Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charming 3BR family cottage - 200 yards to beach
South Yarmouth Vacation Rental - ID 11011

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 4 twins
Beach: 200 yards to Nantucket Sound Beaches (Seaview)
Guest Reviews: 21 reviews
Time active: 10 years, 8 months
Contact details:
  Email John or Carolyn
Contact John or Carolyn, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (419) 351-1261 (Carolyn), (419) 704-6109 (John).
Please mention Property ID# 11011 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
21 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful Cottage/Fantastic Owners

Our family of five enjoyed an excellent week at the cottage. The owners are exceptionally good to work with (speaking from doing a summer rental for our family every year starting in 2005). The location is great--a short walk to the public beach, which is clean and not overly crowded. The house and yard were tidy and were exactly as the description details. I do suggest you read the description---it is a smaller house (we ate all but one of our meals on the lovely patio because the kitchen is tight). There isn't a dishwasher (besides your kids. that is!). The inside shower is smaller but the outdoor shower is fantastic. We were fine with all of this and it did not impede our stay in the least.

John and Carolyn provided a surplus of information to help us plan and enjoy our stay and they were thorough in their instructions.

We took the ferry from Wood's Hole to Martha's Vineyard and recommend this as it less expensive than going from Hyannis Port. Just make sure to park in the large lot they recommend, which has free bus service to the dock.

We did a day trip into Boston and took MBTA from the Quincy Adams station. This worked well for us.

Overall we highly recommend staying on this property. It is a fair price for the accommodations and location, and the owners are great to work with.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Member since Jul 2016

John & Carolyn - we loved our stay in your cottage by the sea. We spent the first few days on Thacher Beach - walking down and being on the beach was a quick way to wind down into vacation mode. We spend the day Tuesday at Mayflower Beach in Dennis. The tide pools and sand bars made for lots of fun water time. On Wednesday we took a break from the beach and drove out to Provincetown. After a few hours enjoying the town, we went for a hike up the dunes - gorgeous nature views! We headed over to CC National Seashore to watch the sunset and were treated to a seal show better than any aquariums. There had to be dozens of them swimming right off shore, it was amazing. Thursday was the Inflatable Park and Friday we went to Bass River Beach and then Hyannis for dinner (The Roadhouse was super - best chowder ever!) and a stroll.
The week has ended way too quickly and we're already talking about what we want to do "next time."
The Cape is our newly appointed favorite place to vacation and we can't wait to come back. Yarmouth is so convenient to everything, too. Thank you for giving us a cozy home to come back to after our adventures.
The Duffy's

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Mary Ellen D
Albany, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We're back at the Little Cottage by the Sea. The close proximity to so many things has allowed us to have many adventures this week. Paddle boarding tops the list, we also enjoyed the inflatable park, Cape Cod Potato Chip Factory tour, Brewster Craft Fair, dinners at Sesuit Harbor Café and building sand castles at the beach.
The Barry's

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Sue B
Williston, VT
(Homeowner Entered)
Wonderful Week

John and Carolyn,
Thank you so much for allowing us to rent your adorable vacation cottage this summer. We are long time visitors to the Cape and your home was just the kind of home we look for. The 5-minute stroll to the beach was perfect!! We were able to locate 32 of the 39 sand sculptures located at various sites throughout town. What a fun scavenger hunt! We were also able to visit our favorite spots: Wellfleet Drive-in, Kream and Kone, Captain Parkers (for the 1st time ever!), and our MUST do - Cape Cod Creamery. Thanks again, we hope to be able to visit again VERY soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Attleboro, MA, usa
Member since Jun 2007
Fantastic Cottage and Location!!

We were so so pleased with our stay last year we are planning a return visit this summer! The owners are wonderful, and the cottage is perfect--very well maintained! Relaxing back yard and great front patio. The location could not be better--just steps from beautiful S. Yarmouth beaches. Highly recommended!!! You will love your stay.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
Member since May 2014

Enjoyed everything...beach, weather, location & restaurants. Best cottage in town, will come back.
Fred, Marie, Claude & Francoise

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Alfred C
Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Very nice vacation, house was perfect, weather was great, packing to go home came too fast. Thank you...Robin & Sean

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Sean M
Franklin, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

John & Carolyn - Thank you so much for letting us use your cottage this week. We enjoyed trips to Hyannis, Harwich and Chatham as well as morning and evening walks to the beach. Kerri particularly enjoyed her morning coffee and book out front on the patio - "mommy time."
For dining, we stopped at our favorite Captain Parkers for lunch a few times as well as the Raw Bar and Baxters in Hyannis. Thank you again!
James, Kerri & Michael and David & Sarah

