Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

A Dream Vacation Getaway at Popponesset Beach, Mashpee
Mashpee, Popponesset Vacation Rental - ID 19678

3 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 queens, 2 twins, 1 sofa bed, 1 double futon in loft
Beach: 10 minute walk to a private Popponesset Beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 6 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Thomas and Jody McNamara
Contact Thomas and Jody McNamara, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (617) 742-0981 (Jody ).
Please mention Property ID# 19678 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
A perfect find in Popponesset!

A gem of a find in the quaint village of Popponesset! Absolutely perfect vacation we have had during our extended stay in September. The house itself is very comfortable with a large living area downstairs including two very comfortable sectionals. The kitchen was fully stocked with anything you might possibly need..I knew the minute I walked into this great home that Jody and Tom, the owners, were adamant about making their guests feel at home.

The first thing I noticed was the cleanliness of the home and the special touches that made it so much like home. The downstairs bedroom was large with comfortable bedding. A great master bath was located off the master bedroom downstairs. An additional half bath was also located on the first floor. Upstairs are two additional bedrooms of ample size and a loft area with a second TV.

We have vacationed on the Cape for many years and I have to say that this is the best home we have rented for so many reasons. The location is perfect, five-minute walk to the beach and five more minutes to a quaint Marketplace boasting several shops and eateries... the beaches were beautiful and quiet. Great location on the Cape for whatever direction you choose to venture to. The neighborhood is a great neighborhood to walk, and very scenic as you walk towards the beaches. We have a 10 year old Golden Retriever that we were fortunate enough to bring with us. The owners had no qualms about pets, a definite plus for all of us dog lovers who enjoy spending our vacations with our best friends!

Jody the owner was extremely accessible, although we had no issues or concerns. I feel fortunate to have found a great vacation home for all the reasons stated above and owners that are a pleasure to work with. We are looking forward to returning next year! Thank you, Jody and Tom!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Member since Jul 2017
A Perfect Vacation

After a long New York winter and stressful work and school year, my family and I needed to replenish with a fun and relaxing vacation (which is exactly what we got) . Cape Cod was our first choice, and Tom and Jody's house "sealed the deal." The house is simply perfect. The interior décor is warm, the rooms are spacious and the facilities are plentiful. The location is what vacation dreams are made of. The residents were friendly, the neighborhood was peaceful and everything you can possibly need was a short walk, jog or bike ride away.

Our most fun night out was dinner at the Raw Bar in the Popponesset Marketplace, a short walk from the house.....HUGE LOBSTER DINNERS for $20...and great ice cream for dessert. The weather was absolutely perfect and provided us with memorable outdoor adventures including daily beach visits, exploration of the world famous Cape Cod Bike Trails, hiking at local parks and fishing at Dean's Pond, where I caught a prize winning 8 lb Large Mouth (first time I ever caught a fish on vacation...) We loved everything about this house, Cape Cod and this Perfect Vacation. Thank you to Tom and Jody for being gracious, accessible hosts and we look forward to next year's Popponsset get away at your home....Thanks again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Rochester, NY
Member since May 2017
Wonderful house for a big family gathering

We rented the house on Memorial Day weekend for a wedding gathering. The house was very clean and well appointed, and the owners were very accessible and quickly answered any questions or requests we had. The large bedrooms accommodated our large family of nine, and we spent a lot of time lounging on the back deck. The house is about a 10 minute walk to the beach, which was beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Huntington, MA
Member since Jun 2017
1st new place in 9 years

Home is great with plenty of space for parents to entertain as well as the kids. A very relaxing place that is a short walk to great beach, and if the weather turns, a great place to enjoy time indoors as well.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Quincy, MA
Member since Jul 2016
Wonderful home to relax in - we wish we could have stayed longer

Thank you, Jody and Tom, for sharing your beautiful house with us. From the minute we arrived to when we left, you were always available to us. The layout of the first floor is so accommodating and comfortable. We especially appreciated the brand new couches as well as the large screen television over the fireplace. It was nice to be able to spread out in the living room and the sunroom.

