Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charmingly renovated house across from the Beach

Oak Bluffs Vacation Rental - ID 25225
4 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 8
Beds: 2 kings, 1 queen, 2 twins
Beach: 2/10 mile to Oak Bluffs Town Beach and 200 feet to Inkwell Beach
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 7 months
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Outstanding vacation rental

We immediately fell in love with the decor when we saw it on line. We went to the Vineyard to meet with the owners prior to renting and they couldn't have been more welcoming and kind. The property is styled by the owners who have a knack for interior design. We pretty much lived on the porch as it overlooks Vineyard Sound and I think that I sometimes took a dip in the Sound 3 times per day because the home is just steps from the beach. LOVED this property!

Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Cotuit, MA
Member since Nov 2009
A Fun Problem

The only problem we had with this house was deciding which of its many pleasures we should enjoy first. Should we sit at the long table and linger over breakfast or should we take our coffee out to the grand porch and take in the grand view of ocean and sky -- porch living is a pleasure we had forgotten and were glad to become reacquainted with; there's easy contacts with people passing on foot, a general pleasant open neighborly feeling that only porches provide. Or maybe it's enough sitting and one should take the great 3-minute hike to Ink Well Beach and dive into water always warm enough to be comfortable and cool enough to be refreshing. And then should we stroll into town for a lunch of fried clams or lobster rolls or just go back to the house and take a long delicious outdoor shower after which of course we then will have to choose the best place for a nap -- decisions, decisions.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: October 2019
Venice, CA
Member since Oct 2019

Great location/great house
The house was very clean! Great location. Across the street from the public beach. BEAUTIFUL views! Easy walk to the heart of Oak Bluffs. Perfect place to relax and enjoy all that Oak Bluffs has to offer. Owner was very easy to deal with.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2019
Stephan C
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was exactly as shown on website. Perfect for our MV trip. The house was spacious and comfortable with amazing ocean views. The location was perfect as we could walk in and out of town but the street was quiet and felt worlds away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Oak Bluffs.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2019
Bree C
(Homeowner Entered)

Outstanding house and Location!
This is an outstanding house and location! We arrived and found it very clean, well maintained, and stocked with every household necessity. It's a 3 minute walk to the town beach and 10-15 minute walk to town center, Circuit Ave. We have stayed numerous times at a B&B 2 minutes from town and were frequently disturbed or awaken at night by noise. Not here! Every night was peaceful. The owner, Jim, was always prompt and courteous when responding to any questions I had. I highly recommend this rental.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2019
Patrick K
(Homeowner Entered)

Top Notch Rental
Well, what can I say? This rental property is amazing. My family decided to explore Martha's Vineyard and thought there no better time than the Fourth of July holiday. From the very beginning Jim, the homeowner, was available and willing to communicate the terms of the rental property and helped us secure our trip (we did this in the winter to ensure the place wouldn't be taken before we had a chance to reserve). When we got to the property, we were so excited because it's situated STEPS away from the ocean. I would spend some mornings across the street, sitting on a bench and watching the water--talk about relaxing. Though it's technically not "beach front" it's as close as you can get--steps away--and the beach by the house is perfect for chill afternoons. You won't get huge waves but you'll get the beautiful blue Atlantic--what more could you ask for? In terms of location, it's also very close to downtown Oak Bluffs (about a ten minute walk). If you take the ferry into Oak Bluffs you can walk right to the property. If you're looking to be active during your stay, there's a roadside trail right off the house that you can run, walk, or ride into Edgartown. Pro tip? Leave around 7am and cool off by taking a dip in the ocean--amazing! In terms of the actual house, it looks exactly like it does in the photos--modern, quaint, and perfect for our family of five. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking tools, so you don't have to worry about that. And don't even get me started on the outdoor shower--I refused to shower any other way during my stay. While there is A/C, you won't need it--it's cold in the morning and evening, and afternoons should be spent by the beach anyways. This house made our MV experience what it was: comfortable, relaxing, fun, and unforgettable.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2019
Meagan C
(Homeowner Entered)

Amazing Location!
The property was just as described and the location could not have been any better. The roof deck was pretty great with a perfect view of the ocean. We had to call the owner upon arrival for the lock box code and was very easy to deal with. Answered on the second ring and he communicated all along in the months leading up to the stay

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: September 2019
Thomas Y
(Homeowner Entered)

A Beautiful Fall Weekend at Camp Canonicus
We spent a long weekend in early November at Camp Canonicus. As soon as we walked into the house, we were blown away at how charming and spacious it was. Photos cannot do it justice. The home had beautiful architectural details, was extremely clean, lovingly decorated, had a well-stocked kitchen with all the cooking tools we could need, and had ample space for our family of 8. Just steps away from the beach, the views were amazing and the plethora of balconies and porches from which to watch the sun rise and set was an added bonus. We even brought our dog, who had the time of her life hanging out with the family and exploring the island. We could walk to town or to the beach, which was awesome, and had public transportation just a few blocks away for those who didn't bring cars. The house was beautiful and the owner, Jim, was quickly responsive to any and all inquiries. I would certainly recommend this property to anyone and would not hesitate to rent it again next year!

Date of Stay: November 2015
Date Submitted: September 2019
Jennifer C
(Homeowner Entered)

Vineyard Heaven
This lovely home was a delightful place for our family to spend our vacation. Bright, spacious & airy, the pictures online are good, but don't really represent the wonder of this place. Morning coffee on the porch watching the sunrise on the water, spectacular views from the roof deck and proximity to the Inkwell Beach are just a few of the things we loved about Camp Canonicus. We plan to return next summer!

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2019
Eillen S
(Homeowner Entered)

Excellent location. Nice house.
Perfect location. Enjoyed the ocean view from the deck and short walk to town. Plenty of room inside the house.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2019
Matt L
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautifully Renovated, Private, Ocean Views
Camp Canonicus was simply amazing. This recently renovated seaside cottage was perfect for our group of friends. The house provided ample room for hosting a family dinner yet privacy through the use of a roof deck, wraparound porch, and two living room areas. Walk to town or bike to State Beach and beyond. Outdoor shower is a plus. The master bedroom includes an enclosed sitting area with views to the ocean - a great private spot for reading. The owner is extremely responsive. We are looking forward to coming back again next year!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2019
Micheal D
(Homeowner Entered)

fantabulous !!!!!!
OMG... I really don"t want to give this great review for fear of everyone booking when i want it !!!!! this cottage/house was amazing! beautiful, immaculet, earthy, comfortable for up to 10 people. we had 8. The ocean was right there ! nice view front front porch "coffee mornings" and "evening wine"! i didnt want to come home. stop in "midnight farm",(carly simons store),and pick up a cd to listen to while your there ! incredible trip.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2019
Jean T
(Homeowner Entered)

Great Seaside Getaway
I stayed for 4 nights at this rental with a small group, and we were all thoroughly pleased with the accommodations. The location is great. Only a quick walk from downtown Oak Bluffs and just a few steps away from the seaside bike trail to Edgartown. Everything was very clean and well-decorated. The beds were very comfortable. (We brought our own sheets instead of renting.) And Jim was easy to get in touch with. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: September 2019
Devin V
(Homeowner Entered)