Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

S.Truro: Vintage Charm, Modern Amenities & Easy Beach Walk

South Truro Vacation Rental - ID 18231
4 BR
4 baths
Sleeps 9
Beds: 2 kings, 1 queen, 2 twins, 1 daybed of 3-1/2 ft. x 10 ft.
Beach: 5-min walk by private path to Fisher Beach
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 10 years, 7 months
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Blissful escape

What a joy to be at Toehold - everything was perfect, and it was a great gift for our family in these difficult times. The house is so thoughtfully & comfortably designed, & beautifully decorated -- everything from reading nooks to kitchen knives to good beds. The surroundings are peaceful and beautiful; you feel far from the crowds without feeling uncomfortably isolated; and the walk through the woods to the dunes and the sea was a daily joy. The beach, all but empty, was great for swimming. Reading on the screened porch, watching the afternoon light fall glimmering through the trees and listening to the whispering leaves was a particular joy. This is a very special place. Many thanks to our hosts for sharing it.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Cambridge, MA
Member since Aug 2020
Perfect escape

Truro is our favorite town on the Cape, and the Toehold is our absolute favorite place to stay in Truro. The house is beautifully designed, perfectly situated (walk or bike to beaches and ponds, a quick drive to restaurants and food trucks we love in Wellfleet, Truro, and Ptown), and such a comfortable escape for a large family group, with space to come together and to seek out solitude. We love this house and always look forward to coming back. It"s really the perfect vacation spot.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: October 2019
Somerville, MA
Member since Oct 2019
A gem!

We loved our stay in this gorgeous, artistic home. It's unusual to be able to rent a property of this quality. Every detail from the beautiful furniture and comfortable beds to great pots in what is clearly a chef's kitchen...even a piano - it's a perfect home for relaxing after days enjoying the best part of Cape Cod. The home is in a super private, quiet location, walking distance to the bayside beach and an easy bike ride to the ocean. This place is a gem!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: November 2019
Amherst, MA
Member since Nov 2011
Everything you'd want out of a Cape rental

We have shared this rental two separate summers with another family and it has everything you need for a comfortable enjoyable stay in lovely Truro. The house has plenty of spaces to enjoy from the big living room to spacious screened in porch to the cozy tv room and a nice kitchen to hang out and enjoy preparing a big meal after a day at the beach. The outside also has everything you need with a great outdoor shower and bbq area. Not to mention its great location, walking distance to beautiful bayside beaches through the Truro dunes that Hopper made famous and only a short drive to the ocean.

Accuracy of listing:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: December 2019
Marblehead, MA
Member since Mar 2014

From September 16-23, 2017 four couples shared this house in Truro, MA. Each couple had their own bedroom and bathroom, making this house our first choice. The house is well-equipped. We can’t think of anything we’d suggest adding. Plenty of towels. Some staples, like condiments and spices in the big kitchen. Herb garden just outside the kitchen door. Games. There is ample space for this many guests to spread out. We liked that the TV did not dominate the huge living room. It is in a smaller room off the screened porch. One of us occasionally played the piano in the living room while others sang. We were disappointed that our trip coincided with Hurricane Jose stalling off the coast of MA! Couldn’t use the bikes provided, or walk to the beach. It rained 5 ½ days out of 7! Good thing we’ve known each other for over 50 years!

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Toni R
Naples, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful, well-equipped house. This was our first trip to Cape Cod. The house is strategically located, as everything you need to see and do is within a 30-min. drive.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Phyllis Y
Los Altos Hills, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

It was absolutely perfect!! (5 out of 5)

I can't even tell you how much we enjoyed our time spent here. The house is gorgeous, welcoming, comfortable, peaceful... The hosts have spared no detail. Everything was so well documented, and our questions never went unanswered. The beach walk was actually quite nice and we had no trouble getting there daily. And the beach itself is gorgeous and mostly private. We hope to return!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Max M
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Lovely house and great beach!! (5 out of 5)

I would reiterate the other reviewers sentiments, lovely home, very well appointed with almost everything you would need for a week in Truro. Very clean and modern and every bedroom has its own bathroom. AC and outdoor shower, not much else to ask for. Yet on top of it you can walk 10 minutes to your own (pretty much when we were there) private beach. Come down the path and set up camp for the day. Didn't appreciate this as much until we went to a public beach in Truro and realized we forgot about all the other people on the Cape! Look forward to another visit.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Mike K
Boston, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

The Perfect Place for a Peaceful Retreat (5 out of 5)

This review is long overdue. But even though I am writing it nearly a year since our stay (we were a group of seven, including two kids), the memory of our most pleasant stay at this home (it is NOT just a house and certainly NOT a "property") lingers still. We had no problems locating the place and everything was in order for our arrival. On the couple of days when our entire party was in residence, there was ample room. The location is magnificent and we enjoyed the opportunity to visit the area beaches and to sample the restaurants nearby. This was a reunion of old friends so we wanted time to just sit around at home over good food and drink to reminisce. The kitchen had everything we needed - whether it was to make a hearty breakfast, put together a lobster feast or bake muffins on the spur of the moment. We also used the barbecue outside. Everyone slept well and in great comfort. A big bonus for the kids - and the adults too: the air hockey table in the basement. (We had a house tournament during the week.) Also wonderful to have in the expansive living room was a baby grand piano. We had a reunion to remember and this special home is a big reason why we had such a great holiday and will never forget our time in Truro.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: October 2015
Alejandro R
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Fabulous House

It is obvious from the moment you enter this house that the owners care about your vacation. This house is fabulous and fabulously decorated. The kitchen is extremely well stocked - we loved the wafflemaker. Its only a short walk to a private beach. Everything about this house is perfect (except occasionally the mosquitoes.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: January 2013
joram s
New York City, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Great House

This is a great house! It was clean, and well stocked in every way. Beautifully decorated; comfortable beds, very nice furniture, etc. Our family of 6 adults and 3 children had plenty of room. We liked the screened room; and I wanted to bring the kitchen home with me.
Our only disappointment was that there was no view of the water. We had all misread the description, or maybe the pictures of the houses overlooking the water, led us to think that we could see the water from the house. It is a short walk to the beach, but difficult walking over the dunes and around the poison ivy.

Also, a second TV in the living room would have been nice. It rained part of the time we were there, and the only television is in a room that everyone has to walk through to get to the screened room (it was also being used as a bedroom by our grandson).

Location is a bit far from everything, but we knew that before going. Close to the Cape Cod National Seashore.

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: January 2013
Gail B
Villa Park, Illinois
(Homeowner Entered)

Breathtaking and Immaculate!

Let me be clear - I am very picky regarding rentals. I have been going to the Cape for 15 years and this by far the most incredible house I have ever stayed at. It is immaculate! The photos do not do this property justice as it is stunningly well done. No need is left unmet in the well appointed kitchen. Each major bedroom is on a separate floor with it's own bathroom providing privacy for all parties. The situation room is a great kids room. The star of the house is the exposed pine flooring. This is not a home for those who will not treat it with the respect it deserves as this is clearly architecturally designed. The owners are responsive and professional. Exceptional!

If there are any cons it is the unpaved driveway to the house. That is all I can come up with!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: January 2013
Voorheesville, NY N
(Homeowner Entered)