Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Wellfleet Vacation Rental Home, A/C, Jewel Cape Cod Bay
Wellfleet Harbor, on the Bluff Vacation Rental - ID 5527

4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 4 BRs: 2 queens, 3 twins, xtra twin in qn bdrm on lower level
Beach: See the short private path in the lead photo.
Guest Reviews: 15 reviews
Time active: 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Kathy
Contact Kathy, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (203) 913-5205 (10AM-9:30PM EST).
Please mention Property ID# 5527 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
15 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful for a Family Seeking Quiet

Fairwinds is a perfect spot for a family with young kids seeking a quieter time on the Cape (which is exactly what we wanted). The view is spectacular - my son loved watching the boats in the harbor from the living room window (and we loved watching the sunsets after he had gone to bed!) We loved being able to walk right down to the beach to see crabs, build sandcastles, and swim. The house itself is lovely without being too fancy for messy toddlers, and has every convenience imaginable. The new owners were great to work with - their communications before our stay were clear and they checked in to make sure we had everything we needed. We hope to go back again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Watertown, MA
Member since Jul 2016
A wonderful, relaxing spot with all amenities

I stayed in this house many times when it belonged to the previous owner, and I was delighted to find that Kathy and her husband have maintained all the good things about "Fairwinds". The beds and furniture are very comfortable, the cupboard well stocked with staples for guests' use, and the place is very clean. I highly recommend the walk to town along the beach/Uncle Tim's bridge, being careful to avoid the multitude of fiddler crabs; simply gazing out the windows at the amazing panorama provides fine entertainment. A marvelous vacation spot!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Jul 2016
Gorgeous views

You have gorgeous views of Wellfleet Harbor from this well-equipped house. You can walk across Uncle Tim's Bridge into town, watch sunsets from the deck, and stroll directly down to the water. It's one of the prettiest spots in Wellfleet. Kathy and Matt keep the house beautifully. We can't wait to come back next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: May 2016
Lambertville, NJ
Member since May 2016

Wonderful in every way!
This was a house that feels much more like a private home than a rental. Beautiful views abound - you are never missing anything in this house. The owners were fabulous and attentive. We will be back for more!

Date of Stay: April 2016
Date Submitted: May 2016
Kristine S
South Glastonbury, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Wellfleet on our minds

We have been coming to the Cape since college days in the . . . yes, '60's and Wellfleet has always been our favorite. This property will allow any client to truly enjoy the isolation of the Outer Cape. Great views, close to great eateries, the Bay, the Ocean and P'town. Like they said in Field of Dreams:
"Is this heaven?" "No, it's Wellfleet"

Cleanliness of home:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
Rochester, NY
Member since Jun 2014
The Perfect Getaway

Words cannot do justice to the serenity found at Fairwinds. The 180 degree water view, watching the fishing boats leave in the morning and return at night to Wellfleet harbor, walking along the beach or just watching the birds and chipmunks. it was heavenly. It was the perfect environment to renew old friendships as 5 other nurses and I met after not seeing each other for almost 47 years.

There is so much to see and do in the area for adults as well as children. I would recommend Fairwinds for families or friends for any occasion. You will not be disappointed. The house is well stocked with everything you need and more to enjoy your stay. The one problem you will have is not wanting to leave.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: October 2015
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Member since Jul 2016
OMG: Fabulous stay

What a house! The light flowing in through the enormous windows on the entire harbor-side of the home, up and down, was spectacular. As were the sunsets--just gorgeous. The home itself, well, we sure felt like we were on vacation--even though we ate in all meals but one. That's how special this house is. The location is a nice 10-15 walk into Wellfleet center, as well as close to any other trail we wanted to bike or explore. It was perfect. It was quiet, scenic, with ever-changing tides and harbor views, and convenient to food-stores as well as the OysterFest! We were 6 adults (couple plus two daughters and husbands), with a lot of space and time to enjoy each others' company (and fireplace fire) as well as have necessary distance in our bedrooms. The house is outfitted beautifully, with everything you would think of for a week's stay.

The home is very tastefully outfitted -- furniture, rugs, paintings, dishes, obvious comfortability, and patio-deck garden area. Oh-the birds! How could I forget! They're hungry little things, and so varied and fun to watch. We kept the bird feeder stocked daily, as they needed to compete with squirrels for their share.

We loved everything about Fairwinds; location, privacy, sunlight, moonlight, sunsets, style, comfort, and layout. We had a perfect vacation and look forward to a return visit. Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Lexington, MA
Member since Dec 2010
Perfect Fall Getaway

We needed a relaxing late fall break from our hectic schedules. Over the past three or four years, Cape Cod has become our breakaway destination. We've tried many houses in many Cape Cod locations but we think we've found the perfect one. It's called "Fairwinds" and is located in Wellfleet on a beach beside the harbor.

I love cruise ships and "Fairwinds" reminds me of an elegant yacht. Of course, it's much more spacious than a yacht but entering the house one has the feeling of being on a ship. There's lots of open space and light fills the house from the many windows. There are several decks from which to watch activity in the harbor: fishing boats, kayaks, sailboats, clam diggers, soaring gulls, lapping waves. But, unlike most yachts, "Fairwinds" also boasts two wood-burning fireplaces. The house has a comfortable living-dining room and a kitchen equipped with all the amenities, as well as two bathrooms and two large and one small bedroom. There's even a beautifully planted garden overlooking the harbor with a birdbath and a birdfeeder.

Although many of the restaurants in and around Wellfleet are closed or have limited hours at this time of year, we found enough open to keep us happy - the unpretentious Bookstore and Restaurant and the homey Lighthouse as well as the superlative PB Boulangerie, all closeby. PB Boulangerie is located only a ten minute drive from "Fairwinds" and was so good that we dined there four times in ten nights, including having Thanksgiving dinner.

