Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Large Private Yard; Walk to Beach on Nantucket Sound

West Harwich Vacation Rental - ID 24224
3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 1 queen, 4 twins
Beach: 1/2 mile walk to Belmont Road Beach
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 10 months
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Getaway

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful, quaint cottage for five days. The house is comfortable and clean. The washer and dryer were a plus! There is a nice large deck in the spacious backyard which has a grill and an outdoor shower. We were able to walk to the beach and drive to nearby restaurants and stores. The neighborhood itself is quiet and great for taking walks. We will definitely be coming back next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Jamaica, NY
Member since Sep 2020
Perfect vacation home!!

I decided to book a last-minute stay. This home was perfect for myself and my five kids we had plenty of room plus a beautiful backyard where the kids could run and play. We were also able to walk to the beach. Although it appears to be a busier road we had no problem walking or coming back as they were only four or five cars that passed us. This home was perfect for myself and my five kids we had plenty of room plus a beautiful backyard where the kids could run and play. We were also able to walk to the beach. Although it appears to be a busier road we had no problem walking or coming back as there were only four or five cars that passed us. Once we got to the beach we couldn't believe how beautiful it was and what a perfect area we have rented in. I absolutely look forward to renting again next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Dighton, MA
Member since Jul 2020
We regret booking this rental

We'll keep it simple: the photos advertising this rental did not match what we found. As soon as we arrived, we saw trash/debris on the driveway. The front door did not have a latch to secure the screen door, and there was duct tape attempting to cover up a gash in the screen as well as staining on the screen door. The window to the left of the door had a large hole in it, and there was tape attempting to cover that. The windows appeared inoperable to us. The back deck table did not match the photo posted on the website—the table was covered in rust. In addition to a couple of hamburger buns strewn in the back yard, there was various trash items (used Band-aid and paper towels). That was all before we went in.

You can read our ratings down below, but the other challenge for us was that there was a pervasive odor (not the typical Cape Cod cottage mildew smell) that we could not remedy after turning on the air conditioners and attempting to open the few windows which were operable and whose screens didn't have holes in them. The living room ceiling paint was peeling off, and many of the windows were grimy. One of the twin beds our son was going to sleep in was very rickety, and there were stains on the queen bedspread.

The bathroom and kitchen were in good condition.

We have rented via Weneedavacation.com and from other agencies on the Cape, and never had any issues. We called the owner, and she said she was surprised by our feedback. We told her we couldn't stay at the rental, particularly due to the odor. She offered to send the cleaning lady and a handyman to remedy what we reported to her, but to us, a visit from the cleaning lady wasn't going to fix the big concerns we had between the website photos and what we saw and smelled.

We were left with no reasonable alternative but to leave the rental after a couple of hours and ask for our money back. (We didn't get it back.) We had to scramble to find and pay for other lodging, so now we've paid twice what we budgeted for our vacation. This experience has ruined our vacation and cost us much more than expected.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Owner Response:

We were sorry to hear that this guest was disappointed in our home. This is the first complaint that we have had in the 5 years that we've been renting it through this website, and we've had many other happy guests this summer.

When he initially contacted us with the issues, I offered to send back both our cleaners and our caretaker to resolve any issues, but the guest refused the offer. When I asked them, both the caretaker and cleaners reported that they had not noticed an unusual odor when they were there just prior to the guests' check-in.

The guest had asked for an early check-in, which I allowed. He also asked to bring his two dogs, which I allowed with no additional fee.

Again, I'm sorry that this guest was disappointed, but I did everything I could to offer to resolve any issues.

Moultonborough, NH
Member since Jul 2019
Wonderful Week

We had a wonderful week at this Harwich property! The home was extremely comfortable, and we enjoyed spending time on the front porch as well as on the lovely deck in the back yard. The location was fantastic - a relatively easy walk to the beach, and also within walking distance to some great food options - Rorys, the Red Nun, and Buckies Biscotti Bakery and Cafe. We would definitely stay here again! Many thanks to Joan for being such a great host and for being so responsive!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Arlington, MA
Member since Jun 2020
Exceeded our expectations

We really enjoyed our stay on the Cape thanks to the comfortable, cozy accommodations at this house. We've stayed at other places on the Cape, but this will be the one we will try to return to next year. Private, yet near enough to the beach and shopping and a good value. Thank you !

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Yonkers, NY
Member since Sep 2020
Relaxing stay

We spent a wonderful week at this very clean cozy cottage!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Reading, MA
Member since May 2013
Labor Day

the house was nice and clean and very comfortable. Each room has an AC, which is a huge plus. Bathroom is small but new and comfortable with great shower pressure. We were very comfortable staying at this house.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Natick, MA
Member since Jul 2013
Great rental

This cottage is a great rental for guests looking to have easy access on the Cape. It is close to Rte 28 to get to places easily but far enough away that you are unaware of traffic. It is in a quiet neighborhood. It is within walking distance of the beach and riding distance of the bike trail. The washer and dryer are a wonderful benefit. There is a clothes line for drying as well.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Thomaston, CT
Member since Jan 2014
We Come Back Every Year!

Cozy house in great location in beautiful West Harwich. Walk/ bike to local beaches and bike to Cape Cod rail trail from house. Short drive to bay beaches in Dennis and Brewster. Corporation beach is our favorite. Chatham is 20 minutes up the road. Centrally located for Cape Cod league baseball games in Hawich and Yarmouth/ Dennis. Go Mariners! House is perfect for our family of 6. Plenty of beds and big backyard and deck. Owner has been a great resource for advice on things to do. We'll be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Pleasantville, NY
Member since Aug 2014
A Keeper

I have been renting this home on the Cape for over 15 years. This place is by far the BEST for the money!! It was clean, very roomy and conveniently located. The owners were very easy to work with. My only concern is that I won't be able to stay here again when I share this with others? Love the large back yard with deck and the outdoor shower -- always a must after a day at the beach. The washer and dryer were a huge bonus.The 4 twins and large master make it ideal for bringing the kids with friends. Overall one of the nicest places I've stayed. Can't wait to go back . May do two weeks next summer......

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Schenectady, NY
Member since Feb 2013
GREAT house!

We love this house! Great central location and nice beach at the end of the road. Plenty of room to spread out and the huge back deck/ yard is a big plus. We're out there every night. New bathroom and great outside shower. We can’t wait to go back in July!!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: April 2014
Boston, MA
Member since Apr 2014
Charming and quiet

Great place for a mid-Cape getaway. Comfortable accommodations, new bathroom, huge private backyard with deck. Fantastic location. Short walk to Belmont Road Beach or short bike ride to many other Sound beaches. Easy ride or drive to rail trail, kettle ponds, shopping, restaurants, etc.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: April 2014
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Apr 2014