Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Bay front & Pool SUP's Kayaks Bikes AC Beach Pass Pets ok
Cotuit Vacation Rental - ID 26216

4 BR
4 ½ baths
Sleeps 12
Beds: 2 queens, 2 doubles, 5 twins, Sleeping Alcove with Queen Sleeper
Beach: Wading Beach on-site & 9/10 mile to Loop Beach
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 8 months
Contact details:
  Email Paul Thompson
Contact Paul Thompson, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (973) 703-8200, (774) 238-7181.
Please mention Property ID# 26216 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Shoestring is Great

Great time at this great spot. House was spotless, kids loved the crystal clear pool, close access to great beaches. Gorgeous water views from the house and porches. Great appliances and kitchen setup. Paul, the owner, is great to work with; available and keeps his promises. Highly recommend this large house very close to Cotuit center.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Holden, MA
Member since Feb 2018
Cape Cod Zen

This is a wonderful rental home. It has pretty views of the Shoestring Bay, a great pool and outdoor space, lots of comfortable indoor space, updated kitchen and bathrooms and lots more. Paul, the owner, is so easy to work with and is very helpful. This is awesome rental property and I would highly recommend it.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Wellesley Hills, MA
Member since Jun 2010
Best time ever!

We couldn't be happier. This was a splurge for our 50th wedding anniversary. NO DISAPPOINTMENT! There were 11 of us. I loved the "Great Room", my term for the room that was dining table, sitting room space and sun room all together. Plenty of space for us all to be together. Off the sun room was a small deck with a table where we converged every morning for coffee. Kitchen was plenty big enough for 4 women to work comfortably to make meals. Convenient appliances like coffee maker and single cup. The pool and outside toys (kayak, etc) were enjoyed by all. I would also like to mention that Paul, the owner, was always on high alert. Prior to our rental he was always prompt to respond, and while we were at his property, he always responded quickly. He never left us hanging, nor was he impatient. He is a great landlord. We highly recommend this property. After thought: the house smelled new and clean and the air conditioners kept all the rooms comfortable.. Thank you, Paul, for helping us to make a wonderful memory. Worth every penny, or dollar. : )

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Springfield, MA
Member since Aug 2018
Wonderful

We loved our stay. The house is lovely, clean, large, and comfortable. Frankly, the photos do not do it justice. We enjoyed our time by the pool and paddling around in the calm waters of the river. We enjoyed the environment so much that we preferred to stay "home" for meals. It was perfect for our family and we hope to return.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Summit, NJ
Member since Aug 2018
Great Family Gathering

The house and the amenities were wonderful at Shoestring Bay House! The owner was easy to work with and easily available if needed. The location is perfect for enjoying all that Cape Cod has to offer -- when you can get the kids out of the pool! The house offered plenty of room for all ten of us to spread out or to gather for meals and fun.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Member since Jul 2017
Great Stay at Shoestring Bay House

Six of us attended a wedding at the country club that is only two miles from the house. The location is beautiful, the house has many windows and a great front room with a view of the bay. For those who like to walk, there is a conservation area with trails close by. There was plenty of room, privacy, and private spaces. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. I highly recommend the house for anyone looking for a quiet and well adorned house on the water.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Portsmouth, NH
Member since Oct 2017
A wonderful week

This home has everything for grown up and kids both inside and out. Spacious, great cooking facilities, games, number of TVs. My grandkids used the boats and paddle boards.

The owner leaves instructions as to everything and is available for questions.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Larchmont, NY
Member since Dec 2007
Great time and great memories on the Cape

Even though we have been to the Cape many times, this was our first time in Cotuit, and the first time with our grandchildren. There were seven of us total, and we had more than enough room. This is a lovely home set in a beautiful, friendly neighborhood with such tranquil views. We would certainly book another vacation here in the future - however, our seven year old granddaughter is telling her Papa to just buy it!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Bradenton, FL
Member since Jul 2017
We had a lovely stay, with a few suggestions

We had a lovely stay at this house, in large part because the owner is very organized with the contract and house details (which we appreciated). The house is much bigger than it looks from the pictures, easily sleeping two families with five children between us. The house has two kitchens (we only used one), many sitting rooms, 4 big bedrooms, and more. We very much enjoyed the use of the kayaks / hobie cat in the bay, and enjoyed the pool as well. Both of these were so entertaining that we decided the schlep to the beach was generally not worth it.

