Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

The cottage on Longnook Meadows Farm
Truro Vacation Rental - ID 25810

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 king, 2 twins
Beach: 1 mi to Longnook Beach, 1 1/2 mi to Corn Hill Bch
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 2 years
Contact details:
  Email Dilys  Staaterman
Contact Dilys Staaterman, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 349-9738 (home), (781) 223-3818 (cell).
Please mention Property ID# 25810 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

We stayed at the Longnook Farm Cottage for 2 weeks and loved every moment. The details put into the cottage capture the essence of the Cape and encouraged the rest and relaxation we came to find. The natural light and sweet breezes flow through the house effortlessly keeping us comfortable all day long. Morning coffee on the front porch offered entertainment as the turkeys came through the yard. Afternoon reading in the back gave us the opportunity to see hummingbirds flying back and forth to the beautiful flowers around the property. Morning walks to the farm stand was an extra treat. Peter and Dilys were wonderful hosts and we look forward to many more stays at Longnook Farm.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Heather D
Hartford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We love staying at this cottage!!! We've been coming for three years now and always look forward to it. Peter and Dilys are lovely!! They always make sure you have everything you need yet are never intrusive. The cottage has everything you need - grill, all the pots, pans and kitchen appliances/utensils you need, w/d, outdoor shower, games/puzzles for bad weather - and the house very clean and well kept. It's perfect for the 3 of us (me, my husband and our 10 y/o daughter). Longnook Beach is a 5 minutes drive at the end of the street or a nice walk/bike ride. Just be sure to get there early for parking.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
melanie w
Darien, Ct
(Homeowner Entered)

We had an excellent stay at your Cottage during 15-22 Jul 2017. The charm of the Cottage was outstanding from being super clean, very well equipped with all the conveniences of home, modern and with a gorgeous view from the veranda. The “House” breeze kept everything cool and breezy using the skylights/windows and fan; completely comfortable even on hot days. Your welcome and help getting acquainted with the Cottage were very much appreciated; we learned quickly all of the ins and outs. The outside shower and BBQ again made it feel at home. Our compliments for letting us be us and your respect for our privacy. Could not have asked for more. In summary, we had a super holiday in the middle of the farm and just 5 min from the beach. We have been coming to the Cape for a very long time and you have topped all of our expectations. We thank you and will be back

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
louise m
montreal, quebec, canada
(Homeowner Entered)

We have stayed in many lovely outer Cape Cod spots, but the Longnook Meadows Farm cottage is our new favorite. Tucked in a lovely 10 acres on a quiet road, the cottage is a haven that allows walking and biking access to a beautiful national seashore beach and woodland neighborhood. Upon arriving, we were greeted by our friendly hosts and slipped inside to discover a charming, beautifully designed, and impeccably maintained cottage. Each day, after a morning ramble to enjoy the gardens and orchards surrounding the cottage, we would ventured forth to explore our favorite spaces (Race Point, Great Island Trails, Wellfleet Bay Audubon, Head of the Meadows ...) and each evening we returned "home" in time to catch the golden sunlight and enjoy the front porch sights and sounds. At dinner time we were torn, should be slip our to our favorite restaurants (the Blackfish, Mac's Seafood Shack, the Wicked Oyster?) or enjoy cooking in the well-appointed kitchen? The fresh tomatoes, basil and garlic provided by our hosts were fabulous along with goat cheese for a pre-dinner appetizer. Another night we roasted them along with chicken for a cozy cottage supper. Our only regret? Having to leave after only 4 nights, next year we are hoping to stay for a week. Still, we returned home wonderfully well-rested and filled with fond memories of biking, walking, and birding -- a perfect October escape to the Cape.

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Chrstine H
Great Barrington, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

This cottage was perfect for the two of us. It is in great condition as it is newer, and located about a mile or so from Longnook beach, one of the best beaches on the cape. The owners Dilys and Peter were very accommodating and helpful. I would highly recommend this cottage as it was a very quiet and peaceful place to vacation while being close to Wellfleet and Ptown.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Michael L
Middleton, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

What can we write that hasn’t previously been written about the cottage at Longnook Meadows Farm? Perhaps the best thing to report is that as of May 2015, the magic of a stay here continues. It is everything this website shows and more. The setting is wonderful. The cottage is bright and airy with new kitchen appliances, very tasteful appointments and oh, so clean! Best of all, comfortable and relaxing. Trees, shrubs and flowers fill the beautiful yard, making either the front porch or backyard a perfect place for a morning coffee. Quintessential hosts Peter and Dilys are warm and accommodating—respectful of your privacy, though ready to be found at a moment’s notice should you need them. They are always spot-on with a good recommendation for dinner or some fun Cape activity—Truro or Wellfleet galleries and dining, P-town shopping and restaurants, Truro Vineyards, Cape Cod Light and beautiful Longnook beach. A special connection? The farm supplies local restaurants, Blackfish in Truro, Mac’s Shack in Wellfleet, and others with their organic produce. You know it’s the perfect place when you are planning a return trip the day you arrive (and we are!). We absolutely recommend Longnook Meadows Farm Cottage for your Cape Cod stay.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Steve M
hartford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Peaceful cottage oasis

