Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Quaint ranch w/conservatory deck patio near Great Pond beach
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 26749

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 4/10 mi Great Pond, 1st Encounter Bay Beach 1 m
Guest Reviews: 18 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Robert &/or Elaine Gale
Contact Robert &/or Elaine Gale, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (860) 930-6590 (Elaine cell), (860) 521-2410 (CT home).
Please mention Property ID# 26749 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
18 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Just Perfect!

We've been back to Gale's Haven several times. We have become accustomed to having just what we need, and this wonderful home gives us just that! Kitchen is fully equipped! Three sizable bedrooms. Bathroom with washer and dryer is a plus. Location of this home is also perfect for our needs. A short drive to either the bay or ocean. Finally, Elaine and Bob have been very responsive to our inquiries. We couldn't ask for anything more. We would recommend this beautiful home time and time again! Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Member since Jul 2016
Beach Vacation

I have been vacationing at the Cape for over 30 years. We have been so pleased to find this home to enjoy our stay for the past three years.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Cheshire, CT
Member since Oct 2016
Gales Haven

We have stayed 2 times at Gales Haven and have our third week booked for next summer. We love everything about the home and the location. It has exactly what we need for our family which includes 2 young children. We love the glass room and the outdoor space including shower. The inside is clean and has the perfect amount of room for eating, cooking and relaxing. We love that the home is close to the bay, Great Pond, the bike trail , multiple ocean beaches, and restaurants.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Honeoye Falls, NY
Member since Oct 2018
Annual vacation rental home

We have been staying here every year for 15 years. This is our “home away from home.” It is close to the bike trail, pond and the National Seashore. The outdoor shower and sunroom are extra bonuses to the property. We truly enjoy our vacation here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Windsor Locks, CT
Member since May 2017
A wonderful house in a fantastic location.

My family and I travelled from the UK for a holiday with Cape Cod based friends and family. This property was perfect for us. It was very clean and comfortable and with a well equipped kitchen. It is in a great location for both Great Pond beaches and First Encounter beach, as well as being right on the bike path. We hardly used the car, but having traffic lights onto a very busy Route 6 at the end of the road is very useful, especially in peak season. We will certainly be looking to stay here again on our next visit.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you, James. We are grateful for your kind comments and very pleased that your visit to our country was memorable. Please do look us up when you return. Kindest regards, Bob and Elaine Gale

Member since Aug 2017
Another great year at Gale's Haven

This was our second stay at Gale's Haven, and our 14th summer vacation in Eastham. The home and property are very well kept. It had everything our family and I could hope for in a vacation location. The house has enough room to sleep our family of 5, and our children (ages 3, 5, and 9) love going to "The Beach House." They play in the yard and on the deck, and have a great time when we're not at the beach. On colder or rainy days, they had fun playing board games in the solarium.

The home is located just a quick drive to any of the Cape Code National Seashore beaches, and some bayside beaches. Our favorite beach, Nauset Light, is just a quick ride. There is also easy access to the Cape Cod Rail Trail less than 200 yards down the street, for walks with the kids, or morning runs for my wife and and I. The Cape Cod National Seashore Vistors' Center and its nature trails or the local elementary school and its playgrounds (again, for the kids), and even miniature golf, seafood, and (our favorite) ice cream at Arnold's are all just s short walk from the home (and an even shorter drive).

The owners are gracious and quite helpful. We will continue to come back as long as we can. We love the quietness of Eastham, and the ease of getting to everything on the Outer Cape. Gale's Haven is the perfect home away from home for our family's summer vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you, Chris, for taking time to share your memories while staying at Gale's Haven. It is rewarding to us to know that our efforts to extend hospitality to our guests is appreciated. We look forward to your returning.

Cheshire, CT
Member since Oct 2016
What a GEM!!