The location is perfect for a short walk to the beach or a bike ride over to Popponesset Marketplace. The neighborhood is quiet and filled with lots of families. Everyone seems to take great pride in their homes.

Thank you also for allowing our golden doodle Mayzie to come along on vacation. She had fun too!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Amherst, MA
Member since Mar 2007
Great large house - some issues

Very large, lovely property. Unfortunately, communication was nonexistent after deposit paid. Had to reach out to owner to get instructions for entry day of rental. Had to put sheets on every bed myself and empty dishwasher. Also grill didnt work- was pretty beat up and when I let the owner know, they said, oh sorry you should have called us that week. Also 3 weeks later still haven't received security deposit back. Hounding them for it

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Although we were greatly disappointed with your review, we realize that feedback from our guests can be a valuable tool to help us improve our guests’ vacation experience.

We only wish we could have had the chance to make things right for you. Had you told us that the grill wasn’t working, we would have fixed or replaced it the next day. We have since replaced it.

We understand your frustration having to call us for instructions regarding check in. I did respond to you within an hour and extended an early check-in to you with which you graciously accepted.

Although we supply linens and towels, our cleaning staff does not have sufficient time to make up the beds. This is the first time any tenant has objected to this process.

We apologize that you had to empty the dishwasher and have spoken to our cleaning crew to make sure they check it in the future.

As stated in our rental agreement, the refundable damage deposit is due within 30 days of check out, and it was sent to you within that time period.

Thank you for your input to help us improve our vacation rental home for others.

Somerville, MA
Member since Feb 2013
Labor Day

I was recently given the opportunity to stay at this wonderful Cape Cod home for the long Labor Day weekend. Nestled in a little community called New Seabury, this home was just a short walk to the beautiful shore of Popponesset Beach.

A private community, New Seabury had everything the Cape is known for. My family and I luxuriated in the quiet and peaceful setting this Cape Cod home offers. On our arrival, we were pleasantly greeted into a well appointed and immaculately clean home. I refer to it as a home because I felt right at home the moment we walked in. We could not have been more elated to find we would be spending the next few days here.

I cannot say enough about the owners of this property. They are highly invested in their guests' satisfaction and made every effort to make sure our stay was an enjoyable one, they were only a phone call away to answer any of our questions and were happy to accommodate any needs or concerns we had.

Needless to say, our biggest problem was where to park the extra car our unexpected family members showed up in. Jody, the owner, solved the parking arrangements and also gave us several recommendations for restaurants and food shopping. She was wonderful to deal with.

All in all, our experience at this home was exceptional. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. It was truly unique.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Londonderry, NH
Member since Oct 2015
Magical Memories

My husband and I rented this property for the weeks before and after my daughter’s wedding. It was a fabulous 2 weeks, both because of this property we rented and because of the location on Cape Cod.

The property was perfect for our needs. It is extremely spacious, comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The proximity to the beach was also perfect, a short walk of just a few blocks away. And the beach was one of the nicest I've ever been to! My daughter’s wedding reception was at the Popponessett Inn, which was less than 1 mile away. Also less than 1 mile away is Popponessett Village, with great shops, restaurants, entertainment and things to do for people of all ages!

The property had plenty of seating for guests, both indoors and outdoors. The front porch was such a nice space to begin and end the day. There are beach chairs and a beach cart to take all of our stuff to the beach. There are plenty of sheets and towels available – and a fabulous outdoor shower which I highly recommend! It seemed there was always a cool breeze at the house. It was so nice to come back to this home nestled under trees after a day at the beach. The neighbors were friendly and beyond nice! The location in and of this community felt so family friendly and safe!

The day of my daughter’s wedding, we hosted a brunch for the bridal party including flower girls, hair and makeup artists, and additional family members – about 25 people in total. It went off beautifully - everyone was calm, comfortable and enjoyed spending time together before the wedding. The wedding at the Popponessett Inn was absolutely fabulous, a magical and memorable night for all who attended!

