Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Sunny 4 Bedroom Contemporary Walk to Center of Edgartown
Edgartown Vacation Rental - ID 19294

4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 3 queens, 2 twins
Beach: 1 mile to South Beach
Guest Reviews: 15 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Colleen Osten
Contact Colleen Osten, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): 413-207-2218 (cell).
Please mention Property ID# 19294 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
15 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfect home for a getaway!

My sisters, mom and I enjoyed a most perfect weekend in Edgartown at this clean and comfortable house. Located in a quiet neighborhood about 1 mile from town, we enjoyed the huge front porch, comfortable beds, outdoor shower and well-equipped kitchen with everything needed for ladies who love to cook! Thank you, Colleen. We would love to come again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Owner Response:

So glad you enjoyed the house, Heidi! You are welcome anytime.

Member since Jul 2018
The Best

Martha's Vineyard is my happy place. I have stayed at several different places and I can truly say this one is my favorite. Great location, quiet, clean and comfortable (especially the beds, my pet peeve). Plus the outdoor shower...love, love love.
The hosts are very accommodating and available for any needed questions. I hope to stay here again soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Islip, NY
Member since Oct 2018
Wonderful vacation house

Wonderful house for a Martha's Vineyard vacation! Convenient to both South Beach & Katama Beach. A short drive to everything in Edgartown as well as a 'back' route to Morning Glory Farm. I walked to Edgartown several times (1 mile to 1.5 miles).

Open feel to the house but with plenty of privacy for all three of us. Will definitely come back here. Also a very quiet neighborhood.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Owner Response:

We loved having you, Dean. Thank you for the lovely review.

College Park, MD
Member since Sep 2014
Great location

Colleen's home is a wonderful property! Our favorite part was the proximity to South Beach and Edgartown, two of our favorites spots. But it's only a quick ride to Oak Bluffs, too! The roads were great for bike riding and walking. The house is open and comfortable to share with 3 adult couples and 2 small kids. It has a great, sun filled deck, and a grill for home cooked meals. The kitchen doesn't have a tons of bells and whistles, but is stocked with everything we needed to make our morning breakfast and afternoon snacks. The only addition we could have wished for was a bit more seating in the main living area- possibly another couch rather than chairs. Not a huge deal since most of our time was enjoyed at the beach! Colleen was easy to book with and quick to respond to questions leading up to our trip~ We hope to find a week to enjoy this home next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Cheshire, CT
Member since Jan 2015
Weekend in Martha’s Vineyard

Great place to stay with 2 other couples for a long weekend in Edgartown. Plenty of room and all the comforts of home.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Shelton, CT
Member since Feb 2010
Perfect Edgartown Retreat

This summer will be our fourth summer staying in this beautiful Edgartown home. I look forward each year to my morning coffee on the deck. The open floor plan Is perfect for family life. Even with busy teenagers coming and going, it never feels crowded. The home is well-stocked and very comfortable. A little bit out of town, so it’s peaceful, but very centrally located. It’s a short bike ride to the beach...A favorite morning activity was riding our bikes the short distance to the Right Fork Diner, then a long bike ride on the trails afterwards. We will definitely be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: May 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you for your lovely review, Jennifer. It is always a pleasure to have you. I am so glad the house has helped you make many happy VIneyard memories! Colleen

Hanover, NH
Member since May 2018
Ideal Family Home

This home was perfect for our whole family. We had 2 adults and 5 kids ages 10 to 22. There was ample room for everyone, plenty of space to chill out on the deck or inside in the open floor plan. We had perfect weather so spent much of our time away from the house at the beach or sight seeing in Oak Bluffs or Edgartown! To maximize your week, you must bring bicycles as South Beach & Edgartown are just a short ride.

This home has all you need! Large wrap around deck, outdoor shower, quiet neighborhood, etc. We will definitely rent this home again as it was the perfect "home base" for our family during our amazing vacation week.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Weymouth, MA, usa
Member since Jun 2013
MV Vacation

We stayed for a week to celebrate mother's 80th..the location was perfect; convenient to Edgartown (walking distance for most), an easy bike ride to South Beach. The house has ample supplies for summer bbq and cocktails. I would recommend this home to friends and family.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
East Falmouth, MA
Member since Dec 2014
We had a wionderful time!

The house is situated a short (and pleasant) walk away from postcard-pretty Edgartown (15 minutes). We wanted a house situated such that the kids could walk to town (and we would not have to drive and hassle with parking), yet far enough so as to be reasonable in price! This house fits that bill exactly, and is priced a lot more reasonably than houses right in the heart of Edgartown. I liked the fact that the kids could bike to various spots all over Martha's Vineyard without having to mess with traffic in the main towns. The best rides (for people who are afraid of encountering cars) is to South Beach (via Road to the Plains, Slough Road, and Herring Creek), and the ride to Tisbury (via Clevelandtown Road) then around the Wildlife Preserve (that includes the airport). I was very pleased to find out how bike friendly MV is, with lots of bike paths to make biking safe. The kids also loved riding to Oaks Bluffs via Beach Road, although this required (a little) navigating through Edgartown traffic. I enjoyed the short ride to Morning Glory Farm and would often get one of their juices and smoothies and just bask on their lawn. (If you bike as far as Menemsha and take the ferry to Aquinnah, do chat with the friendly ferry operator, who happens to be the brother of James Taylor!)

