Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Spectacular Wellfleet Waterfront, Close to Town
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 16919

4 BR
4 baths
Sleeps 12
Beds: 4 BRs: 2 kings, 2 queens, 4 twins, 1 (living room pull out couch)
Beach: On Private Beach
Guest Reviews: 24 reviews
Time active: 9 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Doug
Contact Doug , by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (774) 216-1316.
Please mention Property ID# 16919 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
24 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

There can't be a better place on the outer cape for a large group. The house has lots of space, inside and out, on the many large decks, for gathering and visiting and enjoying the ocean breeze and great views of great Island and beyond. The kitchen is large and includes every amenity you might need -- giant pots and pans, tons of new appliances, and plenty of dishes and silverware for kids and adults.

We loved the nearby beach and close access to Wellfleet Center. The beach, with its dramatic tides, and beautiful sunsets is not to be missed. This was our first time staying in Wellfleet and we want to come back again!

The home is everything you ever wanted for a family summer vacation. The home has Wi-Fi, and huge great room that could easily accommodate our group of 12., swimming within walking distance, kayaking, and fishing. The perfect vacation! It's a beautiful house located at the end of a cul-de-sac, quiet neighborhood but still close to all kinds of activities. Restaurants, Art galleries, and the Wellfleet Marketplace are all within walking distance. All of Wellfleet's great beaches such as Lecount Hollow, and Marconi Beach are a short drive away. We will definitely be back. Thanks Doug!

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
David L
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Although we only had a two night stay, we enjoyed every minute of it!. Doug's place was perfect for our stay. We had nine people staying in this house, 4 adults and 5 boys under age 14. The set up is perfect with one Master Bedroom upstairs and 3 Bedrooms including another Master Suite downstairs. Our boys had a fun time in their own space with their own bathroom. The layout upstairs was great for preparing meals as everyone had space to work, kids ate at the table and the adults ate in the large dining room, with attached deck overlooking Wellfleet Harbor with exceptional infinity views.

We moored our small boat on Doug's property, and the boys went fishing a few miles offshore and caught a a half dozen bluefish which we grilled for dinner.

Doug provided a list of things to do in the area and we enjoyed each recommendation, especially Wellfleet Marketplace which was a short walk to town along the water . His kitchen is well stocked (we had lobster one night and he had all the utensils we needed) and the grill on the deck was clean with utensils provided. You really won't need to bring a thing, Doug has it all covered in this house!

We had a nice first experience in Cape Cod. The only thing I wish I knew before going was that a lot of places are Cash only, so we would have brought more cash. Looking forward to going back!

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
Gary G
Longmeadow, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

*****Doug’s place was beautiful, roomy, and clean. We would definitely stay here again!

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Audrey T
Cambridge, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Beautiful House and Location

This was our first extended family vacation is several years, and my party of 12 enjoyed the house and its location. The home was very clean and well organized with absolutely stunning water views from every room. We enjoyed the bright and airy decor and especially the giant harbor painting. We learned that all of the paintings were painted by the owners. Talk about experiencing local culture! All of the appliances, the grill and washer and dryer worked well. The furniture was diverse and quite comfy. We especially enjoyed morning coffee on the large decks and evening wind downs there as well. The sunsets were beautiful. We enjoyed a morning walk into town along the harbor watching the boats come and go, as well as the morning walks down to Mayo Beach, where we were delighted to find horseshoe crabs. Probably a funny thing to find delightful, but haven't really seen them since we were kids.

The owner was responsive and helpful, and when we couldn't figure out how to turn the light on over the dining room table he shared with us how. We had to look up how to operate the stove top on the internet but it only took a minute or two..

We would definitely stay at Doug's place again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
Guilderland, NY
Member since Nov 2018
Unclean Home & Neglectful Owners

Wellfleet review
I rented this property for my family for a week mid August and expected a standard beach house experience where you arrive to the space with the ability to relax. Unfortunately, upon arrival when we saw an abandoned car in the driveway, littered trash cans, poison ivy by the walkway, we came to realize this might not be the case.

Prior to arrival, I had intermittent contact with Doug via email and text. We were promised house rules and a rental confirmation letter in the house. Neither were provided nor a wifi password. We later got the password via text on day 2.

Within the first hour of arrival, my sister turned the stove on and experienced a small electrical fire in which we resolved immediately by extinguishing it and turning off the electric plug. I called Doug's number multiple times and texted, but no answer. Instead, he replied with instructions on how to turn a stove on which was not helpful. I'd assume a homeowner's reply to, "Hey, there was a small fire on the stove" would trigger some kind of response, but it did not. As confirmed in previous reviews on this site and Airbnb, linens are worn, unwashed and have a permanent musty smell even after using the washer and dryer. One of my dresses even got ruined from using the washer. Not to mention the soiled dishes in the kitchen had to be re-washed.