A few highlights -
- Grocery store in Mashpee is approx 10 min drive; a variety of shops there as well
- We enjoyed walking the quiet neighborhood and meeting some of the neighbors
- A quick drive from Boston, not too "far" into the Cape
- Some nice visits to neighboring towns (Falmouth / Woods Hole a highlight)
- Kayak / Hobie use as mentioned in the lovely bay (bay is not for swimming though)
- Great, friendly owner

A few suggestions / comments -
- The detailed contract puts a lot of the onus for the house on the renters, so be prepared for that (count the remote controls, maintain the pool or pay to have it maintained, etc)
- House is a typical rental in that it's a little tired but as I said, also very spacious
- Neighborhood roads don't have sidewalks (we run a lot) but also not SO many cars that you can't figure out a safe route

We would definitely go back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Owner Response:

We always appreciate constructive feedback from our guests. This helps us improve our home for future guests.

We have been slowly updating the house over the past five years and plan to continue with a small section or project each year. This winter/ spring we will be completing the kitchen and painting the pool. With the drought of summer 2016 and a voluntary watering ban, the yard has taken a beating. We are exploring the options for low maintenance plants.

Having multiple renters (very large groups) over a four month period does put a lot of wear and tear on our family home and sometimes it can get a little tired. We are trying to establish cost effective solutions to make sure our home is vibrant and enjoyable all summer long, just as it is on Memorial Day weekend !!!!

Our contract is very detailed, unfortunately most of the paragraphs of the contract are due to past renters' negligence.

Wayland, MA
Member since Sep 2016
Great house for a big group and lots to do!

We celebrated a number of milestone birthdays on Cape Cod this summer at this house! We had people popping in from all over the East Coast (we are mostly Californians) and we brought together quite of few family and friends to say WOOHOO. This house has two kitchens, fully stocked and lots of toys to head out on the water with. It has some unique wiring that caused us to be creative after a storm but otherwise met and exceeded our expectations for this fun week. Paul was awesome at handling the whole process.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Novato, CA
Member since Jul 2016

Don't hesitate to reserve this wonderful home in Cotuit. We loved everything about the house and the quiet neighborhood. The open layout of dining/living/sunroom areas was great. Plenty of room to gather together for dinner/breakfast ... or separate from each other to read or compute. Our group was 7 retired adults but we could see what a great house it would be with children. Two of us enjoyed the kayaks on a beautiful September morning while others went off on a whale watch. We loved relaxing with cocktails on the upper deck and one evening a heron was fishing right on the little beach below the deck. One night we had a lobster dinner on the lower deck (near pool). Ordered cooked lobsters from Stop&Shop (much easier than cooking ourselves). Two other Cape friends joined us that night for dinner. We all enjoyed early morning and evening walks in the surrounding neighborhood. Do stop by the charming Cotuit General Store ... they have good food for take out. Our only dinner out was at the Kettle Ho which is not far from the house. Lots of locals there - food was good. Paul, the owner, was great. He's very organized and clearly he & his family take very good care of their beautiful home. It was very comfortable and very clean! We would definitely recommend this property to family & friends!!!

Date of Stay: November 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Barbara D
Simsbury, Ct.
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you!! Our blended-extended family, friends and dogs enjoyed every fun beautiful moment at your gorgeous home! We all loved the house, pool, neighborhood and being right on the water! We also had the best weather to top it off!! ?? Everything about this home and property added to a perfect wknd together!! Thank you for being so accommodating to our group! We were so comfortable and felt at home immediately! The only negative was leaving ?? Highlights were kayaking to the spit, volleyball in the pool, corn hole on your front lawn and a delicious lobster boil ?? We appreciated the way your specious and beautiful home is wired up for music, TV etc and the air conditioning kept us comfortable on the hot muggy days!! We hope to return next year!! ?? Thank you again so much!!

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Linda G
Barrington, RI
(Homeowner Entered)
Two weeks at Shoestring

Best summed up by the gloomy atmosphere as we left for the airport. Wonderful two weeks in which we made the most of being on the property and its extensive facilities. We should have toured more, eaten out at the many restaurants, but in the end, a home cooked meal on the balcony was everyone's favourite.

Just waiting for Paul to come up with a Loyalty card!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since Aug 2016