Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Quaint ranch w/conservatory deck patio near Great Pond beach
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 26749

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 4/10 mi Great Pond, 1st Encounter Bay Beach 1 m
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Robert &/or Elaine Gale
Contact Robert &/or Elaine Gale, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (860) 930-6590 (Elaine cell), (860) 521-2410 (CT home).
Please mention Property ID# 26749 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
A wonderful house in a fantastic location.

My family and I travelled from the UK for a holiday with Cape Cod based friends and family. This property was perfect for us. It was very clean and comfortable and with a well equipped kitchen. It is in a great location for both Great Pond beaches and First Encounter beach, as well as being right on the bike path. We hardly used the car, but having traffic lights onto a very busy Route 6 at the end of the road is very useful, especially in peak season. We will certainly be looking to stay here again on our next visit.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you, James. We are grateful for your kind comments and very pleased that your visit to our country was memorable. Please do look us up when you return. Kindest regards, Bob and Elaine Gale

Member since Aug 2017
This place has everything! Location, amenities, cleanliness!

This was our second stay at Gale's Haven, and we enjoyed it as well as the first time. Your home is the perfect setting for my family. We love the location which provides easy access to both the bay and the ocean. A fully equipped kitchen, three bedrooms (comfy beds!), an open floor plan, washer and dryer, and that glorious sun/star room are everything we need. The décor really makes you feel as though you're in a true beach cottage. As I've said, we would not think of staying anywhere else on our future trips to the Cape. Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Jul 2016
Gale's Haven

We have been staying at our "home away from home" for over 10 years. The property is immaculate, the atmosphere is nothing but relaxing, and the location is close to fine dining, sunsets and steps away to the bike trail.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: May 2017
Owner Response:

It has been great having you and your family as renters, Joan. Enjoy your 2017 stay. May your new memories be the best yet! Elaine and Bob Gale




Windsor Locks, CT
Member since May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Gale's Haven. The owners were great to work with. We loved the conservatory and the outdoor shower. The house is less than a minute away from the Cape Cod Rail Trail so we were able to enjoy some fantastic bike rides. We biked to Marconi Beach in Wellfleet, Arnold's for ice cream and mini-golf in Eastham, Orleans for mini-golf, and Brewster to visit some friends. A friend of our has a boat and several lobster traps so we were able to spend a day on the water and collected 12 good size lobsters! We also spent several days on different bay and ocean-side beaches. We saw 11 seals one evening at Nausett Light Beach quite close to the shore! Our favorite bayside beach was Kingsbury (about a mile away). There's no public parking so it's not overly crowded. Walking is not too hard but requires sneakers and a backpack for beach gear and drinks or we did the drop off using the car then my husband used his bike to get back and forth. The Ice Cream Truck came by in afternoon for a yummy treat. In our downtime at the house, we played family board games, built puzzles, read books, and watched "Shark Week" On Demand.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2016
Michelle M
(Homeowner Entered)

We can't say enough good things about Gale's Haven, it was truly the best spot to enjoy all of our favorite Eastham and outer cape activities. We very much enjoyed being so centrally located and were able to bike most everywhere from Arnolds, to Coast Guard Beach and First Encounter Beach as well as to the town center/Eastham Windmill green for concerts and the arts show. The house is a quick drive to Wellfleet, P-town and Orleans as well. Also, the house is beautiful, warm and inviting, the pictures do not reflect how well cared for this home is, and the Gale's were a pleasure to interact with. We look forward to future stays here at Gale's Haven when we visit the cape.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2016
Kristen S
(Homeowner Entered)

We just completed a week's stay here and can't wait to go back. We often vacation on the Cape, and this year rented this lovely ranch home with all the comforts one would want. The kitchen was very well equipped. We wanted for nothing! The living and dining rooms are a nice size, and very open. The bedrooms were well-equipped with bureaus and closets, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom included a full shower as well as a washer and dryer, which came in handy with my two grandchildren along.

