Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Central location for your vacation
Oak Bluffs, Vineyard Haven Vacation Rental - ID 31114

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 BRs: 2 queens, sleeper sofa in the living room
Beach: Joseph Sylvia State Beach (6.8 miles)
Guest Reviews: 15 reviews
Time active: 3 months
Contact details:
  Email Jan Hulka
Contact Jan Hulka, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 588-3686.
Please mention Property ID# 31114 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

This was one of the best vacations our family has ever been to! Jan is a terrific and genuine host, thoughtful and unobtrusive. The house is impeccable, and has a peaceful aura. My wife and I stayed with our two-year-old son. He slept in the second bedroom and had fun playing around the house. Location is great: between the two centers, Oak Bluffs and Vineyard Haven. Ask Jan for local recommendations and he will make your vacation even better. He might even make you a natural tick repellent! Jan’s house is most highly recommended and a great value!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Angel V
(Homeowner Entered)

Jan's house was a perfect spot for our family vacation. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We had a lot of privacy. Jan met us at check-in and explained a few things and we rarely saw him after that. But he was responsive to phone calls and there if we needed anything. The deck is a perfect spot for a morning cup of coffee. It was nice to have such a wonderful home base to explore the island from. We were there for the Fourth of July holiday and we caught the most spectacular fireworks show (fireworks along the whole horizon from one beautiful spot on the beach) from Joseph Sylvia State Beach. Get there early for a parking spot or take the bus. We rented a car from the mainland and ferried it over and it worked out perfect for us. The YMCA is just down the road and we purchased a weekly pass and enjoyed our daily morning routines. We felt that Jan's house was a perfect central location for everything that we wanted and needed on the island - groceries, ferries, lots of beaches, towns, YMCA, bus stop, trails, etc... You won't be disappointed with this place.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Danielle L
(Homeowner Entered)

Jan is an amazing host! This was my family's (mom, dad, and fiancee) second year with Jan and upon arrival he remembered our likes and preferences -as well as suggestions for local activities. He is lives on site and made our stay comfortable. I look forward to making more memories staying with Jan in future years.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Vanya J
(Homeowner Entered)

We loved our stay at Jan's beautiful house which was more spacious and better equipped than our apartment at home. There even were puzzles and games that our 4-year old enjoyed a lot. Jan was very helpful and quick to respond to any questions we had. The location was also perfect for exploring the island. Thank you very much for an amazing vacation!

Date of Stay: April 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Grit P
(Homeowner Entered)

Jan is an exceptionally nice person, and his home is warm, inviting, very clean, and bathed in sunlight. We called it our winter cabana. Thank you, Jan

Date of Stay: January 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Caitlin S
(Homeowner Entered)

My best friend (from kindergarten!) and I wanted to explore Martha’s Vineyard for four days in the fall. Jan’s home was our lovely and delightful retreat during our stay. The home is situated on a beautiful lot in a very pretty neighborhood, surrounded by trees. A wrap-around deck was a great place to relax and talk while enjoying the sounds and smells of nature. Jan was a great host, there to greet us when we arrived, available if we had any questions, and again helpful when we checked out. We had rented a car when we arrived on the ferry and were able to explore the entire island while we were there; Jan gave us some good tips and a number of brochures on what to see and do. The house was immaculate, the main rooms were airy and open, our bedrooms and beds very comfortable, and the bathroom and kitchen had everything we needed. One of my highlights was using the outdoor shower at night under the stars! Jan’s gentle, positive spirit was a pleasure to be around. It’s no wonder that he has hosted AirBnB guests from around the world! We both highly recommend Jan’s house for your stay on Martha’s Vineyard!

Date of Stay: October 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
Marci N
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was clean, comfortable, and had everything that we needed. The photos on Airbnb represented the house accurately. The tall ceilings and airy floor plan made it seem even larger. Our visit unfortunately coincided with Tropical Storm Jose, and we were nervous about coming. Jan had flashlights, emergency radio, and other amenities waiting for us that we luckily didn't need, but made us feel more secure. We enjoyed meeting Jan on our arrival, and although he left the next day, he gave us names to contact in case we needed assistance. It's a lovely home in a quiet setting but located conveniently between Vineyard Haven, Oak Bluffs, and Edgartown. We'd happily return (hopefully when the weather is nicer!).

