Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Sandpiper Cottage overlooking Wellfleet Harbor
South Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 10069

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 2 twins, Futon that opens to double bed size
Beach: 200 yards
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 11 years, 1 month
Contact details:
  Email Hillel Gedrich
Contact Hillel Gedrich, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (914) 882-4146 (anytime).
Please mention Property ID# 10069 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfect for a couple

We really enjoyed our week at the Sandpiper. The property was exactly as advertised: a simple cottage with a lovely water view and rustic charm. Everything was basic but functional and cozy. The property feels very private - we enjoyed sitting and reading on the back deck and felt far away from everything. Good location with nice walks to the water, to some conservation lands nearby, and of course an easy drive to beaches and ponds.
This property is perfect for a couple or perhaps a family with one or two small children. Kids would love walking down the steps to the beach and finding lots of sea critters and watching the small boats. The owner was easy to work with, friendly and responsive. We had our dog with us, and the owner was very accommodating about pets.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Mar 2016
Perfect house

I just got home from a 4 day mini vacation with my boyfriend at the Sandpiper. The house was perfect, just big enough with a great wood burning stove, and a big deck with an amazing water view. We could walk down to the beach from the house and go on long walks with the dog. Ocean beaches weren't far away.

The owner (Hillel) was easy to deal with and responsive to our every need. We would definitely go back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2015
Date Submitted: May 2015
Woodstock, VT
Member since May 2015
Cozy stay in November

My husband and I spent four nights with our two small dogs in this cozy cottage. We loved our stay. The wood stove warmed the cottage perfectly. We were so content reading on the comfy sofa on rainy days and exploring the beach in front on sunny days. We'd be just as happy to return in the summer. Great location -- both in terms of towns, and within the bay. Many thanks for the hospitality!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: November 2014
Date Submitted: November 2014
Winthrop, MA
Member since Nov 2014
Quiet, Rustic and just what our family needed!

The Sandpiper Cottage is a wonderful property located by the bay in a lovely section of Wellfleet. It was equipped with everything you would need and very cozy. Our family of 3 enjoyed our stay here very much. Our toddler enjoyed exploring the area; seeing the woodland critters and birds that fly overhead and collecting rocks and sea shells. He especially enjoyed catching sight of the crabs that make their home along the beach adjacent to the cottage.

The deck was perfect for reading a book, enjoying some BBQ or sipping wine. You can also take a short drive to numerous restaurants in the area-we really liked Moby Dick's and PJ's. The cottage is also close to some of the most pristine beaches and ponds Cape Cod has to offer (be sure to obtain a Welfleet beach sticker for your car at the beginning of your stay to gain access to these).

The owner was lovely to work with and answered all of our questions. We will definitely be going back next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Greenwich, CT
Member since Feb 2014
A very Merry Christmas

We stayed at the lovely Sandpiper cottage during the week of Christmas and had a wonderful time. The wood stove kept us toasty warm, and the water views were fantastic. Although there are several houses nearby, you have the feeling of being the only ones around. The Cape in the winter is quiet and peaceful. This property made our time there even better. Thank you, Hillel.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: December 2013
Date Submitted: February 2014
Manchester, CT
Member since Sep 2013
Can't wait to go back!

The only -- only -- bad thing about my stay at the Sandpiper is that since the moment I left I've found myself frequently consumed with thinking about when I might be able to visit again.

I stayed here alone in early November. Here are some highlights:

1. The View: The cabin faces west, looking out at Cape Cod Bay, so there's a good chance you'll be treated to some of the most spectacular sunsets you've ever seen. I'm an early riser -- but, in my experience, the sunsets on the Cape far surpass the early morning light. And you've got options here: enjoying a glass of wine on the deck, sitting on a little platform on the stairs leading to the shore, or -- my favorite -- walking the shoreline with a mug of whiskey. You can also zone out standing right at the kitchen sink as you take it all in: this is what happened to me when I arrived. It took me a few minutes to snap into some sort of reality. Also cool: if you sleep with the bedroom door open, and you wake up real early, you can watch the folks who work the shellfish farms driving out over the mud flats to start their day's work.

2. The Cabin Itself: It's rustic and charming, all wood and high ceilings in the living room / kitchen area. The bedrooms are very small; not a ton of space to store your clothes, but that was fine by me. The kitchen was well-equipped, with one of those smaller stoves: totally adequate for the number of people who might stay here. I had some pretty chilly evenings, but the wood stove kept me plenty warm. And: the wood stove! That's a luxury I don't have at my apartment back in Western Mass. I loved it -- easy to operate and great for the ambiance. With a couple of heavy flannel shirts and a pair of binoculars hanging next to it, I felt like I was auditioning for a role in a short story by Jack London or Ernest Hemingway. One morning I sat on the deck and ate a whole pound of bacon and didn't even feel a wince of shame: the view and the cabin itself just made me feel giddy about the whole endeavor.

One of the early lessons we learn as kids is how to deal with the fact that over the course of your life you'll face countless situations in which reality doesn't meet your expectations. As you get older, the weight of that potential for disappointment grows heavier and heavier. But, the Sandpiper is not a place where you can build character by learning to deal with disappointment: it was better than I expected in every way.

