Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

The Most Famous House in Provincetown

Provincetown Vacation Rental - ID 7160
4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 2 queens, 2 doubles
Beach: YOU'RE ON IT! Access directly from sundeck
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 17 years, 5 months
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Fabulous House!

What an amazing, authentic beach house! We were a group of old friends who got together for a wonderful week. After seeing the artwork of the house in town, we can definitely say it is 'The Most Famous House in Provincetown'. The house was immaculate and the description on the website is totally accurate. The kitchen has been nicely updated with everything you need if you are going to cook. We liked the original bathtub and didn't find that the shower curtains billowed. We felt that we were living the real experience. Of course, the sunrises and sunsets from the wrap around porch are the best in Provincetown. We will definitely be back. Thank you Lisa, you are a gracious and attentive host!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2021
Date Submitted: December 2021
Owner Response:

Hi Charlotte

Many thanks for the wonderful review. We are so glad you had a great week. The weather certainly did its best! And thanks for letting me know all was well in the house. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

New York, NY
Member since Oct 2013
Dream Beach House

We love this home!  
It is an iconic, quintessential beach house, which clearly has been lovingly maintained by Lisa and her family.  

Our week in Provincetown flew by, but our highlights include the incredible sunrises and sunsets we saw from the porch, drinking our coffee on the porch, walking on the flats and enjoying every moment at the house.

The 'servants quarters' bedrooms with their own back stairs to the kitchen are charming and cosy. The two master bedrooms are delightful. Everything has a story and a history, which we loved.

Lisa is a fantastic host and we will definitely be back. Those views...the best you will find in Provincetown.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2021
Date Submitted: November 2021
Owner Response:

Hi Lauren

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate it. We have worked very hard over the years to maintain the integrity of the house, modernising when possible, without losing sight of the fact that it is, after all, a beach house, albeit an iconic one as you said. We are so pleased you are coming back and we look forward to seeing you in 2022!

Provincetown, MA
Member since Nov 2021
A pleasant surprise!

We have been vacationing in N. Eastham and Wellfleet for over 40 years. Availability issues due to Covid forced us to look at other options, in other towns. We used "weneedavacation.com" for the first time and found this listing in Provincetown, and even though it required us to use the money wiring process (which is always said to be a huge no-no), we decided to take a chance on it. I sent an email to the "weneedavacation.com" address and did receive a reply very quickly that Lisa Lustigman was a trusted owner and the wire would be done safely.

What a very pleasant surprise to find a beautiful, extremely clean, historic home waiting for us! To be within walking distance (albeit about a mile) to the town center was a huge bonus! We've visited Provincetown once or twice a week every year we vacationed on the Cape, but to stay in town the entire week allowed us to spend more time exploring than we ever have. It was also much nicer to be on the fringes of all the town activity as opposed to right in the noisy, busy center What a treat!

The home itself was very, very clean and provided all amenities as noted in the listing. Two of the 4 bedrooms had queen beds and were very comfortable. The other 2 bedrooms were small and had full-sized beds. While this was a minor inconvenience, we really didn't spend much time in the bedrooms anyway so it was not an issue. The bathrooms were also a bit dated, but were extremely clean and well-kept. One had a shower stall, and the other had a claw foot tub with a suspended shower curtain all the way around. While not fancy or a bit more modern, they served their purpose and we had no issues whatsoever.

The outer deck and porches were the icing on the cake. Drinking our morning coffee and early evening drinks here was just so relaxing, with great views of the town wharfs.

Our week in Provincetown at the Fabian home was enjoyed by all!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2021
Date Submitted: October 2021
Owner Response:

Hi Julie
Thanks for your review - we are glad you had a great time in Provincetown and at our home. The fall is one of our favorite times of the year. We hope you decide to rent in Provincetown again - it's like nowhere else!

Wethersfield, CT
Member since Apr 2021
Heaven on Earth

The most perfect place you will ever stay. We were lucky enough to spend a month here this summer all together as a family with our two dogs. The memories we have waking up and having coffee, walking the dogs on the beach at low tide, paddle-boarding down to the edge of Provincetown, and dinners by the water watching the sunset every night will last us a lifetime. Lisa was extremely responsive and provided us with everything we could've possibly needed. We miss this special place and hope to return again soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Owner Response:

Jillian, thank you so much for this spectacular review! It was a complete pleasure to host you and your family and we hope you will come back in the future. It has been such a challenging time for everyone, globally, since March 2020, but we are so glad our piece of heaven was yours too. Stay safe and be well.

Watertown, MA
Member since May 2020
It's like spending a week on the bow of a ship!