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
Allan B
(Homeowner Entered)

This is a beautiful spot! Open, bright and a joy to visit. The host is spectacular and communicative. His house rules are clear and obvious and leads to a house I would return to! The kitchen has all the necessary pots and pans, mixing bowel that you need. The fridge is large enough to really feed your family from. We didn't watch TV but cable is there. Instead we spent time on the nearby bike path, walking into vineyard haven, and exploring more up island. A short drive to some quick eats in Tisbury is equally convenient. This is a well maintained home; we were comfortable, slept well and enjoyed afternoons on the porch. You won't be dissapointed if you stay here!

Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
Devon W
(Homeowner Entered)

Spent a last minute, hastily arranged New Year weekend trip at Jan's. Good communication despite this busy time of year. Lasting memory of his place is the MOST amazing matresses - would love to know where Jan got them from, SO comfortable! We enjoyed our stay.

Date of Stay: January 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
Debbie N
(Homeowner Entered)

Jan's place was exactly what we expected and we had a wonderful time! Very clean, beautiful space, and ample for our family of four. We stayed in the winter and didn't get to use the outdoor space, but the deck was beautiful and would be very nice in warmer weather. Location is good as well. Central to everything.

Date of Stay: December 2016
Date Submitted: July 2018
Harmony T
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time visiting Jan's home on Martha's Vineyard! Parking was easy and the home gorgeous. Jan is an excellent host! Tips: go grocery shopping before you arrive!! The kitchen is very well equipped! We were there for Christmas and I was able to make a wonderful dinner for the family no problems! Also - make your ferry reservations in advance! Spots fill up fast! The home is spacious and cozy at the same time. We spent a good amount of time walking around (it's a bit of a hike but do able if you want to walk into Village Harbor) and visiting the Alpaca farm. This was by far one of our most favorite places to visit during our 3 week vacation in New England. We stayed for a week and had wonderful family bonding time!! Don't miss the GingerBread houses and dinner at The Cocktail Lounge!

Date of Stay: December 2016
Date Submitted: July 2018
Catherine T
(Homeowner Entered)

Jan's house was absolutely perfect (both spacious and cozy all at once). Our family of 5 (including our 7 month-old baby) had the most relaxing and invigorating vacation. We took advantage of the comfortable atmosphere by spending the mornings enjoying coffee on the deck, afternoons preparing lunch in the perfectly equipped kitchen and our evenings reminiscing about our day on the beautiful island over a glass of wine. We are so happy to know that we have a quiet, centrally-located, well-equipped and beautiful place to stay the next time we come to the island. Jan is always available to answer questions and has a warm and welcoming personality. Thanks so much, Jan. We will see you again soon!

Date of Stay: December 2016
Date Submitted: July 2018
Colleen M
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful, restful weekend at Jan's place. Arrival and departure were seamless-- communication was excellent-- and the place itself was beautiful, spotless and well-appointed. We even enjoyed our rainy day, because the place was so cozy!

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: July 2018
Alexandra B
(Homeowner Entered)

All perfect. Jan welcomed us very friendly and has been a pleasant and welcoming host the entire time. The appartment was clean, is well equipped and met fully our expectations. It is in a very small, very quiet neighbourhood and you need to have a car/bike to get to the places on the Island. Anyhow, we missed this place on our departure allready and could have stayed there longer. We will also miss Jan who is not only pleasant but a very open-minded and interesting Person to talk to. We always felt please when we met on his property.... In Deutsch: Jan ist großartig und so ist auch das Appartment. Etwas ab vom Schuß, Auto notwendig, aber das Appartment hat uns gut gefallen, gut ausgestattet.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: July 2018
Markus G
(Homeowner Entered)

Loved the house and surroundings from the moment we arrived. Jan, your house is so nice and cozy. Neighborhood very quiet and away from busy streets. Everything inside was very clean and accommodating. We only stay for a short period of time, but everything we needed was available to us. Jan was super friendly and very attentive to our needs. We felt private and secure. We highly recommend this location for anyone looking for tranquility, comfort, security, and easy access to all the amenities Martha's Vineyard has to offer. Thank you Jan, R&R

Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: July 2018
Randall C
(Homeowner Entered)