Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Gracious Living By The Sea
Katama - Edgartown Vacation Rental - ID 28774

4 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 2 queens, 2 twins, Queen sofabed in loft, cribs X 2
Beach: 1 mile to South Beach
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 8 months
Contact details:
  Email Gwenn
Contact Gwenn, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (203) 470-2314.
Please mention Property ID# 28774 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

We just came back from a great vacation, thanks to Gwenn. This house has a perfect location, it is wonderful for children, and Gwenn is a fantastic "hostess." She welcomed us with a cheesecake and two bottles of wine -- that was a first for us. She also stocked the house with everything you need for the beach, bike rides, games (indoors and out), and she allows dogs! It was just an overall wonderful experience. Thank you.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Susan H
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

A great weekend was had by all. Soft blanket throws, a fire, and a quiet well needed weekend for us, my brother in law and sister in law. Laid back, unhurried and cozy. Gwenn was a great hostess, freshly baked breads and cookies were left for us to indulge. A wonderful spot to unwind after all the holiday bustle. 10 plus stars, a must visit beautiful home, with all the comforts of home.

Date of Stay: December 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
Lucy M
Port ST Lucie, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

WOW! WOW! I don't know where to begin. The house was decorated like a winter wonderland. Five Christmas Trees decorated to match the room décor. Lenox Christmas Villages under the trees. Lighted garland from the balconies, wreaths on all the doors. Gwenn has done an outstanding job with the decorations, sophisticated yet capturing the wonder and magic of Christmas. The aroma of freshly baked Christmas cookies, a crackling fire in the fireplace and eggnog in the refrigerator when we arrived sent us over the top. The new kitchen is a chefs delight. Tastefully done with all the bells and whistles. Gwenn was there to take care of all our requests with an open generous heart. A MUST stay for Christmas in Edgartown. 5 plus stars!

Date of Stay: December 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
MariAnn G
New River, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

This review took me a while to write for two reasons. The first was that I was so relaxed after my vacation here at Gracious Living By The Sea, that it took some time for me to reacclimate to life in the real world. The second, is that it is the best kept secret on MV and I wanted to keep it mine for a while. But, the reason I went with this place in the first place was because of the outstanding reviews, and Gwenn is too amazing not to add to the well-deserved praise. As someone who loves to cook, there is simply nothing you will not find in her kitchen. That is very different than other places we've rented from on the island. The proximity to the Farm Institute was a dream for my son and nanny! Riding bikes to the beach and into town was so cathartic and enjoyable I think about it when the world is moving too fast. What else can I say? Gwenn and Gary truly made us feel welcome and that their home was ours. Available whenever we needed, no request was too small for their immediate attention. I recommend Gracious Living by the Sea without reservation and only hope you don't book your trip the weeks we want to go back. Thanks for an amazing and unforgettable stay, Gwenn!!!

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
Danielle S
Lenox, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hands down, this is the best stay that my family and I have had! We came to MV for an intimate, milestone, birthday celebration, and were immediately moved by Gwenn (the owner), who is very friendly and thoughtful. She warmly welcome us into her lovely home with a surprise, phenomenal cheesecake for us to celebrate the milestone birthday. (It was delicious, and we are still talking about it!). Gwenn's kindness and graciousness extended to her house, as we all, immediately felt as though we were in a home... This brings us to the house, it is impeccably beautiful, modern and yet cozy, fully set up to the latest techie gadget, and completely equipped (in the kitchen, fully stocked pantry, outdoor shack, bathrooms and bedrooms) with every imaginable supply. There is absolutely nothing that we needed to bring or get, it was all there - Gwenn thought of everything! Her uber organization and vast supplies made our stay so easy; so just bring yourselves and clothes (you can buy fish/meats/veggies at any nearby market, or eat out locally). The house is big, bright, spacious and comfortable; we spent every evening grilling outdoors and then sitting indoors by the fireplace. We drove all around MV, and can say that the house is also perfectly located, it sits in the middle between the beach and Edgartown (~1 miles in each direction), so we often biked and we walked to both, and got the best of both worlds! The house is also near a farm; so while being in an suburban area, it was also surrounded by open meadows, which made it quiet and truly zen (exactly what we were craving for in this getaway trip). Between Gwenn's warmth and her wonderful home, I had the perfect, zen-filled, birthday trip. Needless to say, it was tough to leave Gwenn's home, which true to its name, was gracious in every way... But we hope to return, and we definitely recommend this home to others seeking a harmonious MV vacation!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: January 2018
Laura P
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