The master bedroom has a skylight on the roof, which can be opened to create a draft in the room. This kept us cool even on the warmest nights. I loved the fact that Colleen stocked the house with lots and lots of board games - Risk, Monopoly, chess, backgammon, Pente, etc. I think there were about 20-25 board games! This allowed us to bond better with our kids in the evenings and on rainy days (rather than have them retire to their computers and devices). The wifi was good and solid throughout the house, and never once went down in our entire 2 week stay. The outdoor shower was great, and I like how secluded the house feels (when you look out from the second floor porch), as the property is surrounded by lush vegetation.

Perhaps the only thing I might suggest is a second couch for the living room. We found ourselves hanging out more often inside the house than on the porch, and a second couch would have allowed us spend more time chatting after dinner, rather than retiring to TV room upstairs or our bedrooms. (The kids liked to dive straight into the couch, rather than sit at the dinner table).

MV is a special place. We'll be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Burbank, CA, Philippines
Member since Jan 2014
Great stay!

Our family of 5 loved staying in this spacious, comfortable home for our week on Martha's Vineyard in July, 2013. There was plenty of room to spread out and 2 full bathrooms as well as a wonderful outdoor shower. We really enjoyed watching the birds in the feeder from the front deck and watching the sunset from the back deck. Location is on a quiet road, one mile from the heart of Edgartown, sidewalks all the way, so it was an easy (and pretty) walk to town. We are used to central air so were concerned about not having A/C, but the nights were cool enough that we were comfortable with windows open and the fans we had brought from home. We interacted with the owner, Colleen, by exchanging emails and she couldn't have been nicer.. There was even a nice gift waiting for us when we arrived :)

We would definitely consider staying here again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Needham, MA
Member since Jul 2013
Perfect Vineyard Retreat

My family and I spent a week here last summer and loved it so much we have booked again for this year. The house is spacious and comfortable--plenty of room for all 5 of us to both hang out all together and spread out for our own space when needed. It's bright, airy and very easy to keep clean. The large deck and multiple sliding glass doors make it ideal for indoor/outdoor living. Indeed we spent most of our time sitting outside, and grilled most meals.

We found the location very easy--a nice walk or a quick drive into Edgartown, convenient to most beaches, etc.

I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a relaxing Vineyard vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Port Chester, NY
Member since Apr 2011
Perfect Vineyard Rental Home

We have been renting this home on the Vineyard for the past twelve years. One mile walk into Edgartown. Only two miles away from South Beach. Close, but you still get that secluded woodsy feel. Located on a quiet street. Home is stocked with everything you need. Perfect vacation rental home!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Herndon, VA
Member since May 2013
MV dream house

We loved this house! Comfortable, quiet, serene, beautiful. An oasis in a wonderful part of the world.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: May 2013
Amherst, MA
Member since May 2013

Hi Colleen & Mark,

As we pack up and clean up, I wanted to share a few thoughts about our wonderful two weeks.

First, thank you for the gifts. We will never know how you manage to make each years welcoming gifts a refreshing, unique surprise.

Then the house...We have been enjoying the new art work throughout but particularly the black and white photos in the downstairs area. They bring the beauty of the Vineyard right into your home. I hope you enjoy them as much as we have.

The new, larger table and chairs on the deck are a great functional addition. They made our favorite reading and relaxing spot just that much more comfortable for gathering and sharing some meals. We all love the deck! I could never say enough about how much pleasure it brings to each of us. We enjoy coffee in the morning, the breezes, the birds, their songs and soaring, the surrounding flora and fauna, read on it until it becomes so hot we have to go to the beach. Upon returning we are able to enjoy cheese & crackers, steamed clams or other appetizers before we move indoors for dinner.

Details ... The couch upstairs is a great new addition. We spent almost no time on it because the weather has been so beautiful but the few times we did, we enjoyed it. We were all exhausted from reading, beach time, yoga classes, biking, and other activities (shopping) that we were all asleep early. The internet worked without a hitch and is much appreciated. Also, the few times we did use the TV we agreed it was an effortless, uncomplicated system.

What is it about the out door shower? Susan & I, and two of our adult children who spend some of the time here with us, can never seem to get enough of it. We call who will get it first, after time at the beach, because each of us enjoys it so much we can't wait to get in it. I am also impressed that there seems to be an endless supply of hot water.

There is so much more I/we could say about your lovely, efficient, functional Vineyard House but you probably know it all already so I won't waste your time with my enchanted meanderings. Each time we are here we find new things to enjoy and celebrate about your home and MV. Thank you for making it available to us for our enjoyment. We were beginning to fantasize about a possible third week at some point in the future.
We leave rested, refreshed, rejuvenated, recharged, relaxed and well read thanks to the comforts and functionality of this setting. We just wish we did not have to leave.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: March 2011
Jim L
Belmont, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We just returned from the Vineyard - had a great time the house really met all of our needs. It is great that there is high speed internet access available. Thanks again for the opportunity to enjoy the greatest place on earth.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: March 2011
Paul S
Fairfax, VA
(Homeowner Entered)