Needless to say, we did not experience a positive first day in the house and found ourselves cleaning for most of our time there instead of relaxing. Doug confirmed before our stay that AC units would be installed in the living room. That did not happen and upon texting him multiple times, he failed to follow up furthering our discomfort during the more humid days. Two fans and light bulbs were defective thus leaving rooms hotter and darker than usual. Not to mention the soiled and stained sheets on the beds. I re-swept the living room upstairs to find perhaps the cleaning service had failed to sweep underneath the couches and found cobwebs, dead bugs and food. Unsurprisingly, we discovered active roaches as well. This in addition to the scent of sewage from the harbor made us feel we were back in the city. We carefully ripped out the poison ivy in the walkway for obvious reasons, but mostly to prevent the children from touching it. Last but not least, two toilets were clogged with no avail from using the plungers. No response still from Doug when this was mentioned.

I've stayed in many places, but this house, although it has spectacular views, square footage and light perfect for large groups, was the most unsanitary experience I've ever encountered in a living space even in comparison to most hostels I've been in. It's absolutely certain Doug has no respect for his property. He does the bare minimum in order to get it rented but obviously does not pay a professional cleaning service following someone's stay. Sheets and such need to be replaced and Doug needs to be more accessible to the guests' needs. For what we paid, we feel we were owed money back for the amount of time and labor we spent trying to make it a slightly cleaner experience which isn't difficult for 99% of the Cape, apparently. I understand beach houses are weathered through the years, but this just felt like laziness and neglect.

Our security deposit was received two weeks late after multiple attempts to contact Doug. Hopefully, this review will either deter future tenants from making the same mistake as ours or ideally, inspire improvement towards the future experience of others.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Mar 2018
Wonderful and Absolute Paridise

We stayed at Doug's beautiful property last July and enjoyed every moment. It is an absolute paradise and Wellfleet is a wonderful town. We loved the gorgeous ocean views from the home and our family spend hour after hour relaxing on the spacious outdoor decks overlooking the water.

The home is very well equipped with everything we needed including a great gourmet kitchen and huge living room with seating for our entire group (12 of us). It's very well maintained and most of the furnishings are new. We didn't need to drive anywhere, and took the short stroll to town to get groceries, and go the the many local fresh fish markets, or enjoy a cocktail here and there. We would stay at Doug's home again in a heartbeat!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

We're glad you had a great time, and we'd love to have you back! Doug

Chicago, IL
Member since Jan 2018
A Perfect Vacation in a Magnificent Home!

This house is absolutely beautiful and everyone had a great time. We loved the closeness to the water and the privacy of the house and yard. There were 12 of us and the house was a great space for everyone to hang with ample couches and dining space. It has an awesome big kitchen and was fully equipped allowing our group to dine-in a few nights during the week. The kitchen leads to an open dining area and to very large decks overlooking gorgeous Wellfleet Harbor. We found the beds throughout the home very comfortable, with memory foam mattresses that were new. The owner Doug was helpful and provided us with local information on where to dine and gave us suggestions of which of the nearby beaches we would most enjoy. We hope to come back next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
Owner Response:

I'm glad you found the tips I gave you helpful. It was great to have you and your family stay at our home, and we'd love to have you back!

Mountain View, CA
Member since Feb 2018
Fabulous Property and Location

We had a relaxing and fabulous weekend getaway at this wonderful home. The home is spacious and well equipped and had ample couches and chairs for our whole group to hang out (there were 12 of us). The bedrooms were furnished with new and comfortable beds, and the layout was such that each couple in our group had plenty of privacy. Each bedroom also had large Flat screen TV's which we all appreciated, so we could keep up on our favorite shows.

We have been coming to Wellfleet for our Summer vacations for over a decade and the views from this home and property are the best we've seen. The sunsets were absolutely beautiful and different each night, and we enjoyed them from the large decks. We can't wait to book our annual summer vacation at Doug's home for next year, so we can enjoy a longer stay with our entire family.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: November 2015
Elmer, NJ
Member since Nov 2015

Great location! Doug was a responsive host and we enjoyed the stay. Great view and easy/pretty walk to downtown Wellfleet.

Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Nathan C
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Your place looks beautiful...The location is prefect. Spectacular View! Thanks for the great weekend experience.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Andrew Z
Fort Lauderdale, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

The house is great! There is a great view of the water from every room in the house, and it's in walking distance to the town and nearby beaches. The kitchen is really well-stocked too in terms of cooking equipment. We had a great time!

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Hyunjun K
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)
Beautiful and Special House

The location of the house is spectacular, it's nestled along Wellfleet Harbor, a close walk to Town but far enough away to have privacy and piece from the vacation crowds. The house had plenty of space to accommodate my extended family of 12, and was well equipped. The living area has four large couches, which helped us entertain friends who came down from Boston for the day. The bedrooms had comfortable beds and slept our entire group, and the bedroom on the first floor was perfect for my grandmother who has difficulty getting around. We enjoyed every minute of our stay, and would love to do it again sometime soon.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Newport Beach, CA
Member since Oct 2015
Wonderful Home and Location

We had a wonderful time at Doug's home in Wellfleet. The home was spacious and well appointed, with plenty of couches for our large party of 10 to stretch out in. The bedrooms were large with comfortable beds and the latest electronics.The views from every room in the home are superb, and it was a short walk to town to the markets and town beaches. We enjoyed hanging our on the decks and watching the sailboats and wonderful sunsets. We can't wait to rent again next summer.