This is an absolutely perfect vacation home in a great location, 1 mile away from South Beach, with the warmest owners I have ever meet in my life. Gwenn is such a lovely person and it is clear that she is 'paying it forward.' The warm hug upon arrival, freshly baked brownies, and the best bottles of wines from Italy was the best kick-off to the Memorial Day weekend!! The house has every gourmet appliance you could desire for cooking and baking, and the amenities are plentiful...actually more than I can recall. Every spice, oil, and baking ingredients you can image. To the men, Gwenn has body wash, razors, shaving cream, etc...so don't worry if you forget anything. The home is so beautiful and comfortable. Sitting in front of the fire place with a glass of wine (wife) and glass of brandy (me) was very romantic and relaxing. The loft was an added plus, which the kids found much pleasure in. Gwenn has all the bases covered with all types of beach gear (umbrellas, towels, sunscreen, beach mats, chairs, etc...) and if you want to explore the area without driving, no worries, there are eight bicycles available, even one with a child seat attached. I feel like I have a new family vacation location on a beautiful island, and got to know a wonderful human-being in Gwenn. This is the right location, right home, right layout, right amenities, owned by the right people!! Simply Perfect

Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: January 2018
Roland R
San Diego, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Wow-Gwenn has this place decked to the nines! Upon arrival, I was immediately drawn to the upscale beachy décor. The furniture was perfect for lazy afternoon naps and reading. The bedrooms were all well stocked with towels, hangers, and the most comfortable bedding I could have imagined! This house is perfect for travelers of all ages- my son had an excellent time as there is more than enough room to run, throw a ball, ride bikes and play games.! The beach is super close and we loved riding our bikes there-it was so convenient and provided an excellent opportunity to remain active while being on vacation. We were able to cook all of our meals in the awesome kitchen that has everything you could imagine for cooking. We will certainly come back to Gwenn's home and I HIGHLY recommend this home to anyone that is looking for an amazing Martha's Vineyard experience!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Kelly L
Denver, CO
(Homeowner Entered)

The minute you walk into this property you know that it has been taken care of very well. The kitchen has all the amenities that you could ever need. The open floor plan is great for getting the whole family together in one place. Plenty of bedrooms that are decorated very nicely, then amount of games will keep any family busy if you have rainy days or weeks. The amount of beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers beach mats at your disposal is wonderful. You don't even have to bring sand toys Gwenn has enough to keep the smallest child happy digging in the sand. If you are not a beach person you have your choice of about 10 bikes. This was the best house that I have rented, I would recommend this house to anyone wanting a peaceful and beautiful house to kick back in. Gwenn also has a very lovely bottle of wine and pound cake upon arrival. Thank you so much Gwenn for a wonderful week we will be back next year.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Susan L
Naples, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

Our stay at Gracious Living was a vacation dream. We were met with a warm greeting and scrumptious refreshments fit for weary travelers...what a treat. The home is beautifully furnished, the bathrooms are tastefully done and supplied with necessary items. The bedrooms are beautifully fashioned with Ralph Loren linens and spreads. You will enjoy the opportunity to gather and watch a movie or assemble on the inviting back porch. The fire pit is a plus, we roasted marshmallows and then made smores...lot's of fun! Hammocks are available for recuperating after an active day at the beach. There is plenty of room for a good game of Bocce Ball, Volleyball, or any favorite outdoor game. The kitchen is wonderfully stocked for simple to gourmet meal preparations. Items for a day at the beach were available which provided for a wonderful time! I highly recommend Gracious Living and will plan another visit. The location is the best, a wonderful vacation retreat! Thank you Gwenn for all you did!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Bruce L
Littleton, CO
(Homeowner Entered)

