Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Classic Beach House with Fabulous Water Views- 3BR & 2 Baths
Provincetown Vacation Rental - ID 11491

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 queens, 1 double, Sofabed
Beach: Cape Cod Bay directly across the street. 1/10 mile
Guest Reviews: 19 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 1 month
Contact details:
  Email Mariellen
Contact Mariellen, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 737-0092.
Please mention Property ID# 11491 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
19 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
No place like Mayflower

A new stove and dishwasher in the kitchen have made Mayflower cottage even more desirable as a vacation destination. It is filled with good books, interesting art, and comfortable furniture. The view of the bay its spectacular and you'll love the ocean breezes. There's no prettier spot to spend a vacation near Provincetown.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Springfield, TN
Member since Jul 2017

Review #17827433 “Classic Cape Cod Cottage/house with Fabulous Water Views. ”

Fabulous time!
? ? ? ? ?
My husband, son and daughter, and two of their friends had an amazing time at Mayflower House. Everything you can imagine was provided for comfort and ease, and every corner had something interesting and fun to enjoy. The beds were comfy and even tho it was chilly at night we had lots of warm blankets to stay warm. There was ample room to relax. The small kitchen was well equipped and though we ate out a lot we also cooked some meals. The views were gorgeous and the location just outside town made it quiet and private. It was a short 5 min drive to all the pleasures of Commercial Street. We will definitely be back next year!

Date of arrival
June 4, 2017

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Joanne B
(Homeowner Entered)

Review #17654770 “Classic Cape Cod Cottage/house with Fabulous Water Views. ”

Loved the Mayflower House
? ? ? ? ?
Mariellen is a wonderful host and her house was perfect for our get together. Great location with plenty of parking and a very cozy and comfortable house for six people. Kitchen was well-stocked with all the cooking utensils necessary to cook meals. Comfortable beds upstairs, which as nice since it was rather cool at night. Oh yeah, high-speed Internet connection was a plus! Highly recommended.

Date of arrival
May 25, 2017

Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Craig W
(Homeowner Entered)

The Mayflower was a perfect getaway: Views of the water and access to the beach close by, quirky decorations in a refurbished historic house, ample communal space both indoors and out with all the amenities required for a great vacation

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Brian M
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a really amazing time at the Mayflower House. Mariellen was extremely helpful and professional prior to our arrival. As soon as we arrived we knew we had picked the right place to stay. The house is up a short private road through the woods and situated on top of a hill overlooking the Bay. You have a beautiful view of the water and sunrise from the patio outside and from two of the bedrooms. The yard is well maintained and very comfortable for relaxing and eating outside. Inside the house is extremely unique and charming. Mariellen is a collector of the many interesting things and art works that decorate the house. This house is the opposite of a generic rental property -- the ceilings are beamed, the floors are wooden, there are interesting things everywhere, and a big library of books. The house is really charming. You'll feel like you're in a well-loved home, not a bland rental. We loved it. And should also add that the kitchen is really well stocked with equipment for cooking -- much more so than any other rental house in Ptown (or anywhere else) that i've stayed. In the morning we'd take the short walk across the street to the beach and walk out into the ocean and low tide. A great place to have your morning coffee! The house is not downtown Ptown -- so you should be aware of that. You do have to walk or bike or take the shuttle about 2 miles into the center of town. We actually really liked this because it was a built in reason to get exercise every day and when we got home at night, it was quiet and a different experience than the bustle of town. I definitely would recommend this house to a friend -- and would come back and stay myself on a future visit to Ptown.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Nicole S
(Homeowner Entered)

Mariellen was very welcoming and reachable. We had one minor issue, but she was quick to respond! The house itself was adorable and has great views of the bay from the front two bedrooms. The screened in porch and out door areas were perfect for relaxing, reading, or doing yoga. There were 6 of that stayed and we each enjoyed our time and the location. The Marilyn Monroe garage was a perfect landmark for cabs, new friends, or knowing where to jump off the shuttle. I would definitely consider staying at this location again.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Chris M
(Homeowner Entered)

Just got back from a family vacation at Mariellen's vacation home. The house is charming and just as described - so relaxing and a great location! We loved walking the beach each morning and being able to take a short shuttle ride into Provincetown. Also really liked the outdoor shower! Would definitely recommend.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Emily T
(Homeowner Entered)

