Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Whalesback - Adorable Cottage in Sconset
Siasconset Vacation Rental - ID 15746

1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 1 BR: 1 king, Futon
Beach: 200 feet to Sconset Beach
Guest Reviews: 20 reviews
Time active: 6 years, 10 months
Contact details:
  Email Jeanne Compitello
Contact Jeanne Compitello, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (516) 971-0396 (Anytime), (631) 751-7804 (Anytime).
Please mention Property ID# 15746 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
20 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Special place

My wife and I have stayed here for the last two summers. This is the real thing. If you are looking for a slow, relaxing, and memorable vacation, come to Whalesback. Sconset is on the quiet side of the island. You need to bring your car because it is a fifteen minute drive from the ferry, but you get to experience the best town in Nantucket. The beach 200 feet from your door is the nicest on the island. There is a beautiful walking path on the street above to look out at the ocean and be amazed by the multimillion dollar homes, but you still have the best house location and beach access at Whalesback.

The town center of Sconset is really a three minute walk with a beautiful old general store, and has the best restaurant, Sconset Cafe, on the island. It is a one bedroom with a small balcony, but also has a wonderful outside deck just through the first floor french doors to read and relax in the Adirondack chairs. I have been on many vacations with my wife, but this is by far our favorite. We are already excited about our next year summer stay at Whalesback.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Owner Response:

Thanks for this nice review. You mention so many of the reasons why we fell in love with Codfish Park and Whalesback many years ago. While a car is convenient, it isn't necessary when visiting "in season" since it is also convenient to use the Wave shuttle bus.

Cranston, RI
Member since Apr 2013
Great place!

Great place. Very clean and comfortable. Very accommodating. Equipped with everything we needed (bikes, beach towels, beach chairs, games, books, movies, Internet). The little kitchen was perfect for cooking when you don't want to go out. The location is perfect... Walk to the beach... walk to the market.... walk to the restaurants - everything is just a few steps away. Famous beautiful Sconset Bluff Walk starts just above the cottage. The owner was sweet and very helpful, from reservations all the way through to our stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I would recommend this little gem to anyone.

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed and hope you will visit again. We love Sconset and are happy to be able to share our cottage.

Member since May 2014

It's like another Country in Nantucket, especially at "The Whalesback".

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Jim and Sharon S
Diamond Pt., NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect cottage to spend our honeymoon at. It was so special and sweet.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Steve and Laura L
(Homeowner Entered)
Sconset is the Best

We think Sconset in July is one of the most beautiful places anywhere, and Whalesback is a wonderful place to stay. The privet and roses, rosa rugosa, honeysuckle, and cottage gardens were all in bloom, and the smells as well as the sounds and sights, were heavenly. Sconset is good for the soul.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Waitsfield, VT
Member since May 2008
A peaceful retreat

What a lovely place! The sound of the ocean, the scent of the flowers, the antics of the seals--all was perfect. We spent part of each day on the beach, and then explored Sconset and the island, taking the very convenient shuttle into Nantucket Town for dinner and even a sunset cruise. We started each day by sitting on the deck off of the bedroom with our morning coffee, watching the ocean and listening to the birds. What a peaceful place! We hope to visit Whalesback again next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Dayville, CT
Member since Oct 2012

It’s been another wonderful, relaxing week at the ‘Whalesback’. As always the walks in the a.m. on the beach …

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Jim S
Bolton Landing, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

The Whalesback is a very special place. It is a place of rest, peace and a beautiful part of the Nantucket experience. Sconset brings you back to the simplicity of an island vacation and also ensures a memorable one. The sound of the waves at night, walks for morning coffee at the market, jogging along the beach, the Sconset sunrises … It’s always hard to leave … but the anticipation of returning always helps.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Angelo P
Pocono Pines, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time at your cottage. It is so close to the ocean – we loved hearing the waves crashing at night.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Justin H
New Canaan, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

I had a wonderful week in your little house by the sea. Thanks so much for sharing.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Sheila K
Cornwall on the Hudson, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Have been staying at SummerHouse for last four years. Whalesback for the 5th was a good decision.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Peter and Kathy S
Wayland, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The comfort and the quiet really let us relax in a way we don’t remember having felt in a very long time. A beautiful memory to share for many years to come.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Jessica C
East Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

This has been another wonderful week on the island. We have found a new favorite place in Codfish. ... All with us listening to the roar of the ocean alone on a perfect night, under a starry sky.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Christopher V
Stevenson, MD
(Homeowner Entered)

This is truly heaven!!! We are having the best vacation, your location is perfect. Your house had everything we needed.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Jessica R
Holliston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks again for allowing us to share your cottage. Everything was
in great shape and working order. And the new porch deck on
the 2nd level is wonderful. Enjoyed some amazing mornings and evenings on
it.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Richard and Laurie N
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Everything about the cottage and village was "pitch perfect!" 25 Bank St. exceeded our expectations - everything I could possibly need and more was here. What a delightful and enchanting home you both have created!!

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Cindy M
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

What a lovely place - close to the beach, all the necessities, open, airy and did I say "close to the beach!"

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: October 2011
Carol P
Binghamton, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

The Whalesback only enhanced our love for Nantucket.

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: October 2011
Sharon and Jim S
Diamond Pt., NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for such wonderful accomodations - this is a very, very special spot on Earth.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: October 2011
Chuck and Andrea S
Middleton, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We realy enjoyed staying in your cottage. It's very cozy and we love Codfish Park. The outdoor shower is wonderful and we enjoyed barbequing on the deck.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: October 2011
Miriam P
Troy, NY
(Homeowner Entered)