What an outstanding experience. We could not possibly have dreamed of a more sensational place to spend a week on Martha's Vineyard. It started the minute we stepped foot into an immaculate home owned by Gwenn and her husband. Beautiful open design with all of amenities to make the stay spectacular. Do you want to take a short bike ride to the beach or to town...no problem with the bikes that are provided. Do you want to enjoy the cool evenings sitting outside...no problem with the back patio and fire pit. Did you want to prepare a nice meal after a great day at the beach...no problem with a kitchen that is stocked to the nines with anything you could possibly use to prepare that special meal. Do you need a break from all that sun and fun at the beach...no problem staying entertained with a great entertainment system. Highly Recommended!!!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Arthur C
Maryville, TN
(Homeowner Entered)

We had an absolute wonderful time. Walking into the house to find the house spotless the kitchen well stocked and a cake waiting was the best. The bikes allowed us to ride whenever and the fire pit for making smores was a great time for both adults and kids. One could not ask for a better experience and I would HIGHLY reccommend this to all. Thank you Gwenn for your wonderful suggestions about where to eat and what to do. I will be going back next year.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Cindy L
New Fairfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We arrived to a beautiful spacious home, immaculately clean. Gwen baked us a yummy pound cake and bottles of wine to get us started off right. The house has an open floor plan. Our party of nine fit comfortably. The house has a gourmet kitchen, partially stocked pantry, excellent entertainment system. The amenities are all up to date and first class. You only have to bring your clothes and personnel items. Gwen has stocked the house with bikes, beach chairs, coolers and so much more. The house is located in a perfect part of the island. You can ride the bikes into Edgartown or to the beach. Just light a fire in the firepit, lay in the hammocks and star ga

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Angie D
Jacksonville, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful vacation on Martha's Vineyard. This was my first trip to the area and I have fallen in love with the people, the summer weather, shops and restaurants. One of the BEST parts of the vacation was the beautiful home we were staying in, Gracious Living by the Sea. Gwenn, the homeowner, was so accommodating, she literally has anything and everything you could possibly need while on vacation. I work in the hospitality industry as a property manager in NC and we rent homes on the beach but I can say that her personalized attention to every detail makes a huge difference in the quality that you receive as her guest- ABSOLUTELY SUPERB. The kitchen has every appliance, gadget, dinnerware and spice that you could possibly imagine, the living room was comfortable and well organized. The décor was very tasteful and serene, the house was one of the cleanest most well designed homes I have ever had the honor of staying in. Gwenn goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and at “home” while on vacation…

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Heather S
Moorehead City, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

We had an absolute blast during our week of vacation from NC. The house was very clean and provided anything you could imagine. Especially the kitchen. If you came to Martha's Vineyard with the idea of cooking at least a few nights at home, then you'll be in for a treat! Gwenn, the owner, has every conceivable kitchen appliance provided. Not to mention a freshly baked pound cake and a couple bottles of wine awaiting our arrival. What property does that?! Hopefully, you'll be fortunate enough to meet her and her husband during your stay. They are truly a couple of the nicest and most gracious people you'll get to meet! The house itself is situated on a couple acres right across the road from the sustainable farm institute. It was great seeing all the farm animals every morning while sipping my coffee. If you'd rather have a coffee in town, then take one of the several bikes provided by the owners and ride a couple miles into town. No need to worry about traffic either since there are miles upon miles of bike paths that wind throughout the island. We had a house of 9 people at one point and we never felt like we were on top of each other thanks to the house's open floor plan design. The massive 60+ inch HDTV with it's Bose surround sound had us all engrossed in whatever we happened to be watching. As luck would have it, the World Cup Soccer matches were airing during our stay and thanks to this setup we all felt like we were in Brazil alongside all the other Hooligans! Overall, I'd make the 19 hour drive just to do it all over again. In fact, I might start looking at next summer's availability right now!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Steve B
Jacksonville, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