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
James M
Whitman, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

John & Carolyn - Thank you so much for sharing this lovely home. My family enjoyed ourselves so very much. We love the beach, The Skipper was delicious; we went to Main Street, Hyannis for the Fourth and shopping. We can't wait to return.
The McDonalds

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Elizabeth M
Dracut, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

It was our first visit to the Cape and we enjoyed our week. We went to Provincetown and went to Herring Cove Beach. We visited the "Cape Cod Potato Chip" factory. The kids (7,12, 15) enjoyed the waves at Nauset Beach, the Pirate Cove Mini-Golf, the go-karts and the Cape Cod inflatable water park. And of course, we relaxed at the beach close to the cottage. We really appreciated to have the possibility to go to the beach without taking the car. The location of the cottage is perfect!
We hope to come back in a few years!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Chantal B
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

John & Carolyn - Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to vacation here this year! Our girls loved our time here. Beaches, P-town, Brewster, Putt-Putt, late night walks on the beach, ice cream, lobster, picnic & hiking at Nickerson State Park, high tide & low tide, etc....
We can't wait for our next family vacation here!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Paul S
Temperance, MI
(Homeowner Entered)

Once again we had a wonderful time in your cottage near the sea. Ths week was perfect. This year we decided to relax and the beach and get a great tan! The kids made sand castles and everybody enjoyed the warm water. We went to Nauset Beach and my husband and I discovered surfing in the waves...we had so much fun! Thanks John & Carolyn
The Picards
P.S. - Your neighbor gave us some delicious freshly caught fish - it was delicious!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Sylvie P
Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear John & Carolyn - we had a wonderful week that everyone will remember! Beaches, great tan for our girls, mini-golf and beaches again! We enjoyed every minute and we hope to come back. Thank you for sharing your little paradise with us!
Stephanie & Family

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Stephanie B
Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed our visit to the Cape, first time and stay in this quaint cottage. Our time has gone quickly! The days were packed with trip to Hyannis, Chatham, Martha's Vineyard, Provincetown and Boston. Down at the beach we took in the fireworks and our teenage daughters went parasailing.
This has been a great family vacation...we all agreed worth the trip from Michigan!
Thanks for providing the perfect spot for creating special memories for our family.
Smiles - Tony, Michelle, Erin & Colleen

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Tony B
Commerce Twp, Michigan
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time, staying at your lovely cottage! Your neighbors, in particular, made our stay highly enjoyable.
We especially enjoyed hanging out on the front patio and cooking our meals over the grill. The beach is very conveniently located and our kids had a fantastic time.
We hope to return soon.
Chris, Wendy, Connor, Nolan and Lily

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Chris H
Loudonville, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great time this week. We did a lot of resting and relaxing. Location, Location, Location!!
Thanks Barb, Chip & Don

P.S. We had a very nice time - as my mom said we did a great deal of relaxing and walks to the beach. The location can't be beat!
Katie

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Barb T
Charlton, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

You have a very cute cottage. The kids love biking around here and being able to bike to the beach, playground and for ice cream. Great!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Tom G
Princeton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful week. Lots of sun, beach, swim in to the sea, seafood...and seafood again! Walking to the beach is fantastic! We went to Provincetown - it was great. We went to Brewster by bike and had a swim in a little lake there. Pirate's Cove mini-golf was fun. For our second time in Cape Cod, everything was perfect. The cottage had everything that we needed. Thank you and we hope to come again!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Anthony R
Quebec City, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

The house is adorable and comfortable, we really enjoyed our stay here. We visited P-town and Chatham, went kayaking on the Bass River, played mini-golf at Pirate's Cove, went to dinner at Skippers twice and all in all we had a lovely time! Thanks for all the thought and care that goes into this lovely little house! All the best!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Paul M
Los Angeles, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for letting us use this lovely home! We had a wonderful two weeks, amazing weather, lots of beach time.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Kevin B
Williston, Vermont
(Homeowner Entered)

"This summer rental, was by far the best place we have ever rented. It is clean,decorated beautifully, has everything you would need to feel at home, while you are on vacation. Grandchildren friendly,wonderful neighbors, walking distance to beach. This is the place to rent if you want a home away from home experience. Near many restaurants,shopping, and water sports, etc. The owners make it very enjoyable also the renting process was very easy and they were always available if you had any questions. The price is affordable for the average family. Overall a wonderful vacation home and experience." Carleen from Connecticut, July 2009

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: November 2009
Naugatuck, CT
Member since Mar 2009