The home owner was just a phone call / text away if we needed anything or had a question. I feel extremely lucky to have found such a nice place to rent for such a special occasion in our lives. Thank you, Jody, for helping to make it so memorable!

Bobbie Michalek

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Owner Response:

Hi Bobbie,
I really appreciate your feedback and I can't thank you enough for taking the time to review our property.

Popponesset is truly magical and what a perfect setting for a wedding. Especially at the Popponesset Inn! I feel honored that you chose our home for such a special event in your lives and I feel blessed whenever I enter our home and think of all the happy memories that are made there.

It was such a personal pleasure to work with you. I couldn't be happier with the way it all turned out.

Kind regards,
~ Jody

Plymouth, MA
Member since Sep 2014
Our Beach vacation

The McNamara's house was beautiful! It was decorated nicely, was very cozy and fit our family's needs. The layout of the house is perfect for families and gatherings. The proximity to the beach was perfect. We used the beach buggies to cart our personal belongings to the beach. We would highly recommend this home to families and would definitely stay here again!!!! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home! We loved it!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Owner Response:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!! We just love our house too!! Its layout is truly perfect for gatherings and those beach buggies sure do come in handy!!

Maybe we'll see you next summer!!

Warm Regards,
Jody

Ashburnham, MA
Member since Jan 2014
Great Stay!

Jody, I just wanted to say thank you for the wonderful week we had at your house. The house was perfect. It is so open and spacious and clean. Everything we needed was in the house. The short walk to the beach was great. My daughters, mom, and sister-in-law visited us while we were there and they loved it! I will be checking dates with the family and would love to book again next summer!! Thank you again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Owner Response:

Hi Joanne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay . It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and our home.

Yes, please stay with us again!! Our home is your home!!

Warm Regards,
Jody

Arlington, MA
Member since Apr 2013
Cape Daze

We just love it down here. Popponesset is such a great getaway spot for anyone living within a reasonable drive to the Cape. One, it's right off the first exit after the bridge. Two, it's private, secluded, quiet, and quaint. Upon arrival at this particular property, you will notice what I think is the only downfall - small driveway. It is tough to fit more than 2 or 3 cars, so make sure you carpool if you have a large group. Like I said, that really is the only downfall in my eyes so it is a small price to pay in the long run! Moving on, you enter into an immaculately clean, bright, spacious space to call your home for a week, or two! I really enjoy staying here. I've stayed for two summers so far and am counting down the days to my next stay here! When I say immaculate, I mean it! You never get that sketchy, skeevy feeling when using the facilities (I love the showers! All 3! I wish they were in my home) as well as the kitchen, the furniture, etc. I couldn't say anything negative about the house itself, it is so worth the price. I have been to Cape homes that are dirty, dark, musty and depressing. This, my friends, is at the opposite end of the spectrum. I enjoy every minute I've spent inside this home! I would be remiss to not mention the surrounding area. The beach is a FIVE minute walk down the road. Then, when you get there, you are ultimately the only people there! There may be a few other families that show up but they are respectful and considerate of your space and the beach itself. Another 10 minute walk from there and you are at the Popponesset Inn and Marketplace. I was at the Raw Bar every day eating lobster rolls the size of my right leg and steamers so sweet and succulent we had to bring our toothbrushes! You really do not have to leave this little community. They have everything you need, and after a stay here, you really feel as though you squeezed as much out of the Cape as possible no matter how many days you spent. It is totally refreshing, book some time before it's too late! The owners are great to work with and really have your best interests in mind and want to share their home with you! Let them!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Owner Response:

Hi Alexandra!I We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for such a wonderful review! I wish you had called me about your parking difficulties. You could have moved the cars ahead onto the grass to accommodate another 2 cars!!! Unfortunately, the Popponessett Community does not allow cars to park on the street. Although this policy is not strictly enforced, it makes the Poppy experience all that more quaint! See you next year!! Warm regards, Jody

Boston, MA
Member since Sep 2012