Our favorite room, however, was the 'Sun & Star' room filled with windows off the dining room. We spent time here for our morning cofffee, as well as after dark to see all the stars. What a beautiful addition to the home!

The entire home is decorated in 'beach style', and gave us a true feeling of being at a beach home.

The location was also perfect! A short walk to Great Pond, and a short drive to the Bay. Just perfect!

My family and I are still missing the morning coffee hour - one week later we're still talking about it with very fond memories.

Thank you to the Gale's for a vacation week that will go down as one of our all-time favorites!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2016
Anna M
(Homeowner Entered)

Spotlessly clean family home, wonderful large deck and backyard. Short walk to Great Pond for swimming, short bike ride to bayside beaches or center of Orleans. The bedrooms are comfortable, the AC works well, helpful to have laundry machine on the first floor. Large living room with additional sun room for reading or quiet meals. Perfect place for a family vacation. We would certainly stay here again.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2016
Emma S
(Homeowner Entered)

Our first family vacation with our 1 and 2 year old girls was a success. This house is very close to the freshwater pond which the kids LOVED, and a very short drive any of the area beaches.

The home itself is very clean and well maintained with a beautiful and large family/dining room, conservatory, deck, and large grassy yard. We immediately felt at home and found everything we needed for an enjoyable week.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2016
Rob G
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I and our four (now adult) children have been renting on the Cape for many years. We've stayed at a number of lovely places, but Gale's Haven is our new favorite. This home is immaculately clean, well-stocked, and expansive. The latter is due to the high ceilings of the great room, and the openness of the conservatory with its glass walls and ceiling. This is a lovely room to sit and talk, or read a book. Even though the early June weather included occasional drenching rains, we even enjoyed these days listening to and watching the rain as we sat in this beautiful open room. Although we usually rent on the ocean side of Eastham, we discovered that there is much to recommend the bay side--at least with this property. It is perfectly situated for long walks around nearby lakes, or to at least two bay beaches, and the wonderful little Eastham library with Wi-Fi is very close. Getting to the National Seashore was incredibly easy by car and since we always do this anyway--too many items to transport!--this was not a problem. The home is very close to everyone's favorite restaurant Arnold's, and within walking distance of many of the other local establishments that we always frequent (but whose names I may get wrong). There's a wonderful little donut shop (Hole in the Wall?), a chocolate cafe, an ice cream store, the LunchBox, and a general store in the area. On the other hand, there's a real sense of privacy here which we loved! Everything was convenient, but the home felt incredibly private, quiet, and welcoming. We did share our vacation with a woodpecker who had taken up residence in the woods behind the house, but we found him delightful! Although the three bedrooms in this home are not large, they were perfectly serviceable and provided plenty of storage space. We absolutely loved the outdoor shower and made use of it on a regular basis. Finally, Gale and Bob were wonderful owners and "hosts," and though we never met them in person, our communications with them with warm, professional, and welcoming. We recommend this rental property happily and with enthusiasm!

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: July 2016
Kathryn S
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family of five (2 parents plus a six-year-old, and four-year-old twins) LOVED spending our vacation at this property. The house is well-maintained, spacious, homey, well-furnished, and perfect for a family (or group of friends). The yard is grassy and large (great for energetic kids, or an afternoon barbeque), and the house is within easy walking distance to Great Pond -- a great place for sand/swim. It's also just minutes from the National Seashore, so ocean beach time is just a quick drive across Route 6. The property is centrally located, making day trips to anywhere on the Cape really easy. We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the Cape, and our stay in Gale's Haven made our vacation that much more enjoyable.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2016
Maggie Y
(Homeowner Entered)

We have been staying at this "home away from home" for over 7 years. The outdoor shower is perfect for the kids to wash when we get back from Great Pond or The National Seashore! The bike trail is so close that we use it everyday during our vacation! The sunroom is lovely to sit in for our first cup of coffee in the morning or looking at the stars at night. We would recommend this property to anyone because it is extremely well-maintained, spotless, and affordable!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2016
Joan H
(Homeowner Entered)