill, and outdoor shower added extra space for hanging out. John was quick to reply to our inquiries and friendly in communication. Would definitely stay again.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: June 2020
Greg P
Quincy, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was in a great location and spotless clean. Everything we needed in the kitchen. Set just a little back from the road so great privacy. Host was quick to answer my questions, Just an overall good experience. Oh and the Cape was amazing if you haven't ever been here!

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: June 2020
Rhonda G
Stilwel, OK
(Homeowner Entered)

House was is great location, very upscale feel and communication with home owner was perfect. Would recommend and stay at this location again.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2020
Brent F
Beaumont, TX
(Homeowner Entered)