We stayed at Mariellen's Mayflower cottage the last week in July, 2016. A week that was miserably hot back in Boston. The cottage's location on a bluff above Cape Cod bay meant that breezes kept the cottage cool. My partner and I had a great week, relaxing with our two dogs, taking them for walks on the bay when the tide was low, and on the trail through the woods behind the cottage when the tide was high. The location is quiet and very private-feeling, but close to Provincetown and the National Seashore and everything else P'town has to offer. A car is recommended, but the shuttle to Provincetown stops right down the steps from the cottage, so you can get into town easily that way as well. The cottage has a funky and charming design aesthetic, and is very comfortable. Filled with books of all kinds, so you won't need to bring your own trashy summer reading. The kitchen is well equipped for any type of cooking you might want to do. Just be sure to put your fresh food in the fridge, or ants may discover it. The house has a tv, cable access, a DVD player, and wifi, so if you MUST bring work, you can stay connected. Cell phone reception is pretty good from most spots in the house as well. The outdoor patio is lovely, and the grill is excellent. The hot and cold outdoor shower is really a treat. The owner Mariellen is very helpful but also unobtrusive. All in all, we couldn't have been happier with our stay at Mayflower Cottage. Highly recommended!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
John C
(Homeowner Entered)

We just returned from our second visit to the Mayflower cottage, and it was even lovelier than we remembered. The size and open layout were perfect for our group of 5. Although the cottage has many comfortable seating areas both inside and out, the screened front porch with water views was by far the favorite. Bedrooms are cozy and comfortable; we were amazed to find that we all slept like babies. Even on a warm summer day, the constant cool breeze from the bay keeps the hillside location the perfect temperature. Having two full bathrooms is great for larger groups, but the spacious and private outdoor shower is where it's at. I've rented from Mariellen for many years, and she is truly an outstanding host -- 100% responsive and accommodating, yet never intrusive. As long as you bring groceries, there's absolutely no reason to leave the house, but we did enjoy the lovely walk into town a few times; the shuttle bus runs right by if you're too tired to walk. Bayside beach access is right across the street and down a sandy lane. We're already dreaming of next year...

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Kristen V
(Homeowner Entered)

After eight years visiting Mayflower House, there is no doubt we've concluded we've found the best place to stay in the Truro, Provincetown area. Not only is the house immaculately maintained and updated on an almost annual basis, but the owner is absolutely committed to making your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. Since the house is fully provisioned, all you need to do is pack in the your groceries and libations and let your vacation begin!! The house is very well maintained and the expectations of each tenant upon departure are simply and clearly spelled out. No surprises for anyone. We would recommend the property to anyone - you just can't beat it. From a location perspective, the house is outside of Provincetown proper, but is a short shuttle ride away. You could even walk or run to town if you were so inclined. Once in Provincetown, the selection of restaurants spans many cuisines and classifications from street food to fine dining. Attractions are equally varied from people watching, visiting galleries, climbing Pilgrim's Monument, sailing on a whale watch or visiting one of the many beaches and/or lighthouses that dot the seaside around town. If you decide to stay at Mayflower House, you'll not regret it!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: March 2017
Andy G
(Homeowner Entered)

This is a delightful house. Views of the bay from the yard and the beach just across the street. My kids and I rode bikes to town (1 mile) every day. The house is cool and comfortable and clearly decorated by someone with a good eye for detail. Mariellen is a great host -- attentive without ever intruding. Highly recommended.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: March 2017
John S
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful stay at the Mayflower House this past August. The home was spacious and airy and clean and well kept. We liked the private setting and the views of the Bay. Easy access to Provincetown. We cooked in most of the time and the kitchen was well equipped and the grill was easy to use. Late afternoon reads on the patio or the screened porch were favorite times for us. I recommend this home very highly-you will not be disappointed.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: March 2017
Jeff W
(Homeowner Entered)