G. Ribatt
Provo, Utah

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Provo, UT
Member since Oct 2015
Caveat Emptor

Great location - and Wellfleet is wonderful. The property was mostly true to the description. However, renters should know that the house has a tired feel to it: the furniture is well-worn, the house is cluttered with random stuff - and the bed and bath linens are old and smelly. The "swimable association beach 2 min walk" is marshy and not sandy -- and not suitable for small children.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Shrewsbury, MA
Member since Feb 2015
Great location!

We had a great week in Doug's house in Wellfleet in August 2013. Our party of two families comprised eight people. The living area was perfect with room for everyone to spread out. The views from the living room and decks are magnificent, especially at sunset.

We all enjoyed being able to stroll into Wellfleet for dinner or an ice cream, especially our teenagers.

You are close to both bay and ocean beaches as well as 2 large ponds. Swimming from close to the house is good at high tide.

We hope to return another year!


Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Owner Response:

Thanks Paul, We will add a kettle and metal teaspoons to the home for your future enjoyment. We would love to have you and your family back. Doug

UK
Member since Feb 2010
Loved it!

Our two families came to Wellfleet in October for Oysterfest. We loved the location of the house, in that we could all walk into town for dinner or the Fest. If the kids got tired, we could walk back to the house without worrying about cars, buses, etc., while the others stayed. The big open living room allowed us all to be together in the evening and share each other's company.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Owner Response:

Thanks Pat. We're glad you had a great time and we'd love to have you and your family back again next year!

Waterbury, CT
Member since Aug 2010
Great sunset and harbor view, near Tim's Bridge and Cahoon Hollow Beach

Doug, we had a great week at your Wellfleet house. We'd sit on the deck watching the tide and the boats and especially had a group together each night to watch the sunset. It was only a few minute drive over to the Cahoon Hollow beach and the Beachcomber. We also walked the path right from our yard to Tim's bridge every day - and as far as the Pearl restaurant one day. Thanks, Mike

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Owner Response:

Thanks Mike! We're glad you had a great week. We hope to see you and your family back again soon.

Alexandria, VA
Member since Aug 2012

Hi Doug-

We just got back yesterday from a great week at your place. It's a fun house and we really enjoyed Wellfleet for a change.

Amy and Paul P.
Larchmont, NY

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Amy and Paul P
Larchmont, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Doug,

We enjoyed our week at you lovely Beach home. The weather cooperated; our day trip to Nantucket was a success as well. We hope to be back again soon.

Mark Welsh
Houston, TX

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Mark W
Houston, TX
(Homeowner Entered)

Just up having coffee and enjoying the nice view from the kitchen while waiting for the gang to wake up! We had a great week and really enjoyed Wellfleet.

Overall we loved the house and would like to rent again next year if available (our last rental we rented for 8 years in a row until ownership changed hands)

Thank you Doug. We miss the house and Wellfleet already! Something else, please feel free to contact me if you ever wish to sell at market value and split the realtor fee etc! Just thought I would throw that out there!
Thanks again Doug, have a nice rest of the summer,
Greg

Dr. Greg B.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Dr. Greg B
Arlington, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Doug - I just wanted to write to tell you how much we enjoyed staying at your house last week. Thanks for opening it up to us.

We loved the feeling of the house and the expansive views to the water. It was great to eat on the deck and watch the sun go down. And I loved early morning walks with the boys to the water and the benches and kayaks - idyllic.

Our almost three year old twin boys loved the toys all over the yard and did more independent play than we ever get around here!

It is clearly a well loved house by many generations. We had a great week. Thanks.

Best, Jen

Jen Holleran

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: June 2012
Andrew C
Lincoln, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi from RI:
Just wanted to let you know how perfect your house was for our son's wedding. What a great spot! It couldn't have been more perfect. The view was spectacular. The weather was perfect as well!
We also loved taking advantage of the proximity to town along the path and across Uncle Tim's bridge!
We enjoyed all the beautiful outside decks and our family loved the many couches for their naps in between wedding festivities!

Thank you. Enjoy your beautiful lWellfleet harbor home this Fall!

Sincerely, The Ryan Family

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
MaeBeth and Mark R
Narragansett, Rhode Island
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time at your home. The open floor plan of the first level and decks made it great for my family to spend some well deserved quality time together. My sons launched their kayaks right from the property and into wellfleet harbor, and we watched them from the decks. We were surprised at how private the property was considering that it a short walk to town. We are looking forward to staying at your home again for our next family reunion.

Cheers,

Jack

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: February 2012
Jack S
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi Doug,

We wanted to let you know we had a wonderful time staying in your beautiful home. Our family enjoyed the views and found the location to be perfect. My Father would stroll into town each morning for his coffee and the papers and loved the walk along the harbor and over Uncle Tim's Bridge. We'll be in touch shortly to rebook for next year.

Warmest Regards,

Jim Parker
Old Saybrook, CT

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: February 2012
Jim P
Old Saybrook, CT
(Homeowner Entered)