My family has been visiting Eastham for 14 years now and we came across this absolute GEM. Perfect size for a family of 4-6 with a huge driveway and backyard. Very well maintained both inside and out. Nice quiet lot. Outside shower. Just a few short pedals from the bike path and a quick bike ride to both the bay and Coast Guard Beach. Beautiful "sun room" for a nice nap after being in the sun all day. Nice open floor plan. Has everything you need to relax and enjoy yourself on your vacation in Eastham.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
Glastonbury, CT
Member since Feb 2016
A Wonderful Week!

My wife and I had the most enjoyable week in Gale's Haven in mid June 2017. We celebrated our 10 wedding anniversary there. What a wonderful home! It is relaxing, beautiful, well-cared for, and located in the perfect setting. The great room and the conservatory are the most enjoyable settings to have coffee in the morning after watching the sun rise, or having wine in the evening before and after sunset! The outdoor shower is fabulous too! I would love to have one installed in our home in New Jersey.

You will love this charming home. The owners have thought of everything to make your vacation wonderful! And the Cape is spectacular of course. Eastham has the ocean and bay beaches. Provincetown, Wellfleet, and Chatham are all very close, as well as every other town on the Cape. It is perfect! I want to move there!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you, John and Claudia...it was a pleasure meeting and renting to you.

Califon, NJ
Member since Jan 2018
This place has everything! Location, amenities, cleanliness!

This was our second stay at Gale's Haven, and we enjoyed it as well as the first time. Your home is the perfect setting for my family. We love the location which provides easy access to both the bay and the ocean. A fully equipped kitchen, three bedrooms (comfy beds!), an open floor plan, washer and dryer, and that glorious sun/star room are everything we need. The décor really makes you feel as though you're in a true beach cottage. As I've said, we would not think of staying anywhere else on our future trips to the Cape. Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Jul 2016
Gale's Haven

We have been staying at our "home away from home" for over 10 years. The property is immaculate, the atmosphere is nothing but relaxing, and the location is close to fine dining, sunsets and steps away to the bike trail.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: May 2017
Owner Response:

It has been great having you and your family as renters, Joan. Enjoy your 2017 stay. May your new memories be the best yet! Elaine and Bob Gale




Windsor Locks, CT
Member since May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Gale's Haven. The owners were great to work with. We loved the conservatory and the outdoor shower. The house is less than a minute away from the Cape Cod Rail Trail so we were able to enjoy some fantastic bike rides. We biked to Marconi Beach in Wellfleet, Arnold's for ice cream and mini-golf in Eastham, Orleans for mini-golf, and Brewster to visit some friends. A friend of our has a boat and several lobster traps so we were able to spend a day on the water and collected 12 good size lobsters! We also spent several days on different bay and ocean-side beaches. We saw 11 seals one evening at Nausett Light Beach quite close to the shore! Our favorite bayside beach was Kingsbury (about a mile away). There's no public parking so it's not overly crowded. Walking is not too hard but requires sneakers and a backpack for beach gear and drinks or we did the drop off using the car then my husband used his bike to get back and forth. The Ice Cream Truck came by in afternoon for a yummy treat. In our downtime at the house, we played family board games, built puzzles, read books, and watched "Shark Week" On Demand.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2016
Michelle M
(Homeowner Entered)

We can't say enough good things about Gale's Haven, it was truly the best spot to enjoy all of our favorite Eastham and outer cape activities. We very much enjoyed being so centrally located and were able to bike most everywhere from Arnolds, to Coast Guard Beach and First Encounter Beach as well as to the town center/Eastham Windmill green for concerts and the arts show. The house is a quick drive to Wellfleet, P-town and Orleans as well. Also, the house is beautiful, warm and inviting, the pictures do not reflect how well cared for this home is, and the Gale's were a pleasure to interact with. We look forward to future stays here at Gale's Haven when we visit the cape.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2016
Kristen S
(Homeowner Entered)

We just completed a week's stay here and can't wait to go back. We often vacation on the Cape, and this year rented this lovely ranch home with all the comforts one would want. The kitchen was very well equipped. We wanted for nothing! The living and dining rooms are a nice size, and very open. The bedrooms were well-equipped with bureaus and closets, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom included a full shower as well as a washer and dryer, which came in handy with my two grandchildren along.