We had our son and his fiancée plus our dear friend from NYC..oh and Tito our French Bulldog..that meant five adults we were more than comfortable and had many places to sit and read,enjoy the view, or just space out. Many photo ops in this groovy house it really is special. Thanks Mariellen.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: March 2017
Denise S
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you Mariellen for allowing us to enjoy your home on our vacation. The house is adorable and very welcoming. The bedrooms are very comfortable with the best view and wonderful breeze. I love how quiet and comfortable the yard is. After a day downtown it was nice to "get away from it all" and relax on the patio. You made our stay in Ptown a memorable one and we look forward to staying at Mayflower House again. Brian

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: March 2017
Brian R
(Homeowner Entered)

This charming cottage is fully equipped and well maintained. Its location on historic Mayflower Heights offers a wonderful view and sea breezes, with convenient access to the bay beach below. The downstairs living area includes a porch with seating and a table, giving you two dining areas if you have extra guests. There is a desk at the foot of the stairs that can serve as a study nook for checking your computer or letter writing. The restaurants of Provincetown are nearby, but so are those in Truro and Wellfleet (our favorite there is The Wicked Oyster). We have come for three years and consider it and Provincetown one of the all time great vacation spots!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: March 2017
Kay G
(Homeowner Entered)

By now 3 months have passed since our family vacation (2 parents with 2 kids living temporarily in NY (1.5 and 4.5y) and 2 grandparents who came over from Germany) at Mayflower House in Provincetown. We all have enjoyed this vacation very much - not least because of the natural hospitality and genuine friendliness of and the great home provided by Mariellen. There was so much attention, not only to all You could wish for a vacation home, kitchen, outdoor grill, equipment, cleanliness, maintainance etc, but also to the house itself, humorous and cosy details, just welcoming and in a charming and relaxed manner comforting You. Thank You Mariellen! The house and place has its own distinct character so that it appears able to embrace a variety of characters, different personalities and age groups. We loved the screened porch, especially for lunchtime and early afternoon, enjoyed the outdoor grill and the conviviality of the place. It has been a less than 5 mins walk down and across the street to the beach with our 2 kids and a ride of less than 10 mins to Provincetown center by car. This definitely is a place we all would love to come back to and which we would recommend without hesitation to friends.

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: March 2017
CKJG G
(Homeowner Entered)

If you want to feel at home in your vacation rental, you should stay at the Mayflower! Mariellen is so gracious and the house has all the amenities you need - dishwasher, grill, laundry, beach access, even a few good knives! But, it's the extra touches like antiques and art that make it warm and cozy. The beds are comfortable, the front porch begs for you to sit and read on it and the outdoor shower is a MUST! I don't think we'll ever stay anywhere else in P-Town!

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: March 2017
Amanda A
(Homeowner Entered)

My Wife, 9 month year old and boston terrier stayed at the Mayflower the first week of September and it was absolutely perfect. The entire place is very eclectic with lots of books, games, boat artifacts, and interesting knick knacks to make it feel like a nice home. Mariellen takes really good care of her home. She keeps it absolutely immaculate and is a great way to start our vacation off. Like all the other reviews, lots of time is spent in the screened in porch. The Bay is an easy walk right across the street. Getting to town was no problem at all and is a nice walk. I highly recommend this property when choosing one. Next time we come to P-Town we want to stay here. Thanks for a wonderful stay Mariellen.

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: March 2017
Casey C
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family (including two teenage boys and a 3-year-old) vacationed at the Mayflower House for the first time in July 2008. As soon as we walked up to the house it was clear that the owner takes great pride in the property; both the yard and the house were very clean and well cared for. There is an abundance of outdoor seating, all overlooking the Bay. The first floor is a beautiful, open, airy space (the online pics don't do it justice) with a bathroom, cute kitchen, large dining room and wonderful living area with plenty of room to flop. The living room leads to the great screened porch which runs the width of the house and includes another dining table, couch, chairs, etc. The bedrooms were a perfect size for us and each had its own special view. And the supplies!!...when she says all you need are beach blankets and beach towels she isn't kidding. The kitchen and 2 (full!) bathrooms were completely stocked with more than enough soap, cleaning supplies, towels, etc. The location was perfect for us as it's a short walk to the beach, on the shuttle route and close to town with all its shops and restaurants yet just far enough off the beaten path to enjoy quiet family time as well. I'd highly recommend a stay at the Mayflower House for anyone looking to get away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life.

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: March 2017
Kris G
(Homeowner Entered)