3. The Location: You're minutes from excellent restaurants like the Wicked Oyster and PB Bistro (also fantastic spots for morning coffee / pastries / breakfast). You're under 10 min. from Marconi Beach and some other lovely, more secluded spots on the National Seashore like Maguire Landing. You're a very short drive from the Great Island Trail area and White Cedar Swamp -- nice spots for short or long hikes. Mass Audubon's stunning Wellfleet Bay Sanctuary is only about 10 min. away. And, you're a short drive from both Orleans (where a drink from the Hot Chocolate Sparrow and sunset at Rock Harbor is a must) and Provincetown. And -- and! -- without even getting in your car, the walk along the shoreline near the cabin is a treat. The path goes a long way in both directions, so there's a lot of landscape to explore.

4. The Owner: Hillel was fantastic to deal with. This was one of the easiest vacations I've ever arranged. He was extremely polite and responsive, and I really got the impression that if any problems arose -- and none did -- it'd be very easy to work with him toward a resolution.

Some final thoughts:

1. Stay here.

2. The cabin probably works best for a) a lone traveler or b) a couple or c) a couple with 1-2 kids.

3. Stay here.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: November 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Holyoke, MA
Member since Sep 2013
Peaceful, secluded, a taste of Old Cape Cod

This rustic cottage is beautifully located near Pleasant Point in a quiet neighborhood of South Wellfleet with nonstop bay views. What a perfect Indian Summer retreat! It is located in our favorite part of the Outer Cape with easy access to the best Ocean and Bay beaches and the restaurants and galleries of Wellfleet. The cottage is rustic, but has everything you need, and was spotlessly clean. We loved walking around the bay beach points, especially at low tide, and having a glass of wine on the built in benches on the steps to the beach. The deck is a perfect location for mid afternoon sun. Do not miss PB Boulangerie, Corn Hill Beach, Bookstore Restaurant and Café, and every single morning waking up in this beautiful location. The owner was very responsive and efficient with organizing the rental. A great value and wonderful memories.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
South Salem, NY
Member since Sep 2013
Simple, quiet, perfect...

What a find! We've stayed in houses and cottages all over the Cape, but this one ranks right up there with the best! A beautiful bay-side beach to walk, a quiet setting, a charming and easy-to-live in little house -- what more does one need? Comfortable, and with lots of Cape Cod character; the owner is responsive and easy to work with. If you enjoy the peaceful and rustic feel of the Cape, here is your vacation spot...

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: April 2013
Hamden, CT
Member since Apr 2007

"We had a wonderful time staying at the Sandpiper. The view was spectacular, the cottage was rustic but had all the needed amenities. We especially enjoyed the fire! Our dogs also enjoyed their stay and walks on the beach. The owner made the entire rental process so easy and stress-free that we would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend!!!"

Date of Stay: November 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Camillus, NY
Member since Oct 2010

"The "Sandpiper" came as advertised. No surprises at all except is was even quieter than expected. Loved the pine smell and wall of windows. Our highlights were the wonderful water view on the deck and the walks along the waterfront with our dog. The bay changes constantly along with the abundance of wild life. We explored the harbor beaches, the outer Wellfleet beaches and even the kettle ponds. All I can say is the weather, the cottage and Wellfleet itself were thoroughly enjoyable and worth a return trip."

Date of Stay: October 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
Westminster, MA
Member since Oct 2006

"This experience was in all ways- perfection. The owner is considerate, prompt and thorough. The cottage is charming and well equipped. And the location combines a view of the harbor separated by a natural barrier with direct access to the shoreline. I would highly recommend Sandpiper to all."

Date of Stay: October 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
Cape Elizabeth, ME
Member since Sep 2010

"This cottage provided clean, rustic simplicity with a large sun-filled living space and two smaller bedrooms. The location provided privacy, peace and quiet and thousands of stars to be seen on a clear night. With its large deck and relaxing bay view from inside or out, this home was a wonderful get-away spot. The owner made the rental process comfortable, friendly and easy-going. We would definately come back."

Date of Stay: May 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Newburyport, MA
Member since Apr 2010

"Sandpiper Cottage is the perfect getaway if you are looking for the true Cape Cod experience. We have rented this cottage several times. Mostly in the Fall and have never had a more relaxing vacation. The view of the bay is the first thing you see when you wake up and it is exceptional. The cottage has a rustic charm and provides everything that is needed to make your stay comfortable. We consider the cottage our little piece of heaven on the Cape. So much so, that we chose to stay here this spring as we were married on the beach at sunset. The owner has always helped make every stay special. We love the Sandpiper cottage and can't wait to return in October."

Date of Stay: May 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Vernon, NJ
Member since Sep 2008

"We have rented this cottage for different lengths of time--a long weekend to a month-- in spring, summer, and early fall for many years and have always loved it. The cottage is light, bright, clean, quiet, attractive, well-equipped and completely comfortable. We are two adults, so we use the bunk bedroom as a giant closet except during our longer stays when we occasionally invite one or two friends to visit for a couple nights. We especially enjoy being able to step down from the property onto the marsh for long walks and onto the extensive trails that run into the woods from the marsh. (Our two dogs love these walks, too.) The National Seashore beach at Lecount Hollow is a 5 minute drive away, and the town of Wellfleet with its restaurants and galleries also is close. But just to lounge on the cottage deck is lovely. At sunset the view over the bay can be spectacular, and that view is the first thing you see when you open your eyes in the morning."

Date of Stay: April 2010
Date Submitted: May 2010
Amherst, MA
Member since May 2009