When not enjoying the comfortable home, we spent our time doing many of our favorite Cape Cod things: strolling Provincetown, gallery looking in Chatham, antique hunting in Yarmouth. We also managed to fit in some of our favorite nature walks: Pilgrim Spring Trail, Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary and the walks at the Cape Cod National Seashore Salt Pond Center.

Best of all was returning "home" to "Fairwinds" at the end of each day to a glass of wine and the glorious lingering sunsets from one of the decks.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: November 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Bronxville, NY
Member since Jul 2011

Fire, wind, wine, gleaming wood, art, books, breaching right whales, mussels, oysters, hawks, sun, storm fronts, haddock, flounder, Joe's, Mac's, sunset, sunrise, window in the shower, window at the pillow, heather, hulled seeds, air, surfers, crashing waves, lapping waves, millions of stars, wind-tossed gulls, chickadees, bullying jays, clever crows, persistent squirrels. Thank you for sharing it all,
Patti and Jenna

Date of Stay: February 2012
Date Submitted: April 2012
Easthampton, MA
Member since Apr 2012

My wife Alida and I have stayed at this extraordinary home for five years. As a previous Wellfleet resident who currently lives in Brooklyn, I cherish this town most in the off season - when tranquility and the raw, simple beauty of the landscape/seascape are unforgettable. For this reason, all of our returns to ‘Fairwinds’ have been in April and March.

The home itself is ideally situated on a bluff that hovers high above Wellfleet harbor, providing outstanding views of journeying fishing boats, oyster diggers, Jeremy’s Point, Great Island and Wellfleet Bay. Sunsets from this vantage point are tremendous. The many, many windows of the house insure picturesque views from inside at all times, and watching the weather and atmosphere change over the water is an intrinsic and mystical part of an off-season retreat here. When you are ready to head outdoors, throw on a sweater or light jacket and head down to the beach - just a few steps from the back deck. Take a right at the water and walk through the marsh and woods of Duck Creek to town center taking Uncle Tim’s bridge. Go left and circle around the Cove beach to Indian Neck point.

Modern, spacious & bright, the house is creatively decorated and decidedly uplifting. This place does not feel like a summer rental inside, which is important in the chillier months: it is comfortable, warm and inviting. All the amenities are at hand, including great cookware, a serious Weber grill, washing machine & dryer, dishwasher, sound & video system and copious amounts of household ‘stuff’ like paper towels, aluminum foil, etc., etc.. Basically, all you need to bring are your clothes, towels and sheets – everything else is there, including a hand-compiled notebook of instructions and recommendations.

Although the town is pretty quiet in March and April there are a handful of good restaurants open as well as Wellfleet Market. We enjoy picking up some lunch from town and heading over to eat at the ocean or bay, sometimes from Wellfleet points, sometimes from Truro points. Walks on the beach are great this time of year and often you will have the sand all to yourself. Last visit we lucked out and followed a family of whales jumping around in the water off of Mayo Beach.

You will want to return to this house again and again for sure.

Date of Stay: April 2011
Date Submitted: May 2011
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Mar 2008
Wonderful time

This is such a beautiful, magical place. We had a fabulous time, and May turned out to be a great time for a vacation on the Cape! We loved walking into town on the path, exploring, and just enjoying the peace and quiet and spectacular views. I filled the bird bath and feeder so Anna (our 2 1/2 year old) and I enjoyed watching the many birds that visited us throughout the weekend (we also saw a little red squirrel, a bunny, and a hummingbird). Anna loved chasing crabs, running on the beach, and digging in the sand.

This house is such a great place for children of any age to have a true Cape Cod adventure! It was also great that a pack-n- play, highchair, and some sand toys are provided...it's nice not to have to lug all that stuff from home. All in all, a perfect time! We loved everything about the place and made some very happy memories there. We would love to return someday.

Date of Stay: May 2009
Date Submitted: June 2009
W Hartford, CT
Member since May 2009

Your home continues to captivate us. We had a wonderful week in Wellfleet. Hope you are enjoying your time there

Date of Stay: October 2008
Date Submitted: May 2009
Helen P
New York, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Just wanted to let you know that we had a perfect two weeks in your lovely home. The weather couldn’t have been nicer; we enjoyed many meals on the deck soaking in the views and enjoying the family of rabbits along with the butterflies (and hummingbirds! Lots of them in the evenings). We were really sorry to see the time come to an end. Counting down til next year…

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: May 2009
Linda R
Englewood, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful stay in Wellfleet. Your house is beautiful, the views are beautiful, we kayaked on Gull Pond, we took a Nauset March cruise with Mass Audubon, we gorged ourselves on seafood ... it was really great! Wish there was a way to transport Cape Cod a little closer to Chicago. Glad this worked out & thanks for being so flexible. Have a wonderful summer.

Date of Stay: June 2008
Date Submitted: May 2009
Julia L
Chicago, IL
(Homeowner Entered)

We had an amazing time at Fairwinds! The house is wonderful - full of light, great view of Wellfleet Harbor, funky artwork (loved the light switches!) - and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. We were transfixed watching the tides, birds, and boats from the giant windows all throughout the day. The guidebooks and binoculars were a great addition. We already loved the town of Wellfleet and it was nice to be so close to everything (library, market, and my favorite, the Wicked Oyster). We also appreciated you checking when we arrived; it really made us feel welcome! I would absolutely recommend Fairwinds to anyone looking for a vacation rental on the Cape and am already looking forward to the next time I can stay there. Thanks for everything!

Date of Stay: April 2008
Date Submitted: May 2009
Laura B
Boston, Mass
(Homeowner Entered)