As soon as we walked into the house, I knew it was going to be an awesome vacation. The house was absolutely beautiful and I felt right at home--Gwenn is totally prepared on all fronts. The pantry is stocked, there are at least a dozen bikes and locks ready for a ride to the beach, there are TONS of games in a closet (which was super awesome since we had some bad weather), and so many beach toys which the kids loved having to play with. I also loved where the house is located--literally a two minute drive or five minute bike ride from South Beach. Super convenient. And the road is charming. We took the kids to the farm down the road to see the cows and other farm animals and it was just a short walk! Gwenn was a wonderful host--there to answer questions and recommend a couple of restaurants and hiking trails. She's the best. We can't wait to come back! Thanks Gwenn :)

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Cassie F
New Fairfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

What a GREAT home to vacation in on Martha's Vineyard. Walking in the front door, the cleanliness and luxurious decor is the first impression one gets. The modern gourmet kitchen has every appliance one could ever imagine. The pantry was stocked with spices, oils and vinegars. It was great not to have to run to the supermarket for all the little incidentals. The owner left pancake mix (3 kinds) and REAL maple syrup, eggs, orange juice and milk for breakfast. We were greeted with a bottle of wine, cheese and crackers, grapes and a homemade old fashion pound cake made by Gwenn. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated with upscale linens. The bathrooms were spacious decorated with bright towels and all the toiletries one would need for a weeks stay. The hammocks in the back yard were delightful after a day at the beach and a fantastic outdoor shower, coupled with a roaring fire in the fire pit. Bicycles, helmets and locks, beach towels,coolers, beach chairs, beach umbrella's x 2 are just a few of the surprise amenities we came across. Gwenn has thought of every possible amenity for a family to enjoy a luxurious and carefree vacation. We have already booked our vacation for next year at this wonderful paradise.

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: January 2018
Cindy L
New Fairfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We have just returned from a FANTASTIC week on Martha's Vineyard. It was chilly, but that didn't stop us from enjoying our stay at "Gracious Living by the Sea."The vast yard was great for the children to run and play. The gourmet kitchen is stocked with every imaginable kitchen item you could possibly ever want. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated with Ralph Lauren bed linens. You sink into the beds and are cover by fluffy quilts. The towels and linens are of the best quality. There are an abundance of beach towels, coolers, chairs and beach blankets. The fire pit on the back patio was a welcome amenity, we did build a fire one night during our stay. We were traveling with two young children,( 1& 4), there was every type of baby equipment I needed, great not to have to bring all that with us! We had our pick of board games, books, and movies, even for the children. We never got board. The house was SPOTLESS!! The open floor plan was great I could talk to my husband in the living room while I was preparing dinner. We road bicycles one afternoon( they had a small enough one so our 4 year old could ride and a seat on the back of my husbands so the baby could come along) helmets included. We took the children to the farm everyday to see the animals, only a short walk, great for a 4 year old. The nights were very quiet and relaxing, one night it was cooler than the rest and we built a roaring fire in the wood stove, romantic and relaxing Gwenn was very pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. Homemade treats by Gwenn were on the counter when we walked in. She even left small gifts (sand pail and shovel) for each one of the children with their names on them. We had a wonderful time and have already made arrangements to come back next year for two weeks. We would strongly recommend this beautiful rental to any of our friends or relatives.

Date of Stay: May 2011
Date Submitted: January 2018
Tiff P
Kailua, HI
(Homeowner Entered)