Our favorite room, however, was the 'Sun & Star' room filled with windows off the dining room. We spent time here for our morning cofffee, as well as after dark to see all the stars. What a beautiful addition to the home!

The entire home is decorated in 'beach style', and gave us a true feeling of being at a beach home.

The location was also perfect! A short walk to Great Pond, and a short drive to the Bay. Just perfect!

My family and I are still missing the morning coffee hour - one week later we're still talking about it with very fond memories.

Thank you to the Gale's for a vacation week that will go down as one of our all-time favorites!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2016
Anna M
(Homeowner Entered)

Spotlessly clean family home, wonderful large deck and backyard. Short walk to Great Pond for swimming, short bike ride to bayside beaches or center of Orleans. The bedrooms are comfortable, the AC works well, helpful to have laundry machine on the first floor. Large living room with additional sun room for reading or quiet meals. Perfect place for a family vacation. We would certainly stay here again.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2016
Emma S
(Homeowner Entered)

Our first family vacation with our 1 and 2 year old girls was a success. This house is very close to the freshwater pond which the kids LOVED, and a very short drive any of the area beaches.

The home itself is very clean and well maintained with a beautiful and large family/dining room, conservatory, deck, and large grassy yard. We immediately felt at home and found everything we needed for an enjoyable week.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2016
Rob G
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I and our four (now adult) children have been renting on the Cape for many years. We've stayed at a number of lovely places, but Gale's Haven is our new favorite. This home is immaculately clean, well-stocked, and expansive. The latter is due to the high ceilings of the great room, and the openness of the conservatory with its glass walls and ceiling. This is a lovely room to sit and talk, or read a book. Even though the early June weather included occasional drenching rains, we even enjoyed these days listening to and watching the rain as we sat in this beautiful open room. Although we usually rent on the ocean side of Eastham, we discovered that there is much to recommend the bay side--at least with this property. It is perfectly situated for long walks around nearby lakes, or to at least two bay beaches, and the wonderful little Eastham library with Wi-Fi is very close. Getting to the National Seashore was incredibly easy by car and since we always do this anyway--too many items to transport!--this was not a problem. The home is very close to everyone's favorite restaurant Arnold's, and within walking distance of many of the other local establishments that we always frequent (but whose names I may get wrong). There's a wonderful little donut shop (Hole in the Wall?), a chocolate cafe, an ice cream store, the LunchBox, and a general store in the area. On the other hand, there's a real sense of privacy here which we loved! Everything was convenient, but the home felt incredibly private, quiet, and welcoming. We did share our vacation with a woodpecker who had taken up residence in the woods behind the house, but we found him delightful! Although the three bedrooms in this home are not large, they were perfectly serviceable and provided plenty of storage space. We absolutely loved the outdoor shower and made use of it on a regular basis. Finally, Gale and Bob were wonderful owners and "hosts," and though we never met them in person, our communications with them with warm, professional, and welcoming. We recommend this rental property happily and with enthusiasm!

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: July 2016
Kathryn S
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family of five (2 parents plus a six-year-old, and four-year-old twins) LOVED spending our vacation at this property. The house is well-maintained, spacious, homey, well-furnished, and perfect for a family (or group of friends). The yard is grassy and large (great for energetic kids, or an afternoon barbeque), and the house is within easy walking distance to Great Pond -- a great place for sand/swim. It's also just minutes from the National Seashore, so ocean beach time is just a quick drive across Route 6. The property is centrally located, making day trips to anywhere on the Cape really easy. We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the Cape, and our stay in Gale's Haven made our vacation that much more enjoyable.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2016
Maggie Y
(Homeowner Entered)

We have been staying at this "home away from home" for over 7 years. The outdoor shower is perfect for the kids to wash when we get back from Great Pond or The National Seashore! The bike trail is so close that we use it everyday during our vacation! The sunroom is lovely to sit in for our first cup of coffee in the morning or looking at the stars at night. We would recommend this property to anyone because it is extremely well-maintained, spotless, and affordable!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2016
Joan H
(Homeowner Entered)