I don't think it's possible to be any closer to the water without falling in. The house takes advantage of this location over and over. Water views from every room, a porch with water views from 2 sides of the house, a deck, a private boardwalk and even a beach at low tide.
The living room is the core feature of the house with high ceilings and two walls of ocean facing windows. There is even a wood burning stove for cool, cozy evenings. The kitchen is modern and as one guest put it "I could do dishes all day long in there with those views".
The house is well maintained and tastefully furnished with all the amenities you would need. It is a nice mixture of historic charm and modern amenities. Upstairs the bedrooms and bathrooms are small but tidy and afford the luxury of fresh sea air and views.
The location is outside the hub bub of town but easy walking distance to all the action- if you ever choose to leave the house. Lisa is extremely responsive and on top of all the details.
I hope we can come back soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: June 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad you had an enjoyable week in Provincetown and at our home. We look forward to hosting you again...when we hope we will all be in happier and healthier times!

Somerville, MA
Member since Mar 2012

Five Stars!

Wonderful home in an excellent location!

Our family just spent a week at this phenomenal home. We have been coming to Provincetown for many years and can say that this was, by far, our best accommodation ever. The home is roomy yet felt very cozy and comfortable. It is well-appointed and has everything you could possibly need. There are views of the bay from every room in the house. We spent a lot of time relaxing on the wrap around porch that provides views of the entire bay. The beach is just down the steps from the sun deck and we found so many things to do without leaving the house. It is a nice walk into town yet far enough away to enjoy the sound of the water, the sunsets and beautiful reflection of the moon on the bay. The owner is very accommodating and welcoming and made us feel very much at home.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Barbara L
Lambertville, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Five Stars!

Beautiful home, perfect setting!

We love this beautifully appointed home in its gorgeous setting right on the bay on the east end of Provincetown. From early morning coffee with a novel or the newspaper on the porch or deck to afternoon walks on the beach or into town (a short mile by foot or bicycle), to dinners prepared in the spacious kitchen and enjoyed around the dining table overlooking the water--one feels immediately welcome and at home. The owners have an astute eye for detail, and practically everything is provided in the house--linens, towels, kitchen basics. We so appreciate the chance to stay in this lovely place, and would absolutely recommend it to people seeking a quiet, elegant home with proximity to Provincetown's liveliness and the natural beauty of the Cape.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Elizabeth C
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

5 Stars!

What a fantastic fall week! Gracious home, the best location in Provincetown and décor that is so not New Jersey. It does not try to be anything other than what it is - a Grande Dame of beach houses. If we wanted the suburbs, we would have gone there for our vacation. Great beds, wonderful new kitchen which manages to look like it came with the original house, with everything we needed. We even were able to have drinks on that amazing porch at that time of the year. It may be the Most Famous House in Provincetown, but it's our Favourite House in Provincetown.

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
Thomas W
Cleveland, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

5 Stars!

The house is your dream of a place to stay in P'Town. On the Bay. Gorgeous sunsets. Quiet. A beach to walk (except in high tide) all the way to town or Truro (or you can walk the streets) - yet away from the fray. The house is perfect. A new kitchen, lots of room, charming bedrooms and living/dining area. Immaculate. The owners have left lots of info about all the doings in the area, including restaurants (and what good seafood!). We loved every minute of our stay.

Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Deborah L
Valatie, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

5 Stars!

This was my family's 5 th summer renting and it gets better and better every year. It starts with the amazing communication with the owner of the house Then when you arrive at the house you feel like you are the luckiest person in the world. The house is exceptionally clean and the location and views cannot be beat. My kids want us to rent this house when they are older. I hope the tradition continues forever. It's our favorite week of the year.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Heidi B
Livingstone, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Five Stars!

We have been vacationing in Provincetown for 40 years. We have rented this property for the last three years. It is the perfect home for many reasons- location is terrific.A short 1 mile walk into town for shops, galleries and restaurants. A spacious and historic home with all of the amenities-newly remodeled dream kitchen.Beachfront on the bay with a fabulous porch, sun deck and million dollar views, ocean breezes......16 steps to the water.The listing is everything it says it is. The home is immaculate and the landlord has always been so accommodating in every aspect. You can leave the car parked. Minutes from the center of town,Atlantic beaches and the National Seashore Visitor's center. I highly recommend this property to anyone for a week of bliss!!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Jane L
Haines Falls, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

5 Stars!

What a fabulous house! The views are to die for. There is nowhere else like it - we'll be back.

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Andrew P
Chicago, ILL
(Homeowner Entered)