I have stayed on this property several times and always look forward to the combination of natural beauty, peacefulness, and recreational access to beach, forest, and trails. The recently renovated cottage has unique wood features, a clean and fresh atmosphere, and provides a lovely mixture of old character and modern comfort. The property is beautifully landscaped, and if you're curious, the owners will gladly show you their organic orchard and farming operation.

This refreshing cottage provides you with unbeatable access to Longnook Beach and the National Seashore's extensive trail system. I love to bike to the beach or along woods roads, hike up the hill into the pine forest covered in lichens, and stroll down the surrounding roads and trails to look at the pretty houses and interesting plant communities.

I highly recommend a stay here to relax and reconnect with nature.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Yorktown Heights, NY
Member since Dec 2015
Perfect Cottage in a Perfect Location

Our family has been fortunate to stay in this cottage for the past few years, and we can't say enough good things about it. The kitchen is well appointed, the sitting room is light and airy, the bathroom is very high-end, and overall the property is very clean and comfortable. The owners run an organic farm directly across the street, and our kids enjoyed exploring the vegetable gardens. The cottage is about a mile from Longnook Beach, and our family enjoys bike riding and running to the beach. We look forward to our vacation every year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Charlestown, MA
Member since Dec 2015
Can't say enough about this little piece of heaven:)

A little piece of heaven! We have been staying in this cottage for most of the summer for the past 6 years. I cannot say enough about Peter, Dilys, their family, the property, and the love and care that this cottage exudes. The cottage is open, airy, and relaxed. It's the perfect place to spend your summer days. The kitchen and bath are upscale, and the skylights (which open and close with a remote) circulate air throughout so it's never stuffy or hot. We love sitting on the front porch. It's a great spot to read or watch a summer storm roll in. The living room is stocked with games and puzzles, and the whole property feels more like home than a rental. We will miss it tremendously this year, and hope to come back in the future. Enjoy!!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Boston, MA
Member since Dec 2015

What can we write that hasn’t previously been written about the cottage at Longnook Meadows Farm? Perhaps the best thing to report is that as of May 2015, the magic of a stay here continues. It is everything this website shows and more. The setting is wonderful. The cottage is bright and airy with new kitchen appliances, very tasteful appointments and oh, so clean! Best of all, comfortable and relaxing. Trees, shrubs and flowers fill the beautiful yard, making either the front porch or backyard a perfect place for a morning coffee. Quintessential hosts Peter and Dilys are warm and accommodating—respectful of your privacy, though ready to be found at a moment’s notice should you need them. They are always spot-on with a good recommendation for dinner or some fun Cape activity—Truro or Wellfleet galleries and dining, P-town shopping and restaurants, Truro Vineyards, Cape Cod Light and beautiful Longnook beach. A special connection? The farm supplies local restaurants, Blackfish in Truro, Mac’s Shack in Wellfleet, and others with their organic produce. You know it’s the perfect place when you are planning a return trip the day you arrive (and we are!). We absolutely recommend Longnook Meadows Farm Cottage for your Cape Cod stay.
Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers

Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Steven M
(Homeowner Entered)
Perfect Truro Setting

We are a retired couple looking for a peaceful setting, and this was perfect. Not only are the grounds beautifully groomed and planted, but it is up off the road and quiet. The cottage is light and clean and well appointed. The bedroom is small but with a good closet and bedside reading lamps. We found the mattress very comfortable.

There was everything I needed in the kitchen to be able to cook meals, but we enjoyed walking around Wellfleet and Provincetown, both locations just a short drive away with a variety of restaurants. Long Nook Beach has long been our favorite and is a short bike ride (they are available) or quick drive down the street. Our hosts knew everything there is to know about the area and were always available to give directions and advice. The wifi worked, the TV is good, the washer/dryer helpful and the outside shower a real treat. We have suggested this place to our family and friends and will absolutely be going back!

Date of Stay: April 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Marlborough, MA
Member since Dec 2015
A true paradise

This is a hidden gem just a short drive (or bike ride) from the most beautiful beach in the world! A gorgeous property with a comfortable cottage for a couple or family. The cottage was renovated recently (within the last 8 years, I believe) and is tastefully designed with a great attention to detail. I can't wait to return to this piece of paradise!

Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: December 2015
Mc Lean, VA
Member since Dec 2015